32 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V3, Anything and everything about insurance

lifebalance
post Dec 13 2016, 08:04 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Dec 13 2016, 06:46 PM)
Reading your post, this point is ultimately the main issue. In my case, husband and I are both in "same company until retirement" situations (he has reached the top of his, I'm one step away from the top for mine),  and both in industries where all the major companies provide almost identical coverage as a benefit, as remuneration packages are very competitive. Therefore, as long as either one of us are employed in the same industry (which is for next 20-30 years), our dependents will be covered quite comprehensively with a semi-permanent armour (in our case, already 2 armours) .

In summary, you have answered my question that in MY situation and at this point of time, child insurance (even a RM100 medical card) may not fulfil any real additional function for us. But once our employment situation changes, and if there is a real possibility that we may no longer have our 2 employment armours,  then we should quickly get ourselves new armour ASAP. At that juncture, I would definitely get more than a RM100 medical card as I value and understand the necessity of proper insurance coverage (which is why husband and I are quite well covered, and will continue to upgrade as our situations change).

Thanks for your time and sorry if I took a long time to get to the above conclusion. I have peace of mind on this issue now, but will continue to assess the need to buy,  as our family needs change over time.
No problem, welcome
lifebalance
post Dec 13 2016, 09:08 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(syirbiznatch @ Dec 13 2016, 08:52 PM)
Asking for opinion on insurance claim:

I have this pain in my wrist for months and go for diagnostic for 'carpal tunnel syndrome' or severe joint injury but the result is negative.. Previously was covered with AIA insurance from previous company. They did covered my expenses (one of the procedures to diagnose for TB arthritis that cost RM20k but still negative).

Now working with new company and no insurance plan, I plan to take an insurance plan which I can use for 'other diagnostic'. Is it possible to pay for 1-2 months and then do further procedure/diagnostic if needed?

I also have this sweaty palm / foot problem and planned to utilize my insurance if its possible...
Might need to check with the underwriter on this. Let you know tomorrow.
lifebalance
post Dec 14 2016, 02:39 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Dec 14 2016, 02:03 PM)
Can a person with hep b carrier apply a medical card and life insurance?
Yes but subject to your blood test reading
lifebalance
post Dec 14 2016, 03:30 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Dec 14 2016, 03:29 PM)
Thank you. But what you mean by blood test reading? He or she already have it. Will the premium be more expensive and not cover liver complication/disease?
Can't ascertain unless medical check up is done.
lifebalance
post Dec 15 2016, 09:38 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(ksoon @ Dec 15 2016, 09:31 AM)
Not sure if this is the right thread but here goes. I got involved a car accident recently whereby a motorbike rammed to me from behind. He and the passenger got injured. They both are of indon nationality. Anyway i subsequently made a police report on this just to cover my arse so to speak. They were however reluctant to make a report and after i sent them to the clinic they said they will settle everything themselves.

Anyway if proven it is their fault, am i still liable to cover for their injuries? Cause i was informed my friends working in an insurance company that regardless of whose fault they can claim for 3rd party body injuries? So meaning i indirectly just made a report for me to be liable for the injuries? Given that they were reluctant to do so initially.

Thanks for the feedback guys and if this is the wrong thread do direct me to the right one!
These kind of case just report to police and let them handle it, no point telling you in here whether you're right or wrong especially in Boleh land where pigs can also fly.
lifebalance
post Dec 15 2016, 09:44 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(ksoon @ Dec 15 2016, 09:42 AM)
I mean i am not here to debate whose fault is it. It is just on a general sense, can they claim my insurance even though it is their fault (if proven). Just for argument sake. Cause seems like according to the friend regardless of whose fault they can claim my insurance which doesnt make sense to me cause if so, if i have an injury that is accident related, i can just ram my bike into a car and pretend that i got injured it and claim his insurance. I cannot brain this.
They can't make a claim without a police report with the insurance company
lifebalance
post Dec 16 2016, 01:15 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Dec 16 2016, 01:07 AM)
guys wanna check on your opinion on savings plan from PRU..

death benefit 40k for first 5 yrs, subsequent yrs 80k...

annual premium - 15k, for 5 yrs only...

return is as per following:
- 1st to 5th year, 1.2k annual
- 6th to 20th year, 2.4k annual
- end of 20 yrs, 80k lumpsum

total investment is 75k, calculating the interest rate of fd as of now, say 4.5%, for 20 years, i would have gotten around 60k, where the annual payout from yr 1 to yr 2 will be 39600 to be specific... there is a balance of 20k if i were to place in fd, however the lumpsum payout after 20 yrs will be around 80k, so after deducting i get an additional of around 60k?

is my calculation above correct?
Not really

You haven't calculate the depreciation and the compounded interest in the equation and also the commission paid to agent

lifebalance
post Dec 16 2016, 01:31 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Dec 16 2016, 01:28 AM)
Yup true that. I got alot mixed opinions on savings plan. Mostly is for those that doesnt have much discipline saving, and/or those that have no experience in other investments

Personally i am 28 this yr, not much knowledge in investment, so what are your kind advise for me on saving plans?
It's something you want to put aside for retirement

But its not something that will grant you huge returns. As you said something slightly higher than FD but you're committed to wait for 25 to 35 years for it.

If you are looking for investment then look for unit trust, stocks or properties
lifebalance
post Dec 18 2016, 01:18 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(strategist @ Dec 18 2016, 01:14 PM)
Hi all,

I just bought an investment-linked medical insurance paying RM400 per month, which is 10% of my net salary.
Wondering if it is too high. How many percent of basic salary should go into insurance? Most people I know only pays ~RM200 for their insurance. I might have been pushed to get a package I don't need, kinda regret it now.
Different ppl have different need. The insurance agent should advise you accordingly to what you're looking for and recommend to you. If you have your own input you can voice it to your agent and ask him to give you his opinion but final decision comes from you
lifebalance
post Dec 18 2016, 06:52 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(itanium89 @ Dec 18 2016, 06:49 PM)
any alternative plan for  63 years old mother with
2 dependants?
sad.gif
There is, but you're looking to cover life only? Any health issue or illness?
lifebalance
post Dec 19 2016, 09:30 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(guviguvi @ Dec 19 2016, 09:28 AM)
Would like to know most of the insurance company also come with no claim rewards for 10% every 3 years. Example: RnB150 after 9 year should be 195 for RnB. Let say 10 year I admitted. So the no claim rewards will be refresh or will remain 195 and continue to increase very 3 year. Thanks.
No idea for the rest but AIA doesn't reset back upon claim and its +20% every 2 years until 100%
lifebalance
post Dec 22 2016, 07:56 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(f-24 @ Dec 22 2016, 02:25 AM)
is this true? 

"Beginning next year, insurers will be required to offer pure protection products through a direct channel without commissions, said Bank Negara Governor Datuk Muhammad Ibrahim."

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...irect-says-bnm/
Search through the thread and read up
lifebalance
post Dec 24 2016, 01:12 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(AmmoShaf @ Dec 24 2016, 12:56 PM)
Hello Sifus,

Would like to know, what plan or type of insurance needed to cover fees for case like admitted to hospital because of dengue or related virus?

And is there any plan that cover fees for minor treatment such as sore eyes, clog ears? Because this kind of minor treatment also sometime can cost a lot.

Thank you.
1. Medical card covers for dengue and viral infection

2. No unless it's a company medical card, this falls under clinical claim
lifebalance
post Dec 26 2016, 06:51 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Dec 26 2016, 06:35 PM)
Hey, have a general question here. May I know which type of insurance to get for general foreign worker that works in construction field? Thanks!
Company insurance
lifebalance
post Dec 27 2016, 11:44 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Dec 26 2016, 06:55 PM)
How much does it costs roughly? must be purchased through agent as well?
Depends on the package u want to take, group insurance min 5 ppl to register, either through agent or direct also same, no cheaper/discount whatsoever if you go direct.

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Dec 27 2016, 11:41 AM)
Very stupid and EXTREMELY slow browsing access the Allianz Insurance online portal..  shakehead.gif

First time Reset Password because quite few months don't access to online portal to check the transactions detail.
After reset password, need "Activation Code"... sweat.gif (I though need to key-in "Product key"?)
After get the activation code, finally can check the personal information.
Then after 3 or 4 months, I access the Allianz online portal, AGAIN need "Activation Code". This activation code not like TAC send the code to the mobile number.
In fact, need request the activation code from Allianz there.. Is it everytime before I access this portal, then need "Activation Code" everytime from Allianz?? vmad.gif

Feel extremely stupid for their system..
I guess it's just a security feature, like my Citibank credit card, although already log into the system with my account, when view summary of the bill also need to wait for OTP code. More secure I guess, someone would stole ur password but with OTP, unless someone took ur phone at the same time as well.
lifebalance
post Dec 27 2016, 03:15 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Spritzer7 @ Dec 27 2016, 03:05 PM)
I approached one agent online for insurance and the agent quoted me. I clarified with him but he give many conflicting information.

AIA
A Life signature coverage RM500K. - He mentioned that incase of critical illness the premium will be paid for and that I don't have to pay premium. 
1) Is this true ? 
2) will I receive any payment incase I suffer critical illness. or  payment only upon death and TPD.

Tq everyone for your advise.
It depends on the rider you attached together with the plan, if waiver of premium is added then upon tpd or critical illness, the policy will be continued to be paid by the insurance company

If there is critical illness rider then you will be paid for critical illness.
lifebalance
post Dec 27 2016, 04:06 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Spritzer7 @ Dec 27 2016, 03:38 PM)
In total he proposed 4 policy as below (I haven't receive email copy yet)

What I wanted is medical card for myself, wife and daughter and life insurance for myself.

My age 36
Finance jobs
He quoted me

A life signature : 500K = RM390 
A lifelink : Medical card 150K per annum(no lifetime limit), Accident 100K, 150K TPD+Death+Critical illness =  RM300 (myself)
A lifelink  : Medical card 150K per annum(no lifetime limit), Accident 100K, 150K TPD+Death+Critical illness =  RM225 (32 year old wife)
A lifelink : Medical card 150K per annum(no lifetime limit), Accident 100K, 150K TPD+Death+Critical illness =  RM150 (5 year old daughter)

Note : Additionally he said incase of TPD or death to me the medical card will be free for my wife and daughter
Each life planner will have their own opinion base on their findings

1. Your life planner should have sat down with you to understand your needs and wants
2. From there a proper plan is proposed
3. He should explain to you clearly what is proposed.
4. Consider and accept if everything is okay

The medical card is not free upon tpd or 36 Ci

Its just continued to be paid by the insurance company

lifebalance
post Dec 27 2016, 04:22 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Spritzer7 @ Dec 27 2016, 04:18 PM)
continued to be paid by insurance company means ??
Example you are paying 300 per month for your policy

However you gotten tpd or critical illness on the way

AIA will continue to pay the 300 for you until certain age

However in between if there is sufficient cash value due to maybe poor returns or increased in premium charges

You might have to top up on top of the 300 that's being paid by the insurance company on your behalf

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Dec 27 2016, 04:23 PM
lifebalance
post Dec 27 2016, 04:45 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Spritzer7 @ Dec 27 2016, 04:42 PM)
This is applied for my wife and daughter premium too(which will be paid by me on monthly basis)?
Yeap
lifebalance
post Dec 27 2016, 05:20 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Spritzer7 @ Dec 27 2016, 05:18 PM)
Thank you very much for your explanation bro.... I really appreciate your help
No problem, you're welcome

32 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0822sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:33 PM