127 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

Deani_77
post Nov 4 2007, 01:34 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

What is your impression when using it for the first time? A lot of different? Planning to get one during my trip to Peninsular tomorrow.
rx330
post Nov 4 2007, 01:34 AM

11,811 posts

happy playinbg with ur new toy schizo biggrin.gif

mavric, if tats the case, get a new AV receiver
bluray and hd dvd player hdmi in to receiver, then hdmi out to tv will do
sunauto
post Nov 4 2007, 03:28 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Nov 3 2007, 11:33 PM)
Just received my Sony NS78 today
happy with it. smile.gif
connected via HDMI Cable which I bought from sunauto today.

I find that the front panel does not feel plastic-like as what other consumers tend to complain. It looks and feels better than my Pioneer's front which seems somewhat plastic-like.
Wah, jealous lor ....... the first Penangite to own a Sony NS78. tongue.gif

So, how's the playability of this player? Does it play ahem dvds as good as the previous model?

Honestly, I thought of buying one too since the price is quite affordable. It's more feasible than repairing a dvd player with a lens problem.

The most angry part, US people can get a Toshiba HD-DVD player for USD200 and that's only RM680 plus the most in our currency plus with 7 free HD-DVD movies. Damn ....... if only it was selling, I guess Sony NS78 will be a lot cheaper since at the current price point, people don't mind paying RM200 for a next-gen player and best of all, Toshiba's HD-DVD player comes with a free HDMI cable. doh.gif

Toshiba Malaysia is probably sleeping, still selling their player above RM2K plus. I wonder who will buy it.
TStimothyy
post Nov 4 2007, 02:33 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 4 2007, 03:28 AM)
Wah, jealous lor ....... the first Penangite to own a Sony NS78.  tongue.gif

So, how's the playability of this player? Does it play ahem dvds as good as the previous model?

Honestly, I thought of buying one too since the price is quite affordable. It's more feasible than repairing a dvd player with a lens problem.

The most angry part, US people can get a Toshiba HD-DVD player for USD200 and that's only RM680 plus the most in our currency plus with 7 free HD-DVD movies. Damn ....... if only it was selling, I guess Sony NS78 will be a lot cheaper since at the current price point, people don't mind paying RM200 for a next-gen player and best of all, Toshiba's HD-DVD player comes with a free HDMI cable.  doh.gif

Toshiba Malaysia is probably sleeping, still selling their player above RM2K plus. I wonder who will buy it.
Really? So cheap? My friend is going to USA... may be can ask him to help buy.... Any site for online buy?
mavric
post Nov 4 2007, 04:11 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Nov 4 2007, 12:33 AM)
happy with it. smile.gif

I find that the front panel does not feel plastic-like as what other consumers tend to complain. It looks and feels better than my Pioneer's front which seems somewhat plastic-like.
have u checked whether it uses the mediatek chip like the NS76?

Ngto
post Nov 4 2007, 04:15 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(mavric @ Nov 4 2007, 04:11 PM)
Whoa, you are asking him to perform surgery on his new baby biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Nov 4 2007, 04:24 PM
redken
post Nov 4 2007, 04:17 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

The most angry part, US people can get a Toshiba HD-DVD player for USD200 and that's only RM680 plus the most in our currency plus with 7 free HD-DVD movies. Damn ....... if only it was selling, I guess Sony NS78 will be a lot cheaper since at the current price point, people don't mind paying RM200 for a next-gen player and best of all, Toshiba's HD-DVD player comes with a free HDMI cable.  doh.gif

They arent sleeping. They will ship it here once the HD players achieve commercial mass, then dated, lastly redundant in stock. Notice how electronic giants only advertise in newspaper over here in Malaysia, and not all out marketing like the US? Simply because our market is too small for them to bother. And then there's the gov.
neoardi
post Nov 4 2007, 08:38 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Nov 3 2007, 11:33 PM)
happy with it. smile.gif

Is it black in color?

Please give some review? icon_rolleyes.gif
investor
post Nov 4 2007, 09:56 PM

125 posts

Just bought mind today 32" LG LC7R. Cost RM 2659.05 with 5% discount. Bought at Jusco non member RM 2799. But I'm a member of J card so got the 5% discount. Do you think worth it? At that time, I didn't think twice just bought it, since it is in my budget.

So far so good. rclxms.gif

Now planning to get HDMI DVD player. Which brand is good? Do yo think I should buy the LG brand with Simplink, so that I can use the LCD TV remote control to control back the HDMI DVD player.
JayYeong39
post Nov 4 2007, 10:43 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(investor @ Nov 4 2007, 09:56 PM)
Just bought mind today 32" LG LC7R. Cost RM 2659.05 with 5% discount. Bought at Jusco non member RM 2799. But I'm a member of J card so got the 5% discount. Do you think worth it? At that time, I didn't think twice just bought it, since it is in my budget.

So far so good. rclxms.gif

Now planning to get HDMI DVD player. Which brand is good? Do yo think I should buy the LG brand with Simplink, so that I can use the LCD TV remote control to control back the HDMI DVD player.
for HDMI DVD player,I would recommend you Sony DVP-NS78H.

Sony DVP-NS78H
* Precision Cinema Progressive 12bit108MHz Video DAC
* DVD-RW (VR Mode wCPRM) Playback
* MP3(CD-RRW DVD+RW+R-R-RW) Playback
* JPEG(CD-RRW DVD+RW+R-R-RW Kodak) Playback
* DivX Playback (CD-RRW DVD+RW+R-R-RW)
* Fast Playback with Sound Slow Playback with Sound
* V.C. Filter
* Multi Disc Resume (6disc)
* 720p1080p Up-Scaling
* HDMI Output x 1

For more info,>> http://www.sony.com.my/sonystyle/product/homeav_main.asp

schizophrenic
post Nov 4 2007, 11:32 PM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Nov 4 2007, 01:34 AM)
What is your impression when using it for the first time? A lot of different? Planning to get one during my trip to Peninsular tomorrow.
Initial impression was.....somewhat neutral. Not really excited because its not like a HD player or something. Just a normal player with upconversion capabilities. After using it, I started to become more satisfied. smile.gif

Added on November 4, 2007, 11:34 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 4 2007, 01:34 AM)
happy playinbg with ur new toy schizo biggrin.gif

mavric, if tats the case, get a new AV receiver
bluray and hd dvd player hdmi in to receiver, then hdmi out to tv will do
LOL
kinda tight these days. Besides I don't intend to get any other new eq anytime soon. will wait till i have a budget of at least 20k before my next upgrade.

Added on November 4, 2007, 11:38 pm

I tested it with my ermmm scratched disc and it plays without any problem unlike my pioneer. I also tested the image quality for my pioneer as well as sony. It seems that the picture produced by the sony is smoother and looks more realistic compared with my pioneer. can't really give much details as I am using a 32" not a 40" so the difference will not be that apparent.

I guess Toshiba is not willing to sell lower because sony is selling theirs above 2k. why sell lower when they can earn more selling higher. in the long run i believe they know they will have to lower the price due to the competition but that time is not yet now.

Added on November 4, 2007, 11:40 pm
QUOTE(mavric @ Nov 4 2007, 04:11 PM)
Whoa.....I do not intend to dissect my new player. LOL

but from what I heard it is using an updated mediatek chip
not sure about its accuracy though

Added on November 4, 2007, 11:41 pm
QUOTE(neoardi @ Nov 4 2007, 08:38 PM)
Is it black in color?

Please give some review? icon_rolleyes.gif
i didnt specify the color so I got silver. but it matches my other eq so i guess its fine. black seems nicer though if i am not looking for matching colors. lol

This post has been edited by schizophrenic: Nov 4 2007, 11:41 PM
htkaki
post Nov 5 2007, 09:41 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ken3011 @ Nov 2 2007, 01:18 AM)
for me i prefer samsung pioneer or philips coz the image really look nice

Pioneer blink.gif rclxub.gif Pioneer only have plasma tv. This topic is about LCD TV. doh.gif

mys_terious
post Nov 5 2007, 05:37 PM

882 posts

Tried to buy 78H today from Kean Yeap SOny Center in Kedah... 1st they tried to sell me 76H at rm599 i told them sony website selling rm499 their reply was 'oh ya now promotion ok i give u rm499'.. then i asked them abt 78H and they said that model will not be sold in Malaysia hehe.. so i said its advertised in sony malaysia website so i asked them if they can make a call n order for me... the guy looked at for a long time n replied 'they wont bring in that model'.. wat is wrong with malaysian dealers.. especially up north all these shops treat ppl like idiot.. i think i will just get it from sony website easier
rx330
post Nov 5 2007, 05:51 PM

11,811 posts

msia officially having the 78 ar?
neoardi
post Nov 5 2007, 08:56 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 5 2007, 05:51 PM)
http://www.sony.com.my/sonystyle/product/p...ubcategoryid=62
whistling.gif whistling.gif
h_bib
post Nov 5 2007, 11:01 PM

Gadgets Freak
847 posts

I might wait for Laser TV...^^
investor
post Nov 5 2007, 11:31 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(JayYeong39 @ Nov 4 2007, 02:43 PM)
for HDMI DVD player,I would recommend you Sony DVP-NS78H.

Sony DVP-NS78H
    * Precision Cinema Progressive 12bit108MHz Video DAC
    * DVD-RW (VR Mode wCPRM) Playback
    * MP3(CD-RRW DVD+RW+R-R-RW) Playback
    * JPEG(CD-RRW DVD+RW+R-R-RW Kodak) Playback
    * DivX Playback (CD-RRW DVD+RW+R-R-RW)
    * Fast Playback with Sound Slow Playback with Sound
    * V.C. Filter
    * Multi Disc Resume (6disc)
    * 720p1080p Up-Scaling
    * HDMI Output x 1

For more info,>> http://www.sony.com.my/sonystyle/product/homeav_main.asp
Thanks for the info.
xetajones
post Nov 5 2007, 11:33 PM

Connecting Brains
586 posts

Well US market is different then the local market. US and some countries do not have so called sales tax and duties. therefore they can sell much cheaper.

BTW most HDMI DVD players now come with HDMI cable. Does the Sony NS78 comes with HDMI cable?
rx330
post Nov 6 2007, 11:10 AM

11,811 posts

wow, too bad im not getting any biggrin.gif
schizophrenic
post Nov 6 2007, 02:31 PM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Nov 5 2007, 05:37 PM)
Tried to buy 78H today from Kean Yeap SOny Center in Kedah... 1st they tried to sell me 76H at rm599 i told them sony website selling rm499 their reply was 'oh ya now promotion ok i give u rm499'.. then i asked them abt 78H and they said that model will not be sold in Malaysia hehe.. so i said its advertised in sony malaysia website so i asked them if they can make a call n order for me... the guy looked at for a long time n replied 'they wont bring in that model'.. wat is wrong with malaysian dealers.. especially up north all these shops treat ppl like idiot.. i think i will just get it from sony website easier
whoa thats worst than mine. LOL
the dealers I went to said that they do not support sony and tried recommending pioneer to me. LOL

but the most reliable answer seem to be the fact that 76h is still new and they can only order after it has been officially launched by sony.

Added on November 6, 2007, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 5 2007, 05:51 PM)
definitely as you can order it via sony online(malaysia)

btw it is made in malaysia

Added on November 6, 2007, 2:35 pm
QUOTE(xetajones @ Nov 5 2007, 11:33 PM)
Well US market is different then the local market. US and some countries do not have so called sales tax and duties. therefore they can sell much cheaper.

BTW most HDMI DVD players now come with HDMI cable. Does the Sony NS78 comes with HDMI cable?
it does not come as a package in the box but if there is a promotion or if the dealer is willing to give, then there might be a HDMI cable bundled with the player.

This post has been edited by schizophrenic: Nov 6 2007, 02:35 PM

127 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.98    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:24 AM