127 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

sunauto
post Feb 23 2008, 11:48 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Feb 23 2008, 10:54 AM)
Arent those can input HD only but in the end also downscaled back to normal resolution ?
Yup that's true because the best CRT tv in the market can only do the most 720X480 resolution.
htkaki
post Feb 23 2008, 06:52 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 23 2008, 10:49 AM)
CRT also got HD ones lar

You meant this :

Sony KV-HR36M61

Specification and Features
Ngto
post Feb 23 2008, 08:05 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 23 2008, 06:52 PM)
Can input up to 1080i , but didn't say what is the final output resolution also.

Added on February 23, 2008, 8:10 pm
QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 23 2008, 11:48 AM)
Yup that's true because the best CRT tv in the market can only do the most 720X480 resolution.
Then I'd rather get a good progresive scan 480P player and output directly to the CRT TV 480P output, rather than the Samsung 950 upscale it to 1080i resolution and then the CRT TV downscale it back to 480P hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Feb 23 2008, 08:10 PM
sunauto
post Feb 24 2008, 12:21 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Feb 23 2008, 08:05 PM)
Can input up to 1080i , but didn't say what is the final output resolution also.

Added on February 23, 2008, 8:10 pm
Then I'd rather get a good progresive scan 480P player and output directly to the CRT TV 480P output, rather than the Samsung 950 upscale it to 1080i resolution and then the CRT TV downscale it back to 480P    hmm.gif
That's true, the upscaling and downscaling thingy will cause picture noise, motion juddering, artifacts, etc. Getting a good upscaling player is more than enough because a CRT tv is not even close to the first generation EDTV plasmas.
mnkh27
post Feb 24 2008, 06:09 AM

212 posts

Pioneer DV-989AV-G now new at just RM2k worth buying?
tasriri
post Feb 24 2008, 07:49 PM

133 posts

any comments on this philips dvp-5986 so far?
i heard phillips can read pirate cd especially when it comes to the edge of the CD.. any comments?
Ngto
post Feb 24 2008, 07:55 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(tasriri @ Feb 24 2008, 07:49 PM)
i heard phillips can read pirate cd especially when it comes to the edge of the CD.. any comments?
Search through the past comments in this thread.
kianwee
post Feb 24 2008, 08:35 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

I've been torturing the player for around 6 hours per day for a few weeks. So far, no problem.
outdoorxplorer
post Feb 24 2008, 09:52 PM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,028 posts

no complaint.. worth the money you spend..

This post has been edited by outdoorxplorer: Feb 26 2008, 06:59 PM
TStimothyy
post Feb 24 2008, 11:22 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

Deng!!! You guys are crazy. Still talking about best HDMI players? I thought now should be best Blue Ray players ma.

Kekekeke...

My N76 still working fine.
sunauto
post Feb 25 2008, 01:22 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Feb 24 2008, 11:22 PM)
Deng!!! You guys are crazy. Still talking about best HDMI players? I thought now should be best Blue Ray players ma.

Kekekeke...

My N76 still working fine.
I guess people will only change the topic to blu-ray players once the ahem discs are out because majority of the people out there are only waiting for this to happen. People are buying upscaling dvd players b'coz they thought it will make their ahem movies look like blu-ray but honestly, upscaling is something like edge enhancement to make the picture sharper on a HDTV set but it doesn't make it clearer and it's nothing if compared to a real HD sources.
HHCC
post Feb 26 2008, 06:30 PM

250 posts

Anyone here using PS3 as an upscaler player?

How's the improvement with picture quality & audio with SD DVD compared with dedicated player like Sony 76, Philips 5986 or Pioneer 989?

IMO if it does a good job then it is value for money..3 in1...gaming console, upscaler and blue ray player.

Cheers!!!
silbii
post Feb 26 2008, 09:41 PM

963 posts

just wanna share -

i just got a cheap cap ayam dvd player brand Agip that does upconvert to 720p and 1080i via component...using it with my infocus sp4805...not bad.
For info, the player desnt have hdmi out...hence the cheap price.

Furthermore my infocus does not have hdmi, so finding to get improvements of 480i dvd via component is really something that i look forward to.

After testing, my untrained eye can see a slightly sharper pic...used to used the projector's own faroudja scaler via 480i component but setting the dvd player at 720p, the image seemed to become a bit more sharper...i cant even see any jagged edges now

Anyone else has used this dvd player? any comments coz i might just me 'hallucanting' in awe coz of the cool feature? Heck, ive got a feeling that the new flock of cheap dvd players out there will have this upconvert feature installed...which is damn good!

good to know that i might not need hdmi as yet now smile.gif
clngu
post Feb 26 2008, 09:58 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(mnkh27 @ Feb 24 2008, 06:09 AM)
Bro, buy lah ... so cheap ... I was using this player before ... now cold-storage it already ... got Blu-Ray player smile.gif
hackwire
post Feb 28 2008, 03:46 PM

4,256 posts

philips dvp-5986 quoted by a shop in SS2 Legend for RM 370 . the shop very unfriendly one.
outdoorxplorer
post Feb 28 2008, 09:38 PM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,028 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 28 2008, 03:46 PM)
philips dvp-5986 quoted by a shop in SS2 Legend for RM 370 . the shop very unfriendly one.
senheng rm388 with giraffe hdmi cable and 2 years warranty [for members only]

hackwire
post Feb 29 2008, 08:29 AM

4,256 posts

not bad for 2 years warranty some more.
Philips can last more than that also. Its really been proven that Philip is a good DVD. I used to have Philip VCD and it plays all sort of VCD without a problem. after 5 years, still work before i let go .
htkaki
post Feb 29 2008, 09:37 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 28 2008, 03:46 PM)

Is that so? ohmy.gif I thought a lot ppl frequent there since their price is almost rock bottom (claimed)

sunauto
post Feb 29 2008, 02:10 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(mnkh27 @ Feb 24 2008, 06:09 AM)
Not worth buying oredi because Sharp blu-ray player only RM1,900 and can upscale to 1080p for standard dvds. Of course, I expect other cheaper blu-ray players to appear here pretty soon or get a HD-DVD deck, it's less than a thousand now and a very good upscaler, even much better than Pioneer DV-989AV-G but one thing lah, the Pioneer is a universal player, it plays SACDs and DVD-Audio titles too.
hackwire
post Feb 29 2008, 03:23 PM

4,256 posts

i ended up buying Pioneer 400KV in Hi Way Lazer because they told me that when come to quality Picture , Pioneer beats all. So i bought it for RM 530..hope its worth the money

127 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:15 PM