119 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v3

funkie-indie-pop
post Jul 19 2016, 01:51 AM

QUOTE(Nickie6817 @ Jul 11 2016, 10:29 PM)
The duration as in how long would the interview last. Her name is Ms Ezreena and nope she didn't mention. But you're ought to let them know your expected commencement date for work if you have.

I completed the online application in the mid of May, within that week itself I got a phone call from them, asking general questions and informing about the online assessment which they sent me a link thru email.

A week later, I got the email that I passed my online assessment and proceeded to the interview which is scheduled on the second week of June. The speed of them releasing the results of the interview depends, as I think they adopt an elimination method (I got the rejection at the end of June already but my friend who attended on the same day still hasn't gotten any replies yet).
I see ...how was the interview? May I ask for some advice ? What shd I bring ? Anything I shd watch out for ?.. Why wld they reject you ?
Thank you for being so informative smile.gif may you hv a wonderful career w ey:)
Nickie6817
post Jul 19 2016, 09:37 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(funkie-indie-pop @ Jul 19 2016, 01:51 AM)
I see ...how was the interview? May I ask for some advice ? What shd I bring ? Anything I shd watch out for ?.. Why wld they reject you ?
Thank you for being so informative smile.gif may you hv a wonderful career w ey:)
I have one line to summarise: they looked friendly, but the questions they asked will corner you. So be prepared.

In case you do not know, the interview started off with a group presentation, where 4-6 interviewees are grouped together, given 10 mins of preparation and about 20 mins of presentation on a case study they provide. It's kinda easy, but the difficult part is the time pressure. Bring along a pen to jot down your notes for presentation.

After that it will be essay writing session, where you're given two very simple and direct question and you're required to write a simple essay, no word limit. So, a pen is needed again. They will provide papers but just bring along just in case.

Then the 2 to 1 interview, conducted by the same panel you faced in group interview, I'm not sure is it the same for all panels, but mine actually asked questions based on the group interview, such as "how do you think your team performed just now?" "what do you think you did poorly, and how to improve?" "who would you hire? why?", which is totally out of my expectations, instead of the general standard interview questions. I guess this is the part where I screwed my interview haha. So be prepared for the unexpected.

Remember to bring your file with all your certs of course, thou my interviewers didn't even look at it.

The rejection email states that after comparing my qualifications and experiences against other candidates, they are unable to offer me an employment. I took effort to ask for even more detailed reasons, but no responses are received.

Do let me know if you need anymore guides biggrin.gif

eunhyuk9090
post Jul 19 2016, 10:15 PM

QUOTE(Nickie6817 @ Jul 15 2016, 09:45 PM)
Hey thanks for the reply! Yeah I recently just got a Welcome e-mail from them.
I bet you just got accepted as well? biggrin.gif
heyy can i ask if the welcome email is a general one or does it contain details on orientation/what to do on the first day etc? This is after your interview or offer? Thanks and all the best!
junior04162
post Jul 19 2016, 11:07 PM

Got the offer from KPMG and EY but reject KPMG.. Because salary wise and culture in EY is better.. Gonna start to work in Sept smile.gif

tips for interview: Confident , confident and confident
When interviewer throw you a hard question, dun panic, and answer the question firmly either it is correct or wrong
Nickie6817
post Jul 19 2016, 11:22 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(eunhyuk9090 @ Jul 19 2016, 10:15 PM)
heyy can i ask if the welcome email is a general one or does it contain details on orientation/what to do on the first day etc? This is after your interview or offer? Thanks and all the best!
Yeah it contains details on orientation/what to do on the first day. And it's only after my offer smile.gif
boonpin413
post Jul 20 2016, 01:45 PM

Hi all

Just get the phone call from EY asking me to attend the interview on next week, with the interviewers from department HPI, anyone here working in EY , can you sharing on what mostly department HPI is all about ? I know HPI stands for hospitality, property, and infrastructure.

Thanks in advance
funkie-indie-pop
post Jul 21 2016, 04:43 PM

QUOTE(Nickie6817 @ Jul 19 2016, 09:37 AM)
I have one line to summarise: they looked friendly, but the questions they asked will corner you. So be prepared.

In case you do not know, the interview started off with a group presentation, where 4-6 interviewees are grouped together, given 10 mins of preparation and about 20 mins of presentation on a case study they provide. It's kinda easy, but the difficult part is the time pressure. Bring along a pen to jot down your notes for presentation.

After that it will be essay writing session, where you're given two very simple and direct question and you're required to write a simple essay, no word limit. So, a pen is needed again. They will provide papers but just bring along just in case.

Then the 2 to 1 interview, conducted by the same panel you faced in group interview, I'm not sure is it the same for all panels, but mine actually asked questions based on the group interview, such as "how do you think your team performed just now?" "what do you think you did poorly, and how to improve?" "who would you hire? why?", which is totally out of my expectations, instead of the general standard interview questions. I guess this is the part where I screwed my interview haha. So be prepared for the unexpected.

Remember to bring your file with all your certs of course, thou my interviewers didn't even look at it.

The rejection email states that after comparing my qualifications and experiences against other candidates, they are unable to offer me an employment. I took effort to ask for even more detailed reasons, but no responses are received.

Do let me know if you need anymore guides biggrin.gif
Wow this is really helpful thank you for writing these out truly appreciate it smile.gif feeling nervous as i hv an upcoming interview w them...
what was the presentation topic abt? ...and the essay topic?....is it possible to prepare for them in advance ?
was the presentation part nerve racking?
for the interview, what other kinds of questions did they ask? were there some other tricky ones? do they ask things frm yr resume?
can i arrive jst 15 mins earlier? the interview will not start until the stated time right?

thank you v much smile.gif
Nickie6817
post Jul 21 2016, 06:11 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(funkie-indie-pop @ Jul 21 2016, 04:43 PM)
Wow this is really helpful thank you for writing these out truly appreciate it smile.gif  feeling nervous as i hv an upcoming interview w them...
what was the presentation topic abt? ...and the essay topic?....is it possible to prepare for them in advance ?
was the presentation part nerve racking?
for the interview, what other kinds of  questions did they ask? were there some other tricky ones? do they ask things frm yr resume?
can i arrive jst 15 mins earlier? the interview will not start until the stated time right?

thank you v much smile.gif
The presentation topic is like you're given a case study of a project, so you should discuss whether or not to undertake it and present it to the interviewers in the capacity of consultants facing the board of directors. The presentation, well as I was the last person in the team to present so the time pressure I faced was tremendous.

The essay topic not sure whether should I disclose, but you shouldn't worry too much about it, it's one of the pretty standard interview questions you can get. My advice is, study the standard interview questions and prepare your answers, that will be good for the essay writing.

For the interview, nope 99% of the questions are based on the group interview in the earlier session. Do observe your peers, and also yourself most importantly, they might ask your opinion on the candidates. This was the trickiest already haha.

Nope they didn't ask anything at all from my resume. In fact they didn't even ask for it or look at it. My cert file was closed all the time.

Well you can, in fact there's one member in my team who's late for the interview, but arrived right before the group interview started. Thou they say it's ok but of course you won't want to leave a bad impression. Yupp the interview will not start at the stated time. In fact there's a briefing session first bout the life and benefits of being part of KPMG, which lasts bout 15-30mins I think, also the interview briefing.

Additional tips, mingle around and talk to other candidates, you might get new connections or information you never knew. smile.gif
EnigmaInAction
post Jul 22 2016, 01:48 PM

Hi, does anyone know of the starting pay for EY Advisory (fresh grad)? Thanks in advance rclxms.gif
compressor999
post Jul 25 2016, 12:13 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(HelmiNawawi @ Jul 15 2016, 10:34 PM)
hi. Welcome to EY, which department u join ?  biggrin.gif
Hi, I'm joining FSO tongue.gif
DURARARA5
post Jul 30 2016, 04:50 AM

86 posts

rclxub.gif anyone care to help, fresh grad engineer student with second class upper cgpa and curricular activities to back up, wants to join big 4 advisory but rejected by EY, is there any sort of requirement on the CV or should i write a cover letter? which department is easier to get into, assurance, taxation, risk assurance or advisory? applied to pwc on june 30th, hr told recruitment only for month of september, applied to Deloitte for analyst technology this monday, cv has been received, but no reply, anyone care to help

Yours truly : desperate big 4 dreamer
stevendefool
post Jul 30 2016, 05:46 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(DURARARA5 @ Jul 30 2016, 04:50 AM)
rclxub.gif anyone care to help, fresh grad engineer student with second class upper cgpa and curricular activities to back up, wants to join big 4 advisory but rejected by EY, is there any sort of requirement on the CV or should i write a cover letter? which department is easier to get into, assurance, taxation, risk assurance or advisory? applied to pwc on june 30th, hr told recruitment only for month of september, applied to Deloitte for analyst technology this monday, cv has been received, but no reply, anyone care to help
Yours truly : desperate big 4 dreamer
You applied for Deloitte's technology consulting am I right? They are holding a bootcamp in August. If you are shortlisted they will give you a call. For Big 4, the easiest department to get in is assurance as turnover is high. My advice to you is not to choose the department that is easiest to get in but the one that you are most interested in. Do you know what each department does? Don't apply just for the sake of entering Big 4. If you're interested in consulting, there are lots of consulting resume available online. Just a quick google search will do the job. Consulting firms also require you to write a cover letter. Basic things to highlight in your CV are your academics, past internship experience, leadership, and extra-curricular activities.
alwayshappy
post Jul 30 2016, 10:34 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(EnigmaInAction @ Jul 22 2016, 01:48 PM)
Hi, does anyone know of the starting pay for EY Advisory (fresh grad)? Thanks in advance  rclxms.gif
3.4-3.5k for degree holder
DURARARA5
post Jul 30 2016, 03:33 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(stevendefool @ Jul 30 2016, 05:46 AM)
You applied for Deloitte's technology consulting am I right? They are holding a bootcamp in August. If you are shortlisted they will give you a call. For Big 4, the easiest department to get in is assurance as turnover is high. My advice to you is not to choose the department that is easiest to get in but the one that you are most interested in. Do you know what each department does? Don't apply just for the sake of entering Big 4. If you're interested in consulting, there are lots of consulting resume available online. Just a quick google search will do the job. Consulting firms also require you to write a cover letter. Basic things to highlight in your CV are your academics, past internship experience, leadership, and extra-curricular activities.
yup interested in a career in consulting especially advisory, PwC recommended me two positions when i emailed them but they mentioned both under advisory, one is consulting and the other is risk assurance, but the website seems to categorized risk assurance on its own, yup been studying what each department does actually, really interested in the advisory line due to the job scope. Thanks for the repl biggrin.gif
stevendefool
post Jul 30 2016, 04:35 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(DURARARA5 @ Jul 30 2016, 03:33 PM)
yup interested in a career in consulting especially advisory, PwC recommended me two positions when i emailed them but they mentioned both under advisory, one is consulting and the other is risk assurance, but the website seems to categorized risk assurance on its own, yup been studying what each department does actually, really interested in the advisory line due to the job scope. Thanks for the repl biggrin.gif
All the best to you. You're right, risk assurance is not under their consulting arm. In risk assurance, you're involved in auditing the client's internal business processes. Lots of control testing involved. Strategy consulting for PwC is under Strategy&, if that's what you're interested in.
EnigmaInAction
post Aug 1 2016, 08:42 PM

QUOTE(alwayshappy @ Jul 30 2016, 10:34 AM)
3.4-3.5k for degree holder
Thanks!
EnigmaInAction
post Aug 1 2016, 08:44 PM

QUOTE(stevendefool @ Jul 30 2016, 05:46 AM)
Deloitte's bootcamp has been rescheduled, it was held last Saturday. I am not sure if they will have another session in August.
marczeman2
post Aug 1 2016, 09:04 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(stevendefool @ Jul 30 2016, 04:35 PM)
All the best to you. You're right, risk assurance is not under their consulting arm. In risk assurance, you're involved in auditing the client's internal business processes. Lots of control testing involved. Strategy consulting for PwC is under Strategy&, if that's what you're interested in.
What about IT advisory in EY? Do you know anything about that?
stevendefool
post Aug 1 2016, 09:58 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(EnigmaInAction @ Aug 1 2016, 08:44 PM)
Deloitte's bootcamp has been rescheduled, it was held last Saturday. I am not sure if they will have another session in August.
Oh, didn't know that. You went for it? How was it?
stevendefool
post Aug 1 2016, 10:05 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(marczeman2 @ Aug 1 2016, 09:04 PM)
What about IT advisory in EY? Do you know anything about that?
Well according to their website, they have 2 functions under their IT advisory, namely IT advisory services and IT risk assurance services. The IT risk assurance services is somewhat similar to PwC's risk assurance, so I guess their IT advisory services is the one doing system implementation and such.

119 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:50 AM