8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion

digidigi
post Mar 25 2019, 11:06 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(owodog91 @ Mar 25 2019, 10:55 AM)
Just redeemed  two ticket of round trip Penang-London flight with 112,400 Enrich miles by just paying 1615 Ringgit tax
Economy ? Decent rate

This post has been edited by digidigi: Mar 25 2019, 11:08 AM
digidigi
post Mar 25 2019, 12:17 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ Mar 25 2019, 12:12 PM)
Your redemption value is ok, quite decent.
At least you get about 5 cents / mile (definitely can't compare to J class).
This is especially true when you have excessive Enrich miles.

Equivalent route with KF will cost 152k miles!
MAS J class redemption is overpriced ~500k miles for two return tickets!

I am still exploring how to best utilize the Enrich miles...
As u said, if want redeem economy, use enrich.
Some people are just swimming in miles, they just want to pay as little upfront cash as possible.
digidigi
post Mar 25 2019, 02:00 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ Mar 25 2019, 12:53 PM)
Will not waste miles on Y
Any good trick to get good value for J class (with Enrich)?
I am not that into enrich, but overall the value is bad with premium cabin
digidigi
post Mar 25 2019, 08:07 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(isaacchew @ Mar 25 2019, 08:02 PM)
On Enrich, just from observation, KL-Tokyo Business Class flights seem to require a lot less miles (100-130k return) than to other similar distance routes.
Hmm but still a lot more than their competitor, unless their competitor now become airasia
digidigi
post Mar 25 2019, 08:55 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(rivetindigo @ Mar 25 2019, 08:11 PM)
Is it still worth it to collect enrich miles via cc?
Short answer, NO. Unless u swimming in the miles, based at kl, want direct flight and comfirm avaibility
digidigi
post Mar 25 2019, 09:20 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ Mar 25 2019, 09:11 PM)
Yea. Short distance - Japan, China, HK seem getting better value compare to Europe / Aus.
Even OW rate isn't too attractive.
Coz Asia route actually they selling J quite cheap for cash,
digidigi
post Mar 25 2019, 09:24 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(rivetindigo @ Mar 25 2019, 09:02 PM)
Sigh...im just started accumulating miles from my cc for this past 3 month...really2 want to try business or first class tho

So which airmiles is really worth it?
Krisflyer and asiamiles, hmm enrich just forget abt it, their product is inferior compare to competitor, one things I value much is cleanliness , this is the part MH FALL WAY WAY behind other Asian carrier
digidigi
post Mar 30 2019, 09:52 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(rivetindigo @ Mar 30 2019, 09:37 PM)
If i need confirm seats, means i need to get advantage?

Sorry im really new with this airmiles thing...🙏

Currently comparing enrich 130k (business class) for tokyo vs krisflyer 140k (sq)...
You need to check first, on sq sometimes advantage also on waitlist or not even available
digidigi
post Apr 1 2019, 12:08 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(billywee @ Apr 1 2019, 12:05 AM)
Hello guys, I'm planning to redeem Qatar business class using Asia miles, just wondering if it only show the miles needed for the route and didn't show "waitlist" means it is a confirm seat?

I not yet transfer my point to asia miles just want to double confirm before transferring it and want to know does anyone redeem before Qatar flight using asia miles?
One world alliances redemption on Aisa miles only show available seat, waitlist only on Cathay.

Just be mind though a return ticket to Europe with Qatar using aisiamiles will cost around 3k ringgit for carrier surcharge
digidigi
post Apr 2 2019, 12:12 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ Apr 2 2019, 11:28 AM)
Anyone spot it? biggrin.gif

Airmiles redemption rate is reduced to 6000 from 7000.
Nevertheless, it is still lower than the initial 5000.
Hopefully this is not typo as the redemption catalogue is still showing 7000 (till 31-Mar).
Looks like at lot people are dumping their Amb CC and they need extra effort to gain back the crowd.
Haha!
How much ampoint per one ringgit spend?
1 for 1?
I only saw it reward 5 point for spending made oversea...

This post has been edited by digidigi: Apr 2 2019, 12:14 PM
digidigi
post Apr 2 2019, 12:20 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 2 2019, 12:16 PM)
5 points per RM spend overseas....still not as good as ambank's vi/m2p.....but the wmc will save you about 1 Sen per RM due to lower FC conversion charges.....
Oversea spending now all using BigPay .... most important is local spending ... hmm
digidigi
post May 2 2019, 10:33 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(isaacchew @ May 2 2019, 08:51 PM)
Anyone knows if there's a card similar to BigPay in Australia?
Tried finding but couldn't find. A lot of things they don't have, don't even have e-wallets
Australian is a bit old school, slow and easy lifestyle
digidigi
post May 4 2019, 10:06 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ May 4 2019, 06:07 AM)
Hong Leong Bank and Emirates Skywards Partner to Launch Emirates HLB Cards

Dr Nejib Ben Khedher, Senior Vice President, Emirates Skywards, Domenic Fuda, HLB Group Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer and Perry Ong, Country Manager, Malaysia and Brunei, Mastercard during the launch of Emirates HLB Mastercard cards in Kuala Lumpur recently.

· Daily spends on Emirates HLB cards earn Skywards Miles redeemable for flight rewards on Emirates and partner airlines
· Welcome bonus of up to 10,000 Skywards Miles
· Attractive benefits including first year anniversary bonus rewards, complimentary Emirates Lounge access, airport transfers and golf privileges

Kuala Lumpur, 2 May 2019

Hong Leong Bank Berhad (“HLB” or “the Bank”), one of Malaysia’s leading financial service organisations and Emirates Skywards, the award-winning loyalty programme of Emirates and flydubai, have launched a new range of co-branded credit cards for customers in Malaysia. The Emirates HLB cards were launched in Kuala Lumpur by Domenic Fuda, Hong Leong Bank Group Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Dr Nejib Ben Khedher, Senior Vice President, Emirates Skywards and Perry Ong, Country Manager, Malaysia and Brunei, Mastercard.

The Emirates HLB card portfolio comprises three variants - the Emirates HLB World Elite, the Emirates HLB World and the Emirates HLB Platinum card- and is designed to offer a host of exclusive benefits to customers with diverse requirements and interests. The credit cards will be supported by network provider Mastercard.

Emirates HLB card holders can hit the ground running with a sign on bonus of up to 10,000 Skywards Miles after their first spend and can also earn Miles at a higher rate when purchasing flight tickets directly with Emirates and on any eligible international spends.

Emirates HLB World Elite and World card customers will also be offered complimentary access to the Emirates Lounge in Kuala Lumpur and Dubai and Emirates Skywards Silver membership for one year, unlocking exclusive perks such as priority check-in, boarding and additional checked baggage allowance on Emirates flights. Subject to minimum spend criteria, World Elite and World customers will also be eligible to receive up to 160,000 bonus Skywards Miles which can be redeemed for a Business Class return ticket on Emirates between Kuala Lumpur and Europe.

According to HLB Group Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Domenic Fuda, the partnership with Emirates Skywards is part of the Bank’s strategy to accelerate the growth of its payments’ business, leveraging on the growing travel segment in Malaysia.

Some of the unique benefits that customers can access with their Emirates HLB cards include:

Earning Skywards Miles for transactions at the rate of up to 2.5 Miles per MYR 4 spent
Welcome bonus of up to 10,000 Skywards Miles
First anniversary Skywards Miles bonus of up to 160,000 Miles upon meeting a minimum spend criteria. The bonus Miles can be redeemed for a return Emirates Business Class ticket from Kuala Lumpur to European destinations
Emirates Skywards Silver membership for one year
Complimentary access to Emirates Lounges in Kuala Lumpur and Dubai
Complimentary airport transfers in Malaysia and golf access privileges globally

Customers can visit https://www.hlb.com.my/emirates for more information on the Emirates HLB cards and details on card application.
This card not bad

If my understanding is correct , for the first year if I spend 300k for local spending, I will get 1 skymiles for each rm1.22 spending ?

This post has been edited by digidigi: May 4 2019, 10:19 AM
digidigi
post May 4 2019, 11:03 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ May 4 2019, 10:41 AM)
Good move by HLB to cooperate with Emirates.
Sign-on bonus - 10k miles
Spend 300k - 150k miles
Anniversary bonus (spend 300k) - 10k miles (why they split into 2???)
Overseas spend (1.75 miles / RM4) = 0.44 mile / RM spend
Local spend (1 mile / RM4) = 0.25 mile / RM spend

Assuming you spend exactly 300k locally:
You get 150k + 10k + 75k (set aside welcome bonus)
= 235k miles / RM300k
= 0.78 mile / RM spend (almost tally with your calculation 1 mile / RM1.22 spend)

Pros:
Mastercard, can use anywhere
Include JomPay and Gov transaction (for 300k; but not sure whether it contribute for normal local spend - 0.25 mile/RM)
Not many Msia CC can redeem Emirates miles
4x Emirates KLIA lounge

Cons:
Only can redeem Emirates miles
High income requirement - 250k (not many people can achieve this)
AF RM2500
Only 1 complimentary lounge access??? (exclude 4x Emirates KLIA lounge)

Conclusion:
Must spend RM300k, only worth getting this card (and of course must fly Emirates)
If you are ready to pay for AF, you may look into Amex The Platinum Card instead (but it is Amex card)
Hopefully more CC will offer reward for JomPay and Gov spending
Assume u spend exactly 300k locally, the miles earning power between this and Amex platinum is roughly the same.

But jom pay and government spending not counted towards rewards point, and utilities, insurance etc also have much lower earning power.

So this is a good card to spend on government spending and jompay where we earn nth with Amex.
digidigi
post May 4 2019, 03:12 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(charlesj @ May 4 2019, 12:14 PM)
Agree, but if you can't spend rm300k, no need to think about it
Also, provided jompay & Gov consist of a large portion.
Else I think better stick to M2P.

Update:
- Cardholder will be enrolled under LoungeKey.
  Complimentary membership = unlimited entry?
  Why it is stated 1x lounge access / year (for World Elite, but no mention anything for World card)

- Based on product sheet, Retail Transaction EXCLUDE Gov spending and JomPay.
  Both the above will be accumulated towards 300k annual spending, but I think not eligible for local spend (RM4 = 1 mile category)
If government spending and jompay not count for air miles, then it create opportunity cost to use this instead of m2p.

Maybe I might just get it for one year then cut it, just to experience emirate new first class
digidigi
post May 5 2019, 01:19 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 5 2019, 01:17 PM)
Anyone here is a Hilton Honors member? I need favour in purchasing Hilton Honor Points as I've maxed out mine. There's a promo now. TnC: Your account need to be at least 90 days old to transfer as Gift to me

You earn your CC points by transacting in USD. I earn the matching bonus

Win-win for you and me. If any kind soul willing to take the risk and transact with stranger like me, do PM.
U buying the point for spending at which hotel? Mind to share?
digidigi
post May 5 2019, 02:06 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 5 2019, 01:32 PM)
Hilton Garden Inn and Double Tree in either SG, HK and Australia. Want to accumulate for my future travels there

I've already redeemed points for my past stays in HK, SG and London. If redeem the points for 5 days consecutive, the 5th night is FREE - making the cost of stay even lower
But most of the time the cost using point vs cash rate at those hotel is quite similar.....

Except Conrad maldive and Waldorf Astoria maldive , but the cost of boat transfer is astonishing
digidigi
post May 7 2019, 02:49 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(choong1990 @ May 7 2019, 02:38 PM)
Just joined Hilton honor programme. Anyone have better ways to boost up point earning in Malaysia? Since there is no credit card cooperate and no extra cash back for purchasing point oversea.
Buy point, or use credit card to earn, Amex can transfer to hh
digidigi
post May 7 2019, 03:20 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(choong1990 @ May 7 2019, 02:56 PM)
done some calculation, mr convert to honor point is lesser value than convert to airmiles. sweat.gif
too bad, malaysia do not have much promotion on hotel loyalty programme.
ya, I will just buy the point
digidigi
post May 9 2019, 11:44 AM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 9 2019, 10:39 AM)
Not enough for 2 pax j return, but should be enough for one way j .....and since you already have 60k miles in em, no choice but use em.....
Kf to Tokyo don’t need 180k

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0913sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:46 AM