262 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Bottom

Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

kenji1903
post Aug 10 2016, 11:15 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Aug 10 2016, 06:40 PM)
All can be done when making 1st entry.

I've already opened my bank account (NAB< since there no account fees), and already have a TFN; applied when I was onshore, and the letter was sent to my aunt's place. Only thing is you cant apply for Medicare yet, until your permanent move.
i thought of applying for TFN but don't have any residential address so i dropped the idea
DarReNz
post Aug 11 2016, 09:05 AM

7,496 posts

better to get medicare when you move here permanently as you only have 1 year to get private insurance to avoid tax unless you are below 31 then don't have to worry about it
sleepy 1
post Aug 11 2016, 04:09 PM

155 posts

Hi all sifu here, which courier service you guys use prior to migrate to Australia?

Even pos malaysia charge a lot for surface (sea) delivery ///

daylight_dancer
post Aug 11 2016, 06:39 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Aug 10 2016, 11:15 PM)
i thought of applying for TFN but don't have any residential address so i dropped the idea
It can only be doen if you're while onshore, even if it's just a short holiday.

Can't use your friend's address or something?
kenji1903
post Aug 11 2016, 09:26 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Aug 11 2016, 06:39 PM)
It can only be doen if you're while onshore, even if it's just a short holiday.

Can't use your friend's address or something?
nobody there unfortunately... well, it will only affect my savings account interest earned... and i think they'll reimburse once if give them the TFN...
selvenz
post Aug 12 2016, 06:41 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(sleepy 1 @ Aug 11 2016, 04:09 PM)
Hi all sifu here, which courier service you guys use prior to migrate to Australia?

Even pos malaysia charge a lot for surface (sea) delivery ///

I sold everything and we started fresh. Furnished my rental property including fridge and washing machine for under aud1500 (most bought from brotherhood of st laurence)

rest bought here because wanted the warranty,

laptops etc brought from my

all clothes bought here in au

total cost cheaper then shipping and quarantine if you unlucky

Nemesis1980
post Aug 12 2016, 12:09 PM

1,066 posts

Hi guys, mind to share if anyone actually 'selling' everything back home including properties to start a new life here OR retain some properties to keep the rental running?

shazam7
post Aug 12 2016, 01:41 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 12 2016, 03:09 PM)
Hi guys, mind to share if anyone actually 'selling' everything back home including properties to start a new life here OR retain some properties to keep the rental running?
I have known people who have retained and ppl who have sold.
Depends on personal circumstances.
The ones who sold, they need the money to use here (buy house, start up etc). Or they have difficulty maintaining the property in Msia.
Hard to do if u dont get a good estate agent.
Nemesis1980
post Aug 12 2016, 02:20 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(shazam7 @ Aug 12 2016, 01:41 PM)
I have known people who have retained and ppl who have sold.
Depends on personal circumstances.
The ones who sold, they need the money to use here (buy house, start up etc). Or they have difficulty maintaining the property in Msia.
Hard to do if u dont get a good estate agent.
My situation is i still retain my property back home and rented out to expat. Start fresh here based on my wages to get the mortgage.
It is tough from the start as i'm not using malaysia income to support here. Intention is to treat the malaysia property as preparation for kid's uni fees in future, so that won't scratch our head to seek money later.
kenji1903
post Aug 12 2016, 02:27 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 12 2016, 02:20 PM)
My situation is i still retain my property back home and rented out to expat. Start fresh here based on my wages to get the mortgage.
It is tough from the start as i'm not using malaysia income to support here. Intention is to treat the malaysia property as preparation for kid's uni fees in future, so that won't scratch our head to seek money later.
that's provided your kid(s) is not planning to study in Aussie right?
Nemesis1980
post Aug 12 2016, 02:43 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Aug 12 2016, 02:27 PM)
that's provided your kid(s) is not planning to study in Aussie right?
yeah. now seems we got few options now:-

1) sell the property, buy another house here
2) keep the property then sell until their uni stage
3) re-finance the property, get another house here
4) keep the property, continue as is...
kenji1903
post Aug 12 2016, 03:06 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 12 2016, 02:43 PM)
yeah. now seems we got few options now:-

1) sell the property, buy another house here
2) keep the property then sell until their uni stage
3) re-finance the property, get another house here
4) keep the property, continue as is...
might hit the same dilemma too when my times comes laugh.gif

which option will you be going for?
jianh
post Aug 13 2016, 11:31 AM

What custom title???
920 posts

2months into submitted application & still no news. Should I worry?
Nemesis1980
post Aug 13 2016, 01:26 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Aug 12 2016, 03:06 PM)
might hit the same dilemma too when my times comes laugh.gif

which option will you be going for?
Not too sure yet. We do looking to invest another property here but rental now is ganasai. Selling price is bad too.
My friend just bought 600k house and with another house in hand having hard time to rent out.

Now is the best time for 1st home buyers
Soony
post Aug 13 2016, 04:46 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 13 2016, 01:26 PM)
Not too sure yet. We do looking to invest another property here but rental now is ganasai. Selling price is bad too.
My friend just bought 600k house and with another house in hand having hard time to rent out.

Depending on where you are looking at, currently the market is good for negative gearing and to hold for capital. I can see a lot of new houses around my area going for rental at $600 a week. Ganasai, where got people can afford. Those in the $350 range leasing out like hot cakes.
daylight_dancer
post Aug 13 2016, 09:13 PM

655 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Aug 13 2016, 11:31 AM)
2months into submitted application & still no news. Should I worry?
Not really. Sometimes it takes 3 months or more. YOu'll likely hear by September.

I was in the same boat last year (waiting game) but mine came through end of Sept. Everything was submitted by end June.
kenji1903
post Aug 13 2016, 10:38 PM

3,785 posts

looks like still the same... few years back i wanted to invest in aussie properties, but the rental returns is kanasai like you said...

any way, KL/PJ is pretty much the same now... buying a 600k property and renting it out at 2.2k-2.5k...

but at least from what i heard, its more pro landlords in aussie as compared to here
divine061
post Aug 14 2016, 06:49 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Aug 13 2016, 04:46 PM)
Depending on where you are looking at, currently the market is good for negative gearing and to hold for capital. I can see a lot of new houses around my area going for rental at $600 a week. Ganasai, where got people can afford. Those in the $350 range leasing out like hot cakes.
You know what? I'm in Sydney, looking at the figure quoted and seeing that you are complaining when they are all less then the minimum here, you guys are in heaven.

PS: For some too long to write reason, I'm paying $8k a month for rent and mortgage.
And PPS: Interest rate is ultra low, if you negative gear, something is really wrong. You should be going for close to neutral even AFTER depreciation, and definitely positive gear in real $$
shazam7
post Aug 15 2016, 12:09 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 12 2016, 05:20 PM)
First home buyers have it really tough nowadays. In Sydney esp, u would need to sacrifice either location, commute time or size to secure a property within your budget.

As an example, a small 2br apartment is easily 800K in a 'better' area with 'good' schools and a decent professional demographic ie. Lower North Shore.
Ditto, in Melb. if u look at the eastern suburbs, prices are easily 800K.

U may want to seek an alternative arrangement eg equities to fund yr kid's education. With properties there are also no certainties, n realistically speaking returns are only 2-2.5% of yr investment. U hope for capital appreciation but that's a bit of the roll of the dice.

As for the kids fees, if u r PR, assuming the gov doesnt change the rules its 10K per year (plus CPI increases of course). So relatively affordable.

If u r willing 2 take up citizenship, all the better, all fees can be deferred til yr kid earns 60K or above.

jianh
post Aug 15 2016, 01:11 PM

What custom title???
920 posts

QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Aug 13 2016, 09:13 PM)
Not really. Sometimes it takes 3 months or more. YOu'll likely hear by September.

I was in the same boat last year (waiting game) but mine came through end of Sept. Everything was submitted by end June.
Thanks !

262 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

1.0734sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:13 AM