Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X

AVFAN
post Feb 3 2017, 12:24 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(susu_capbadak @ Feb 2 2017, 08:57 PM)
OK, thanks. thumbsup.gif    Good luck
i got news for u.

on tv kodi 17, it can't even detect the usb drive, so nothing!

i think this is one of those new rules about kodi17 - the android maker need to comply with new kodi standards.

u may have better luck with kodi 16.1.

i remember it could play most files but i did not test 4k at that time.

AVFAN
post Feb 3 2017, 01:29 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 3 2017, 12:44 AM)
Nope.. Kodi V17 does detect USB drives. It's just the TV.. Sharp really screwed up with the firmware. Sure the basics work.. However, It appears half-baked and with no fix in sight.
Do u know if other smart tvs can do kodi 17 usb playback?
AVFAN
post Feb 3 2017, 01:58 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 3 2017, 01:45 AM)
AFAIK, can't confirm such at the moment as the stable version is only a few days old. Though comments from the video below seems to favour Sony Android TVs.

That is probably the case, kodi 17 is very new.

Serious android Tv makers will build that in for new models, takes lead time...

Existing models hopefully will in time get new firmwares for that.
AVFAN
post Feb 3 2017, 01:34 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(katz79 @ Feb 3 2017, 09:53 AM)
last night turn on the tv to play kodi suddenly it auto updated to krypton version. where can i see the video source is 720p or 1080p when streaming? at jarvis it is easier to check at the source title.
It does not show anymore on v17.

Since it auto updated, look out if your addons will be auto updated.

If they dont, will need new ones from the krypton version repos.
AVFAN
post Feb 13 2017, 07:30 PM

24,465 posts

ue630x owners...

i have tested the tv's kodi 17.0 on this tv's android 5.1.

it works very well, much to my delight.

latest quasar 9.69 works smoothly, no problem with >5gb videos.

use it! rclxms.gif
AVFAN
post Feb 16 2017, 10:41 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Feb 16 2017, 02:59 AM)
thanks!!
kodi's quasar 9.69 or 9.71 is down now, unfortunately... sad.gif

waiting for next update to fix it.

meanwhile, try popcorntime 1.4! thumbup.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3126605/+4940

AVFAN
post Feb 17 2017, 09:42 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(NotTheOne @ Feb 17 2017, 07:47 PM)
may be off topic here, but ill also include the below in the other android tv thread.

Just make sure to use the popcorntime website with the .sh extension for your downloads.

I scanned the downloaded .exe's from few other sites and it contains at least 1 irregularities (does not mean they're malware or virus. It only means the checksums been altered)
thumbup.gif

Good to know u got it to work.

I just watched a full 2hr 1080p movie with it, all smooth.

And dun forget to try the voice search function, it works!

Oh, kodi quasar has a new update, all good now.

post #2312...
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3943906/+2300

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 18 2017, 01:54 AM
AVFAN
post Feb 20 2017, 10:04 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Feb 20 2017, 09:58 AM)
I am new to ue630x, just used it for few days
installed kodi kryton, using exodus now, so far so good, any other feed repo for taiwan chinese channels?

another question, regarding the gamepad controller
i have a logitect usb precision gamepad, after plugged into the tv, the directional buttons are ok but all other button are not usable, any fix to that?
taiwan, hk, hk stuff... your best bet is icdrama addon for kodi; read kodi thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3943906/+2320

and stick in the rss feeds too, good as backup!
https://shaolinseo.com/kodi/video/item/231-...a-dramas-movies

AVFAN
post Feb 20 2017, 10:23 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Feb 20 2017, 10:21 AM)
Thanks, I will try them tonight..
As my tv is still new, I can't update the stock firmware, have tried many many times, always showing network not available....
can't use netflix now..
any source for an usb update?
better u wait for it. if new update pending, it will come with a day or 2.

just put the tv on standby when not in use, don't unplug the power or unplug the internet connection.
AVFAN
post Feb 20 2017, 10:30 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Feb 20 2017, 10:27 AM)
i chose manual update everytime..
nobody at home during office hours and i always shut down everything..
do you play games on this tv?
shutting everything down is why u don't get the update!

that, by the way, is NOT a good way. esp for router - not good to keep switching it on and off.

when the update has completed downloading during standby, u will get a message when u switch it on.

no, i do not game...

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 20 2017, 10:33 AM
AVFAN
post Feb 20 2017, 10:40 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Feb 20 2017, 10:37 AM)
i see, thanks for the tips
need to convince my other half not to switch them off... but it's hard I guess
any worthy sideloading apk recommendations?
if u MUST shut down during wokring hours, at least leave them on overnight when sleeping - enough time for the downloads.

apps... there are plenty.

if u have managed to get kodi running, u can get the rest.

start by reading the android tv and kodi threads!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 20 2017, 10:40 AM
AVFAN
post Feb 24 2017, 11:23 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Feb 24 2017, 09:58 AM)
I need help here.
I can't upgrade to 20100_20160704 firmware the whole week. The TV kept asking me to update but after clicking in till the screen where is shows the latest firmware is ready and time needed to install, "cannot access network" appears... I've tried everything but still the same all the time..
so, yesterday, I factory reset it and tried using Netflix, it was ok and I enjoyed a full 4k documentary, before i sleep I updated netflix using play store.
this morning, netflix again "died" and it kept on asking me to update the latest firmware but now the tv can't even check for firmware, 
yes, there is a new firmware pending.

like previous updates, traffic is very heavy in the beginning.

i could access the site but it's too slow, gave up.

should be ok by tmrw.

only netflix won't work until new firmware installed; the rest are fine.
AVFAN
post Feb 25 2017, 12:41 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Feb 24 2017, 02:32 PM)
last week, the firmware shown to be download is 20100_20160704
but just now, a senior technician from hq told the latest should be 30200_xxx something..
It is 30800_20170216.

Slow... taking forever...
AVFAN
post Feb 25 2017, 01:02 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Feb 25 2017, 10:46 AM)
Hi AVFAN, is 30800_20170216 Android TV 6.0 Firmware? If yes, that will be exciting! i tried firmware update yesterday, but i got "cannot access download site" and "package not found" message... so sad.
i think something wrong with their download site.

this link also can't get thru to the "malaysia software" page.

http://www.sharp-world.com/support/download.html#sem
AVFAN
post Mar 1 2017, 03:01 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(rmf @ Mar 1 2017, 12:11 PM)
Anyone manage to update the firmware?
i tried twice.

1st time, it said "460 mins" - got 10%, i canceled.

2nd time, it said "360 mins" - got 20%, i canceled.

since i am not on netlfix, i will not bother for now, will wait a week or 2.

all other apps are working fine.
AVFAN
post Mar 2 2017, 04:34 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Mar 2 2017, 04:23 PM)
Hi guys, i just emailed Sharp Malaysia. They are willing to send their service technician over to your house to upgrade the TV. They cant email the software file to us as they said the file size is too big.
Please provide email address and person name, tel no. If any.

Let's all email, call them!
AVFAN
post Mar 3 2017, 02:22 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Mar 3 2017, 02:05 AM)
Haha, just email them with the following link: https://sharp.com.my/pageRender?msgContent=technicalyenquiry
ok, thanks.
AVFAN
post Mar 3 2017, 11:20 AM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(ericlai @ Mar 3 2017, 11:14 AM)
Hi guys, i manage to update the tv firmware this morning from 7am to 10.30am without service technician. Installation took 20 mins. It's android tv 6.0.1. So far nothing much changes. No HDR update inclusion (dreaming) But i notice switching between hdmi is faster. Duno is it due to placebo effect. haha
i just checked...

u may be the last one who have updated with that one.

becos... now it says the old 5.1 is the latest! biggrin.gif

netflix is OK now.

looks like they have aborted that update which is probably badly done.

will wait for next one, no hurry.

AVFAN
post Mar 3 2017, 04:40 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Mar 3 2017, 02:03 PM)
both of you can play netflix, but too bad, my 20000 firmware still can't use netflix nor update to latest one...sigh
the last 5.1 version should be back there for you to upgrade from factory version.

what happens when u try to update?

AVFAN
post Mar 3 2017, 05:18 PM

24,465 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Mar 3 2017, 05:12 PM)
95% of time, cannot access download site, means cannot find the firmware to begin with, 5% I can see 30800_20170216 but after pressing "yes", it will show again, cannot access ...
that WAS yesterday.

today, you should not get that anymore - that update's been aborted.

you should be able to update the last good version 5.1.

try again later!

if required, reset the android at settings.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 3 2017, 05:45 PM

26 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0498sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:07 PM