Jan 29 2016, 10:13 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
295 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(zeliustitan @ Jan 28 2016, 01:57 PM) I think GW Cycle have a few unit. Not much lesser than a new unit but still 2K is good money especially in times like this. I think the Bs are from the UK used Bromptons store which might be imported through Singapore. I am not sure, else where can he get so many of them. Brompton buyers are not known to sell their Bs. Usually they keep them until they gather dust, hahahaaa. I mean a person who spends 7K on a folding bike are not in need of money usually. |
Jan 29 2016, 03:26 PM
466 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(desastar @ Jan 28 2016, 09:07 PM) Are you still looking? Do you know exactly what model you are after and price? You need to know so you are ready to buy when you see one for sale. yup i knowQUOTE(etigge @ Jan 29 2016, 10:13 AM) I think GW Cycle have a few unit. Not much lesser than a new unit but still 2K is good money especially in times like this. I think the Bs are from the UK used Bromptons store which might be imported through Singapore. I am not sure, else where can he get so many of them. Brompton buyers are not known to sell their Bs. Usually they keep them until they gather dust, hahahaaa. I mean a person who spends 7K on a folding bike are not in need of money usually. havent really got time to go there.. but one day... |
Jan 29 2016, 08:20 PM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Well, I have just installed the collapsible rear rack on my Tikit. Bike Friday does not make them anymore so it took me a while to locate this one, which was in Singapore. The seller was nice enough to hold it for me until I can collect it.
The standard rack is too low for a pannier but this one can be raised up so no problems! And the way it has been designed, the wheel in one corner means the Tikit is now super easy to roll around! :-) Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jan 30 2016, 08:50 AM
Bike stands. They are not all pretty and add weight, right. However a bike without a stand can be a pain in the butt, having to lean it against something or lay on the ground. Stands that are well design and lightweight...quick give me one!
I spotted a Minoura kick stand at Johnny's shop in Bandar U. This one is for the Brompton. Very neat looking and simple. Now I won't need to keep folding the bike! Nice! Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jan 31 2016, 10:58 AM
140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: ieypoh |
keeping up with the big guyz!
#ipohfoldies ![]() |
Jan 31 2016, 11:59 AM
Jan 31 2016, 12:37 PM
15 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
Dear sifu, the difference for elevation gain is huge. Is this normal?
Left side: using garmin edge810 right side: using normal handphone for strava. --How do you set wheel size and crank length for 20" bike on edge 810? Automatic or manual? Thanks tou ![]() |
Feb 1 2016, 01:24 AM
120 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
QUOTE(desastar @ Jan 15 2016, 01:49 PM) Depends on the type of fender you have. I've got Big Apples and fits the stock fenders. No experience with Rotolo, but the Big Apples are very comfortable. Handling? how much would you need? Where can I get the big apples locally?WILL add weight to your bike for sure! Just lose some of your weight to compensate, hahaha |
Feb 1 2016, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Feb 1 2016, 01:24 AM) You may have to ring around and see who has them. Back in Dec when I was after a set, Billy Bike shop in Ipoh had some. RM100 each.I ended up buying a set of Dahon wheels from Rodalink and it came with the Big Apples. Rodalink also had Marathon Supremes at RM50 each which I thought was a bargain, so I bought a set as well! |
Feb 2 2016, 12:28 PM
4,874 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
Sifus. What will u recommend for a speedie foldie on a budget? About 1k. New or used.
Feb 2 2016, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(desastar @ Feb 1 2016, 12:39 PM) You may have to ring around and see who has them. Back in Dec when I was after a set, Billy Bike shop in Ipoh had some. RM100 each. Yeah, I ended up buying a set of Dahon wheels from Rodalink and it came with the Big Apples. Rodalink also had Marathon Supremes at RM50 each which I thought was a bargain, so I bought a set as well! Funny how such a popular tyre not carried by many...Likely due to high price and small niche..at RM100 each for a smallish tyre, is quite hefty..compared to the other much bigger and branded tires. The supremes at RM50 sounds like a great deal tho... Any other alternatives from other brands, which is in the league of Big Apple, and more easily available? |
Feb 2 2016, 03:52 PM
1 posts Joined: Mar 2010 |
QUOTE(rkhairulrijal @ Jan 31 2016, 12:37 PM) Dear sifu, the difference for elevation gain is huge. Is this normal? definitely the figure would not be the same..Left side: using garmin edge810 right side: using normal handphone for strava. --How do you set wheel size and crank length for 20" bike on edge 810? Automatic or manual? Thanks tou ![]() strava using gps and calculating the elevation based on google maps topography garmin using barometer and based on barometric pressure both can be use as reference but i will stick to garmin because data fields are more accurate .. and fyi .. there is correlation button which u can recalculate your garmin data to strava measurement.. but most of the time i foud garmin data is more logical hehe as for wheel size.. it will auto calculate by itself since u have automatic option for that.. check on the bike profile.. |
Feb 2 2016, 06:34 PM
QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Feb 2 2016, 12:48 PM) Yeah, GH cycle at The Strand has just restock their Maxxis tires. I heard the range is full. If it is, you can try the Maxxis DTH. If big is what you want then go for the 1.9 ones. There's 2 sizes for 20 inch (406) 1.9 or 1.75 width. It has more treads and tougher than Big Apples. Actually they are BMX tires but very good for foldies too. More tread for off road as well. More grip too but when I used the 1.9 the last time, the rear tires rub my Dahon Speed's rear chain stays and took some paint off. So, I changed to 1.75s. Those bike with rear cahin stays have to get 1.75s as the profile of the Maxxis DTH is different from Big apples (although they are 2.0) which are roundish compared to Maxxis DTH which are flat and squarish at the base. The tires really grips though but wears off faster than Big Apples, softer compound mah! Funny how such a popular tyre not carried by many...Likely due to high price and small niche..at RM100 each for a smallish tyre, is quite hefty..compared to the other much bigger and branded tires. The supremes at RM50 sounds like a great deal tho... Any other alternatives from other brands, which is in the league of Big Apple, and more easily available? ![]() |
Feb 2 2016, 09:49 PM
QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Feb 2 2016, 12:48 PM) Yeah, The wider the tyre, the lower the pressure (usually) hence will be more comfortable. I had a set of Maxxis Roamer which was 20x1.65 and that was ok. Some wider tyres can be a little heavy too.Funny how such a popular tyre not carried by many...Likely due to high price and small niche..at RM100 each for a smallish tyre, is quite hefty..compared to the other much bigger and branded tires. The supremes at RM50 sounds like a great deal tho... Any other alternatives from other brands, which is in the league of Big Apple, and more easily available? I haven't tried the Supremes yet, but they are folding type, so lighter than the Big Apples. |
Feb 3 2016, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 2 2016, 06:34 PM) GH cycle at The Strand has just restock their Maxxis tires. I heard the range is full. If it is, you can try the Maxxis DTH. If big is what you want then go for the 1.9 ones. There's 2 sizes for 20 inch (406) 1.9 or 1.75 width. It has more treads and tougher than Big Apples. Actually they are BMX tires but very good for foldies too. More tread for off road as well. More grip too but when I used the 1.9 the last time, the rear tires rub my Dahon Speed's rear chain stays and took some paint off. So, I changed to 1.75s. Those bike with rear cahin stays have to get 1.75s as the profile of the Maxxis DTH is different from Big apples (although they are 2.0) which are roundish compared to Maxxis DTH which are flat and squarish at the base. The tires really grips though but wears off faster than Big Apples, softer compound mah! Sweet lookin' wheelset....and im sure u get lots of envious look from others...on that Envy rim..haha![]() Thx for the input on the DTH...was looking at it as option as well, until u mentioned that it is too wide for Dahons with Chain stays...too bad.. Is the one on ur picture 1.95 wide? coz it sure looks wide and fattish. Yeah , im considering for bigger balloon tires..so, something bigger than the puny 1.75 rotolo. .For comfort, looks and puncture resistance ( crucial). I punctured my rotolo on my maiden ride due to a wire with stapler diameter size poked thru. Looking at their website, Maxxis seem to have a few possible choices for folding bike sizes like The Grifter, Torch...but all this are like 110psi rated?? |
Feb 3 2016, 12:58 PM
QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Feb 3 2016, 12:14 PM) Sweet lookin' wheelset....and im sure u get lots of envious look from others...on that Envy rim..haha Kevlar beaded tires (or foldable as they called it) are all high pressure tires. You don't have to use maximum tire pressure as they are quite high volume. But it also depends on the width of the rims. Wider rims tend to lower the height of the tire and also flatten out the profile. Just bear in mind though........it takes more effort to push a wider tire. That's why the road bike tires are puny. Thx for the input on the DTH...was looking at it as option as well, until u mentioned that it is too wide for Dahons with Chain stays...too bad.. Is the one on ur picture 1.95 wide? coz it sure looks wide and fattish. Yeah , im considering for bigger balloon tires..so, something bigger than the puny 1.75 rotolo. .For comfort, looks and puncture resistance ( crucial). I punctured my rotolo on my maiden ride due to a wire with stapler diameter size poked thru. Looking at their website, Maxxis seem to have a few possible choices for folding bike sizes like The Grifter, Torch...but all this are like 110psi rated?? |
Feb 4 2016, 02:21 AM
QUOTE(etigge @ Feb 3 2016, 12:58 PM) Kevlar beaded tires (or foldable as they called it) are all high pressure tires. You don't have to use maximum tire pressure as they are quite high volume. But it also depends on the width of the rims. Wider rims tend to lower the height of the tire and also flatten out the profile. Just bear in mind though........it takes more effort to push a wider tire. That's why the road bike tires are puny. Sifu etigge, is the stock dahon rims able to fit fat tires like 20 x 2.0 big apple.? |
Feb 4 2016, 09:38 AM
| Change to: | 0.0217sec