Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

river.sand
post Jan 4 2016, 09:43 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Jan 4 2016, 09:29 PM)
Sad thing is not many EM funds on fsm. cry.gif
Asia ex Japan is also emerging market mah... Just that lacking a few economies like Brazil.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 4 2016, 09:43 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Jan 4 2016, 09:42 PM)
You got that right! smile.gif

But do we really want the market to trend down lower just so that we top up? What about our existing gains? Haha.
Different people different perspective. Short term view vs longer horizon.

No true answer!
ohcipala
post Jan 4 2016, 09:44 PM

1,338 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 4 2016, 09:40 PM)
Actually it's good timing in conjunction with FSM convo this weekend if the rout drags longer!
But RM also drop sad.gif

But do we really want the market to trend down lower just so that we top up? What about our existing gains? Haha.
In for the long run ma.... Haha
Kaka23
post Jan 4 2016, 09:45 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 4 2016, 09:40 PM)
Actually it's good timing in conjunction with FSM convo this weekend if the rout drags longer!

Actually comes to think of it, not really worth it... unless u just started to invest in the fund(s) la or top up large amount...

If top up.. how many percentage of the total amount of the fund u currently have already??!!
TakoC
post Jan 4 2016, 10:15 PM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 4 2016, 09:45 PM)
Actually comes to think of it, not really worth it... unless u just started to invest in the fund(s) la or top up large amount...

If top up.. how many percentage of the total amount of the fund u currently have already??!!
Clap clap clap!

That what I was thinking. But people can say, can keep topping up. That's the bunch of people that practice average down, not average up.

I'm one of them
SUSDavid83
post Jan 4 2016, 10:30 PM

52,874 posts

Why not just sell off everything by tomorrow? That's the practice of stop loss right!
Kaka23
post Jan 4 2016, 10:45 PM

8,259 posts

US drop teruk... Gabra biawak now
nexona88
post Jan 4 2016, 10:47 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,497 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 4 2016, 10:45 PM)
US drop teruk...  Gabra biawak now
all because of the Saudi - Iran tensions cry.gif
ableze_joepardy
post Jan 4 2016, 11:03 PM

*w0ot*
1,061 posts

actually how do u guys lock your profit? once achieve target % then sell / switch to money market and wait for market bottom again?

or ride it all the way until new theme come?

bcoz if u dump and come back 10 yrs later there's possibility the amt same as that time u dump 10 yrs back right? like what happened in 2008. years of profit just burned.

hope all taikors kindly share for bilis like me.
MUM
post Jan 4 2016, 11:11 PM

14,928 posts

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Jan 4 2016, 11:03 PM)
actually how do u guys lock your profit? once achieve target % then sell / switch to money market and wait for market bottom again?

bcoz if u dump and come back 10 yrs later there's possibility the amt same as that time u dump 10 yrs back right? like what happened in 2008. years of profit just burned.

hmm.gif I am not sure about other taikors...BUT this very BIG Taikor that I know of, did it this way....

"I took profit in some areas like ......, and adjusted others".

read this, to know more about how he took profits...
https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...SJBlog_20131227
kimyee73
post Jan 4 2016, 11:36 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Jan 4 2016, 11:03 PM)

You may want to dump some amount at some point to preserve your ammo. Of course you don't wait 10 years to come back. Some would suggest holding on to it and average down but you'll ran out of ammo half way through unless you are heavy on fixed income as reserve ammo. In 2008, my PM UTC advised me to switch all my profits to MM after my profit was down by 20%. Switched back to equity in 2009 for the ride up. It is really up to you on what course of action to take due to several schools of though on this subject.

As for me, I regularly take profits as you never know when a black swan event will come. Downside of doing this is I will not fully benefit from compounding effect.
wil-i-am
post Jan 5 2016, 12:02 AM

10,001 posts

DJIA tumble 421 or 2.42% now
aoisky
post Jan 5 2016, 12:39 AM

1,203 posts

the first trading day started with heavy sell off
Kaka23
post Jan 5 2016, 01:04 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 4 2016, 11:36 PM)
You may want to dump some amount at some point to preserve your ammo. Of course you don't wait 10 years to come back. Some would suggest holding on to it and average down but you'll ran out of ammo half way through unless you are heavy on fixed income as reserve ammo. In 2008, my PM UTC advised me to switch all my profits to MM after my profit was down by 20%. Switched back to equity in 2009 for the ride up. It is really up to you on what course of action to take due to several schools of though on this subject.

As for me, I regularly take profits as you never know when a black swan event will come. Downside of doing this is I will not fully benefit from compounding effect.
How regularly do u mean? By a period of time? Or by a percentage of profit?

Kaka23
post Jan 5 2016, 01:05 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Jan 5 2016, 12:02 AM)
DJIA tumble 421 or 2.42% now
Loiks like i need to hold back my rebalancing action..
river.sand
post Jan 5 2016, 01:59 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 4 2016, 11:36 PM)

The question is if we take profit, where to invest next?

Let's say we sell equity fund A and buy equity fund B. When bear market comes, both may down equally.

Of course if we anticipate bear market we can switch to money market fund. But did you, or your UTC, anticipate financial storm in 2008?
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 5 2016, 08:21 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 4 2016, 09:43 PM)
Asia ex Japan is also emerging market mah... Just that lacking a few economies like Brazil.
Russia leh...South Africa leh...Emerging Europe leh...

PIGS leh (Portugal Ireland Greece Spain)... tongue.gif
Kaka23
post Jan 5 2016, 08:52 AM

8,259 posts

Dont dare to see the market lor today!
Kaka23
post Jan 5 2016, 09:18 AM

8,259 posts

Hehe.. lock profit first for my old Smart Treasure fund! Almost 80++% profit after less than 5 years holding..

Just lock 38% profit only (as this is the gain for this fund in 2015), rest just keep it inside...
jutamind
post Jan 5 2016, 09:52 AM

2,429 posts

celaka....just top up a bit on 30th Dec and yesterday stock market drop sad.gif

144 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:12 AM