110 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Bottom

Xiaomi Mi5 Discussion, Xiaomi's new flagship

metaloid
post Mar 22 2016, 09:37 AM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

Honestly I would just compare the camera to S6 and if its as good im happy enough.
michael9413
post Mar 22 2016, 09:42 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

Honestly... if the camera is clear and sharp is enough...
got Mi3 or iPhone 6 standard also not bad already...
cannot compare with DSLR haha...
my phone camera is for me to capture some moments without DSLR...
if i got important events surely DSLR is much better in every aspect...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Mar 22 2016, 09:43 AM
cfa28
post Mar 22 2016, 09:50 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Mar 21 2016, 07:11 PM)
Read the g4 ,most of the ppl suffer from mobo burn after update to mm, most of the user jump ship after that

The battery life of g4 is below average,and i dont think plastic body of g4 look tempting compared to pretty body of mi5

Sd808 doesnt perform as well  if compare to sd820
Tks for the heads up bro. Did not realise or bother to check for latest negative reviews cos last time I almost wanted to buy but price was a bit too high for me

My Ideal HP Specs

Screen Size - 5.5 inch or Min 5.2
Bands - Must support LTE
Sim - Dual Sim
SD Card - Preferred but not must have
Replaceable Battery - Preferred but not must have

The LG 4G ticks all the above boxes but lucky for me, you tipped me off on the latest bad news.

Perhaps wait for the Mi Note Replacement
michael9413
post Mar 22 2016, 09:55 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

bro remember google before you try to pay for the device...
i actually nearly jump into OnePlus 2... but heard the negative issues so better wait for Mi5...
Redmi Note3 Pro also good but i think if with the 200-300 difference Mi5 better...
coz smaller in size... smile.gif for me 5"~5.3" is perfect for me...
Tiaso
post Mar 22 2016, 10:04 AM

449 posts

lol guess apple came just in time. I used to boycott Apple due to the exp price.

The new Iphone SE is around the same price with Mi5, with smaller size only. And out around period, May?. What you guys thought on this?

http://www.lowyat.net/2016/98717/spec-shee...ip-smartphones/
crayzee
post Mar 22 2016, 10:17 AM

901 posts

QUOTE(Tiaso @ Mar 22 2016, 10:04 AM)
lol guess apple came just in time. I used to boycott Apple due to the exp price.

The new Iphone SE is around the same price with Mi5, with smaller size only. And out around period, May?. What you guys thought on this?

Cheaper price but reduced specs
-No OIS
-No 3D Touch
-1gb ram
-Same old design
deadravel
post Mar 22 2016, 10:25 AM

free RAM =wasted RAM
2,763 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ Mar 22 2016, 10:17 AM)
-No OIS
-No 3D Touch
-1gb ram
-Same old design
how u know 1gb ram brows.gif
cfa28
post Mar 22 2016, 10:26 AM

4,830 posts

-No OIS
-No 3D Touch
-1gb ram
-Same old design
But it's still an APPLE IPHONE and that is the biggest reason why ppl are willing to pay more for less.
crayzee
post Mar 22 2016, 10:35 AM

901 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Mar 22 2016, 10:25 AM)
how u know 1gb ram  brows.gif
rumour brows.gif

knowing how apple place their product u will know their strategy is to lure u to buy their more expensive models
Examples
huge 16-64gb gap
Only offer OIS on the 6+/6s+

I'm not surprised if it comes with 1gb ram

Maybe apple got many leftover parts to clear from iphone5s, and some of the parts can be reused lol.
fishmango
post Mar 22 2016, 10:41 AM

796 posts

QUOTE(Tiaso @ Mar 22 2016, 10:04 AM)

4" smallish screen is pain in the eyes every time u look at it.
Maybe for ppl don't web browse, watch video, play game,...is ok.
Tiaso
post Mar 22 2016, 10:43 AM

449 posts

The smaller size is pretty good for one hand typing isn't it? I think this model will be popular amongst the females, considering most of the people who buy Apple phone not because of the specs, but the brand name itself =X
Tiaso
post Mar 22 2016, 10:48 AM

449 posts

but comparing with Mi5, this Iphone SE will be 6s with weaker camera and lower specs.. Still Mi5 more tempting haha
demio121
post Mar 22 2016, 11:05 AM

2,084 posts

-No OIS
-No 3D Touch
-1gb ram
-Same old design
iPhone SE may be having 1GB RAM but the advantage Apple have over the rest is they run the whole show. From the SOC to the OS. Everything is designed to work together. Apple can optimize iOS.

here lies the prob with Android. My S3 rooted to slimROM runs perfectly. The S3 is lagging and hanging before i root. The issue is OEM like to load their ROM with useless things that kill the phone. not to mention all the SoC in the market from Intel, HiSilicon, MTK... too many variation.

the camera, the sensor is only half the story. The image processor plays a big part and again, here is where Apple win.

3D touch is gimmick so far... juz like the edge screen. heck... even finger print to me is a pointless here and now. wireless payment is still not widespread used here. i am ok with entering PIN or pattern to unlock. by the time wireless payment arrive here, its time for me to upgrade to a new phone.

i am no fan of Apple but honestly they have the best strategy in the world. Their strategy with the RAM is also smart. who want 16GB phone these days??? 64GB iPhone SE is abt RM2.1k. ok... then come the problem, RM2.1k iPhone SE vs. RM3.1k S7 Edge (32GB) vs. Mi5 (theoritical price RM1450). iPhone SE have a very good chance of killing the competition.

one thing for sure, come end of this year or early next year, Android OEM will be releasing smaller screen with top spec. unfortunately, a lot of ppl dun gv Sony the credit due. Their compact series been carrying the small screen flagship torch since everyone gone cuckoo with big screen.

right now i hope Mi5 arrive here faster before i lost interest.
crayzee
post Mar 22 2016, 11:20 AM

901 posts

QUOTE(demio121 @ Mar 22 2016, 11:05 AM)
iPhone SE may be having 1GB RAM but the advantage Apple have over the rest is they run the whole show.  From the SOC to the OS.  Everything is designed to work together.  Apple can optimize iOS.

here lies the prob with Android.  My S3 rooted to slimROM runs perfectly.  The S3 is lagging and hanging before i root.  The issue is OEM like to load their ROM with useless things that kill the phone.  not to mention all the SoC in the market from Intel, HiSilicon, MTK... too many variation.

the camera, the sensor is only half the story.  The image processor plays a big part and again, here is where Apple win.

3D touch is gimmick so far... juz like the edge screen.  heck... even finger print to me is a pointless here and now.  wireless payment is still not widespread used here.  i am ok with entering PIN or pattern to unlock. by the time wireless payment arrive here, its time for me to upgrade to a new phone.

i am no fan of Apple but honestly they have the best strategy in the world.  Their strategy with the RAM is also smart.  who want 16GB phone these days???  64GB iPhone SE is abt RM2.1k.  ok... then come the problem, RM2.1k iPhone SE vs. RM3.1k S7 Edge (32GB) vs. Mi5 (theoritical price RM1450).  iPhone SE have a very good chance of killing the competition.

one thing for sure, come end of this year or early next year, Android OEM will be releasing smaller screen with top spec.  unfortunately, a lot of ppl dun gv Sony the credit due.  Their compact series been carrying the small screen flagship torch since everyone gone cuckoo with big screen.

right now i hope Mi5 arrive here faster before i lost interest.
I have been using ip5 for 3 years, and worst it lags on the ios9. That's the reason i still remain on ios7. The 1gb ram really is not enough nowadays, especially on ios9. On my phone (ios7), only opening 3 safari tabs already reloading and this pisses me off. Not yet talk about sucky batt life this phone has, it has a great predictable batt life when idle, but when i start to use data and kaboom it all go down to the drain. This ip5se i foresee it will have small battery as well due to recycled design from ip5. So dont expect great batt life from a 4inch thin phone.

Iphones asides, i also started to piss off xiaomi as well for their business model by selling online only, i've been trying for about 1month trying to buy mi5 in china but it always sold out within 1minute. Their sale is only once a week, how they sell to mass markets like that? I start to lost interest already because i couldnt buy it and the scalpers trying to earn extra 500rmb from it.
staticxtreme
post Mar 22 2016, 11:21 AM

528 posts

yeap hoping for Mi5 arrive earlier before more competition comes in then lose interest
cfa28
post Mar 22 2016, 11:26 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ Mar 22 2016, 11:20 AM)
I have been using ip5 for 3 years, and worst it lags on the ios9. That's the reason i still remain on ios7. The 1gb ram really is not enough nowadays, especially on ios9. On my phone (ios7), only opening 3 safari tabs already reloading and this pisses me off. Not yet talk about sucky batt life this phone has, it has a great predictable batt life when idle, but when i start to use data and kaboom it all go down to the drain. This ip5se i foresee it will have small battery as well due to recycled design from ip5. So dont expect great batt life from a 4inch thin phone.

Iphones asides, i also started to piss off xiaomi as well for their business model by selling online only, i've been trying for about 1month trying to buy mi5 in china but it always sold out within 1minute. Their sale is only once a week, how they sell to mass markets like that? I start to lost interest already because i couldnt buy it and the scalpers trying to earn extra 500rmb from it.
Yeah, agree. Sooner or later, this xiaomi will kill a lot of goodwill amongst its fans. It's not like we cannot afford a Samsung or Sony flagship.

Allow ppl to buy online but the delivery period can be staggered.

demio121
post Mar 22 2016, 11:37 AM

2,084 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ Mar 22 2016, 11:20 AM)

sabar dude... like all thing new, ppl rushing to buy.

BTW, you try China domestic phone before? you should be aware that they come with loads of bloat that is useless here and you may have issue updating the OS. first hand experience with Lenovo china phone. save me RM200 but i regret buying the phone.

one reason Xiaomi can sell cheap is they sell online. no physical store and inventory to worry about.
crayzee
post Mar 22 2016, 11:41 AM

901 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Mar 22 2016, 11:26 AM)
Yeah,  agree.  Sooner or later,  this xiaomi will kill a lot of goodwill amongst its fans.  It's not like we cannot afford a Samsung or Sony flagship.

Allow ppl to buy online but the delivery period can be staggered.
Xiaomi tend to exaggerate more, they dont have the capacity on hand. Don't talk about colors yet during the sale (only white? wtf), until now the mi5 pro is nowhere near to sell. The black mi5 is really really limited stock, it's out of stock under 30seconds shakehead.gif This caused the scalpers to mushroom up like nobody business. Xiaomi should do open sale, and give us an ETA when our order will complete. At least this will reduce scalpers.

How i wish xiaomi can be like samsung/sony, their worldwide launch is super quick, almost within a month from announcement date. Not sure what's stopping xiaomi from selling more.
cfa28
post Mar 22 2016, 11:48 AM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ Mar 22 2016, 11:41 AM)
Xiaomi tend to exaggerate more, they dont have the capacity on hand. Don't talk about colors yet during the sale (only white? wtf), until now the mi5 pro is nowhere near to sell. The black mi5 is really really limited stock, it's out of stock under 30seconds  shakehead.gif This caused the scalpers to mushroom up like nobody business. Xiaomi should do open sale, and give us an ETA when our order will complete. At least this will reduce scalpers.

How i wish xiaomi can be like samsung/sony, their worldwide launch is super quick, almost within a month from announcement date. Not sure what's stopping xiaomi from selling more.
Capacity. Xiaomi is practising JIT with super low margin.

This leave no room for errors but I believe staggered delivery date can also work.
Tiaso
post Mar 22 2016, 12:00 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(crayzee @ Mar 22 2016, 11:41 AM)
Xiaomi tend to exaggerate more, they dont have the capacity on hand. Don't talk about colors yet during the sale (only white? wtf), until now the mi5 pro is nowhere near to sell. The black mi5 is really really limited stock, it's out of stock under 30seconds  shakehead.gif This caused the scalpers to mushroom up like nobody business. Xiaomi should do open sale, and give us an ETA when our order will complete. At least this will reduce scalpers.

xiaomi is "fishing" us. kinda same with KL ppl mindset, bad food, but lining up makes it nice, no offense but Im partially one of the idiot whistling.gif

110 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:03 AM