past performance is not indicative of future returns

This post has been edited by aoisky: Dec 16 2015, 10:22 PM
kimyee73
post Dec 16 2015, 10:29 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 16 2015, 10:18 PM)
yes,..because of past 7x......I just entered (gambled) 1.7% into it yesterday
When you want to play with support and resistance, need to play correctly. Don't buy until it bounce off the support. What happen if it break the support line instead of bounce up?
SUSyklooi
post Dec 16 2015, 11:03 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Dec 16 2015, 10:29 PM)
When you want to play with support and resistance, need to play correctly. Don't buy until it bounce off the support. What happen if it break the support line instead of bounce up?
hmm.gif Then die-lor biggrin.gif

no-lah....if this 1.7% were to drop again by 10% of NAV....then it will only affect my portfolio by 0.17%...then if calculate IRR...it will be affected by 0.05% different.....I think it is still bearable.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Dec 16 2015, 11:09 PM
nexona88
post Dec 16 2015, 11:09 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,433 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 16 2015, 11:03 PM)
hmm.gif Then die-lor  biggrin.gif
average down lor aka top-up tongue.gif
SUSyklooi
post Dec 17 2015, 02:13 AM

8,188 posts

doh.gif just made a simulation.....
if my % of ROI since invest were to increase by 10% pa from now till DEC 2019,
my IRR is just 6.33%

hmm.gif what are my chances of getting 10% pa percentage of ROI since invest continuously for the next 4 years?
my guess is, it will be VERY slim....so are my chances of having IRR > 6% cry.gif
hmm.gif is my calculation wrong or my expectation of investment is wrong... rclxub.gif

any TAIKOR(s) can help comment? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Dec 17 2015, 08:44 AM

SUSDavid83
post Dec 17 2015, 07:26 AM

52,874 posts

Fed Ends Zero-Rate Era; Signals 4 Quarter-Point Increases in 2016

The Federal Reserve raised interest rates for the first time in almost a decade, a widely telegraphed move that Chair Janet Yellen said would be followed by “gradual” tightening as officials watch for evidence of higher inflation.

The Federal Open Market Committee unanimously voted to set the new target range for the federal funds rate at 0.25 percent to 0.5 percent, up from zero to 0.25 percent. Policy makers separately forecast an appropriate rate of 1.375 percent at the end of 2016, the same as September, implying four quarter-point increases in the target range next year, based on the median number from 17 officials.

URL: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...-2016-increases
nexona88
post Dec 17 2015, 07:45 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,433 posts

After much delay, Fed finally hike the rate yawn.gif
yck1987
post Dec 17 2015, 07:45 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 17 2015, 07:26 AM)
Fed Ends Zero-Rate Era; Signals 4 Quarter-Point Increases in 2016

The Federal Reserve raised interest rates for the first time in almost a decade, a widely telegraphed move that Chair Janet Yellen said would be followed by “gradual” tightening as officials watch for evidence of higher inflation.

The Federal Open Market Committee unanimously voted to set the new target range for the federal funds rate at 0.25 percent to 0.5 percent, up from zero to 0.25 percent. Policy makers separately forecast an appropriate rate of 1.375 percent at the end of 2016, the same as September, implying four quarter-point increases in the target range next year, based on the median number from 17 officials.

URL: http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...-2016-increases
Market rally thumbup.gif
TakoC
post Dec 17 2015, 07:48 AM

2,081 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 16 2015, 09:46 PM)
Ponzi 2.0 looks like reaching previous support level......of abt 7x past 10 months, reached this level then bounce up.....
hmm.gif if history can be relied upon for repeat of performance...then .....
Fund can use TA one meh? This is new to me.
Kaka23
post Dec 17 2015, 08:47 AM

8,259 posts

Lets see Asia market will follow rally bo!!
wil-i-am
post Dec 17 2015, 09:06 AM

10,001 posts

Bau at Bursa
river.sand
post Dec 17 2015, 09:08 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 17 2015, 02:13 AM)
doh.gif  just made a simulation.....
my IRR is just 6.33%

hmm.gif what are my chances of getting 10% pa percentage of ROI since invest continuously for the next 4 years?
my guess is, it will be VERY slim....so are my chances of having IRR > 6%  cry.gif
hmm.gif is my calculation wrong or my expectation of investment is wrong... rclxub.gif

any TAIKOR(s) can help comment?  notworthy.gif
Low IRR is dragged down by past performance, which is something you can't change. What is important is future performance.
SUSyklooi
post Dec 17 2015, 09:19 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Dec 17 2015, 09:08 AM)
Low IRR is dragged down by past performance, which is something you can't change. What is important is future performance.
yes, that is correct....
that is why my dilemma starts....
achieving 10% pa increase in ROI is very NOT easy, what is more to try to get it continuously for years....
(looking at the chart/data.....the increase of IRR rate of latter years (2018/2019) is reducing,...I guess it will get less and less after 2020...even though the figures shows a 10% pa increase in ROI)
I had try almost 100% EQ for 1 yr with no better results, currently at about 65% EQ, so what is your suggestion/advise?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Dec 17 2015, 09:23 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Dec 17 2015, 09:26 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 17 2015, 02:13 AM)
doh.gif  just made a simulation.....
my IRR is just 6.33%

my guess is, it will be VERY slim....so are my chances of having IRR > 6%  cry.gif

any TAIKOR(s) can help comment?  notworthy.gif
What is done is done, your IRR will bear the brunt of your screwed decisions forever. tongue.gif

Build a properly diversified portfolio, and be patient. Don't go chasing returns.
SUSyklooi
post Dec 17 2015, 09:39 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 17 2015, 09:26 AM)
What is done is done, your IRR will bear the brunt of your screwed decisions forever. tongue.gif

Build a properly diversified portfolio, and be patient. Don't go chasing returns.
hmm.gif was thinking of NOT building a diversified portfolio next year......(still thinking, still have abt a month before the usual annual what and where to invest promo starts)
thinking of reducing EQ and focus that value into KGF and EISC (just an example)
maybe more % on FI like 60%, 30% in EISC, 10% in KGF only (or maybe Ponzies)
have to try to see how will the results be expected...with various "projected" rate of returns of those funds.....

The chart/data provided me a glimpse of my "would be" performance of the next many years.....
have to do something to change that, it not happy with it? hmm.gif .....

This post has been edited by yklooi: Dec 17 2015, 09:48 AM
aegis6503
post Dec 17 2015, 09:48 AM

68 posts

hi, is "RHB Asian Income Fund" a good buy since it declares distribution quarterly?
SUSyklooi
post Dec 17 2015, 09:49 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(aegis6503 @ Dec 17 2015, 09:48 AM)
hi, is "RHB Asian Income Fund" a good buy since it declares distribution quarterly?
"a good buy since it declares distribution quarterly"
why is that so?
SUSPink Spider
post Dec 17 2015, 09:52 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Dec 17 2015, 09:49 AM)
"a good buy since it declares distribution quarterly"
why is that so?
ASK
HIM/HER
READ
SUSyklooi
post Dec 17 2015, 09:56 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 17 2015, 09:52 AM)
ASK
HIM/HER
READ
YES, sir....
have the intention to do that is after he/she replied.....
need to see how he/she response....
maybe he/she just wanted to get more units?

144 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:58 PM