ic, same as the 76, made in msia
Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?
Nov 6 2007, 02:53 PM
11,811 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
ic, same as the 76, made in msia
Nov 6 2007, 04:33 PM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
QUOTE(timothyy @ Nov 4 2007, 02:33 PM) Really? So cheap? My friend is going to USA... may be can ask him to help buy.... Any site for online buy? Not a good idea, it's more expensive than buying from here. Sony dvd players are made in Malaysia leh, why go to US to buy it. QUOTE(mavric @ Nov 4 2007, 04:11 PM) QUOTE(redken @ Nov 4 2007, 04:17 PM) They arent sleeping. They will ship it here once the HD players achieve commercial mass, then dated, lastly redundant in stock. Notice how electronic giants only advertise in newspaper over here in Malaysia, and not all out marketing like the US? Simply because our market is too small for them to bother. And then there's the gov. Somehow I feel that Toshiba Malaysia is slow moving, Toshiba has two types of HD-DVD players, they brought one, the useless one with 1080i plus expensive somemore. QUOTE(mys_terious @ Nov 5 2007, 05:37 PM) Tried to buy 78H today from Kean Yeap SOny Center in Kedah... 1st they tried to sell me 76H at rm599 i told them sony website selling rm499 their reply was 'oh ya now promotion ok i give u rm499'.. then i asked them abt 78H and they said that model will not be sold in Malaysia hehe.. so i said its advertised in sony malaysia website so i asked them if they can make a call n order for me... the guy looked at for a long time n replied 'they wont bring in that model'.. wat is wrong with malaysian dealers.. especially up north all these shops treat ppl like idiot.. i think i will just get it from sony website easier They blur blur one lah, Sony probably didn't give their dealers training or briefing during new product launches unlike other brands that I know, Pioneer, Panasonic, Samsung, Sharp, etc.QUOTE(xetajones @ Nov 5 2007, 11:33 PM) Well US market is different then the local market. US and some countries do not have so called sales tax and duties. therefore they can sell much cheaper. Nope, all Sony upscaling dvd players come without a HDMI cable. Even PS3 also dun have one. Hahaha. What do ya know, it's a Sony. BTW most HDMI DVD players now come with HDMI cable. Does the Sony NS78 comes with HDMI cable? |
Nov 6 2007, 09:39 PM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
QUOTE(h_bib @ Nov 5 2007, 11:01 PM) |
Nov 6 2007, 11:38 PM
387 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(JayYeong39 @ Nov 4 2007, 10:43 PM) for HDMI DVD player,I would recommend you Sony DVP-NS78H. How does this "720p1080p Up-Scaling" work? Does it automatically detect the software and upscale the signal to the LCD?Sony DVP-NS78H * Precision Cinema Progressive 12bit108MHz Video DAC * DVD-RW (VR Mode wCPRM) Playback * MP3(CD-RRW DVD+RW+R-R-RW) Playback * JPEG(CD-RRW DVD+RW+R-R-RW Kodak) Playback * DivX Playback (CD-RRW DVD+RW+R-R-RW) * Fast Playback with Sound Slow Playback with Sound * V.C. Filter * Multi Disc Resume (6disc) * 720p1080p Up-Scaling * HDMI Output x 1 For more info,>> http://www.sony.com.my/sonystyle/product/homeav_main.asp |
Nov 7 2007, 12:48 AM
QUOTE(hmwong @ Nov 6 2007, 11:38 PM) How does this "720p1080p Up-Scaling" work? Does it automatically detect the software and upscale the signal to the LCD? You should select the resolution from the setup menu and it will do the rest. Make sure you have chosen the right settings, don't choose 1080p if your LCD supports 1080i only. |
Nov 7 2007, 07:46 AM
3,965 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
What are the differences between DVP-NS78H and DVP-NS76H besides 720p1080p Up-Scaling?
Both selling the same price ....very interesting. |
Nov 7 2007, 10:26 AM
104 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
76H upscales to 1080i only
78H upscales to 1080p as far as i know, that's the only difference. i'm also wondering if there are any other differences since the price is same. according to sony shop in klcc..76H discontinued. they only carry 78H there. how true is this i dunno la |
Nov 7 2007, 11:36 AM
882 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
i have just paid for a 78H but have to wait for 10 working days
This post has been edited by mys_terious: Nov 7 2007, 11:37 AM |
Nov 7 2007, 12:40 PM
shudnt be much of a problem since the previous 76h was very good
Nov 8 2007, 12:56 AM
3,121 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: SA.KD.SA.KD |
QUOTE(sunauto @ Oct 29 2007, 12:21 AM) Thanks for the info. I didn't really know about this until you have shared this info with us. I mistakenly thought that they're either from China or Malaysia which is pretty common for other makes. Yeah me 2, sorry for the incorrect info earlier, the promoter for Sony LCD at BU really push hard for his unit, saying only the high end Sharp Aquos can stand side by side with their V300 series, for Phillips he keep saying its made from China, tats why the price for a full HD 42" unit is so cheap.. Honestly the model I mentioned in d earlier post do look very nice n sharp, its just that when it come to Made In China, the confidence just drops to zero, nowadays too many things make in china, until sometimes I dunno if I want to buy or not. |
Nov 8 2007, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(piscesguy @ Nov 7 2007, 07:46 AM) What are the differences between DVP-NS78H and DVP-NS76H besides 720p1080p Up-Scaling? Besides that, the 78H is lacking some of the picture noise filters from 76H but it's not a big issue anyway since I always switch them off as it makes the picture softer.Both selling the same price ....very interesting. |
Nov 8 2007, 10:15 AM
tis china issue thing ar...... no komen lar
V300 is not bad one |
Nov 8 2007, 07:45 PM
924 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Kay Ell |
guys...
i saw 76h selling RM399 only in equine park sony centre... add in RM79 get HDMI cable... good deal huh... |
Nov 8 2007, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(phelix @ Nov 8 2007, 07:45 PM) guys... Thats a good deal. i saw 76h selling RM399 only in equine park sony centre... add in RM79 get HDMI cable... good deal huh... By the way, whats the brand of the HDMI cable? Added on November 8, 2007, 7:53 pm QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 8 2007, 01:38 AM) Besides that, the 78H is lacking some of the picture noise filters from 76H but it's not a big issue anyway since I always switch them off as it makes the picture softer. I guess everybody will choose 78H unless 76H sells cheaper. This post has been edited by piscesguy: Nov 8 2007, 07:53 PM |
Nov 8 2007, 07:55 PM
924 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Kay Ell |
I donoh the brand...
but it listed there normal price is RM199... bundle only RM79.. should be original sony HDMI cable? it's sony centre.. |
Nov 8 2007, 08:04 PM
Yes I think so...coz..I know SONY HDMI cable 1.5m sells at RM 199 and 3.0m sells at RM 299.
Nov 9 2007, 01:11 AM
586 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: under MPSJ |
Nov 9 2007, 09:25 AM
4,504 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Planet Naboo |
xetajones... again... it will go back to the HDMI cable war zone (check that thread out).
Anyway, when you guys talking about which player is better... do look at what system you have. Having a 29" CRT TV does not require N76H or 78H. Output still same. Having a 32" LCD... usually does not give you any difference in term of 720p and 1080p. Even having 40 or 42" LCD... you will not see any difference. But there will b a lot of difference between digital and analog (HDMI/DVI vs S Video/Component) What is more important is whether the player can play your ahem discs. Whether the response is good or not. we have discussed many pages on which player earlier and for budget players with HDMI capabilities, seems like Sony N76H is the chosen one. It is capable of playing bad ahem disc and good pic quality. N78H... I am not sure. But if you only have 42" LCD, why bother about 720p and 1080p? You won't see the difference. |
Nov 9 2007, 10:34 AM
timothy... u know lar.. ppl...
buy phone for sms and callin nia, but the function must be pre equipped kaw kaw mar... same thing lor |
Nov 9 2007, 10:45 AM
4,504 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Planet Naboo |
| Change to: | 0.0263sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:49 AM |