Affin Hwang ASEAN flexi 10%
Aberdeen World 20%

Anything to add?
JAIDK23
post Jan 5 2016, 10:21 AM

DISTRO EMPIRE
567 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 5 2016, 09:18 AM)
Hehe.. lock profit first for my old Smart Treasure fund! Almost 80++% profit after less than 5 years holding..

Just lock 38% profit only (as this is the gain for this fund in 2015), rest just keep it inside...
38% bullet for weekend topup? brows.gif
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 5 2016, 10:57 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(Amatiel @ Jan 5 2016, 10:18 AM)
I have

KGF 25%
CIMB Asia Pacific Dynamic Income 20%
Global Titans 10%
Affin Hwang Japan Growth 15%
Affin Hwang ASEAN flexi 10%
Aberdeen World 20%

Anything to add?
Hi Amatiel, long time no see.

I assume you are not a fan of bond funds? Otherwise I would add the RHB Asian Total Return Fund and the Libra Asnita Bond Fund into the portfolio to decrease the volatility. Somehow I think you are too heavy in Affin Hwang Japan Growth Fund which is high risk since it is country specific.

This is going to be another bumpy year.
Vanguard 2015
post Jan 5 2016, 11:03 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Jan 4 2016, 11:03 PM)
actually how do u guys lock your profit? once achieve target % then sell / switch to money market and wait for market bottom again?

or ride it all the way until new theme come?

bcoz if u dump and come back 10 yrs later there's possibility the amt same as that time u dump 10 yrs back right? like what happened in 2008. years of profit just burned.

hope all taikors kindly share for bilis like me.
I am no sifu or taikor. Just an average investor. Maybe you want to try Value Averaging? A method of VA found in the book entitled "The 3% Signal" written by Jason Kelly. See http://jasonkelly.com/books/3sig/ and the extract below.

Good luck!

The 3% Signal is an investing plan that beats the general stock market by moving money into or out of a stock fund once per quarter based on the price of the fund only. When the fund grows 3% in a quarter, the investor does nothing. When it grows more than 3%, the investor sells the surplus profit and moves it into a safe bond fund. When it grows less than 3% or falls in value, the investor uses money from the safe bond fund to buy the stock fund up to the 3% growth line.

This simple action, using the clarity of prices alone, guides the investor to buy more of the stock fund when its price is cheap, and sell some of it when its price is expensive. The bigger the shortfall, the more the investor buys. The bigger the surplus, the more the investor sells.

This unemotional method — powered by prices, not opinion — beats the market. In so doing, it beats most professional advisors because the majority of them loses to the market.

The plan reduces investing stress by eliminating the need to monitor financial news and opinion, which issue conflicting advice based on “gut instinct” and other unreliable intuition. A key form of investing stress, the type caused by indecision, is eliminated by following the quarterly signal, which specifies how many shares to buy or sell.

Kaka23
post Jan 5 2016, 11:23 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(JAIDK23 @ Jan 5 2016, 10:21 AM)
38% bullet for weekend topup? brows.gif
Yeah... keep to top up on 9th and 16th...
kimyee73
post Jan 5 2016, 11:50 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 5 2016, 01:04 AM)
How regularly do u mean?  By a period of time?  Or by a percentage of profit?
Take profit when more that 6%.

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 5 2016, 01:59 AM)
The question is if we take profit, where to invest next?

Let's say we sell equity fund A and buy equity fund B. When bear market comes, both may down equally.

Of course if we anticipate bear market we can switch to money market fund. But did you, or your UTC, anticipate financial storm in 2008?
Switch to bond fund or CMF. Some time is good to keep cash.

Prior to 2008, I did not monitor my investment. My UTC alerted me to this during our monthly meet-up. I made about 50% profit over the next 2 years.

kimyee73
post Jan 5 2016, 12:09 PM

1,007 posts

My updated main portfolio performance for December 2015.
NOTE: Earlier figure was wrong due to range error in excel formula for calculating ROI. IRR formula are correct. Thanks to yklooi for questioning the numbers.

Oct Nov Dec
Portfolio - Main IRR 11.08% 6.73% 7.23%
Top 3 Funds % of Port
EI Small Caps 3.5% IRR 23.82% 25.2% 25.28%
CIMB Global Titan 1.7% IRR 16.76% 15.39% 14.09%
TA Global Technology 2.1% ROI 11.3% 11.8% 11.43%
Bottom 3 Funds (equity)
AMB Dividend 0.6% ROI -2.84% -4.29% -3.48%
AmPrecious Metal 8.9% ROI 7.2% -5.9% -6.16%
AMB Ethical 5% IRR -11.56% -18.26% -7.77%

This post has been edited by kimyee73: Jan 5 2016, 04:29 PM
kimyee73
post Jan 5 2016, 12:14 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 5 2016, 09:18 AM)
Hehe.. lock profit first for my old Smart Treasure fund! Almost 80++% profit after less than 5 years holding..

Just lock 38% profit only (as this is the gain for this fund in 2015), rest just keep it inside...
That is one of the top performer for Malaysian general equity fund in 2015. Good for you.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 5 2016, 12:24 PM

52,874 posts

Portfolio update as of December 31st, 2015:

Fund Name ROI (%) IRR (%)
Affin Hwang PRS Moderate Fund 10.9 5.0
Kenanga OnePRS Growth Fund 9.5 8.1
CIMB-Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C -4.1 -5.5
Aberdeen Islamic World Equity Fund - Class A 31.1 9.6
CIMB-Principal Global Titans Fund 27.5 10.4
Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Quantum Fund 16.2 10.5
CIMB-Principal Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund 12.5 4.4
Eastspring Investments Asia Pacific Ex-Japan Target Return Fund -0.1 -0.1
Kenanga Asia Pacific Total Return Fund -2.1 -2.9
RHB-OSK China-India Dynamic Growth Fund -2.0 -2.7
Affin Hwang Select Asia (Ex Japan) Opportunity Fund -2.7 -3.9

Portfolio ROI: 8.5%, IRR: 2.8%
ableze_joepardy
post Jan 5 2016, 12:43 PM

*w0ot*
1,061 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 5 2016, 11:03 AM)
I am no sifu or taikor. Just an average investor. Maybe you want to try Value Averaging? A method of VA found in the book entitled "The 3% Signal" written by Jason Kelly. See http://jasonkelly.com/books/3sig/ and the extract below.

Good luck!
great idea. thanks bro notworthy.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 5 2016, 01:06 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 5 2016, 12:14 PM)
That is one of the top performer for Malaysian general equity fund in 2015. Good for you.
But but but...

I remember some time Smart series of RHB funds totally koyak tongue.gif
Kaka23
post Jan 5 2016, 01:19 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 5 2016, 12:14 PM)
icon_rolleyes.gif

But some funds I holding not doing so good yet... so balance off la..
nexona88
post Jan 5 2016, 01:21 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,493 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 5 2016, 09:52 AM)
celaka....just top up a bit on 30th Dec and yesterday stock market drop sad.gif
laugh.gif so kecian tongue.gif biggrin.gif
river.sand
post Jan 5 2016, 01:23 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 5 2016, 11:50 AM)
Take profit when more that 6%.
Switch to bond fund or CMF. Some time is good to keep cash.

Prior to 2008, I did not monitor my investment. My UTC alerted me to this during our monthly meet-up. I made about 50% profit over the next 2 years.
But why didn't your UTC alert you before you lost 20% profit? The face is even he/she failed to foresee market crash. That's what I mean.

If you can't foresee market crash, you would just sell one equity fund and buy another.

Look at penjaga van's post above regarding 3% signal.
TakoC
post Jan 5 2016, 02:13 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 5 2016, 12:24 PM)
Portfolio update as of December 31st, 2015:

Portfolio ROI: 8.5%, IRR: 2.8%
Over how long period? What's the reason for your drop in IRR? Looking at your portfolio as a whole, loss in terms of % looks okay.
Amatiel
post Jan 5 2016, 02:35 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jan 5 2016, 10:57 AM)
Hi Amatiel, long time no see.

I assume you are not a fan of bond funds? Otherwise I would add the RHB Asian Total Return Fund and the Libra Asnita Bond Fund into the portfolio to decrease the volatility. Somehow I think you are too heavy in Affin Hwang Japan Growth Fund which is high risk since it is country specific.

This is going to be another bumpy year.
Hello Hello! Just lurking around. I really don't like bonds. haha.
SUSyklooi
post Jan 5 2016, 02:38 PM

8,188 posts

Off topic,..but needed answer fast.
closed... off topic subject.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jan 5 2016, 02:59 PM
Kaka23
post Jan 5 2016, 02:44 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 5 2016, 01:06 PM)
But but but...

I remember some time Smart series of RHB funds totally koyak tongue.gif
So that is why faster take profit now.. smile.gif
river.sand
post Jan 5 2016, 02:48 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 5 2016, 02:38 PM)
Off topic,..but needed answer fast.
a friend of my wife receive a notice from the bank saying that the cheque that she banked in is "Post dated"
1) what will happens to the cheque?
2) will she need to get the issuer to issue another new cheque
3) how much does she has to pay for banking in a posted cheque?
4) how much does the issuer has to pay because of that?

sorry for off topic subject.
What is the date of the check?
No expert, but I guess the bank will cash the check when the date comes, at no additional charge.

144 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0464sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:15 AM