5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V54-+♠+-, Welcoming new legacy Persona owners!

inferno_17_85
post Sep 26 2017, 02:54 PM

14 posts

Hi all,

Been a shy forum reader of this thread on and off for years.

Just want to check if anyone of you have constant knocking code appeared as error code?

My ride is BL MT PE of 2011.
inferno_17_85
post Sep 28 2017, 09:57 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(tallrice @ Sep 28 2017, 09:37 AM)
what is that?
Few months ago my car ECL lighted up without affecting drivability of car. Everything feels the same.

So upon checking by proton SC it was code P0325, which according to proton code it's Knock Sensor voltage either too low or too high.

Ever since then I have changed twice knock sensor, left my ride in proton for a week to check for harness integrity, and finally ECU a month plus ago.

A month after ECU change, the code came back again. The service advisor that serves me told me they had several PE behaving this way without any substantial way to solve it.

Currently the code did not re-appear after Proton SC unplug my car battery for entire day while they check for potential fault.. So it's like a watchful waiting period that I need to constantly looking out the check engine light to appear.. Not good for my state of mind.

I have Eric's VS and GC in my car, currently it's running without VS, as SC commented that it might be the VS that causes the problem.

Just want to check if any one of here has this problem before, and how you solve it.
inferno_17_85
post Sep 28 2017, 02:15 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(tallrice @ Sep 28 2017, 01:01 PM)
i think the SC u visit still lack of experience...
my KTM also like this the ECL on after driving in heavy rain to work...
but it did not affect the drive ability and FC...
send back to the dealer that selling my bike also cannot solve...
i drive like this for 1 year...
last month send to this sole dealer who only manage KTM bikes...
change the sensor then its all ok...
Yeah my CEL gone after changed sensor also. But twice it came back after change. So SC don't think it's sensor problem anymore.

According to technician, they investigated the entire harness from sensor to ecu with volt meter, there's nothing damaged according to their test.

By the conversation with technician, I genuinely think they have tried their best to help. Probably this is a problem that only can be accurately detected when it get worse.

Sigh.. It's a really strange ailment. Just trying my luck by asking anyone who have this issue in LYN.

If there's anything I'll keep forumers updated.
inferno_17_85
post Sep 28 2017, 05:32 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(azeotrope @ Sep 28 2017, 04:36 PM)
Hi guys, its been a while i check out n post in this thread...
Im using Persona Elegance Manual milage around 89K.
Thinking of swapping to auto GB since my wife is using it right now.
how much is the estimated cost and what do we need for the swap to be "successful"?
I can only tell you ecu need to change. Persona ECU got manual and auto parts number.
inferno_17_85
post Sep 30 2017, 12:50 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(ajie @ Sep 30 2017, 10:18 AM)
Hi. I have a problem regarding my 2012 auto persona. I have experience this situation a few times starting from 17 June when i drove at Banting from Sepang.

The problem is my rpm meter unresponsive. The meter jump to 8k. And my gear indicator shows '-' instead of gear number. But the car can run as usual. When i restarted my car, the check engine light on.

On 19 June i sent my car to Proton SC at Sepang. The mechanic told me that the tcu gone haywire and he guessed that I have jumpstarted my car before. It is true  that I have jumpstarted my car on 24 May when i have battery problem. He said that he has reset the tcu and everything is normal now.

However one month after (11 August), on my way to Taiping, i experienced the same symptom. But this time after i restarted my car, no engine light came on. Since there was no engine light, i did not go for checkup when I came back to sepang.

Another problem  just occured when i am on my way back to sepang from bera on 24 September. This time, a new symptom shows up when i put my gear into D, the gear indicator at dashboard shows N. To drive, i have to put my gear to 3 first and then back to D. After a while, the usual symptoms (rpm meter 8k and gear indicator '-') came back. This time, the engine light on.

Next morning 25 september,  i sent my car to a workshop in kajang specializing in gearbox since i suspected a gearbox problem. But the mechanic said it is not a gearbox problem. Perhaps more of crank sensor problem that contributed to rpm meter to 8k and gear indicator to '-'. He changed the crank sensor that evening.

On morning 26 september, the same symptoms occured back plus i heard some strange noise from under the left dashboard. The noise became louder when i corner right or left. Check engine light also on this time. I sent back my car to the workshop for checking.

Now it has been 5 days at the workshop and the machanic cant figured the problem since there is no longer the symptoms appear even he tried many things,  check the wiring (no short), change the gearbox sensor, drove the car for quite a distance, etc.

This symptoms occurs on and off and all this while the car can still be driven even when the symptoms occur.

Has anyone experience this problem or might know what happen with my car? Thanks.
My speedometer was dialing haphazardly from time to time but not seen recently after my problem with oxygen and knock sensor appear.

I had all the time suspected wiring problem as it happened before. Once, my throttle body kept opened (cannot achieve sufficient vacuum, thus can only drive slow slow) due to wet harness trunk. SC found wires in quite wet condition via opening the wiring trunk, after they rule out failure of accelerator, throttle body and ECU via swapping them with new one, one by one.

For your problem I would suggest you to get a obd2 dongle and monitor the condition through phone. It can also check and clear check engine light fault code, so you know more about problem of your car, as well as what was the condition when problem comes. It's really helpful to help diagnose the cause of some mysterious ailments in PE.

If I were you I'd send back to Proton to check. Workshop outside would generally want to do fixing rather than spending time catching problem.
inferno_17_85
post Oct 5 2017, 07:44 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Oct 5 2017, 12:52 AM)
My family have a year 2008 Persona AT. (1st generation i think)
"Knocking sound when cornering on uneven surface coming from Front RHS". Am I eligible to claim for that? Did they come out with a better design/ solution to solve that issue?

I notice that the engine sounds louder when approaching 95km/h or ~2800rpm. Eventually can feel the vibration from engine through the throttle pedal since it was new until now. Is this normal?

Do anyone notice Persona will decelerate faster than other car when you release pedal. Feels like powerless when stop feeding petrol. Is that due to its heavy car body weight or just my wrong thought?
Have never encounter the famous RHS knicking issue in my car except a problematic suspension during first year of my 2011 car.

The other of your symptoms sounds pretty normal for me. You can try semi syn engine oil to reduce the symptoms, if you're on mineral oil.
inferno_17_85
post Oct 16 2017, 11:37 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Oct 15 2017, 09:12 PM)
What's the average FC of your Personas? I drive really light footed and for city with speeds ranging from 40-60kmh with some usual traffic lights/ speed bumps the best i can get is 9L/100KM (from the meter reading, which i think is not accurate).

For highway I can get around 6.5L/100KM (again based on the meter reading).

I feel like the car is quite thirsty for city driving even when im really gentle on the paddle and brake as little as I can. I did changed the IAFM module.

Any suggestions on improving FC?
More or less there. Fare a bit better on highway with about 5.7L/100km to 6.0L/100km since I'm driving manual here.

Using semi synthetic with Liqui Moly MoS2, always ask mechanic to pour engine oil to about 75% level of dipstick. Changed air filter when it's too dirty.
Original steel rims. I get good mileage with sedated driving style.

You might want to try filling fuel only to 3/4 of your tank. One retired TUDM pilot told me with this you can score best balance between mileage and time wasted for refueling.

VS and GC doesn't work on mileage for me
inferno_17_85
post Oct 17 2017, 09:47 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(potatocam @ Oct 17 2017, 10:50 AM)
Been driving my almost 10 year persona. This happened last week. As usual, started the car and start driving. When driving, noticed that the rpm meter stays at 0 which shouldn't be, try to speed up the car to 100km/h, the rpm goes up but can't go over 1k. Once you decelerate, the rpm goes straight down to 0. Immediately stopped the car at the road side, off engine, wait for few seconds, and start up engine again. Then the rpm meter goes back to normal, until today still working fine, seems one time occurrence. Anyone experience this before?  hmm.gif
Had problem like this on speedometer few years back. Never came back after change battery. You might want to save up for new battery anytime it kong.

Anyway even your rpm drops the engine roar still the same right?
inferno_17_85
post Oct 17 2017, 09:50 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(kausar @ Oct 17 2017, 11:07 AM)
to get the best fuel calculation , us should use ron97 and reset the throttle body. im too lazy to calculate but fill full tank and go KL - JB use only 1/2 ++ . if want to get fuel efficient, better drivi p2
Think even p2 if in city stop move traffic fc will go down the drain. I used to clock 12L/100km when fully in PJ. Horrible.
Luckily now I based in places that does not require stuck chronically in traffic.
inferno_17_85
post Oct 19 2017, 09:17 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(assiddiq87 @ Oct 18 2017, 01:59 PM)
Its time to change my absorber i think.. Anyone can recommend any decent  brand
A lot of spare part shop would give you waja absorber if you ask them for persona absorber. That's because gen2 uses the absorber with the same spec, and spare parts shop assume the spec to be the same with gen2, which uses shorter absorber.

A good way to get the correct spec is to ask spare part shop by parts number, so far only kayaba provides parts number of persona absorber in their website

http://www.kyb.com.my/products/application-chart/
inferno_17_85
post Oct 19 2017, 09:53 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(potatocam @ Oct 19 2017, 09:48 AM)
Yup, but the car struggled trying to speed up, as the rpm refuses to budge from 0. New battery changed 2 weeks before this happened. Suspect could be due to sensor.
Then better scheduled for a check up with your trusted mechanic...
inferno_17_85
post Oct 31 2017, 01:09 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Oct 28 2017, 11:39 PM)
anyone know how to disable the auto lock door function when press the brake and release handbrake?
Don't think can disable. I don't recall reading about this in owner's manual.

inferno_17_85
post Oct 31 2017, 01:13 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(propusers @ Oct 30 2017, 05:14 PM)
how long did you change your Persona brake pad?

mine already 55,000 km since last change of my brake pad...
Really depends on how you use it. Disc brake pad got a metal indicator that screech when it's almost exhausted. When your disc brake screech it's time to change.
inferno_17_85
post Oct 31 2017, 09:24 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Oct 31 2017, 02:52 AM)
Only the last few batches of the SV have foldable seats. Earlier batches don't have.
Last time when I changed the brake pads on my Persona SV, the stock pads didn't have the pad wear indicator.

Better check the pad thickness visually. Change if you have less than 3mm of pad material left.
Hmm in that case I need to check on next rotation..
inferno_17_85
post Dec 8 2017, 11:30 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(szaku89 @ Dec 7 2017, 08:52 PM)
Wonder how many of them are still driving this persona.
Was looking at Preve for NCAP ratings but decided to stick with Persona since no resale value. My persona no Airbag.

Thanks to lowered price plus improved spec of SV, my B-Line is cheaper than my loan balance. LOL.
inferno_17_85
post Dec 14 2017, 10:18 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Dec 13 2017, 11:33 AM)
Guys, anyone has suggestions how to improve handling, stability during high speed (>120kmph)?
Ultra Racing bars? Other than that should be wider tyres. But it'll eat into your fuel consumption.
inferno_17_85
post Dec 14 2017, 10:23 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Dec 14 2017, 01:34 PM)
thinking to install UR bars too...but no budget yet..now I'm using CC6 195/55R15 tire..
I know the original should be 195/60R15 but not enough budget when I change the tire, I change all 4 tire btw..hehe..

any other things that I can do to stabilize my car during high speed? lowered the car is a good idea?
I personally using a set of stock spec CC6 for the sake of comfortability. Choosing it over the good old but noisy triplemax as I got baby coming on the way.

For UR, I got 3 point front strut, 3 points rear struts, and medium thickness sway bar. Stability not so much but it definitely improve handling.
Stability as in when overtake bus or lorry, car still will shake a bit.
Handling as in car still drive confidently the way I wanted it to be, even in harsh driving situation such as uneven road or higher speed cornering (personally about 70km/h is usual)

I suppose if you use stiffer suspension you would reduce the body roll during high speed. But that would lead to stiffer handling and harsh NVH for car like persona. I'm still using stock spec suspension by the way.
inferno_17_85
post Jan 15 2018, 01:01 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(dan137 @ Jan 15 2018, 09:20 AM)
how about this guy cars?

Persona iafm.. 2009, manual transmission.

credit photo from zordaqmotorsports
Has the car overhauled before? At what mileage?
inferno_17_85
post Jan 15 2018, 09:44 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(dan137 @ Jan 15 2018, 04:04 PM)
according to the mechanic, yes. didnt state the mileage
Hmm.. Was thinking time to start saving up for overhaul. Currently clocking my first 5000km after hit 300,000. According to wiki campro was designed to run for 250,000. Just wonder how long my luck going to last.
inferno_17_85
post Jan 24 2018, 04:20 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(jasontantenghuat @ Jan 24 2018, 09:25 AM)
Will be sending my car for 200,000km service.

Any advice on what should be done / checked?

Will be changing the timing belt cause it is starting to make noise. And hopefully my mechanic can fix my bumper laugh.gif

The car is starting to feel underpower but don't know if it is because I switched from daily highway driving to being stuck on old klang road jam (changed jobs).

Consumption definitely went up laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
First page of this thread got the service schedule, I find it helpful to determine what to check and to change according to schedule set by proton.

The belt screeching usually occurs at air cond belt there, due to belt tensioner not so tension already, pun intended XD.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0829sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:24 AM