anyone here working in any Big 4 as internal auditor or risk consulting? Wanna seek your advice. tq
Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v3
Mar 2 2017, 04:42 PM
38 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
anyone here working in any Big 4 as internal auditor or risk consulting? Wanna seek your advice. tq
Mar 2 2017, 05:19 PM
17 posts Joined: Feb 2017 |
QUOTE(tzxsean @ Mar 1 2017, 07:40 PM) Ohh uhh hmm i dont get shortlisted for the interview lah. Haha so sad but nvm need to move on. Just asking, big four always hire oversea graduate is it? Im local. I feel discriminated hahaha Anyone want to hire me to do audit or tax, im willing to learn from A to Z 😁 |
Mar 2 2017, 05:20 PM
Mar 2 2017, 05:52 PM
975 posts Joined: Mar 2016 From: Penang |
QUOTE(jimmyniki @ Mar 2 2017, 05:19 PM) Ohh uhh hmm i dont get shortlisted for the interview lah. Haha so sad but nvm need to move on. Just asking, big four always hire oversea graduate is it? Im local. I feel discriminated hahaha From what I knowAnyone want to hire me to do audit or tax, im willing to learn from A to Z 😁 Oversea Degree>Local ACCA>Local degree (Oversea ACCA won't come back Malaysia la, do they?) If you are only holding local degree, then better not looking for big4. Nowadays local ACCA is getting more and more. Why they need local degree when they can easily obtain ACCA graduate?Of course they will still hire some, but the number is quite low |
Mar 2 2017, 06:04 PM
12 posts Joined: Feb 2017 |
QUOTE(SmallPenguin @ Mar 2 2017, 05:52 PM) From what I know Is twin degree consider as oversea degree? Oversea Degree>Local ACCA>Local degree (Oversea ACCA won't come back Malaysia la, do they?) If you are only holding local degree, then better not looking for big4. Nowadays local ACCA is getting more and more. Why they need local degree when they can easily obtain ACCA graduate?Of course they will still hire some, but the number is quite low |
Mar 2 2017, 06:19 PM
Mar 2 2017, 06:41 PM
65 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(jimmyniki @ Mar 2 2017, 05:19 PM) Ohh uhh hmm i dont get shortlisted for the interview lah. Haha so sad but nvm need to move on. Just asking, big four always hire oversea graduate is it? Im local. I feel discriminated hahaha Sorry to hear that, not true that big 4 always hire overseas grad. Lots of local grads too. I'm one of them Anyone want to hire me to do audit or tax, im willing to learn from A to Z 😁 |
Mar 2 2017, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(stevendefool @ Mar 2 2017, 06:41 PM) Sorry to hear that, not true that big 4 always hire overseas grad. Lots of local grads too. I'm one of them I applied for other big four too but still dont get any email or calls.Are u from private uni or public uni? This post has been edited by jimmyniki: Mar 2 2017, 06:49 PM |
Mar 2 2017, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(SmallPenguin @ Mar 2 2017, 06:19 PM) Oversea degree is just a name for them But going to oversea is mainly because they are rich, doesn't mean they have better personality or qualification.What they actually want is the people who live overseas for few years Because the knowledge and such must be better than local 0+4 1+3 or maybe 2+2 are possible 3+1, unlikely la |
Mar 2 2017, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(mybbxt @ Mar 2 2017, 07:07 PM) But going to oversea is mainly because they are rich, doesn't mean they have better personality or qualification. Sad but true, that's how the world worksYou can't deny it If I were the manager, of course I would hire oversea graduates first. These people are special snowflakes. Rare. Most of them will just stay at the country they study, why they need to come back? |
Mar 2 2017, 07:31 PM
QUOTE(mybbxt @ Mar 2 2017, 07:07 PM) But going to oversea is mainly because they are rich, doesn't mean they have better personality or qualification. I agree w this but some of my friends (oversea grad) are pandai also haha and their parents afford to send them abroad. Myb that is their advantage. I just want to know for the local grad, how can we overcome this challenge. I would take it as a challenge, not disadvantage haha. |
Mar 2 2017, 09:21 PM
9 posts Joined: Feb 2017 |
Is it because the recruiting freeze now?
This post has been edited by rtxinai: Mar 2 2017, 10:16 PM |
Mar 3 2017, 12:20 AM
65 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Mar 3 2017, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(stevendefool @ Mar 3 2017, 12:20 AM) Private uni. Maybe can try applying mid tier first? Anyways, did they gave you any reasons for why you were not able to advance to the interview? No they didnt. I think they hire the oversea graduate or those from private uni. Bcs im from local and public uni. My friend from private uni got selected. I applied to mid tier but no response. Myb bcs the stop recruiting people. I dont know haha i need job mannn haha |
Mar 3 2017, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(jimmyniki @ Mar 3 2017, 07:59 AM) No they didnt. I think they hire the oversea graduate or those from private uni. Bcs im from local and public uni. My friend from private uni got selected. Your friend get recruit by which firm? When he/she apply?I applied to mid tier but no response. Myb bcs the stop recruiting people. I dont know haha i need job mannn haha |
Mar 3 2017, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(mybbxt @ Mar 3 2017, 04:29 PM) Only got to the interview first. Not yet recruit in but the probability is high. Especially someone who has acca. Pwc btw. I dont know when she applied, actually she is one of the candidates haha i just met her thereThis post has been edited by jimmyniki: Mar 3 2017, 06:03 PM |
Mar 4 2017, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(jimmyniki @ Mar 3 2017, 06:02 PM) Only got to the interview first. Not yet recruit in but the probability is high. Especially someone who has acca. Pwc btw. I dont know when she applied, actually she is one of the candidates haha i just met her there I see, but at least secured an interview, better than no response..... |
Mar 4 2017, 04:26 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2 posts Joined: Mar 2017 |
QUOTE(jimmyniki @ Mar 2 2017, 07:31 PM) I agree w this but some of my friends (oversea grad) are pandai also haha and their parents afford to send them abroad. Myb that is their advantage. I'm a local grad for a small private uni as well and managed to get offer into big4.I just want to know for the local grad, how can we overcome this challenge. I would take it as a challenge, not disadvantage haha. A few things you can improve your chances with big4 1) Maintain good CGPA - second upper and above is a must 2) Join any Big 4 or MNC challenge/competition to improve your resume 3) Go for internship - whether small/big firm it doesn't matter, it shows that you are motivated and willing to learn 4) Organise event or hold position in university club/society 5) Start your professional papers early - there are plenty of professional programme that partner with university which encourage final year students to undertake their professional paper (i.e. ACCA Accelerate or other professional body such as CPA, ICAEW, MICPA, CIMA) They all have different partnership with different university. Start early and this will show employer that you are taking initiative to build your career. 6) Improve on your command of language. There are plenty of ways for local grad to build up your own resume. Is just whether we are willing to take up the initiative to improve ourselves. Overseas grad may have advantage but I have also seen how good their resume can be not only because of the university they are from but also them taking initiative to undertake different internship and leadership position to improve their resume. This post has been edited by unknown_228: Mar 4 2017, 04:28 PM |
Mar 4 2017, 11:31 PM
9 posts Joined: Dec 2016 |
Need a piece of advice here. Currently working in a mid-tier firm(still under probation) and one of the big 4 emailed to me asking to do the online assessment few days ago(which i applied around 3.5 months ago -.-). If they phone me to schedule interview, should i go or tell them am already working nw?
Mar 6 2017, 01:27 AM
426 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
QUOTE(Dankkl @ Mar 4 2017, 11:31 PM) Need a piece of advice here. Currently working in a mid-tier firm(still under probation) and one of the big 4 emailed to me asking to do the online assessment few days ago(which i applied around 3.5 months ago -.-). If they phone me to schedule interview, should i go or tell them am already working nw? Just go for interview, why limit yourself in your firm. More options always good |
| Change to: | 0.2753sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:11 AM |