124 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Bottom

Hedgehog Corner V3, I love Quills!!!

babymoli
post Apr 25 2007, 10:20 AM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 25 2007, 10:17 AM)
Hahah... Use kitten lah.... babycat will be very fattening.
I can just change like that? Are both the same taste/smell? If yes then i want to change it to kitten. Long time i wanted to change to kitten but just scare the smell is not the same & that Ren doesnt want to take it.
crazymouse_yyh
post Apr 25 2007, 10:24 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(babymoli @ Apr 25 2007, 10:20 AM)
I can just change like that? Are both the same taste/smell? If yes then i want to change it to kitten.  Long time i wanted to change to kitten but just scare the smell is not the same & that Ren doesnt want to take it.
Well, you can't change straight away coz will cause green poo.... what you can do is mix... 1st day give 20% Kitten and 80% babycat.... then increase the kitten everyday while lessen the babycat. In a week, you can already give almost 100% kitten. But just mix it for now lah.
rumizu
post Apr 25 2007, 02:00 PM

Mr. Brightside
534 posts

ok noted..
seems like the kitten type are much cheaper...
will buy it today..
better prepare the food first..
TShao
post Apr 25 2007, 02:10 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(rumizu @ Apr 25 2007, 07:49 AM)
oo the pink colour.. for kitten..
yup, u've told me before where 2 get da food in melaka.. thanks..
i'm in kl rite now..
decided to buy the food yesterday but dunno which one should i buy..
so, when it got bigger, should i change it or i just can stick to the kitten one..
Ok, that's good then. I have bad memory... hehehe

QUOTE(babymoli @ Apr 25 2007, 10:20 AM)
I can just change like that? Are both the same taste/smell? If yes then i want to change it to kitten.  Long time i wanted to change to kitten but just scare the smell is not the same & that Ren doesnt want to take it.
Change slowly like Hun said, campur campur first, cos if change suddenly might cause diarrhea.

QUOTE(rumizu @ Apr 25 2007, 02:00 PM)
ok noted..
seems like the kitten type are much cheaper...
will buy it today..
better prepare the food first..
Kitten kibbles is smaller too, easier for the hedgie to chew.
babymoli
post Apr 25 2007, 05:38 PM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 25 2007, 10:24 AM)
Well, you can't change straight away coz will cause green poo.... what you can do is mix... 1st day give 20% Kitten and 80% babycat.... then increase the kitten everyday while lessen the babycat. In a week, you can already give almost 100% kitten. But just mix it for now lah.
QUOTE(hao @ Apr 25 2007, 02:10 PM)
Ok, that's good then. I have bad memory... hehehe
Change slowly like Hun said, campur campur first, cos if change suddenly might cause diarrhea.
Kitten kibbles is smaller too, easier for the hedgie to chew.
Ok noted. Just bought the babycat packet last week. So i can only start changing slow;y to kitten pack when this new pack almost finish. >.<"'
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Apr 29 2007, 03:09 PM

4,456 posts

I gave my 2 hedgehogs baths doh.gif very cute. They were more docile and let me pat them too while bathing.

uh i have a question. About nail cutting, from what i read people usually do this every 1-2 weeks.

Anyone have a picture for what is normal and how much to cut ? I don't want my hedgy to bleed or hurt its foot >-<;

Added on May 9, 2007, 11:29 amSigh... since nobody replied, i tried cutting my hedgys nails myself.

One of it was bleeding after i cut ! probably to deep >_<:

I read online that they bleed profusely, so i wasn't too surprised seeing all the blood. So i put some corn starch to stop the bleeding doh.gif

Anyway the poor hedgy looked a bit sad. It seemed like it was looking down feeling sorry for itself. I felt bad for it >-<; but it's nails was quire long and curved, and it didn't run its wheel much cauz i suspect its nails were hurting it.

If anyone can give some pointers on nail cutting it would be appreciated.

Hm... i did this during its bath to soften its nails, and quills. Their a bit easier to handle when their taking their bath.

But when i grab them and turn them around to get to the nail most the time their curling into ballz, i can't reach any nail at all >_<:

It finally got tired and let me get on with it doh.gif heh.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: May 9 2007, 11:29 AM
babymoli
post May 10 2007, 10:46 AM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

Next time when you trim the nails, you can do it under bright light so that you can notice the pink part easily & not hurting the hedgie.. Becareful next time... ^^
erni3
post May 11 2007, 01:34 PM

396 posts

If not sure how to trim, its best don't do it.
TShao
post May 12 2007, 01:40 AM

Quills™
5,469 posts

Yes, don't do it if you're not sure. I nvr trim my hedgehog's nails. If you really want to trim their nails, find a person to hold your hedgie for you, one person is never enough to trim the nails as the hedgehog tends to struggle.
SUSradical85
post May 13 2007, 04:24 AM

lalala~~
625 posts

i heard placing rough stone for them to polish thier nails will help?

p.s arghh im still looking for breeder. i wan hedgehog too
prophet007
post May 13 2007, 08:49 AM

1,048 posts

i dont think it will help. they wont use it anyway
wongzai
post May 13 2007, 12:36 PM

780 posts

QUOTE(radical85 @ May 13 2007, 04:24 AM)
i heard placing rough stone for them to polish thier nails will help?

p.s arghh im still looking for breeder. i wan hedgehog too
this is a very dangerous act for hedgies, becoz hedgies like to bite due to curious, so they might have chance to lose their teeth if they do bite the "rough stone" that u put in. take note pls.....

yesterday went to a pet shop in KL, and found out hedgies price now is RM700++ for a look like more than a year old hedgies... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by wongzai: May 13 2007, 03:05 PM
akachester
post May 13 2007, 12:58 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

QUOTE(wongzai @ May 13 2007, 12:36 PM)
this is a very dangerous act for hedgies, becoz hedgies like to bite due to curious, so they might have change to lose their teeth if they do bite the "rough stone" that u put in. take note pls.....

yesterday went to a pet shop in KL, and found out hedgies price now is RM700++ for a look like more than a year old hedgies... rclxub.gif
The price is very common even for very old hedgehog..Most famous pet shops have them in that price region.

Anyway, dont use stones etc. There is one person here, forgot who already, who have bad experience with stones. The hedgehog looses its teeth badly and have to handfeed the hedgehog now..
SUSradical85
post May 13 2007, 04:25 PM

lalala~~
625 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 13 2007, 12:58 PM)
The price is very common even for very old hedgehog..Most famous pet shops have them in that price region.

Anyway, dont use stones etc. There is one person here, forgot who already, who have bad experience with stones. The hedgehog looses its teeth badly and have to handfeed the hedgehog now..
my goodness. have to handfeed the hedgehog forever? then how do we get rid of the long nails since we cant simply cut it to avoid injuring ur pet?
TShao
post May 13 2007, 04:41 PM

Quills™
5,469 posts

QUOTE(radical85 @ May 13 2007, 04:25 PM)
my goodness. have to handfeed the hedgehog forever? then how do we get rid of the long nails since we cant simply cut it to avoid injuring ur pet?
If you really want to trim the nails of your hedgehog, do it after your hedgie finishes a bath cos that's when the nail is soft. Watch out for the blood vein which is red colour line, don't cut the nails short if you can't find the veins or you don't have confidence. Get someone to help you while you hold your hedgie as hedgie tends to struggle a lot.
crazymouse_yyh
post May 13 2007, 04:46 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

To make sure your hedgie has blunt nails, you must let your hedgie walk on rough floors.... putting a stone will not help because a hedgehog is not a cat, it won't know how to scratch its nails on a stone but more likely to try and bite and chew it.

Just bring your hedgie to a place with stone ground and let it walk around.
SUSradical85
post May 14 2007, 03:45 AM

lalala~~
625 posts

good and simple solution, never thought of it. rclxms.gif
just told my mom im gonna get a hedgehog she tension d, complaining that the dog might get hurt by the spikes. And the amount of animal exceeds the family member in the house doh.gif
wongzai
post May 22 2007, 08:39 PM

780 posts

QUOTE(radical85 @ May 14 2007, 03:45 AM)
good and simple solution, never thought of it.  rclxms.gif
just told my mom im gonna get a hedgehog she tension d, complaining that the dog might get hurt by the spikes. And the amount of animal exceeds the family member in the house  doh.gif
em....dog will not get hurt if the dog didn't go n kacau hedgies lol.... haha.... em...so how many animal in ur house now?

think of upload some of earth latest photo...somehow..the file size too big... rclxub.gif ..have to resize first.... sweat.gif
babymoli
post May 22 2007, 10:07 PM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

QUOTE(wongzai @ May 22 2007, 08:39 PM)
em....dog will not get hurt if the dog didn't go n kacau hedgies lol.... haha.... em...so how many animal in ur house now?

think of upload some of earth latest photo...somehow..the file size too big... rclxub.gif ..have to resize first.... sweat.gif
Hahaha... Do post up earth's pic ya...
wongzai
post May 22 2007, 11:29 PM

780 posts

fatty earth~~ as at 21/Apr/2007 = 5 mths old biggrin.gif

em....... scary taiko face.. notworthy.gif

124 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top