32 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Insurance Talk V3, Anything and everything about insurance

lifebalance
post Oct 26 2016, 03:21 PM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

QUOTE(Vingoh @ Oct 26 2016, 03:08 PM)
Investment link policy
If it's investment link plan then can upgrade. its time to fire ur agent if that's his advise to you.
lifebalance
post Oct 26 2016, 06:52 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(kirua_85 @ Oct 26 2016, 06:27 PM)
sifoos, is there any insurance can claim without admission into ward? like u do extensive blood workup and imaging scans........like can go to clinic without payment, claim via insurance only....so far PruBSN can only use when u admitted.....
Personal medical card is for hospitalisation only

Things like clinic claim will fall under outpatient which only group insurance will cover such as your company insurance

Your personal insurance covers day care which means you can operate and leave the hospital on the same day
lifebalance
post Oct 26 2016, 07:40 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 26 2016, 07:15 PM)
Rant here. My girlfriend returned home this evening and she met with her AIA insurance agent during lunch. I gave her a slight warning not to sign anything before going through with me as I know she has a medical coverage @MYR166 to the agent.

So today her agent recommended a policy to her which she emailed to me. I will sum it up.

Annual payment - MYR 3705

What was sold to her? A savers plan and marketing it as when you get cancer you will be covered by being paid DAILY and you have a compounding interest via unit trust under AIA.

TOTAL PAYMENT AFTER 20 YEARS. MYR74,100 on top of her current one MYR39840 which is MYR 103940

Mind you my girlfriend is working in a very safe environment with no dependants, no children, mom and dad covered already, car given to her by mom.

In short,

why the hell would you get someone to buy such an expensive premium and not cater to their asset worth and ability to maintain the premium. You agents have to stop doing this. I know you want to makan but dont over sale your product to the point it harbours on false advertising.
Uh you should be posing this to her agent instead. No point ranting it in here
lifebalance
post Oct 26 2016, 07:59 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 26 2016, 07:47 PM)
Iol after what happened to my agent. no thanks. I'm not gonna trust any agent for now on. I'm just  gonna start telling everyone to get their health covered with a basic health coverage and be prudent in their savings.
It's actually not wrong to invest into an investment link policy for people who don't really have time to monitor their investment and let the insurance company handle the investment

If you're good in investing then by all means go ahead and invest the money yourself. But don't bring down a product just because it doesn't suit you
lifebalance
post Oct 26 2016, 08:17 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 26 2016, 08:08 PM)
my problem is you are supposed to be selling insurance not an investment if it were I would have gotten a public mutual agent or someone else.

trying to market it as savings is just wrong because the agent gets a cut out of the funds, on top of the management fees by the company and what not.

at least public mutual agents are honest about their dealing.not trying to argue with you but I seen one too many cases of insurance agents trying to be investment agents
The investment fund value is not for you to enjoy but for the policy to last at older age whereby your premium paid is lower than the cost of insurance and the years of investment will be used to pay up for the difference which is why you still pay for the same premium throughout the years.
lifebalance
post Oct 27 2016, 12:37 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(starry @ Oct 26 2016, 08:27 PM)
Hi lifebalance,
The AIA medical policy states that we can make reverse charge calls to the AIA hotline for international medical assistance when we're overseas.
If I'm in Japan, how do I do that using a Malaysian mobile number? Any idea?

For this, you can put in 00 81(Japan) (Area Code you're in) (Number). If you're not sure of the area code, you may call up AIA customer service to enquire.
lifebalance
post Oct 27 2016, 07:21 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Vingoh @ Oct 27 2016, 06:53 PM)
My policy bought 10 year ago, still can upgrade?
Can, investment link is a flexible policy
lifebalance
post Oct 27 2016, 07:29 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Vingoh @ Oct 27 2016, 07:26 PM)
May i know which company provided non cancellable policy?
Most main insurance player in the market that I know have removed such clauses including AIA.
lifebalance
post Oct 30 2016, 12:46 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(sekelord @ Oct 30 2016, 08:10 AM)
Hi to all insurance expert,

I would like to inquiry the following, hope to get advise from all,

I am looking for a insurance for my mom,
mainly medical protection,
she is around 68 years old,
i understand the last call is 69 years old.
Date of birth: 28 march 1948.

Kindly help to advice which is better, medical protection only? or Investment link (with medical protection)?

I had a check with ING aka AIA
the price is around RM7,600 for medical protection only and around 9600 for investment  link which the price can maintain for about 10 years at RM9,600.

I not sure what is best selection, need comment from insurance expert here in the forum to help.
If you prefer not to pay a higher premium when your mom is much older then take the investment link plan

Otherwise if you want to maintain a lower premium now and don't mind the higher premium later on then get the standalone medical card

Let me know if you have any further question
lifebalance
post Nov 1 2016, 10:19 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Nov 1 2016, 10:16 PM)
[attachmentid=7925062]

this popped up on my news feed and I been meaning to ask everyone if it's actually okay for insurance agents to be using "financial planners".  I know that financial planners in Malaysia are required to have licenses?

In Malaysia, those who practice as Financial Planner must pass any one of below examinations :

1) Registered Financial Planners issued by Malaysian Financial Planning Council (MFPC)

2) Certified Financial Planners (CFP) issued by Financial Planning Association of Malaysia (FPAM)

So the agents selling these packages are licensed?
only those who are RFP registered can claim as financial planners

Otherwise it's just life insurance agent.
lifebalance
post Nov 2 2016, 02:02 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Kellicros @ Nov 1 2016, 11:33 PM)
Hi everyone, I have some inquiries regarding a medical card claim, I have a epidermal cyst removed via surgery last week.

Here's the story:

I have a lump on my leg since I was very young but I could not remember since when (the doctor put it 10 years old in my record, I am 31 now), the lump was small and was never diagnosed. I have been paying for my premiums only about 3 years+ , now does this mean it is a pre-existing condition and will not be covered?

The lumps only grew bigger recently and has sign of inflammatory so I decided seek medical help in a hospital, doctor advised to do a biopsy to figure out what it is, so I submitted an hospitalization admission, but the GL was declined due to "lack of report". Agent's advice is to pay for the biopsy myself, then apply the claim later, agent also implies that if the biopsy result states that the lump is not medical necessary, the claim will not be approved, as the treatment is consider "cosmetic" and will not be covered, which I understood completely.

Afraid of having to bear the whole medical AND hospitalization fee myself, I opt to not be hospitalized and proceed with the biopsy. Now here is where it becomes complicated, during the biopsy the doctor discovered that the lump is a cyst but cannot decide if it is harmful. Doctor said she's confident that she could remove the whole thing instead of a small part of it for the biopsy. She asked me if I want to proceed with the complete excision to which I answered yes, because no body want to go through this twice, I thought.

So at the end of the surgery, what could have costed RM500 end up costing about RM2000 and the whole cyst was sent for biopsy. 5 days later, the biopsy report came out, the doctor says it was medical necessary and I should be able to claim, because even though the cyst is benign(not cancer), it is inflamed and ruptured and could be harmful. But the thing is, I am not hospitalized! As in, I did not stay in a ward for a period of time!

So, here're my questions:

1. Again, is my condition considered "pre-existing"?

2. Is hospitalization/staying in a ward compulsory for the claim?
    - Doctor says it is not necessary as this is under "day surgery".
    - My agent insisted that I need to be warded in order to claim, but I have convinced to submit the documents anyway.

3. Is there any chance that my payment will be reimbursed? If there is, how long does it usually take?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

EDIT: Oh by the way, the insurer is Great Eastern.
You should talk to the claim department of the insurance company you're taking with.

No amount of reply here will be able to solve ur problem as the discretion of the claim still comes from the insurance company.

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Nov 2 2016, 02:03 AM
lifebalance
post Nov 3 2016, 10:40 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Nov 3 2016, 10:38 AM)
For room & board benefit of rm150 perday what hospital i can go n what type of room ill get? from few private hospital website all rates > 150 for single room
around 2 bedded room.

Some hospital can still get for 1 bedded.
lifebalance
post Nov 7 2016, 11:01 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Nov 6 2016, 11:21 AM)
Annual limit too low?
140k annual limit is not a lot later on in a few years time

For family plan as I know AIA provides 2 adults and 4 kids at a cheaper cost.
lifebalance
post Nov 7 2016, 11:16 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Nov 7 2016, 11:06 PM)
Is there any family plan that includes parents as well?

Also, may I know what is the difference between insurance and takaful? No jargon words please, as I'm just starting to explore this whole financial stuffs biggrin.gif
No there is no family plan that can include your parents

It branches down instead of including the upper branch

You'll have to opt for an individual policy for it

Takaful is catered for the Muslim community and conventional for non Muslim
lifebalance
post Nov 8 2016, 12:53 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Nov 7 2016, 11:30 PM)
So, what is the pros and cons while taking normal insurance compared to takaful?
There is no specified pros and cons as the product offered is similar.

Takaful policy will be best taken up by Muslims while non-muslims can opt for conventional or takaful.

lifebalance
post Nov 8 2016, 09:12 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Nov 8 2016, 09:09 PM)
So in conclusion from your opinion, takaful > conventional insurance? Can a person take two takaful/insurance policy at a time?
It's not necessary that takaful is way better than conventional as cost incur is 5% more than conventional policy.

A person can hold as many insurance policy as he/she wants. As long as the income can justify taking up such insurance policy.
lifebalance
post Nov 11 2016, 02:05 AM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Nov 9 2016, 07:08 PM)
What does it mean lack of report and no guarantee letter can be issued?
As no full detail is given, you should ask ur agent
lifebalance
post Nov 11 2016, 12:02 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(diodorus @ Nov 11 2016, 11:57 AM)
Guys,just some questions regarding AIA health maximiser. I believe its a top up for my employee benefit. If for example,

Scenario A
I choose plan 5 for option B where I need to pay 50k first before the insurance start to cover and I still have my employe benefits that cover 50k.

Previously I have been admitted and already fully utilize 50k from my employee benefit, and now I have to be admitted again and need to pay 100k. Do I need to pay 50k first or the aia health maximizer already cover the cost?

Scenario B
I choose plan 5 for option A,where I only need to pay 10k first before the insurance start cover.

I have been admitted and need to pay 50k. Do aia utilize all 50k from my employee benefit first or use 10k only from employee benefit and another 40k cover by aia health maximiser?
Hi

Scenario A
Since 50k is already used by the employee benefit, if you admit for 100k in the same year, then can use the maximizer limit.

Scenario B
As long as you're covered by the employee benefit, the full amount will be deducted with the employee benefit first , then only utilize the health maximizer limit.

If you're unemployed and carry out this plan with you, you'll need to pay for the 10k first before you can claim for the health maximizer.

If you're worried about the high deductible, then you might want to consider medical card that do not have deductible.
lifebalance
post Nov 12 2016, 11:24 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(galaxynote259 @ Nov 11 2016, 08:49 PM)
yeah i referred to previous post several pages back.

but in the end his case can be claimed right?
Subject to the claim department decision on that

This post has been edited by lifebalance: Nov 12 2016, 11:29 PM
lifebalance
post Nov 15 2016, 06:07 PM

10,162 posts

QUOTE(Vincentccw @ Nov 15 2016, 02:42 PM)
Hi, I have a medical card with AIA few years back and I'm planning to work in Singapore next one or two years. Is cancelling my premium a good idea since I won't be getting any coverage at all after I move to Singapore.
if you're just going there for casual work for 2 years, keeping the policy will be much more advisable.

However if you don't plan to come back anymore then cancelling it and getting the local insurance over there is better.

32 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0836sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:03 PM