4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Snake Thread V2

xecton
post Jan 23 2008, 06:15 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(pokmaster @ Jan 23 2008, 04:59 PM)
Here's a mangrove pic for you guys brows.gif

its boiga dendrophila gemmicincta, the only mangrove subspecies that's fully black. biggrin.gif
Oh... so this is why they are called cat snakes.
xecton
post Jan 23 2008, 07:17 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

And this snake can go "Woof! Woof!" biggrin.gif
xecton
post Jan 23 2008, 10:31 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(jhoonaun @ Jan 23 2008, 07:57 PM)
hehehe~~ bye bye..im out!! no longer keeping snakes..kekekeke~~
Why? I thought you are keeping your snakes and getting rid of the lizard?
xecton
post Jan 24 2008, 09:36 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(lessilly @ Jan 24 2008, 09:25 AM)
theres no need to b afraid of this creature.
there one way to train urself not to b afraid of it.
ask ur bf handle the snake.....cover up the snake head..
then u slowly slowly play it its body with the head covered by cloth..
then later on when u start OK with it...ur bf can introduce its head..
thts how i manage to intro to some ppl snake which they at first afraid of it.
Uhm.... the snake will be alright with that?
xecton
post Jan 24 2008, 09:04 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

I own a milk snake, and looking for a kingsnake. Also in my wishlist are leopard geckos, other geckos, bearded dragon, some other reptiles, hedgehog, arboreal snakes ... thinking GTP, frogs, salamanders, axololts, fish, tentacled snakes, any probably quite a few more I can't think of right now..... but they will remain a wish only. Sigh.....

edit: More to the wishlist.... various types of plecos, a big long tank of cardinal tetras (or neons), freshwater stingrays, freshwater eels....
I don't think the list will end.

This post has been edited by xecton: Jan 24 2008, 09:14 PM
xecton
post Jan 25 2008, 06:31 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

Apparently, I have an uncle that kept snake.
And accordingly, it was all and well until the day the snake bit him.
Then he chopped the snake into pieces with a cleaver.
So I was told by my mother.
xecton
post Jan 25 2008, 06:57 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

Well, thats the temperament of my uncle. Landed him many times in hot water, but never change.

As for the snake itself, I have no idea what it was.
It was just a story my mother told me when she learned that I am keeping a snake as pet.
Sort of trying to discourage me. Heheh. As if that would work.

xecton
post Jan 26 2008, 01:03 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(pokmaster @ Jan 25 2008, 10:27 PM)
Here's a picture of a really nice cyclops island green tree python(morelia viridis) as requested by a fellow forumer

Nice snake, really nice. How big is it?
xecton
post Jan 27 2008, 12:01 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

New pictures of my snake

Its still not a fan of constricting.
xecton
post Jan 30 2008, 07:35 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(jhoonaun @ Jan 30 2008, 03:01 AM)
its suppose to be feeding fine~~ T_T like tat i aso headache..have to find frog for u when im free. ><
Aren't we able to get frogs easily from aquarium shops?
Most of the aquarium shops in Penang have feeder frogs, for arowana.
xecton
post Feb 2 2008, 10:54 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

This is my snake enclosure for the moment, from the side

From the top

Any comments for improvement?

Also, I've noticed that the snake is more docile during the morning and afternoon while it won't stay still at all when I handle it at night. I figured that this is due to Pueblan Milk being a nocturnal snake.

You guys think that this is a valid observation?
xecton
post Feb 2 2008, 05:22 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

Alright... snake food or pet?

Couldn't find pinky today.
xecton
post Feb 4 2008, 09:17 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

Look at my heroic Pueblan, who not only refuse to constrict its prey, now this.

Sigh.... sweat.gif
xecton
post Feb 5 2008, 07:46 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(mako @ Feb 5 2008, 04:47 AM)
Xecton don worry la some baby snakes don constrict while young but when they r juvenile n growing older u see whether they constrict or not ? they will squeeze all the breathe out of the mice he he..... My baby copperhead doesnt constrict when taking house geckos too... but when u see an adult copperhead eating u will see how they constrict...Its all mother natures job ha ha ha....some baby snakes constrict earlier whereas some will be later stages so don worry la they willl constrict end of the day.....u can also try letting ur snake go real hungry n when they see the food they cant resist the temptation n will try to attack n do their job..
Actually, what I meant to show is that my Pueblan decided to eat the pinky from butt first. I thought snakes instinctively eat from head first.

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Feb 5 2008, 05:17 AM)
anyone knows wat snake is this?
That is a serpentes longkangus.
Ahahaha.... just kidding.

Anyway mindstorm, now cathing snakes to fight with your fighting spider? laugh.gif
xecton
post Feb 5 2008, 11:14 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Feb 5 2008, 09:32 PM)
hehe..no lah, i saw the snake while catching spiders so just curious to know wat snake is it. i thot it is just a common grass snake. I thot maybe someone from snake tread would know. But looks like the snakes shown here so much more canggih and cantik...
Fuh! sweat.gif
I thought your fighting spiders are capable of fighting with snake. biggrin.gif
That would have been hardcore.
xecton
post Feb 6 2008, 02:00 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

Paradise Tree Snake feeds on insects? Hmm....

As for lizards, why don't you go hunt around the school for it?
xecton
post Feb 6 2008, 02:11 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

I've fed a common house lizard to a Golden Tree Snake before... don't see any reason the Paradise Tree Snake wouldn't eat them.

Heheh... get permission from the school to camp at school field, then go lizard hunting at night.
xecton
post Feb 6 2008, 02:23 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

I've seen shops selling lizards before, but not common, and I think not often too.
xecton
post Feb 7 2008, 10:19 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(unfazedgamer @ Feb 7 2008, 01:37 AM)
haha u from ssb also? =P

yeah la.. i see the snake condition like that.. very kesian ..

just purchased 10 lizards from mako.. after holiday go feed. on heat lamp put in water dish..

maybe change substrate also.. now the stupid colourful gravel see also dirty...

all the dead cricket everywhere.. =.=

EDIT : Any suggestions of what substrate it should be? I was thinking potting soil.. but then i cannot afford all the nice nice bedding la.. all the light everything i sendiri tanggung kos haiz... newspaper dowan cause dun look nice haha.. sand ppl say will stick to the feeder lizard's body then ingested... so any other suggestion other than soil?
You are funding all of this by yourself?
I think you should try to claim from the school. It is a school science project anyhow.
xecton
post Feb 8 2008, 01:12 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(pokmaster @ Feb 7 2008, 06:13 PM)
Or you could convince yor teacher to release it into the wild.....

Here's a pic of my green tree python

I think pictures like this should be banned in forum mad.gif , as it is poisoning everyone.

But please, don't stop posting biggrin.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0250sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:05 AM