8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion

charlesj
post Oct 11 2019, 11:52 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Oct 11 2019, 10:50 AM)
How old is the old a350 exactly. They’re all pretty new I thought .
Actually not really an "old" A350...
For long haul flight with A350, all will be under 2013 J seating for business class, where your leg has to squeeze into the tiny hole and sleep diagonally.
The "new" A350 is a regional flight, with 2018 RJ seats (same as new 787 flight), where based on review, is a much better product compare to former.
Hopefully got chance to fly on that soon.

charlesj
post Oct 11 2019, 02:23 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Oct 11 2019, 01:27 PM)
But Cathay regional business class is not as good?
And KUL-HKG-KUL leg will be on Cathay Dragon..
I will not waste my AM flying Japan (JAL especially)
I will go with Alaska instead

QUOTE(act one @ Oct 11 2019, 01:42 PM)
which router or flight to/from?
I think should be KL - Japan

This post has been edited by charlesj: Oct 11 2019, 02:24 PM
charlesj
post Oct 13 2019, 11:57 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Zegoon681111 @ Oct 13 2019, 11:20 AM)
I see.

Then my wife’s mile wasted dy cry.gif

Thanks for your confirmation, appreciate it
That's the game rule
So you have to bring your wife flying more frequent

Hint: you can redeem ticket for others
charlesj
post Oct 13 2019, 02:28 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(noslek @ Oct 13 2019, 12:53 PM)
You mentioned you just booked, but have you flown? If not I suppose you can always open another account for your wife now, this time with the correct name. You can enter her FFP number online before you fly, at check in, in SQ’s lounge (if you’re entitled) and at boarding gate. If no FFP is entered, you can do a retro-claim after you fly.
I believe his intention to claim his wife miles under his own, likely because his wife isn't fly frequently.
I also have my wife and son miles forfeited after not flying SQ for 3 years (accumulated too few for any use).

charlesj
post Oct 15 2019, 01:30 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(pingoz @ Oct 15 2019, 12:58 PM)
I would like to ask those who have experience on "Waitlist" for SQ F class. How high is our chances of getting the seat? And how long before the flight will we know whether we are getting the seat or not?
Last year my Suite from Shanghai was cleared 3 or 5 days before departure.
If not mistaken, the seat was 3 of 6 occupied.
I guess they will fill up the seat if there is vacancy and probably with sufficient FA.
As I already purchased the ticket so just ignore.

With new regulation, waitlist will be clear 2 weeks in advance, so you can know the status not till very last minute.
I have a waitlist to Zurich next month, currently it is 5 of 6 occupied, let's see how.
charlesj
post Oct 15 2019, 05:08 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(pingoz @ Oct 15 2019, 03:32 PM)
Oh we will be inform how many seats are still vacant from time to time? But 2 weeks in advance is kinda short for preparation. Should we wait till last minute, like 2 weeks before the flying date to buy the ticket or are there any other better option?
No choice, this is call waitlist.
Else just pay extra for Advantage.
Two weeks in advance is relatively good, anything still can plan in time, unless you definitely need to travel on the date.

To play waitlist game, either you are very free, can take your luggage and go anytime, else you need to have backup plan.
Google yourself regarding backup for waitlist.
There are many ways, such as buying a ticket which allow cancellation (at some fee of course!)
Don't forget buying 1 way ticket (to come home) can be quite expensive too.

charlesj
post Oct 15 2019, 05:12 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(msa9696 @ Oct 15 2019, 04:29 PM)
I feel it's getting harder with the new 2 weeks rule.
Previously, as long as they have seats, very high chances they will still release last minute (encountered once they released few hours before).
But now, if left 2 weeks and they decide they will not release, your waitlist will be removed immediately, and no more waitlist for you
I believe it depends on upgrade waitlist too, which will keep going till departure.
If upgrade waitlist is long, definitely no chance for normal waitlist.
Waitlist also depends on route.
Popular route such as JFK, is very rare to clear.

This post has been edited by charlesj: Oct 16 2019, 01:00 PM
charlesj
post Oct 16 2019, 02:34 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Oct 16 2019, 01:44 PM)
they very pandai
those I want go one, sure Kena waitlist
Where you want to go?
For suite, don't just aim for new A380, there are plenty space for old A380 and 777.
Business class, also good amount of space available.
Not forgetting the latest spontaneous escape.
30% off to/from Germany. makes my heart itchy tongue.gif
charlesj
post Oct 16 2019, 03:12 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Oct 16 2019, 03:08 PM)
Actually only London and Zurich first class is hard to get, everything else if u flexible can get seat
Saw Zurich in Saver a few times but never book.
London yes, so far never encounter, but plenty for old A380.
Sydney also surprisingly hard to get the new A380.
charlesj
post Oct 16 2019, 04:53 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(peigeng @ Oct 16 2019, 04:49 PM)
B777 F vs J got huge difference?
I will let you know next month tongue.gif

Btw, B777 J is using 2013 J seat (similar to A350), where we have to squeeze our legs into small hole and sleep at angle.

This post has been edited by charlesj: Oct 16 2019, 04:57 PM
charlesj
post Oct 20 2019, 11:57 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(mr.thinkpad @ Oct 20 2019, 10:30 AM)
have to call enrich call centre and ask if the upgrade seat is available for your flight, then proceed to buy economy. then call again to upgrade to business class, make sure you have enough miles
Make sure the seat purchased is eligible for upgrade too.
Usually upgradeable seats are not cheap.

charlesj
post Oct 23 2019, 11:00 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(peigeng @ Oct 23 2019, 10:50 AM)
This need to call in to redeem?And make sure you have your detailed flight number and cabin in order for them to ticketed?
Yes, else you will have a lengthy call and stress for both of you.
charlesj
post Nov 14 2019, 09:53 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Nov 14 2019, 09:01 AM)
Double your Points. Buy 3,000+ Hilton Honors Points and get 100% more.

Saw this promotion ads from Hilton Honor.
Does it worth to buy HH points and convert into air miles?
If my calculation is correct, you will get USD 4 cents/mile (KF), which is a joke.
charlesj
post Nov 14 2019, 02:27 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Nov 14 2019, 01:50 PM)
How you get Marriott point?
I think Amex Platinum is the only way for Msia CC.
I believe there are a few options from Spore CC.
Of course by frequent stay in Marriott or buying Marriott points.

Speaking about buying hotel points, is it possible to claim under "company expenses"?
How to go about? drool.gif
Ie. buy and redeem for yourself / your company staffs / directors

charlesj
post Nov 17 2019, 06:46 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 17 2019, 06:07 PM)
At 1.25sen per mile, it's very poor value....just redeeming any y ticket will get you at least 2.5sen....
Agree, I think if you fly slightly further, you can easily achieve 4sen/mile.
However, if you only have a little miles and it is expiring soon, especially from your spouse / kids who dont fly frequently, this is a good way to clear the miles.
charlesj
post Nov 17 2019, 09:50 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Nov 17 2019, 09:26 PM)
Why 6 years?
TP 3 years, airmiles 3 years.
Theoretically 3+3 = 6 years.
If you monitor your TP closely and redeem right before expiry, you will get close to 6 years
charlesj
post Nov 18 2019, 09:08 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(mr_tuzki @ Nov 18 2019, 05:21 PM)
Slightly off topic, just came across an interesting (and long) article about someone who had unlimited First Class travel privileges and who lived life in the skies.

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/20...s-golden-ticket
Haha. Got unlimited first class seat still not enough and wanted empty companion seat...
How much will you pay for it if you are given a chance to sign up this?
charlesj
post Nov 19 2019, 03:48 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(mr_tuzki @ Nov 18 2019, 09:39 PM)
This unlimited pass caters to only a particular type of traveller, maybe rich businessmen that fly a lot. You need to fly very very often to make it worthwhile
It says in 1994 this pass was sold for RM12 million, and even then it was discontinued shortly after.

I don't think airlines dare offer such unlimited passes anymore. Say one travels first class that costs RM30k, 26 times a year. After 40 years that's RM31 million haha.
USD250k was a steal.
To be fair, not many people have the guts to spend RM10+ million for such ticket, even put into today's currency.
As per your calculation, RM30k x 33 flights a year = RM1 mil.
You need to fly 12 years to recover to recover your cost, not take into account inflation / interest.
Only those age <50 worth spending on it (but how many can afford this!?), many at age 70 will have difficulty travelling.

QUOTE(digidigi @ Nov 18 2019, 09:43 PM)
I think a lot people here alr got more than enough first class ticket annually for free
How many is more than enough?
10? 20? Haha.
Don't forget what we have are merely miles which has no value, no guarantee seats, need to book months in advance etc.
charlesj
post Nov 29 2019, 11:08 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(whyip1988 @ Nov 29 2019, 08:49 AM)
Anyone of here try booking waitlist saver ticket before ?
actually when can get the confirmation from SQ ? 1 month or 2 weeks before the depart date ?

currently got 250k miles , enough to get 2 person one-way zurich to sg by new suites class , but only waitlist available.
Yup, just failed a waitlist last month.
Will get result with min 2 weeks.
Of course you can know earlier, 1 month, 2 months.

QUOTE(Jnkm13 @ Nov 29 2019, 10:51 AM)
I think it's almost impossible to get 2 saver tickets for the same flight especially on the route to Zurich. If 1 ticket, you might still get lucky.
Not really, found twice 2x saver suite to Zurich.
Not under waitlist.
Didn't book anyway.

charlesj
post Nov 29 2019, 12:08 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(whyip1988 @ Nov 29 2019, 11:29 AM)
Not really, found twice 2x saver suite to Zurich.

new suites ?
Zurich only fly new suite

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1154sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:01 PM