> MacBook Pro Retina User Thread V2, All you can feedback here as well
jumpstat
Feb 25 2016, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(00king00 @ Feb 25 2016, 10:09 AM) I'm still thinking either to get the non-retina or the retina. But due to budget limit, I only able to get the 128gb with education discount at most. Any comment about the non-retina? Quite frankly, the 128Gb version will not be enough for you. Furthermore the mac run better on the 256Gb version (faster) than the 128Gb. Alot of owners who bought the 128Gb version is having regrets. It is unfortunate that the prices now is very high compared to the last years pricing mainly due to our falling ringgit. Maybe if you are lucky to secure a 2nd hand unit, at least the will be a lot of savings there. As for retina display, having used it i dont think I can revert back to non retina. Even using a PC with a much larger LCD display also couldnt match the colours and clarity that a retina display can provide. So my advise is to save up and then get it. And be aware that there is noway to upgrade the ssd or ram.
dannykhoo17
Feb 25 2016, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(00king00 @ Feb 25 2016, 10:09 AM) I'm still thinking either to get the non-retina or the retina. But due to budget limit, I only able to get the 128gb with education discount at most. Any comment about the non-retina? Get the retina. Thinner and lighter, good screen and the new force touch track pad.
nikrizal
Feb 25 2016, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(00king00 @ Feb 25 2016, 09:44 AM) Hi everyone, I'm about to get a Macbook Pro w/ retina, I googled and saw many negative feedback of the screen flickering. Is there anyone facing flickering problem in Malaysia? Mine is 2 years now, thank god no flickering issue
westlife
Feb 25 2016, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(jumpstat @ Feb 25 2016, 10:31 AM) Quite frankly, the 128Gb version will not be enough for you. Furthermore the mac run better on the 256Gb version (faster) than the 128Gb. Alot of owners who bought the 128Gb version is having regrets. It is unfortunate that the prices now is very high compared to the last years pricing mainly due to our falling ringgit. Maybe if you are lucky to secure a 2nd hand unit, at least the will be a lot of savings there. As for retina display, having used it i dont think I can revert back to non retina. Even using a PC with a much larger LCD display also couldnt match the colours and clarity that a retina display can provide. So my advise is to save up and then get it. And be aware that there is noway to upgrade the ssd or ram. yes, the 256GB SSD model has double write speed than the 128SSD as capacity in SSD makes difference in the writing.
westlife
Feb 25 2016, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(jumpstat @ Feb 25 2016, 10:31 AM) Quite frankly, the 128Gb version will not be enough for you. Furthermore the mac run better on the 256Gb version (faster) than the 128Gb. Alot of owners who bought the 128Gb version is having regrets. It is unfortunate that the prices now is very high compared to the last years pricing mainly due to our falling ringgit. Maybe if you are lucky to secure a 2nd hand unit, at least the will be a lot of savings there. As for retina display, having used it i dont think I can revert back to non retina. Even using a PC with a much larger LCD display also couldnt match the colours and clarity that a retina display can provide. So my advise is to save up and then get it. And be aware that there is noway to upgrade the ssd or ram. ssd is possible to upgrade but it is too much hassle and limited SSD models in the market can support macbook as well. so it is not worth for all these troubles for the initial saving too.
remix2040
Feb 25 2016, 02:29 PM
Upgrading SSD is possible. Go search on eBay for OEM Mac SSD and followed by the model number of your macbook. They are extracted from laptop from the same model previously and refurbished and resold at a hell of a lot cheaper price. A 1TB PCIe SSD is about 1.1k USD and that translates to about 5k ringgit with shipping. A 256 or 512 ranges from 500 ringgit to 1k.
Try at your own discretion. Voids warranty indefinitely once you open up the bottom plate.
carpathia
Feb 25 2016, 02:42 PM
if only i can upgrade my macbook pro memory from 8gb to 16gb
westlife
Feb 25 2016, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 25 2016, 02:42 PM) if only i can upgrade my macbook pro memory from 8gb to 16gb actually 8gb to many is more than sufficient, but if u are heavy graphic/video editor etc, then it is good to have 16gb.
carpathia
Feb 25 2016, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 25 2016, 03:01 PM) actually 8gb to many is more than sufficient, but if u are heavy graphic/video editor etc, then it is good to have 16gb. Well, i do light video editing on imovie only i feel like its struggling. Bear in mind mine is a retina with 256gb ssd model. my only option now is to upgrade to a new MBP
remix2040
Feb 25 2016, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 25 2016, 02:42 PM) if only i can upgrade my macbook pro memory from 8gb to 16gb sadly RAM is soldered on like b*tch haha. Wait for the Skylake models this year. Hope there's at least 2 Thunderbolt 3 ports. If they do include it, I'm selling my newly bought 15" retina MacBook Pro for it. haha I depend highly on Thunderbolt devices.
carpathia
Feb 25 2016, 03:51 PM
what thunderbolt devices do you use ???
If anyone wanna buy my macboook pro 15" 8gb memory 256 SSD (late 2014 Retina), we should talk
remix2040
Feb 25 2016, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 25 2016, 03:51 PM) what thunderbolt devices do you use ??? If anyone wanna buy my macboook pro 15" 8gb memory 256 SSD (late 2014 Retina), we should talk I've got 4 LaCie thunderbolt hard drives for offloading tons of videos after shooting them. The main reason I want Thunderbolt 3 is that its USB type C. I'm using the Nexus 6P. C to C's got some serious transfer speeds but sadly the Nexus 6P only has a USB 2.0 instead of a 3.0 or 3.1. C toC is a nice thing to have instead of the A to C which charges the phone horrendously slow
westlife
Feb 25 2016, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 25 2016, 03:29 PM) Well, i do light video editing on imovie only i feel like its struggling. Bear in mind mine is a retina with 256gb ssd model. my only option now is to upgrade to a new MBP That's why for video editing etc u should go for 15 inch directly, since it is already high spec. General uses who are not gamers or video editors then stick to 8gb.
carpathia
Feb 25 2016, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 25 2016, 06:45 PM) That's why for video editing etc u should go for 15 inch directly, since it is already high spec. General uses who are not gamers or video editors then stick to 8gb. MY unit IS 15" inch
faidzul
Feb 25 2016, 09:59 PM

i do video editing with my MBP retina 8gb ram & 128 gb space, yes it can be agonising at times but the results came out quite ok.. probably still can endure it for at least a couple of years..
This post has been edited by faidzul: Feb 25 2016, 10:01 PM
westlife
Feb 25 2016, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(carpathia @ Feb 25 2016, 09:01 PM) but compare to 2015 models, it lacks of the generous min RAM of 16GB for all 15-inch.
SUSXiia0Ban
Feb 26 2016, 11:06 AM
soitsuagain
Feb 26 2016, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(Xiia0Ban @ Feb 26 2016, 11:06 AM) That's some good news indeed. I hope they can stand out and be more superior over Windows Cortana.
dannykhoo17
Feb 27 2016, 11:57 AM
How do i extract video files from AVCHD? Quicktime combines all files into one file and i can just view it :/ Attached image(s)
1234kingbling
Feb 28 2016, 10:58 AM
Guys, need some advice,
I have been planning to get a Macbook Pro for some time now. Waiting for the new one. However its been a really long wait. Hopefully we hear something during the apple event in March.
The thing is, this new macbook will price around 6k give or take. With this price, there are tons of windows based laptops that will far surpass the macbook's performance. You get really good graphics, SSD options even at half the price.
So my question is , is it really worth getting a mac? Because with a windows laptop with top specs, i can game easily( not my priority ), will be able to edit videos, the usual office documents.
Thank you for your time. Cheers.