8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion

charlesj
post Jun 30 2019, 07:49 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Zegoon681111 @ Jun 30 2019, 07:18 PM)
Bangkok air was a bad example, lol.

I’m actually traveling with Aegean air.
Didn’t see any column for me to choose KF.

anyone here travelled with star alliance airlines and managed to earn KF?
Wow, Aegean air!
I few once 7 years ago!
Should be able to use KF depending on booking class.
charlesj
post Jul 15 2019, 03:04 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Jul 15 2019, 01:00 AM)
is Maybank platinum 2 cards and ambank have the same airmiles conversion rate?

I saw both will get 5x treat points on oversea spending and need 7000 points to convert 1000 asiamiles points
Yes for Asiamiles, compare to ambank wmc/vi.
KF and EM will require more for M2 Plat.

However, Amb WMC/VI will offer you 5x points for overseas, but for Maybank, only Amex entitled 5x, Visa is 1x even for overseas.

I was using combination of M2 Plat Amex + AMB WMC.
Use Amb for overseas (enjoying lower exchange rate too) and those local expenses which does not accept Amex.
charlesj
post Jul 20 2019, 04:05 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(peigeng @ Jul 20 2019, 03:11 PM)
Krisflyer stopover max is one year.is there any way that we can extend 3-4 month further by paying a fees?Anyone can help.?
Within one year after your 1st leg.
That's already a lot!
charlesj
post Jul 25 2019, 04:42 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(v2_vehooi @ Jul 25 2019, 02:51 PM)
walao...Numerous platforms like RentHero and CardUp have sprung up, allowing you to buy miles from 1.2 cents each

1.2 cent usd means around RM0.05 per krisflyer miles. is it so cheap???
Yup, but too bad only in Sg.
I think the currency is in SGD, not USD, so SGD 1.2X cents should be less than RM0.04, which is a relatively good value if you utilize your miles properly.

For us, we get 500TP = RM1 redemption; 5000TP = 1000 miles, hence you get 1 mile = RM0.01.
If you are not using M2P, the rate will be higher, say RM0.02, where you shouldn't redeem anything below this value (you rather use it for aeon voucher).
As mentioned by limeuu above, it is not "fair" to compare the value while redeeming for business / first class, as 99% here will only use cash to pay for economy class ticket.
Most of the time, you can achieve RM0.03 - RM0.06 while redeeming economy class ticket (especially when flying long distance), but this is not the optimum value.

For the above calculation, we are assuming the miles are free due to our daily expenses.
However, if you are "buying" miles, say at RM0.04, it is foolish if you are redeeming for RM0.04 or RM0.05...
Hence we always aim higher close to RM0.10, then I will say the miles bought are worth the value (technically, it is equivalent to paying economy class, flying business / first).

Nevertheless, everyone value miles differently.
Some of them are satisfied with RM0.05 redemption value (as long as higher value compare to aeon voucher), bringing whole family of 8 flying economy class on holiday every year.
Some of them will aim for the highest value ~RM0.20, flying suite class for honeymoon, once a lifetime ma, getting a lot WOW in the FB.
So, it is up to you how to utilize the miles and how you rate the miles value.

Personally, I am targetting RM0.10 for redemption (for special case, I think RM0.08 is acceptable).
I won't mind buying miles at RM0.03, RM0.04, or probably RM0.05, but I will only go with proper channel (don't get flagged by BNM/LHDN).

charlesj
post Aug 2 2019, 07:45 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Aug 2 2019, 12:18 AM)
Anyone can advise how to earn asia miles through Malaysia airline flight? Should I just quote my AM membership number during check in?
It depends on your booking class.
Most of the time, you will get 0 for other FFP, especially for cheapest ticket.
Ie economy promo with class Q, you earn on 25% with enrich while 0 for others.
charlesj
post Aug 2 2019, 08:20 PM

1,715 posts

New departure levy effective 1-Sept.
Flying Asean countries:
Economy RM8
Business/First RM50

Other countries:
Econony RM20
Business/First RM150!!!

Business/First class redemption with EM (Mas), AM (Cathay) will affected most.
For KF (Sia), I assume it is consider as flying Sg, hence charged at lower rate.
Same for Thai.
charlesj
post Sep 3 2019, 12:25 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(glauncher @ Sep 3 2019, 10:48 AM)
Thanks. So I tried to search Business class via Qatar Airways to New York, but it's all sold out even 1 year later.

It's not available for redemption ya?
JFK is a hot destination.
Managed to find a date on QR: KUL-JFK - 8 Oct via Doha.

Actually there are several dates with Cathay Business.
If you insist on QR, you may opt flying to Philadelphia or DC.
Found another ticket, KUL-PHL - 6-Feb via Doha.

I used to find several QR flights while searching for US ticket, but the tax is very high.

charlesj
post Sep 23 2019, 03:32 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(aattyyss @ Sep 23 2019, 02:35 PM)
need sifu advise here, what is the lowest miles needed for a trip to UK next year June? Economy is fine, even though less worth it. And also, when is the best time to redeem for that specific date. Thanks in advance sifu sifu sekalian smile.gif
I am not sure which FFP you have access to, but EM, KF and AM are the common one here.
For lowest miles, opt for AM, but you need to pay more on tax.
June is peak season for Europe, it is rather hard for ticket redemption.
You should try redemption as early as possible (now).
If your travel plan is less flexible and the date(s) have no confirm ticket, try to check again and again frequently (every 2 weeks).
charlesj
post Sep 26 2019, 05:55 PM

1,715 posts

OT, but something good to know.
Don't play play with airlines and definitely never exploit the system!

https://www.elliott.org/airline-problems/as...ff-your-flight/

https://www.elliott.org/travel-problems/ban...lying-now-what/
charlesj
post Sep 29 2019, 03:28 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Sep 29 2019, 12:41 PM)
Too bad for Msia billionaires, they can only convert 2mil airmiles each year.
charlesj
post Sep 29 2019, 06:56 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(act one @ Sep 29 2019, 04:31 PM)
FYI.
2015 news
Yup, read about it quite some time ago.

QUOTE(digidigi @ Sep 29 2019, 06:28 PM)
billionaire can la, not much in malaysia, million or multi millionaire pls follow the rules, haha
Yeah.
Najib only has 3mil CL for his Ambank CC.

Not difficult to become millionaire in Msia.
If you managed to buy 1 landed house in big city (or 2 apartments), after settle your loan, you are millionaire tongue.gif

charlesj
post Oct 9 2019, 04:54 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(glauncher @ Oct 9 2019, 10:03 AM)
Anyone can share what are the best value or must-try routes for AM redemption, J class as of now in 2019?

Any airline also ok.

Thanks smile.gif
KUL - Australia (any city) by Qantas
Australia to Japan, stopover HK by Cathay
Japan - KUL by JAL

KUL - Europe via DOH by Qatar
Europe - KUL via LHR by BA
Also can swap either leg via Finnair

charlesj
post Oct 9 2019, 11:29 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(glauncher @ Oct 9 2019, 10:35 PM)
Nice, never thought of possible Aus trip. now have another option. Thanks!

Never heard review of Finnair and BA J class. which 1 consider better?
BA never great.
Flew on Finnair economy before, not bad.
If I have a choice, I will go for Finnair J.

charlesj
post Oct 10 2019, 10:08 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(pingoz @ Oct 10 2019, 09:32 AM)
Would like to ask a similar question but for KF, anyone can share about this?
Thank you
Spend your KF flying SIA will do.
Unless you have unlimited miles, that's another question.
For SIA, it is more towards which type of seat / plane you are flying.
Same route but it may have a few different flights.
Ie flying Bangkok on 330 vs 787 is totally different experience.
You can always refer to link below:
https://mainlymiles.com/sq-business-seats-by-route/

charlesj
post Oct 10 2019, 10:26 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(peigeng @ Oct 10 2019, 10:12 AM)
And which aircraft have the best experience?
As mentioned by digi above.
Just avoid A330, the rest aren't too bad.
If possible, avoid old A350 too, but this is the most common aircraft for SIA, and the only J class I ever flew on SIA.
Will be testing on new A380 suite and 777 F soon tongue.gif
charlesj
post Oct 10 2019, 10:46 AM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(digidigi @ Oct 10 2019, 10:38 AM)
777300ER F Not the most modern seat but still good as max only four passenger, if u depart from japan, remember order the Japanese meal, it is the best.
Departing from Sg to Europe.
So happened the date is matching, so just proceed.
Best choice for dinner is BTC lobster?

Still waitlist for 2x new A380 to go 2nd honeymoon with my wife.
charlesj
post Oct 10 2019, 12:32 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(glauncher @ Oct 10 2019, 11:21 AM)
Oh I see, got many versions then. haha normally i just book without checking
Just refer to the same list mentioned earlier.
Each flight number has fixed aircraft type for SIA (relatively fixed, but do expect equipment change from time to time especially for short haul).
For Beijing, there are 3 flights daily:
old A380 and 777-300ER (x2); 1 of the 777-300ER will switch into 777-200 from Feb onwards
I guess your wife is flying both of these.

charlesj
post Oct 10 2019, 01:20 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(peigeng @ Oct 10 2019, 12:55 PM)
U mean even 777-300 vs 700-200 will be different ?
777 alone have 4 versions
777-300ER aka 77w
777-300 (773)
777-200ER (772 ER?)
777-200 (772)

Suggest to fly only 77w for premium class.
Economy, usually I don't care.
Btw, only left a handful of 772 & 773
charlesj
post Oct 10 2019, 06:05 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(msa9696 @ Oct 10 2019, 06:00 PM)
Somehow I find SIA food so so only, and IMO lobster not good, so agree with the suggestion try lobster at Private Room while onboard try something else
Thanks, will look into it.
Any suggestion for BTC?
charlesj
post Oct 10 2019, 10:23 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(torres09 @ Oct 10 2019, 10:08 PM)
Shi* just realised AM devaluation...
Was saving up for next year J return with JAL...
11k increase 1 way is more than 20%!
Devaluation only for partner airline with medium distance.
You can still fly with Cathay without miles increase.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

1.0815sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:16 AM