Forgot to add Philips USB direct rocks dude...can simply play AVI files easily...
Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?
Feb 21 2008, 09:25 AM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
Forgot to add Philips USB direct rocks dude...can simply play AVI files easily...
Feb 21 2008, 01:00 PM
163 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PUCHONG |
QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 21 2008, 09:25 AM) I buy the philips dvp-5986 one weeks ago, hte usb is great but not "eat" all the devices. I got two thumb drive, one is working but the other one can't be detected by the player. Besides that, i got one 80GB external hardisk but it can't be detected by the playe also (it is in FAT32). is the player only "look" for certain brand or model???? |
Feb 21 2008, 01:59 PM
924 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Kay Ell |
QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 18 2008, 02:36 PM) Just bought my 78H from one of the electrical shops here in PG, the price was RM470 for it, you might be able to get it cheaper in Klang Valley area. Now, don't want to buy Toshiba HD-A35 liao, ar? wah~ can't believe a BEST HDMI PLAYER can go up to 109 pages...from the very beginning i read this thread until i got mine Philips 5986 for few months~ u all are lucky cos the price dropped alot! last time is RM499. now RM330~ back to topic the Toshiba HD-A35 not worth anymore due to HDDVD lost the format war... the price may cheap but not much title u can buy~!! |
Feb 21 2008, 03:39 PM
576 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Kuching |
Can you guys list out what did you buy/ how much/ where. thanks. wanna see which one tops the list.
p/s not much point in buying the tosh hd dvd... This post has been edited by GuN: Feb 21 2008, 03:40 PM |
Feb 21 2008, 04:43 PM
667 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Feb 20 2008, 08:26 PM) i always wonder whats that HD upscale button do?not auto upscale thru hdmi? i am kinda tempted to buy this player to replace those china brand dvd player that always give me those shocks |
Feb 22 2008, 07:53 AM
1,404 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Puchong |
Feb 22 2008, 08:22 AM
QUOTE(Synco @ Feb 21 2008, 04:43 PM) i always wonder whats that HD upscale button do? Most of the time, it will auto upscale to the LCD/Plasma prefered display resolutions. If you TV is capable of full HD...the player will auto upscale to 1080P or something like that. And if you LCD/Plasma is the normal HD ready set, then the DVD will only upscale to 720P.not auto upscale thru hdmi? i am kinda tempted to buy this player to replace those china brand dvd player that always give me those shocks But nowadays normal HD ready LCD/Plasma can recieve 1080P/i inputs,...so thats why there is a button or selection by U.I to upscale it to 1080P/i even though your TV is not capable of displaying Full HD. |
Feb 22 2008, 12:55 PM
2,028 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, MYS |
QUOTE(maan @ Feb 21 2008, 01:00 PM) I buy the philips dvp-5986 one weeks ago, hte usb is great but not "eat" all the devices. It works with my SanDisk Micro Cruzer 4GB. External HDD will not work regardless of size as stated in the user guide and online faq.I got two thumb drive, one is working but the other one can't be detected by the player. Besides that, i got one 80GB external hardisk but it can't be detected by the playe also (it is in FAT32). is the player only "look" for certain brand or model???? |
Feb 22 2008, 01:25 PM
18,672 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Best upscaler is Toshiba XA2. Grab it now with super low price of USD499 only....so cheap that I can't believe it....!!!!
Anyway, I dun have LCD. That's why I bought Samsung HD 950 where it can upconvert using component. No DVD player can do that now... |
Feb 22 2008, 02:53 PM
11,809 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
so ex, usd499? might as well get the A35
i tot somebody said got a few dvd player can upsclae thru component |
Feb 22 2008, 05:00 PM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
Feb 22 2008, 05:04 PM
3,603 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
wah..htkaki so elite...USD499 toys at home....
Feb 22 2008, 05:17 PM
paiseh.... I meant DVDP upscale via component. Given free by Supplier. ar188 saw this unit b4
Feb 22 2008, 05:24 PM
fuiyoh... got stanley's poiwer as well!!
Feb 22 2008, 05:30 PM
Siapa Stanley?
I am actually using 2 DVDP with upscaler. One via HDMI and another via component. |
Feb 22 2008, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Feb 22 2008, 12:55 PM) It works with my SanDisk Micro Cruzer 4GB. External HDD will not work regardless of size as stated in the user guide and online faq. I havent tried with any External HDD...but so far all USB sticks works for me...I dunno if got type that doen't work.But for External HDD, are you using the notebook one or one that need to connect to a power supply? |
Feb 23 2008, 01:07 AM
12 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(ESP156 @ Feb 19 2008, 05:29 PM) Bought it b4 CNY and very difficult to locate sony 78h, so i went for philips since it came with HDMI cable. The result turn to be very satisfying on My Hitachi 9500 plasma, can go up to 1080p. Added on February 23, 2008, 1:09 am QUOTE(zyberius @ Feb 23 2008, 01:07 AM) ... In PJ/KL areaThis post has been edited by zyberius: Feb 23 2008, 01:09 AM |
Feb 23 2008, 08:51 AM
4,350 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(gogo2 @ Feb 22 2008, 01:25 PM) Best upscaler is Toshiba XA2. Grab it now with super low price of USD499 only....so cheap that I can't believe it....!!!! With regards to the Samsung HD 950, are you sure it can upconvert using component? Just curious, what TV are you using anyway if you are not using LCD? If it's just conventional TV you are probably not getting even 720P resolution.Anyway, I dun have LCD. That's why I bought Samsung HD 950 where it can upconvert using component. No DVD player can do that now... |
Feb 23 2008, 10:49 AM
CRT also got HD ones lar
Feb 23 2008, 10:54 AM
4,350 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
| Change to: | 0.0262sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:56 PM |