Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

d33pbluez
post Aug 18 2016, 09:15 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Dan430 @ Aug 17 2016, 04:49 PM)
@d33 perhaps check your silicon tubings if you accidentally pinch any of them when putting together? or it could be blocked solenoid from the calcium build up. because stress pump usually is some kind of water resistance.
Check the silicon tubing last night all seem ok, because i remember i place them as they should be (no pinch) before close the cover but if it is the silicon tubing then it should be very constant replicated result each time pressing the brew button.

Tried my machine last night and they behave well enough.... Grrr, i hate intermittent issue bangwall.gif

Anyway belanja drillz of my rosetta.... A bit cacat yeah i know....getting rusty only skills...

d33pbluez
post Aug 24 2016, 01:44 PM

559 posts

Seriously the cheapest semi auto machine with 2 group head....only rm1.2K...not sure if it is due to typo or something because coffee machine like this will cost rm10k++ .....haha

Semi Auto machine

This post has been edited by d33pbluez: Aug 24 2016, 01:57 PM
d33pbluez
post Aug 25 2016, 08:39 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Dan430 @ Aug 24 2016, 05:31 PM)
LOL i am positive its typo!! unless its made of plastic and missing boilers and electronics.! tongue.gif
QUOTE(kuluuluk @ Aug 24 2016, 06:53 PM)
If you look closely, there's alot of wear n tear signs so...  sweat.gif
Wont mind to give it a bump of my luck... biggrin.gif Who know maybe it is fully function working machine with well mantain....just only few minor wear and tear... but sadly, that fellow never seem to reply and response.

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Aug 24 2016, 11:26 PM)
the above looks like a LA SPAZIALE EK 3000 maybe alittle newer (the current S2 going for US$6k+), this below has alot of wear and tear and is going for US$2300 or close to 9K. usually prices locally like 20-50% higher than overseas.
https://www.bid-on-equipment.com/Item/17023...sso+Machine.htm
That i was expected also....based on the market survey, a commercial machine like this with used tag unit should be close to 12K - 9k, you know local will never sell item cheap even it had been used long period....
d33pbluez
post Aug 25 2016, 05:25 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Aug 25 2016, 11:03 AM)
Maybe realize mistake and ignore
Yeah.... pretty much it....i try to call even send sms ... no reply .... just kept it as kiv for now till he answer which i assume he wont be anyway rclxms.gif
d33pbluez
post Aug 25 2016, 05:28 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(Seijyuro @ Aug 25 2016, 11:13 AM)
i'm looking at delonghi EC860, breville duo temp, gaggia classic, gaggia baby twin
wonder which should i choose.
It depend what your choice would be.... convenient and close space like office ?
d33pbluez
post Aug 26 2016, 08:10 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Seijyuro @ Aug 26 2016, 02:28 AM)
wow... so many things to learn when switching to espresso machine.
gotta go with delonghi for ease of service
Trust me after having auto....you might want to jump to semi auto not long after that biggrin.gif ....cos the caffeine and milk frothing addiction in semi auto is unresistable.

But given the budget machine you had propose, i say stick to auto for best feature....

This post has been edited by d33pbluez: Aug 26 2016, 08:13 AM
d33pbluez
post Aug 26 2016, 12:42 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Aug 26 2016, 10:55 AM)
Delonghi isn't super auto it only helps with the milk part. Many ppl complains the milk isn't steaming hot.
After my Jura experience I shy away from auto milk feature.

Since he don't have good grinder I take the below better. Grind and brew don't have to care about tamping
http://www.harveynorman.com.my/kitchen-app...cam22.110b.html
Lolz, that delonghi machine ? I had that in my office, i think is fine machine for office used. It had pre set auto cleaning or something because if you leave the machine for something. It will automatically dispense water out and perform self cleaning then for full maintenance my office will call in the tech guys where he will dismantle some internal parts and do cleaning.

Try it a few times, well taste average to me depend on the beans usage.

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Aug 26 2016, 12:49 PM)
me also thinking of that ...... but how that maintanace (cleaning)?
Answer on top brows.gif
d33pbluez
post Aug 29 2016, 08:50 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Seijyuro @ Aug 26 2016, 09:35 PM)
just what i have in mind. i'm looking for semi-auto instead of auto.
delonghi website states that ec860 milk frother is manual.
I don think it is manual. It is basically like vending machine, that you get more hotel resturant where every is pre made at the touch of a button. You many want to look at the video below for the review.

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Aug 27 2016, 02:50 AM)
The saeco and Delonghi ecm3300 you can take stuff apart for cleaning no need to call in maintenance guy. Office, it's company paying just call.
Just add in the assembly diagram on the ec860. I think what the guy did was a simple maintenance. I doubt ppl are just going to do a explosion dismantle to clean everything. Al though the diagram look simple.

QUOTE(lowkl @ Aug 28 2016, 07:10 PM)
Forgive me for being naive, but how much better are these dedicated descaling products better than simple citric acid which we can get from the local baking goods store for a couple of ringgit??
Normal descale product like cafiza is a friendly user product which why you can used it with portafilter and not having disemble everything since it is a detergent and soap while citric acid may not be a friendly user product as you might need to be careful the amount you put in for cleaning also acid citric tends to leave some pinkish surface for chromate parts over time and you need to manually clean them with hand scrub cause it might not be save to consume. that why acid citric best work for brass material unless you item is not food or machine produce food.

This post has been edited by d33pbluez: Aug 29 2016, 10:07 AM
d33pbluez
post Aug 29 2016, 10:11 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(kuluuluk @ Aug 29 2016, 09:56 AM)
Seriously, i don't think any office fella or most office fella won't care of the machine. Just take a look at office equipment, especially workstations/pc/notebooks. How many users actually do maintainence/care? (Pss : only about +-2%, the rest don't care because is not their property and $$)  ranting.gif
that why the company would rather pay and call in the tech guy to do it for you all... rclxms.gif.... Most who willing to maintain their machine is home user.
d33pbluez
post Sep 2 2016, 08:11 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(alvint89 @ Sep 1 2016, 12:56 PM)
Proud owner of a BES870 checking in as well!

I'm currently using beans from Lighthouse Roasters, Penang. Quite enjoying it, but to be fair this is only my second bag of beans. Am exploring options.
Penang lighthouse still have ? I thought they close shop long time ago.... hmm.gif .... you can always tried coffee lane, that where i usually get me coffee bean from or you can try order online from this fellow Beanstalk whose in penang also as he can do door to door delivery (Service also not bad)...

QUOTE(wshazi @ Aug 29 2016, 06:55 PM)
I use mainly the espresso blends from highlander coffee called quattro. Purchased it from  KF Chan of Myespresso cafe in USJ. For RM33/- 250 gram, quite a bargain. Sometime got free a cup of coffee upon purchase.  rclxms.gif

Now I seldom do handbrew so I seldom buy the single origin. Where do you purchase your bean?
that is quiet cheap, most in penang already selling it like rm35 to rm 37 for only 200 gram.

This post has been edited by d33pbluez: Sep 2 2016, 08:13 AM
d33pbluez
post Sep 2 2016, 12:39 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(alvint89 @ Sep 2 2016, 12:27 PM)
They close their cafe I think, but the roastery is still going. I'm actually based in PJ, just that I bought Lighthouse's at the coffee festival at Publika. Thanks for the tip though. Will try when I'm in Penang. smile.gif
Yeah, they close their shop in penang and left only the academy....if not mistaken i think their academy also close down already.... just only see sign board each time when i pass by....

QUOTE(wshazi @ Sep 2 2016, 12:29 PM)
that is COD price. Delivery need to add another RM15/-

Myespresso
Yup, i'm talking about COD only also..... maybe penang is one sea apart from peninsular...that why expensive abit...hahaha

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Sep 2 2016, 12:40 PM)
Thanks for the shoutout bro. I'm the guy behind Beanstalk. Let me know if you have any questions at all  biggrin.gif
Good luck on your biz .... thumbsup.gif
Another credit to you, try your bean last night (Haven't tried since i brought because i develop flu and cough only got better recently) and it choke my machine badly, and you beans had force me to step down the grind setting. That is the sign your coffee is really fresh out of the oven..... Previously i tried beans from other location cafe with same grind setting (finest setting in my machine). It didn't choke at all mean that beans are not that fresh already....

This post has been edited by d33pbluez: Sep 2 2016, 12:48 PM
d33pbluez
post Sep 2 2016, 03:39 PM

559 posts

Any one knows the ratio of mixing a thai ice coffee using our espresso ? I had drank one of the shop in penang .... and it taste nice...
d33pbluez
post Sep 20 2016, 01:23 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Sep 20 2016, 01:20 PM)
Initially that was what I was looking to get, the bucket type, but knowing my wife, she doesn't want it "open" style, and the toddlers might just play with the bucket or pucks, so went with the drawer type. Having that said, I must've only used the knockbox less than 5 times since I bought it over a year ago. --> I'm selling the drawer knockbox though, if anyone is interested  whistling.gif

Best is still go straight in the bin  biggrin.gif

As for the grounds, I'm not quite the green thumb type (rather the leave them on the shop shelf, they will last much longer than at my home type) and we're living in a condo with limited space, so I mainly just throw them in a bin.
perhaps you can do some good committee for you condo by contributing some puck to your condo gardener or landscaper (I believe you condo had some plants or landscaping need fertilizer) .... save the condo budget and go green at the same time.... biggrin.gif
d33pbluez
post Sep 20 2016, 04:42 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(kuluuluk @ Sep 20 2016, 05:00 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  i find that after do some good to my garden, mr.cacing's family can be seen. Good for plant, bad for whoever that is scared of worms..  console.gif
Perhaps mr cacing need some coffee too after a days of hard work laugh.gif
d33pbluez
post Sep 21 2016, 08:24 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Sep 20 2016, 06:28 PM)
A puck a day... have to speak to the Management on that, later they say I littering  bangwall.gif  Not sure the Nepalese gardeners know how to use the puck, later he just chuck it in the bin.
How do you put it on the soil? just taruh the whole puck there? break the puck into grinds? Is 1 puck enough? or have to gather a few? Compost? I notice the pucks start getting moldy after a few days.
There is you answer..... You had to break up the puck then apply at the plant if it were in puck form it would do very little used for the plant unless you plan to use it as decoration instead of fertilizer.....

QUOTE(kuluuluk @ Sep 20 2016, 06:59 PM)
I think you better understand what type of plant and soil ph. Generally, i would break them up to be used directly or compost.
d33pbluez
post Sep 21 2016, 05:05 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(kuluuluk @ Sep 21 2016, 09:57 AM)
Another way of using your puck is to ......... .......... .......... remove foul smell like toilet? At office, i put the used grounds in a small tray... inside the toilet in my office.  Really helps ALOT  puke.gif  -->  nod.gif
or you can put it in the shoe for those with smelly feet just like used tea bag rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Dan430 @ Sep 21 2016, 04:16 PM)
I suppose we need to know what type of coffee you prefer to drink? Espresso or filter? with milk or without? then into flavours aka notes; nutty, chocolate, fruity, floral....etc then a wide range of price will be available!! to get an idea of price and a wide variety of beans check out www.beanshipper.com

A good value for money beans is to enjoy every sip of the coffee without feeling "eeeewwwwww" rclxub.gif  puke.gif

Welcome to the caffeine club!! i tend to overdose me self but who can resist good coffee!!  rclxms.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

Coffee puck is good for the garden i usually have a plastic over my container and once its full wrap it up and smash it before laying it down on the plants. then viola the plants are so awake it tend to bloom with flowers!!  rclxm9.gif
Not to forget including your skill of preparation and extraction of the beans.... a bean taste can be easily change depend what you do to them...
d33pbluez
post Sep 22 2016, 08:54 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(Castreal @ Sep 21 2016, 08:13 PM)
I too started with Starbucks beans. I guess we tend to start off with things that we are familiar with.
But like what others pointed out, do try Freshly roasted beans (roasted within the week) as compared to off the shelf beans with Expiry date.
An advise given to me back then when i purchase beans was --> look for beans packed with "Roasted on" dates, rather than "Expire by" dates, the difference in the quality of beans/espresso pretty much speaks for itself.

Personally I get my beans from Beanshipper, their cheaper but good beans - Shipper blend goes for RM39 (500gm). Else you can check out the cheaper Malaysia Liberica beans (haven't tried them before though).
Beanshipper had alot of unique mix of origin bean blend together.....i give a thumbs up for that thumbup.gif .....but sadly the price ranges is kind of so-so rolleyes.gif
d33pbluez
post Sep 22 2016, 01:22 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(Dan430 @ Sep 22 2016, 10:28 AM)
Haha thats exactly why i like them!! like a library of beans!! i do agree price is not that good but they need to make money for sourcing and keeping up the business! rclxs0.gif i support them occasionally but not always. I've not experience, they ship out beans that are more than 10 days old. so i guess the service is superb. i guess we need to have a group buy marketing team so we home baristas can get together and buy in bulk then split into smaller quantity for all parties to enjoy cheaper fresh roasted beans.

Good for roasters (Maximising their roasters capacity) and small consumer (minimising cost).  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Have a caffeinated day!!
Agree we should form a team then we can taste all the beans that beans shipper offer us at the same time we can share our brew taste and correct the mistake... It would nice if everyone live near by .... haha rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Castreal @ Sep 22 2016, 01:34 PM)
Sorry, my bad! Yes, it's 250g.

Am brewing CREAM + Purveyor, 250g each makes up a nice RM 101 for the free shipping  tongue.gif
Used to brew Shipper Blend, but find myself enjoying Purveyor more at the same price.

As for Cream by THE ROAST THINGS, they usually have them only in small batches, and I have to contact the Bean Shipper guys for a reservation.

Overall, agree their beans are a bit pricey, but they do have a wider range of beans to choose from.

Cheers!
I was planing to get cream and purveyor too.... but seem cream sudah habis.... sad.gif but the name "milk killer" kind of grabbing my attention.... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by d33pbluez: Sep 22 2016, 01:24 PM
d33pbluez
post Sep 23 2016, 04:50 PM

559 posts

Lolz, all or most comment say killer milk is no good .... just drop order already somemore expensive ...300kg for 55.... sad.gif

This post has been edited by d33pbluez: Sep 23 2016, 04:50 PM
d33pbluez
post Sep 26 2016, 09:32 AM

559 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Sep 23 2016, 06:38 PM)
Bro, i think you're saying 300grams. Otherwise it's dirt cheap!
QUOTE(Dan430 @ Sep 23 2016, 06:50 PM)
Hahaha 300KG for 55 is so damn cheap!!

i kinda like killer milk TBH but only cortado, 1:1 ratio of milk and espresso...... drool.gif

Yield of 18g to 38g of espresso in 28-33sec

give it a go and let us know your taste!! everyones different!!  thumbup.gif

Have a great coffee weekend!!

P/s: For you guys who are looking for thailand beans, Cream by "The roast things" are roasting some thailand coffee.... Cant wait to get my hands on em!! rclxm9.gif
Oooppsss, sorry to disappoint you guys, i had been reading too much kg this article and my mind just trip..hahah..... it is 300 gram wub.gif

Though i wish it is 300 kg.... but that also too much for me .... i cant consume all in one go withing 2 week, i might end up in hospital with coffee poison .... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(kbyao @ Sep 25 2016, 11:41 PM)
Simply buy some coffee from vietnam. Don't know which 1 is nice.

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Sep 23 2016, 06:38 PM)
P/s: For you guys who are looking for thailand beans, Cream by "The roast things" are roasting some thailand coffee.... Cant wait to get my hands on em!! rclxm9.gif
I was looking forward too. I had been experimenting some thai/viet coffee mixture but fail to do so on the ordinary beans.... maybe my beans are not dark enough or there is something wrong with the ingredient....

The other day i went to shop to take a shop to have ice thai coffee .... it seem nice and i get a sneak peek on their ingredient

1/2 jigger of condense milk (Mix with water because it seem watery when they squeeze out from the container)
1/2 or 1 jigger of milk
1/2 jigger of evaporate milk
1 table spoon of Some white powder which unknown to me (I assume it is vanilla powder, if anyone know, please advice it would be great)
2 shot of dark espresso
and crush ice (alot)

This post has been edited by d33pbluez: Sep 26 2016, 09:39 AM

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.2051sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:20 PM