Snake Thread V2

crazymouse_yyh
post May 10 2007, 10:13 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

I think the most he will get is some swelling.... maybe if the wound is not cleaned properly, a bit of infection.... but then won't die from it lah...
crazymouse_yyh
post May 10 2007, 09:10 PM

12,047 posts

crazymouse_yyh
post May 17 2007, 10:04 AM

12,047 posts

Cannot do pet advertising here. Read the rules.
crazymouse_yyh
post May 24 2007, 05:42 PM

12,047 posts

My ballie in puasa mode... my corn shedding mode hahaha.... my cacing? Resting mode heheheh.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 19 2007, 10:09 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Jun 19 2007, 06:05 PM)
hi all.

i was planning to keep a whip snake

reason i choose whip snake is its small and i wont get intimidated by it compare to python which can grow as big as my arm ph34r.gif plus whip snake is smaller and green all over makes it dun look tat threatening

but advice by the seller is that its not tat suitable for noobs like me laugh.gif

so he offer me purple kukri snake instead.

according to him my 2ft aquarium is enough for its whole lifespan
so i am goona get a cover for it.

anything else tat i will need to put in for it?
of coz i will put sands and wood in it as well to simulate his natural habitat

any other stuff that i need to put in for it?
eg like those iguana tat need to put lights?

thanks in advance notworthy.gif
Who is the seller? To me, kukri is not a good beginner snake coz they are very shy and if you move or hold it wrongly, they will bite. Kukri got very sharp teeth coz they eat eggs.... you know they eat eggs right? You need to crack the eggs into a small bowl and they will suck the contents. The teeth is to help it break the egg so it can eat it naturally.

Whip snakes are arboreal so would branches and also a taller tank than a longer tank. I don't really fancy whip snakes coz must catch cicak for them to eat hahahah....

But if you are looking for a good beginner snake, maybe you should PM boigamaniac for his advice. For me, my favourites are still Corn snake and Ball python. Today just let Mr.Z and koohii see my corn snake makan.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 19 2007, 10:35 PM

12,047 posts

It is better you get advice from an experience snake handler. I got a friend who has 2 kukris, he told me he won't touch them coz their teeth are super sharp and he has many many snakes. His kukris also about 20 cm roughly too.
The common name Kukri is taken from a type of knife called Kukri i think, it is a sharp knife so that is why the snake was given the common name Kukri. Change the bedding also susah lah coz you must hold it also rite?

Better you wait for more experience people to advice you. Coz you are a beginner, so you should start with something easier to maintain and handle. Corn snakes do not grow as big as pythons... they are gentle and docile, same with ball pythons actually.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Jun 19 2007, 10:54 PM
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 19 2007, 10:51 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Jun 19 2007, 10:43 PM)
oo thanks, corn snakes eat wat ?

mayb i should delay my snakey project first and get another types of pet while i gather more info sweat.gif
Yah... from what I know, kukri are harmless coz they got no venom but they may bite when feel threaten or startled. Shy snakes....

Corns eat mice...

Well, do a bit more research lah. For me, I like to handle the snakes hahahah.... and feed them, interesting to watch. That's why i like corn and ball python, but I like more corn more hehehe.... he is now almost 1 meter in length. Ball python slightly shorter but both can reach 4ft once fully mature.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 19 2007, 11:09 PM

12,047 posts

crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 19 2007, 11:25 PM

12,047 posts

Hahah... that is hook.... do research first lah but I think you need to ask from experienced keeper coz I researched already, you won't find much caresheet for Kukri snakes.

Aiyoh, wait so long? LOL... I got 13 tarantulas liao... hahah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 19 2007, 11:36 PM

12,047 posts

A few websites to read:

http://www.naturemalaysia.com/kukri_snakes.htm
http://members.fortunecity.com/ukp001/naja...on_arnensis.htm
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 20 2007, 11:58 PM

12,047 posts

Hans, thank you for correcting my info. I read one site which says they are harmless and didn't say anything about venom. But then I didn't find much info, maybe didn't know how to search properly..... well, maybe it was another species too. Good info there.

Broken String, you can learn from Hans as he is more familiar with local species.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 7 2007, 11:19 PM

12,047 posts

Sand boa is damn rare..... so far mine was Rm550... but then it had some bad internal infection, couldn't digest and eat.... died.... feel very wasted coz it's uncommon....
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 7 2007, 11:30 PM

12,047 posts

Why you want a boa? To me, I prefer corn snakes.... comes in so many beautiful colour morphs and easier to feed and handle.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 13 2007, 08:30 PM

12,047 posts

Hahah... enjoy your snake lah. From what the previous owner said, it is gonna shed, so the colour slightly grey. He said just change the water when you see the water dirty. Should be ok lah.

Got try feeding? Got handle? So far I handle it is ok heheheh.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 13 2007, 09:31 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Jul 13 2007, 08:54 PM)
i still havent dare to handle yet
i not feed him small koi leh coz they are bigger than his head doh.gif

i feed those fish that always live in the longkang at my hometown
juz buy 1 bucks of it

but it dun seem like eating them  sweat.gif
it try so hard to escape juz now but cant reach the top of my tank then he giv up liao

i bought the drift wood also but he not using it atm

tat day u go carrefour got see those plastic tanks tat comes with filter and lamp ?
i saw alot at kepong carrefour but wangsa carrefour dun have  sad.gif
Maybe not hungry yet.... try and get the goldfish feeder, the koi feeder too big... maybe those longkang fish too small lah.

Now the snake needs time to rest and get used to new environment, give it a few days, will become more active I guess.

QUOTE(Taipan1 @ Jul 13 2007, 09:11 PM)
Hi Hun & Broken - string.
Hun is the aquatic snake you gave BS Enhydris enhydris ?? or another species.
Being aquatic you may need to set up a "terrarium" type set up ie say three quarters land & one quarter water & put some sort of filtration in the water part. Being semi-aquatic the snake may defecate in the water ( which it may drink  as well ). The only reference I can find regarding food staes that they eat fish.
I have a couple of Tentacled snakes ( Erpeton tentaculatum ) which are in a 48" long aquarium with approx.7" of water & aquatic plants in as well as an overhead filter, on top of that I change about 3" of water per week. I feed mine Betta "splendens" or a hybrid off them which they capture & consume under water.
BS enjoy the aquatic snake as I find mine faascinating to watch - although they just sit with their head underwater waitng for a fish to investigate the "tentacles"
Yah, it is Enhydris enhydris. It really needs 3 quarter land? Goodness, I did not know.... coz the seller told me put in an aquarium, fill up a quater with water, place a piece of driftwood that sticks out of the water so it can rest out of the water when it wants too and have a filter inside. Coz the seller is my friend and he has kept a few species of snakes before so I just followed and told Broken_string the same info.... well, I guess not complete.

You feed bettas to your tentacle snakes? blink.gif Wooo.... I saw a tentacle snake at the reptile exhibition before... looked pretty weird....
That's a tentacle snake right?
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 13 2007, 09:53 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Jul 13 2007, 09:34 PM)
yeah i am considering of setting up a terrarium also.
will get rid of my 2 ft glass tank to fund a terrarium but i scare that the terrarium dun have enough height for water.

mind posting a pic of ur setup?  icon_rolleyes.gif
2ft glass tank can be a terrarium lah.... it is how you set it up. All you need is a cover and some ideas to landscape it hahahaha Won't the 2ft tank be a waste if you do not use it? Or keep it for your Kat Chai hehehe.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 15 2007, 11:15 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Taipan1 @ Jul 14 2007, 05:19 PM)
Hello Hun & BS
Yes Hun that is a Tentacled snake in typical pose. There seem's to be 2 colour forms one is the dark colour ( as in your photo ) the other is a beige colour with a couple of dark lines going lengthways - I have one of each. I will try & get a photo of my set up plus one of the lighter form although the setup is not as good as I would like. The pH of the water was/is between 8 & 9 so I have reverted to buying containers of drinking water to change the water.
"Pokmaster" is right 3/4 land is too much although I would set up a small area in a corner where the snake can crawl to if it wants to come out of the water.
BS if Hun is correct & the snake is going to shed it may not eat until after it has shed. Also NEVER FEED GOLDFISH there are reports ( on the net ) that feeding goldfish to snakes has an adverse effect on them. I feed the tent's on Bettas as they are the "runts" left over from the Thai's breeding programs & they are cheap like 5 for 1RM ie 2 baht each & exch.rate is approx 10 baht = 1 RM ). Mine have eaten baby Channa's ( snakeheads) & Bettas. I have tried them on guppies & Mollies but they did not seem interested.
Question Hun. The info I have read states that Tent's are found on Penninsualr malaysia is this correct as they are found in central & sth'n Thailand westwards to Kampuchea & Vietnam ??.
Wow... I wonder what snakes you have hahaha....

Well, if feeder goldfish is not advisable, then guppies? Or feeder koi? Well, I think it would be a bit hard to get bettas unless can get constant supply.

Hmmm... about where Tentacle snakes are found... I'm really not that sure, would have to get some research done.

QUOTE(broken_string @ Jul 14 2007, 07:54 PM)
the snake shed skin oredi
i found the skin under the drift wood

but dun see him eating any fish yet sweat.gif
and the water really turn yellowish so fast
almost daily i change the water sweat.gif
Good that it has shed. Yah, you need to change the water once it dirties coz it can get sick if in dirty water for too long.

Anyway, my uncle breeds Bettas... maybe I can get some bettas for you as feeders lah.

QUOTE(4b7g8w7 @ Jul 14 2007, 11:26 PM)
besides giving pinkys and mices...what else can be given to ballies to eat?
Only mice for now.... Too cute ah? Hahahha.... hope you enjoying the ballie. You can feed 2 mice but make sure it is not 2 big, 2 small mice are good. Once a bit bigger, you can start feeding rat fuzzies or hoppers.

QUOTE(zal @ Jul 14 2007, 11:30 PM)
hi guys, just got my ballie!!!!
didnt realize that my frien is a snake breeder....
lolz....
everyday talk to him....
nearly one year,just day b4 yesterday that i know hes a breeder!!!!
how silly....
Wah.... congrats man. Means you don't want mine anymore hahahah. Anyway, post a pic up lah.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 16 2007, 09:53 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Taipan1 @ Jul 16 2007, 11:40 AM)
Hello Hun
The only snakes I have at the moment are tentacled & GTP. Although I have seen Paradise ( flying ) snakes,racer's,  cobras at the nursery & there are aquatic snakes in the canals outside the nursery but the employee's there have not caught one for me yet. I dont bother with the ones at the nursery,
Time is taken up with those  +hamsters which the neice & nephew have  & a 5x2x2 reef tank. It will be awhile before I catch up to what you have. I dont really want lizards as I go back to Aust. for about 4 to 6 weeks & the sis in law doesn't like rep's that much. Thus all she has to do is make sure the GTP has water & sprays it's cage each day.

BS.
Can you describe your set up ie tank size, contents ie height of H2O sand if any etc etc & filtration as it sounds as though something is not right if you have yellow water. Also if you cant get Bettas for your snake are there any common Gouramies in the canals that you can catch.
I thought that people could get Bettas in Malaysia quite readily !!! - bit like up in BKK
Ohhh.... so you wait for people to catch for you snakes tongue.gif

I've always been fascinated with snakes. The snake that I dreamed of having as a child was a cornsnake.... now I have 2 hahaha.... plus a ball python... and I think that is about it for me. Maybe in the future another python or cornsnake.

Well, the bettas from local fish shops are like RM3 each.... but they are the adults.... getting runts are hard unless you know the breeder. know my uncle throws them into a large pond, those runts....

BS is currently using a temporary 1ft tank for now. What I know is he is getting ready a large terrarium with filtration.

QUOTE(4b7g8w7 @ Jul 16 2007, 07:36 PM)
wanna ask..have any of u got bitten by snake b4.....ballies or anyother....if yes ...what did u all do.... ?
You got bitten? So far I have not hahaha.... clean with water and if you got detol, wash with the diluted solution, would be fine. Small snakes won't hold on to you for very long to make any damage.... you can get a tetanus shot just in case.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 17 2007, 12:55 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(broken_string @ Jul 17 2007, 01:39 AM)
i am using a 2ft glass tank actually
with around 3 inch of water and a drift wood in the middle tats all

yesterday he juz eat a few fish biggrin.gif
still havent manage to get a new tank with filter for it sweat.gif
need to wait till my off day

so now can only change water regulary sweat.gif
Ohhhh... so I can get back the tank lah? tongue.gif

Just buy a filter loh.... got internal fliters that you can buy and use but I prefer hanging filters since they don't overheat the water.
crazymouse_yyh
post Jul 17 2007, 08:36 PM

12,047 posts

Ahh... ok ok.
Good to hear you enjoying the snake lah. I'll rescue that hamster.

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0427sec    1.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:15 AM