12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

-+♠+-LYN Proton Persona IAFM Owners Club V54-+♠+-, Welcoming new legacy Persona owners!

TDUEnthusiast
post Mar 11 2017, 10:07 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(cOMMANDER pRASNTH @ Mar 11 2017, 04:42 AM)
Hi guys and girls,

I would like to get your expert advice and opinion on what could be the issue for my Persona Executive Automatic (mfg. Dec 2014).

The mileage on this car is 21k & has the following issues :-

1) Lights and aircond blower dims and goes up upon revving
-- Had checked with an OBD2 scanner via Torque and noticed the voltage during idling and driving is between 10.9-13.4
-- no ICE or other accessories installed
-- QMax Super Voltage Stabilizer Turbo (RM 1k, installed after buying the car)

2) Low mileage (average 10l/100km) while being light-footed
-- Average reading is reset during each refuel and manual FC is about the same 40L for 400KM
-- Strong petrol smell coming from exhaust (especially during startup)
-- No error codes on OBD2 and no check engine light
--- Torque shows "Incomplete" for O2, O2 Heater sensors & Catalyst; abnormal?
--- Torque shows Cat1 and Cat 2 temps of 450c and 850c each; normal range
-- Cruising would give a best reading of 8l/100km (revs maintained below 2500)
-- Cleaned MAP sensor head (using CRC MAF cleaner)
I have replaced the following collectively in my last service

- Oil and oil filer (Amsoil 10w/30 fully syn w/ K&N filter)
- Spark plugs replaced (Iridium Tough, 100000km plugs)
- Air filter (K&N)
- Fuel filter (Bosch)
- Fuel injector cleaner (every 5000km)
- Fuel pump (as I initially suspected it could be the cause for 2nd issue)
- Brake flush and replace (Castrol)
- Coolant flush and replace (Proton ori)
- ATF flush and replace (Mitsubishi Diaqueen 4L + auto gearbox additive 0.5L)
- Power steering drain and replace (Castrol)
- Belt & belt tensioner (Gates, original had squeaking sounds when AC is on; resolved)

My guess for Issue 1) is that the alternator needs servicing; to replace the carbon as the charging is  there but inconsistent, especially when idling.
The other guess would be some accessory on the serpentine belt is jammed or creating resistance; alternator, power steering, aircond, waterpump.

As for Issue 2), my guess is that of a contaminated/partially working (but not faulty) MAP/Oxygen/both sensors especially since petrol smell in the exhaust indicates a rich fuel mixture & O2 sensors which are partially working don't yield a Check Engine light
My other guess is a faulty ECU, or inadequate stable voltage supplied to the sensors causing bad readings for the ECU to utilize. It could also be a faulty catalytic converter.

I would like to know whether I should go with my guesses or try a recommended SC or outside mechanic who may be best to address this issue.
I could be wrong in my assessment, so please share your wisdom and knowledge on this matter.

p/s - Car has no warranty since it's a CoE demo unit with 2500km, so I don't think it has ever been serviced prior to my purchase a year later (Dec 2015).
FYI if you measured the voltage when the air cond was on, it should be normal for the lowest measured voltage to be around 10V (caused by compressor engagement). But if it's not a momentary drop, then there's clearly something wrong with your electrical system.

When I had my Persona (non-Elegance B-Line), I noticed that all lights became brighter when the RPM is higher. But I didn't notice this until I switched to a serviceable wet cell battery. Maybe it was there all along but I didn't pay much attention. There's not much to worry about if you notice your vehicle's light dimming once in a while when the air-cond is on.

If you have some extra cash to spare, try something called Impulse (sold/designed by Howie Choo at EA Auto). On my Suprima S the dimming was very noticeable. With Impulse it reduced significantly. It's RM9xx. He demonstrated to me the difference between a very popular voltage stabiliser (I believe the brand was Qmax) and Impulse. The former couldn't power on a 55W halogen bulb for more than a second. Impulse can do that for at least a minute if I remember correctly.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Mar 11 2017, 10:10 AM
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 17 2017, 08:36 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Apr 12 2017, 09:39 AM)
why do you say so, just curious. I always see those mod kaki always do though  tongue.gif
The ones that can really do the job well will be worth the money. Erictioh's (forum member) voltage stabiliser is not bad. If you have the cash to spare, ea autowork's Impulse is a must have.

You cannot eliminate the dimming or underpower feeling on the persona though. Air cond compressor takes too much power.
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 17 2017, 08:50 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Apr 17 2017, 08:49 AM)
hmm.. thanks for your advice.

If no difference in terms of FC/power I think I won't do..no point..save $$$ better  tongue.gif
Can buy first then transfer to your future car biggrin.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 17 2017, 09:31 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(diversity @ Apr 17 2017, 08:58 AM)
poor guy here, will use my persona until fully kong
You will be stuck forever with it then. laugh.gif too reliable and cheap to repair too.
TDUEnthusiast
post May 5 2017, 08:12 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(szaku89 @ May 2 2017, 10:26 AM)
FML, recently my persona keep giving me prob, persona sv 100k mileage, 3 years usage. A month ago aircon compressor clutch rosak, now battery problem, maybe starter rosak, can't even jump start the car.
Maybe related to gear safety switch?
TDUEnthusiast
post May 5 2017, 08:16 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(szaku89 @ May 5 2017, 08:15 AM)
What is that? Finally found out to be battery problem. Wtf hitachi battery, last only 11 months. Bloody hell lots of scammers nowadays. My stock Ramcar battery last me 2 years 4 months.
Something that stops the driver from being able to start the car in any gear besides P or N for Auto

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: May 5 2017, 08:16 AM
TDUEnthusiast
post May 6 2017, 09:28 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ May 6 2017, 08:53 PM)
Wow didn't know battery so fast Kong.
My stock battery last me 18 mths.
Just changed few mths back to Bosch. Let's see how it goes.
Anyway if it spoils before one year I thought got warranty
My Persona's Bosch S3+ lasted almost 3 years before I changed it since the car started a bit weak one day, though I was using the blower without the engine operating for some time.

I usually don't lock the car when it's parked inside, so that may have helped extend the lifespan by a lot. The daily travel distance on average was less than 10km two ways, which most people say will not be able to charge the battery sufficiently.
TDUEnthusiast
post May 7 2017, 09:03 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(szaku89 @ May 7 2017, 06:46 AM)
Maintenance free battery? Wow wow 3 years, lucky. And usually battery will kong straight it won't give any symptoms, experienced it twice already battery kong.
Yup. Experienced before with Yokohama Maintenance Free battery also. Luckily mine didn't explode when the car was jump started. laugh.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post May 7 2017, 09:29 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(szaku89 @ May 7 2017, 09:24 AM)
Battery will explode? Don't scare me wei.
Only for that particular brand as far as I can remember.. Not sure about recent Yokohama batteries
TDUEnthusiast
post May 13 2017, 07:46 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(neochaser5 @ May 13 2017, 07:35 AM)
Anyone here has tried to install a dashcam on their personas? Any tips on hard wiring and routing the cable? haven't remove any part of the car so not really sure on how to start. Perhaps a guide would help. Thanks in advance.
Hardwire get this

https://www.lelong.com.my/micro-mini-media-...7-01-Sale-I.htm

Gonna have to cut open the dashcam wire and identify the power and ground wire. Power wire goes into the item above, and for ground you need to modify it to have an O ring end and just bolt it to an existing grounding point in your Persona.

You also need to deal with converting 12v to 5v. Or you could just open up the USB cigarette port adaptor and work from there.

For routing, just put the cable through the roof liner and down the driver side A pillar if you want to hard wire, or down the passenger side if you want to use the cigarette port.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/diy-do-yours...ur-dashcam.html

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: May 13 2017, 07:51 AM
TDUEnthusiast
post May 24 2017, 04:25 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

I think the water pump is driven by the fead belt... if the fead belt spoils you just lose power steering, air cond and some others
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 6 2017, 08:51 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(dinnor @ Jun 6 2017, 11:07 AM)
my bad, my own mistake cost me this calar at rear left side door
cry.gif  cry.gif

how much need to spare my money to repair/repaint ?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Last time I kena hit by a superbike... Kena RM450 smile.gif, but respray entire door + rear section towards the light for colour matching... In the end I probably should have gone for a touch up because the car ended up looking lighter rear half and darker front half on the right side.

Look for a workshop that uses Kansai Alesco paint if possible since that's the original paint supplier. The shop I went to was using HIPIC if I'm not mistaken.

Edit: try to get the spray shop to compound + polish the area also if possible as the paint will most likely look very uneven. The shop most probably has at least one rotary polisher which makes the job really quick.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Jun 6 2017, 08:53 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 12 2017, 09:36 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 9 2017, 04:41 PM)
2008 pre facelift model. i searched for video online and it seems like the only way is to plug in an aux cable by removing the whole head unit.
It's a very easy job.. I still have the cable if you want.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 12 2017, 09:37 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 9 2017, 02:59 PM)
Finally got my Persona, it was a 2008 M-line Auto with around 50k millage. First thing i notice is that the stock head unit can't connect AUX/ USB/ Bluetooth, making me unable to play my own music at all. Don't want to use CD since I cant pick my desired song.

Any suggestion?

EDIT: Also the engine fan will keep running after the car is shut down, I only saw the same thing on Exora CFE before. Is it normal for NA Persona to do the same?
Running for how long? Persona Elegance has this feature, but I have never observed it on the first gen Persona or on mine.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 12 2017, 09:45 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mingwei1992 @ Jun 12 2017, 09:38 AM)
Im using a 2015 SV model
Mine will run for like 10 secs?
Especially if i go for long distance driving.
Usually after i stop my car i wont turn off the engine yet. i will sit in the car for 1 min then only turn off the engine.
Should be normal. Did you turn your air-cond to the lowest temperature though? If you leave the car running but the fan is not spinning, the fan will still turn on after you shut the car if it's hot.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 17 2017, 09:08 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 17 2017, 02:05 AM)
where can I install this in Shah Alam area? What do I ask from the mechanic? Which type of shop (aircon shop? body shop? tire shop?) should I go to?

My wife's Persona 2011 H Line Auto will jump a bit as the engine is trying to rev (to prevent it from dying?) while in "Drive" gear, with the aircond on, while the foot brake is applied. If the aircon is not applied, the car will not show this symptom...

What is the issue do you think, is it the voltage thing?
I had a RM1xx voltage regulator. Didn't do much to reduce the dimming. The car moving forward in D when the air-cond engages is normal I think. It happens cause the engine RPM rises to compensate the drop when the compressor engages. I got used to it when I had my Persona.

You should idle in N, or just brake harder.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 29 2017, 09:08 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 29 2017, 08:59 PM)
do you have any recommended workshop?
Don't have any in mind... The first one I went to promised so much but delivered very poorly. The second one didn't have the correct shade of colour.. i can only think of any proton centres with body repair at the moment.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jun 29 2017, 09:14 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Jun 29 2017, 09:09 PM)
normally how long would it take to repaint 1 panel/ door? a few days at least?
I don't remember. I believe i got mine back on the same day though. Sent it in the morning. Also depends on how many cars they have to deal with.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 19 2017, 01:24 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(vampire_empirez @ Aug 18 2017, 12:58 PM)
Is anyone know how to remove Persona SV rear seat and replace it with H-Line one??
Remove the seat cushion first, then remove the bolts that hold the seat hooks to the body. Push upwards to remove.
TDUEnthusiast
post Aug 23 2017, 07:25 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(The_FQ400 @ Aug 23 2017, 01:31 PM)
yup.. the highest part of the engine... my aeroplane sounded more to a mini supercharger..  sweat.gif i suspect is the power steering pump not getting enough oil..
I think it's normal... I used to do a lot of high revving in my persona. Always got the sound

Not changing the power steering oil from my experience caused the steering to be not smooth when turning, and heavy too.

12 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0748sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:25 AM