119 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v27, Need New Notebook? Post follow format.

avengers88
post Jan 24 2016, 10:24 PM

Whatever man
1,615 posts

QUOTE(X_F@cT0R @ Jan 24 2016, 09:47 PM)
what is your usage for using laptop with that budget? gaming? work?  hmm.gif
Part gaming part work .. work probably using alot of vmware and application tools ..

Games that are play are like dota 2 ( frequent ) , assasin's creed and all those ..

My priority is the screen must be clear and nice , some sort like macbook pro , or the dell xps 13 ..

This post has been edited by avengers88: Jan 24 2016, 10:48 PM
X_F@cT0R
post Jan 24 2016, 10:50 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Jan 24 2016, 10:24 PM)
Part gaming part work .. work probably using alot of vmware and application tools ..

Games that are play are like dota 2 ( frequent ) , assasin's creed and all those ..

My priority is the screen must be clear and nice , some sort like macbook pro , or the dell xps 13 ..
Dell Inspiron 15 7559 is the best bang of buck laptop with a nice spec price at 3.4k
-intel i5-6300HQ
-nvidia gtx 960m
-4gb ram
-DOS

since you mentioned about clear and nice screen, i would recommend illegear q5 starting price from 4.5k where you can opted to IPS/AHVA sRGB 100% display

This post has been edited by X_F@cT0R: Jan 24 2016, 11:05 PM
ShinViomonX
post Jan 24 2016, 11:02 PM

32 posts

Hi guys. Need a recommendation for the following criteria.

1. Preferred Brand: Any.
2. Budget: 2.5k-3.5k
3. Usage: Medium gaming
4. Processor: intel i5 and above
5. GPU: GTX950M
X_F@cT0R
post Jan 24 2016, 11:06 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(ShinViomonX @ Jan 24 2016, 11:02 PM)
Hi guys. Need a recommendation for the following criteria.

2. Budget: 2.5k-3.5k
3. Usage: Medium gaming
4. Processor: intel i5 and above
5. GPU: GTX950M
Dell Inspiron 15 7559 price at 3.4k
-intel i5-6300HQ
-nvidia gtx 960m
-4gb ram
-DOS
alcatrez
post Jan 24 2016, 11:23 PM

543 posts

1. Preferred Brand:Any brand.
2. Budget: 1K
3. Usage: Work. Handling large volume of data on excel and for mobile purposes
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13.3 or smaller..
5. Personal preference: Good screen, lightweight. i5 and more than 4 hours battery life.

i went to survey some shops just now for some refurbished laptops.

i have 2 choices which were innteresting to me (diverted abit frm my original spec):
1. RM 900 Acer Travelmate 8172T i3, 2 hours min battery, 4gb ram. 11.6 inch screen
2. RM1299 Lenovo Thinkpad X i5 4gb ram. Did not ask about the the battery. 13.3 inch screen.

both before negotiations.

Can any1 comment?
cslai89
post Jan 25 2016, 12:23 AM

1,598 posts

Budget round 4.5k. Planning on msi pe70 or pe60, rog gl752/552vw, Lenovo y700 15isk, dell 7559. Plan for gaming n hopefully reliability. Which would b recommended? Or any other suggestion?
chahupping
post Jan 25 2016, 01:20 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(cslai89 @ Jan 25 2016, 01:23 AM)
Budget round 4.5k. Planning on msi pe70 or pe60, rog gl752/552vw, Lenovo y700 15isk, dell 7559. Plan for gaming n hopefully reliability. Which would b recommended? Or any other suggestion?
I am actually also looking at the same as u, but then im eyeing on the msi ge 72 n ge 62? Mainly will be for gaming and also entertainment. Budget is around 4.5k, can top up abit. Only concerned is cooling system and warranty problem because mainly will be using it for gaming. Any other suggestion?
X_F@cT0R
post Jan 25 2016, 10:36 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(cslai89 @ Jan 25 2016, 12:23 AM)
if you want reliability, choose Dell
that laptop has a good temperature while gaming
cslai89
post Jan 25 2016, 10:53 AM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(X_F@cT0R @ Jan 25 2016, 10:36 AM)
if you want reliability, choose Dell
that laptop has  a good temperature while gaming
I was actually eyeing on pe70 coz of the fans. Rog gl752vw only has 1 outlet? The build quality of tat rog doesn't seems convincing. Lenovo y700 fully aluminum build wif nice ips display. But Lenovo... Had bad experience wif it. Lol. Dell never try b4.
cslai89
post Jan 25 2016, 03:55 PM

1,598 posts

QUOTE(chahupping @ Jan 25 2016, 01:20 AM)
I am actually also looking at the same as u, but then im eyeing on the msi ge 72 n ge 62? Mainly will be for gaming and also entertainment. Budget is around 4.5k, can top up abit. Only concerned is cooling system and warranty problem because mainly will be using it for gaming. Any other suggestion?
It comp sales n services at mines having promotion for msi laptop. Gaming brightstar at lowyat as well
Shiokz
post Jan 25 2016, 09:48 PM

Dear Sifus,

Thank you for sharing your time & expertise here, it is really helpful for noobs like me to make better and more informed choice thumbup.gif
I originally thought to get Illegear Z5 due to its relative value and positive reviews, however after further consideration i realize i probably won't be a heavy gamer, combined with the windows o/s purchase costs, the total costs became much higher than anticpated.

Recently the PORTABILITY of ultrabooks seem quite appealing to me while seemingly capable machines in their own right
ASUS Zenbook (high value for it's cost)
HP Spectre (the brown and champagne one just looks sexy)
DELL XPS13 (good reviews for windows ultrabook)

I'm still open to getting a laptop with larger screen instead of an ultrabook and my intended needs are as follows:

USAGE
Primarily Office Work with many tabs open, video streaming and it would be a nice bonus play the occasional casual DOTA2 (Max settings not a must)

It has to serve as my personal media hub, connecting multiple bluetooth devices and other hardware such as bluetooth headphones, monitor screens, speakers, keyboard and mouse, therefore the ability to control and switch between my devices is important (a good docking solution would be an option, the Dell Thunderbolt supported XPS seemed interesting)

Keyboard and Trackpad

SCREEN
High quality screen, 4k not really a must (unless it's highly advisable to get it)
Preferably Anti-Glare and Matte
Touch screen is nice bonus but not a must

CPU
Probably looking for at least an i5, but willing to consider the lower powered M-Chips

RAM
At least 8 GB

GPU
Dedicated GPU would be nice

PORTS
Ideally more than 2 USB ports and good built-in bluetooth

HDD
250 GB m2 SSD
500 GB SATA (not a must)

LOOKS & FEEL
Either sleek and subtlly sexy or more personality
I don't quite like the Lenovo Thinkpad look

BUDGET
5 - 6k and if interest free installment plan is attractive, can go abit more
O/S must be included preferably with MS office as part of the deal
If include good, capable Docking Solutions even better, can consider increasing the budget

O
vioxmonsta
post Jan 25 2016, 10:11 PM

287 posts

QUOTE(Shiokz @ Jan 25 2016, 09:48 PM)
BUDGET
If include good, capable Docking Solutions even better, can consider increasing the budget
O
That budget win liao lo

Shiokz
post Jan 26 2016, 06:55 AM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jan 25 2016, 11:11 PM)
That budget win liao lo
Sorry Sifu, I was unable to extract any helpful information from your advice, what do you mean, can you kindly clarify?

Thanks!
blackbox14
post Jan 26 2016, 03:44 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jan 24 2016, 09:50 PM)
Hi, suggest you get 7559 instead, newer processor and better graphic
as for windows, just get the dos version of inspiron 7559 from retailer and install windows 8.1 yourself smile.gif
Something I forgot to ask as well: The best place to find a retailer that offers DOS version is lowyat plaza?
DS_Legacy
post Jan 26 2016, 05:47 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(Shiokz @ Jan 25 2016, 09:48 PM)
Dear Sifus,

Thank you for sharing your time & expertise here, it is really helpful for noobs like me to make better and more informed choice  thumbup.gif
I originally thought to get Illegear Z5 due to its relative value and positive reviews, however after further consideration i realize i probably won't be a heavy gamer, combined with the windows o/s purchase costs, the total costs became much higher than anticpated.

Recently the PORTABILITY of ultrabooks seem quite appealing to me while seemingly capable machines in their own right
ASUS Zenbook (high value for it's cost)
HP Spectre (the brown and champagne one just looks sexy)
DELL XPS13 (good reviews for windows ultrabook)

I'm still open to getting a laptop with larger screen instead of an ultrabook and my intended needs are as follows:

USAGE
Primarily Office Work with many tabs open, video streaming and it would be a nice bonus play the occasional casual DOTA2 (Max settings not a must)

It has to serve as my personal media hub, connecting multiple bluetooth devices and other hardware such as bluetooth headphones, monitor screens, speakers, keyboard and mouse, therefore the ability to control and switch between my devices is important (a good docking solution would be an option, the Dell Thunderbolt supported XPS seemed interesting)

Keyboard and Trackpad

SCREEN
High quality screen, 4k not really a must (unless it's highly advisable to get it)
Preferably Anti-Glare and Matte
Touch screen is nice bonus but not a must

CPU
Probably looking for at least an i5, but willing to consider the lower powered M-Chips

RAM
At least 8 GB

GPU
Dedicated GPU would be nice

PORTS
Ideally more than 2 USB ports and good built-in bluetooth

HDD
250 GB m2 SSD
500 GB SATA (not a must)

LOOKS & FEEL
Either sleek and subtlly sexy or more personality
I don't quite like the Lenovo Thinkpad look

BUDGET
O
XPS13. Super gooding!

Tamamama
post Jan 26 2016, 08:00 PM

507 posts

hi, need some advice, what's the best i can get for this price range

2. Budget: 2-2.5k
3. Usage: gaming
4. Processor: intel I5
5. GPU: 950m
DS_Legacy
post Jan 26 2016, 08:12 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(Tamamama @ Jan 26 2016, 08:00 PM)

You can't get a new laptop equipped with GTX950M with that budget. sad.gif
cslai89
post Jan 26 2016, 09:42 PM

1,598 posts

i think nearest wil b asus k501lx which cost rm2899 rrp?
X_F@cT0R
post Jan 26 2016, 11:13 PM

578 posts

not possible la bro sweat.gif
Leon be here now
post Jan 27 2016, 12:29 AM

466 posts

Hi Guys

Trying to find a way to extend my ultrabook storage via SD card slot (half size SDcard adapter with micro SD)
my Asus Zenbook UX305 and my brothers macbook air/pro.
Have not explore mini USB storage options yet, probably going to cost a lot and poor performance, and use up an USB port.

For anyone interested in discussing about microSD cards, price/performance
sequential read/write, random read/write
and
Trying to find a good micro SD card for my phone Honor 7

I have hijacked the below thread:
The SSD Thread V5, Solid State Drive

my initial findings with my own hardware
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry78460690

more info/reviews from the net which i have summarized
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry78463785

some guy in amazon provided good reviews
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry78463810