12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Business MBA, Where's best to study MBA in Malaysia?

tinkerbel
post May 24 2008, 10:28 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@gooni3,
Truthfully, it's just for the paper [and well, perhaps cause I'm just burning out from the rat race *grins*]. If it's for research purposes, it'll be PHD not DBA biggrin.gif
tinkerbel
post May 25 2008, 12:03 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@gooni3,
I don't haf a decade of quality experience but I do have almost 9 years so that should be suffice. Also, like I've mentioned previously, it's my passion towards Education. Who knows? I might do some corporate consultancy work p/time and end up being in the Education field in future.

You learn more about the subject you're studying when you pursue an MBA; a DBA doesn't help in that learning curve (U would have learnt the basic in your Undergrad and MBA years) but U learn in other more thought and strategic provoking areas.

Generally, think-tanks are better remunerated compared to the do-ers. So if U do want to start earning more in future, U should think and resolve issues; U can always hire people to implement it. We have too many do-ers, insufficient think-tanks, in my opinion.

PS: Ok, I admit I just want to be Dr tinkerbel tongue.gif

@huix,
Are U based in KL? And are U looking to pursue a DBA locally? If so, how's the search and any short list as yet?
tinkerbel
post May 25 2008, 10:13 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@gooni3,
Ur still not in secondary school are u? tongue.gif How long is long? But planning ahead is good smile.gif
tinkerbel
post May 26 2008, 10:55 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@gooni3,
Are U in ur final year?
tinkerbel
post May 26 2008, 08:48 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@gooni3,
Which means U graduate Y2009?! Well it still is awhile to go but it's good to get information now so U can make plans biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: May 26 2008, 08:49 PM
tinkerbel
post May 26 2008, 09:54 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@limyusiong,
From what I hear, the MMU MBA is more theoretical than it is practical - or have they changed the syllabus oredi?

Good Luck! Persevere through the last hurdle and know U got out of the training group well equipped to now face the many battles in life biggrin.gif
tinkerbel
post May 26 2008, 10:08 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@limyusiong,
I'm glad smile.gif And Ur most certainly right; it is important to learn from ur peers smile.gif
tinkerbel
post May 26 2008, 10:22 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@limyusiong,
I haven't found a local DBA I wish to enrol in *frown*
tinkerbel
post May 27 2008, 05:51 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@limyusiong,
I specialised in Strategic Marketing. If I do take up a DBA, I probably would continue my specialisation but relate it to the field of Advertising or Marketing Communications.

@work_tgr,
Of course it's possible!
tinkerbel
post May 27 2008, 10:52 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Dyong,
So.... is there a vacancy for me @ ur organisation or not?! What about being ur PA? U bring in sufficient dough to pay for both urs and my salary mah biggrin.gif And U'll haf someone carrying ur bags for U biggrin.gif
tinkerbel
post May 28 2008, 03:51 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@DerekKuah,
I don't know Y ur challenging Dyong's comment as his comment is totally valid. Your salary is really based on ur performance and contribution towards the organisation. You might start with RMX based on ur academic qualification but that is just the basic of all basics. Did U know each and every person in an organisation has an ROI? And the higher or the more U are contributing to that revenue, the more u are worth.

We each contribute differently but the 'think tanks' are really the ones who are remunerated well. If U are sitting around the office hoping for things to happen, then chances are U won't be able to justify a salary increase. Most managers would evaluate remuneration packages based on how much 'wealth' u can bring into the organisation; some expects 7x, some 10x - it's really down to the individual.

Yes it is important for an individual to be calibre but it is as important for the service provider to be up to mark too! Like wise, Y do people prefer a Vios/City to a Waja?

Added on May 28, 2008, 3:53 pm@chgchksg128,
RMIT's MBA is now conducted through Inti College?! And it's RM45k?!!! shocking.gif U sure?! And what is the cost for Nottingham University's MBA?

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: May 28 2008, 03:53 PM
tinkerbel
post May 28 2008, 05:25 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Dyong,
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif V well said articulated (need to be speaking Queen's English from now on, esp around U tongue.gif)

@chgchksg128,
Haf U got a preference? As in, do U prefer it to be course work based or exam based? Are U able to meet the class/tutorial requirements [some MBA requires U take Fri afternoon off , etc etc] Also, do u haf a budget U need to work with?

In the first place, what's the objective/reason for wanting this MBA? I can't answer the questions for U but I can help guide U smile.gif [U know.. that's what counsellor's do! *grins*]
tinkerbel
post May 29 2008, 12:46 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Dyong,
I oredi discussed this issue of ROI at length with a friend and we both came to the conclusion that it's really not worth paying 2 arms and a leg for an MBA esp if one intends to continue pursuing his career here in MY as this 'excellent piece of paper' [i honestly do not doubt the standard] is overrated plus no few employers will be able to appreciate it; perhaps MNCs but even then not everyone of them.

If SG can't afford to remunerate these people, let's not even start comparing that with our local Msian market. I'll love to be able to do the INSEAD program but it's just not worth the $ - wouldn't it be better to use that $ to start a business instead? Then again, not all of us are entrepreneurs huh? wink.gif

@chgchksg128,
Yes ur coursemates are important. U could act, call up and speak with the respective programmes U have shortlisted and ask them to provide u details (demographic) of the current program. They should also be able to tell u what the average age is and u should be able to make ur gauge from there. If 80% of their enrolment are between the ages of 23-26, U would know ur peers have relatively low work experience and might not be able to share practical application of theories to their working life.

Now, U need to shortlist and ask urself what ur requirements are and from there do the search. I had 'weird' preferences and even considered location of institution for convenience purposes *grins* tongue.gif

U also want to ask urself if u haf a preference towards wanting a local MBA (as in awarded by our local universities) or a UK-based MBA or an Australian-based MBA.
tinkerbel
post May 29 2008, 08:30 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 29 2008, 12:46 AM)
I oredi discussed this issue of ROI at length with a friend and we both .....bla bla bla
@tishaban,
U d friend lah tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: May 29 2008, 08:31 AM
tinkerbel
post May 29 2008, 06:10 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@work_tgr,
Theoretically U can't but it depends on the amount of experience U haf with U. For one to teach / lecture Diploma level students, he will need to have a Basic Degree. For him to teach in a Degree course, he will need to have a Masters and so on and so forth.

I applaud the government's move on wanting to make sure the majority public University faculty members hold a PHD but I do not agree with how they're implementing it. Anything from post graduate level isn't only about theories, but application of it into the real world. Most students fail to see the importance of understand and its application.

I fail to see the reason Y schools would accept a person with no prior work experience or practical knowledge of his field to pursue a PHD, unless of course that PHD is research based.

tinkerbel
post Jun 27 2008, 10:18 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

MIM is 'low profile' but the course should be good. I haven't looked at the Uni of Hertfordshire's outline but the RMIT outline seemed good enough to me biggrin.gif
tinkerbel
post Jun 27 2008, 11:42 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@chgchksg128,
I don't know who is holding the franchise for RMIT's MBA right now but the last time I looked at it, it seemed quite promising [it was by MIM then] - perhaps the syllabus might have changed a little now.

RM45k is quite expensive for an Australian MBA. I would open my options to Strathclyde / Nottingham Uni too.
tinkerbel
post Jun 27 2008, 11:56 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@chgchksg128,
U don't go for cheap, U should evaluate the program based on its quality (course structure, assessment criteria, location (?), course facilitators, peers)
tinkerbel
post Jun 27 2008, 07:26 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@clngu,
I don't recall MIM ever held the rights for the CSU MBA programs?
tinkerbel
post Jun 30 2008, 10:03 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@ALPS2008,
Might I ask, on what basis do U think the RMIT MBA's the best value?

@clngu,
HELP tongue.gif

@boonboon,
Never heard of Babson College.

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:39 PM