32 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V3, Anything and everything about insurance

lifebalance
post Dec 6 2016, 09:57 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Dec 6 2016, 09:21 AM)
Hi all,

Can I ask why some agents encourage to us to pay the premium by monthly instead of yearly?

Is there any benefits to the policy owner? or more for the agent himself?
There is no monetary benefit for the agent whether you paid monthly or yearly, however your policy will gain slightly more on the generating cash value for the policy by paying yearly.
lifebalance
post Dec 6 2016, 10:12 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Dec 6 2016, 09:59 AM)
Thanks for the quick reply. But what was being told to me was that by paying monthly premium, I would gain more on the cash value compared to paying yearly.

Or did I heard wrongly?
Because investment policy is more on purchasing unit with ur money, if you opt to pay annually, it'll will be used to buy units in the fund market, should the unit be purchased on a lower side in the beginning and by end of every year, you'll accumulate slightly more cash value than paying monthly. However the difference is not a lot probably a variance of 5% more or less between paying monthly or yearly.

However your agent will not earn more money just because you paid one year upfront as you'll still end up paying a year anyways either now or in 12 months time.
lifebalance
post Dec 6 2016, 11:10 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(jes88 @ Dec 6 2016, 11:07 AM)
Thanks for the comment. I'm really consent on Point No.2.
The top up will cost add. of RM4152, so the yearly premium shall be RM6552 with 50K Life, 50K CLR & 1.1m medical with removal of old med.
Actually my intention is to upgade the med benefit to 1.1m, or should i buy another standalone med card?
I will need to look into ur case overall before I can give further insight on this.
lifebalance
post Dec 6 2016, 11:28 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(jes88 @ Dec 6 2016, 11:26 AM)
You see, first my agent insist that my policy can not do top up, than i had to informed them that i had confirmed with hotline and then they quo. me with the top up premium, ask me better buy another ilp so let the 2 policy run together. But for me, why do I need 2 policy for med?
ic, to answer you simply, the new agent won't earn any commission to service you if he ask you to top up, as your original agent who is suppose to service you will earn the commission instead for not doing anything for you.
lifebalance
post Dec 6 2016, 11:51 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(jes88 @ Dec 6 2016, 11:46 AM)
the case was the ori agent bring new agent come to see me together, the ori agent said no top up from AIA, the ori agent only want to promote ilp.
Well I can't judge on why the agent did so. If you prefer another AIA agent to advise for 2nd opinion instead of your original agent, you may do so.
lifebalance
post Dec 6 2016, 02:06 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(bananapie2017 @ Dec 6 2016, 01:33 PM)
Hi all, any AIA expert here to give advice to me ! Currently I have an old AIA ILP which almost 9 years now, previously I took out the medical card raider and purchase another ILP from another insurance company due to it cannot be upgrade and now is just purely critical illness. Should I terminate the policy now ?
I will need to analyse your overall detail as this is just part of the story. It will be unfair for you that my opinion is just on this info which might mislead you to make a decision.
lifebalance
post Dec 6 2016, 07:45 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(jes88 @ Dec 6 2016, 07:37 PM)
TQ for your opinion. I think i should make a trip to AIA branch  biggrin.gif
I would say Juihwei had already explain it very throughly. So all the best to your trip to the branch.
lifebalance
post Dec 6 2016, 11:15 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Dec 6 2016, 11:03 PM)
So in a way, it is not co-insurance, but need to fork out RM300 (non-reimbursable) for hospitalization?
When both you and your health insurance company pay part of your medical expense, it’s called cost sharing. Deductibles, coinsurance and copays are all examples. Understanding how they work will help you know when and how much you have to pay for care.

Deductible

A deductible is the amount you pay for health care services before your health insurance begins to pay.
Let's say your plan's deductible is $1,500. That means for most services, you'll pay 100 percent of your medical and pharmacy bills until the amount you pay reaches $1,500. After that, you share the cost with your plan by paying coinsurance and copays.

Coinsurance

Coinsurance is your share of the costs of a health care service. It's usually figured as a percentage of the amount we allow to be charged for services. You start paying coinsurance after you've paid your plan's deductible.
Here's how it works. Lisa has allergies, so she sees a doctor regularly. She just paid her $1,500 deductible. Now her plan will cover 70 percent of the cost of her allergy shots. Lisa pays the other 30 percent; that's her coinsurance. If her treatment costs $150, her plan will pay $105 and she'll pay $45.

When choosing a plan, think about how much you use your insurance and how much protection you want against unpredictable expenses. Then look at the plan's deductible, coinsurance and copays and find what works best for you. Here are a few things to consider.

Deductible: A plan with a high deductible will have cheaper monthly payments. But you'll pay a lot upfront when you need care. You can also look for plans that cover some services before you pay your deductible.
Coinsurance: Typically, the lower a plan's monthly payments, the more you'll pay in coinsurance.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Dec 6 2016, 11:15 PM
lifebalance
post Dec 7 2016, 05:14 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(wayne84 @ Dec 7 2016, 05:12 PM)
need some advise on medical card. Any insurance company can offer a comprehensive a d good plan with monthly payment MYR 200-250 max budget, with annual coverage of hospitalize + surgery cost up to MYR 120k ? i dont need any investment link or investment portion as I put aside another portion of my income into saving and investment d. Can sifu sifu advise?
with standalone card it's doable, nowadays cover up to 1.65 mil per year edi. But still depends on your age, gender, whether you smoke and occupation.
lifebalance
post Dec 7 2016, 07:20 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(bananapie2017 @ Dec 7 2016, 07:16 PM)
My service agent no longer working thus this new handling agent previously said no upgrade n need buy new policy, so no choice that time i brought a new ILP from other co so still undecided to cancel it as the raider has been removed.  biggrin.gif
If he's the new servicing agent then should be okay since he'll get his commission from the upgrade.

Weird on what he's trying to do
lifebalance
post Dec 7 2016, 08:29 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(bananapie2017 @ Dec 7 2016, 08:14 PM)
I have no idea is he old or new agent.
You mean you can't recognise how your original agent look like and his name is different in the policy book? Then obviously it's the new agent

Anyways you have a choice to choose another servicing agent if you feel that the agent is unreliable to advise you professionally
lifebalance
post Dec 8 2016, 03:25 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Dec 8 2016, 10:46 AM)
Need some advice on medical card for infant. Any recommendations?
QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Dec 8 2016, 03:15 PM)
AIA medical card with platinum hospital facilities sounds ideal.  :thumbsup:
Just to double clarify what's AIA platinum network hospital

lifebalance
post Dec 9 2016, 04:13 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Mark Renton @ Dec 9 2016, 04:09 PM)
Hi Sifus,

Need some explanation on this:
R&B 250 + 70,000 MME
So R&B is 250 per day if I understand this correctly? And what is MME stands for?
what's that ? which insurance company is this from ?

Any product name ?

any online brochure ?
lifebalance
post Dec 9 2016, 04:25 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Mark Renton @ Dec 9 2016, 04:19 PM)
Insurance company is Great Eastern. This is for my annual company insurance coverage.
well best to get someone from that company to answer you.
lifebalance
post Dec 11 2016, 09:59 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(guviguvi @ Dec 11 2016, 09:40 PM)
Which mean all insurance company also allow to claim if the treatment is done at oversea? Just based on reimbursement claim. correct?
Yeap correct

However there are some plans where you can straight away claim without having to pay first and reimburse later which AIA plan 500 can offer this
lifebalance
post Dec 13 2016, 04:00 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Dec 13 2016, 03:53 PM)
Hi everyone, just looking for some advice on child insurance, as I've received so many conflicting opinions on this matter and am more confused than ever now.

I've got a baby and toddler, and recently been advised to buy insurance for them. First, I don't believe in using insurance to save or invest for me, as I am comfortable making my own investment decisions. My kids' education is also fully taken care of. Therefore, my objective of buying insurance is for protection more than anything.

Both my husband and I are employed, with jobs that have comprehensive health insurance coverage for our kids. We have 20-30 years until retirement.

Under such circumstances, is there any point buying insurance for our kids? Many of our colleagues bought (because they felt they should, but no one can explain why) and pay about RM200-300 premium per month. I'm paying RM1000 per month for my personal insurance, so RM300 for each kid seems high given that they have no income and will hopefully be healthy for the first 40-50 years of life.

Just wondering if someone can explain simply why people buy insurance for kids, even if covered by parents company etc. Any agent care to share sample plans which make sense for my situation? I feel like not buying at all, is better than buying something no one seems to be able to explain well enough to me.

Thanks in advance.
For your case, since you've all planned out for your kids, you may opt for standalone medical card for your kids.

Reason is simple, you're working with your company and your company will cover your family as long as you are working with them.

However, you'll lose the coverage in the event of
1. Laid off
2. Retrenchment
3. Resignation
4. Due to critical illness, you're no longer able to continue working anymore

Also, having a personal medical card at all time is good as you won't be insurable anymore to any company in the event you have gotten some critical illness while being under the company coverage. Your personal medical card will stick to you for life if you've gotten this way earlier before any pre-existing illness.
lifebalance
post Dec 13 2016, 04:14 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Dec 13 2016, 04:09 PM)
Thanks for quick reply.

Yepp. I understand the reasons for me getting personal medical card and comprehensive insurance coverage for myself, but for kids.. my thinking is like this:

1. My husband and I are likely to be employed for next 20-30 years, both in industries that have comprehensive health insurance for dependents. So while the kids are dependents, they're unlikely to claim anything against our personal insurance.

2. Even if we both are laid off or resign, unlikely to be at the same time. And upon retirement, kids will be 20-30 years old.

3. Under the above circumstances, why pay for kids' insurance now? And 200-300 per month, isn't that expensive? How does standalone medical card for kids work?

4. Does it make more sense NOT to buy insurance while the are kids... And just buy when they are 18+? By then, medical coats will have changed too, and they will be under new insurance plans, rather than stuck with old ancient plans that we have to pay for 18 years (and hopefully never claim from)?

Sorry if my questions are stupid. I just don't understand the rationale for kids insurance, but many people seem to think I makes sense.
if your kids have grown up with no health problem / illness all the way to 20 - 30 years old, then it doesn't make sense to buy an insurance now, don't you agree?

However, can you guarantee they won't have any health problem / illness in between these years like cancer, diabetes, high blood pressure, other illnesses that will not disqualify them of any eligibility to buy any insurance in the near future?

It's like Buying a Car Insurance, can you guarantee a car can't get any accident in 20 years ? why buy car insurance every year then to waste money (aside that it's made compulsory by government), right ? I know it's not the same illustration, but try to relate with an object that is subject to the same element of random event such as accidents, self incurred accidents.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Dec 13 2016, 04:16 PM
lifebalance
post Dec 13 2016, 05:48 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Dec 13 2016, 05:38 PM)
I understand this. But, the numbers don't make so much sense to me.

Say I buy a RM250 a month plan. For 18 years, that's RM54k.

How many families do you personally know who have spent that kind of money on health care costs in first 18 years of child's life? Plus, there is also decent protection for children from both husband's and my job. So unless something catastrophic happens, we shouldn't have to make claims on our personal children's policies.

So if nothing happens, that's RM54k down the drain, plus the fact that the kid has to keep paying premiums until 80? That's like total RM240k?

As I said, maybe I'm really stupid, but none of this makes me sense to me.

I know that nothing is guaranteed etc. But what I don't understand is why pay high premiums from childhood for a risk that is remote? My RM1000 per month for me makes full sense given that I earn income, and the likelihood of ill health increases exponentially as we age.
Which is why you're not reading what I'm saying at first to you, get a standalone medical card which cost less than 100 a month for a children. That way if you want to calculate your dollar and cents, you're paying about 24k for 20 years.

However, don't be penny-wise and pound foolish.

It seems to me that you've already made up your mind at the beginning on not to spend that money at all on your children's health insurance, there isn't any point for me to try to convince you when you're not being receptive towards advise.

Let me know when you're willing to exchange your RM1,200 per year premium for a RM1,000,000 per year healthcare plan. If you're willing to invest RM1000 per month on yourself, I'm sure RM100 per month for your children healthcare is not going to make you bankrupt. These are your kids health we're talking about. Are they not worthy to get a simple coverage for their future?

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Dec 13 2016, 05:54 PM
lifebalance
post Dec 13 2016, 06:04 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(daymond7 @ Dec 13 2016, 06:02 PM)
Meaning the deductible amount 90k not need deduct again
in order to claim under extender plan?

So it can fully claim?

reimbursement basis mean pay by outself first then claimed?

because other brand agent told me that need to pay the 90k (since first plan annual limit fully use)
from own pocket money in order to use extender plan.
so that the rest 110k (200k - 90k) can claim
rclxub.gif
hmm.gif dun think it works that way, most insurance company have already extended to cover above 1 mil +
lifebalance
post Dec 13 2016, 06:16 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(lilsunflower @ Dec 13 2016, 06:06 PM)
I am very receptive to it which is why I'm asking, and have also tried to find from various sources and am setting out my questions in great detail. But your explanation doesn't fill in the gaps or explain what additional protection this standalone medical card would give me. As I said. Perhaps I'm stupid.

A RM100 basic medical card gives less coverage than my husband and my jobs for our kids. Bear in mind. I have 2 kids, so I have to pay RM200. And that's just basic right? Our employment covers dependents for free.

So if our kid has such a serious illness, that we totally max out both our employment insurance plans, then that's when we'll be using the RM100 medical card. Right?

But realistically, what additional benefit / coverage does it provide given the illness is so bad that totally max out our insurance both sides??? Then we max the RM100 card... and kid is basically near death.

My question is not whether child insurance is good or bad, but is it like wearing an armour over an armour (i.e. overkill protection) in MY situation? If the insurance fulfils a need that is not currently covered, then I would be happy to pay whatever premium is required.  That's the crux of my question and one which, Im sorry to say,  your explanation does not address.
How much is your employer covering your family at the moment? RM100,000 per annum? Unlimited ?

It's not a matter of whether your employer is covering X amount, it's a matter of can they(the kids) be continued to be covered if you're no longer working in that company or switching your jobs in between while they're growing up

The armor from the company is temporary, what you're getting is the armor that is permanent on your kid. What your employer gives is a benefit to you as an employee. Nothing more.

You might say the coverage is overkill, so would you have your Wealth near death even if your child is near death from all the treatment when they're requiring you to pay more than what is covered by your company ?

We just need that 1% chance to hit someone critically ill/death and they'll be financially burdened to try to resolve that issue unprepared.

My main question to you now is, Do you have the peace of mind with your current plan for your family? If you do, then don't think about this anymore and move on.

32 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:34 PM