Snake Thread V2
xecton
Feb 10 2008, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(unfazedgamer @ Feb 10 2008, 11:18 AM) I have been looking for websites that give care sheets for the paradise snakes... =.= but I can't seem to find even one. I was wondering if anyone here knows the exact day and night temperature that they need? and how humid is should be.. ( I'm guessing pretty high...) They'll do just fine with our local temperature and humidity...... local species.
xecton
Feb 12 2008, 01:05 AM
Unfazedgamer, you bought the snake from your teacher, right? And yout teacher bought the snake for RM50, right? So how come you are buying the snake for RM80?
I don't think it is nice for a teacher to make profit from a student especially the teacher have no idea on snake care in the first place.
xecton
Feb 13 2008, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(unfazedgamer @ Feb 13 2008, 05:59 PM) okay gotcha... handled the snake just now for 3 minutes... he was pretty calm... just staying still wrapped around my hand.... when i reached in for him slowly..., he just let me pick him up and he slowly uncoiled from the bamboo... so cute hehe... That's a pretty calm snake for a supposedly quite aggressive species. A wild caught some more!
xecton
Feb 14 2008, 10:06 AM
But won't the snake be unfamiliar with us and be more likely to bite if we don't handle them often? Does that means we should be prepared to get bitten during maintenance?
Oh by the way, how do we categorize between a baby, juvenile, sub-adult and adult snake?
xecton
Feb 14 2008, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(pokmaster @ Feb 14 2008, 10:17 AM) Paradise stress easily and can die due to stress if handled to often and even with constant handling, most of the time they can't be tamed. Once they are established, they will learn that you are not going to harm them when handled(this takes awhile and does not always happen as some snakes can never be "tamed"). On a side note, you should always be prepared to get bitten if you keep snakes. Babies are small, juvies are slightly bigger, sub-adults are even bigger and adults get a little bigger than the sub adults and can mateUhmm.... so what is a 1 feet Pueblan milk? Baby or juvi?
xecton
Feb 14 2008, 02:19 PM
Just wondering.....
xecton
Feb 16 2008, 12:19 AM
Hahaha... my milksnake eats like there's no tomorrow. Recently switched from live to frozen thawed pinky. No problem whatsoever.
xecton
Feb 16 2008, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(Reanne @ Feb 16 2008, 12:48 AM) Make sure the food is throughly thawed or may cause some digestion problems. Warm it up with your hands before feeding.  Good that it's eating. I left the frozen pinky in the room temperature for approximately 2 hours, then pour warm water over the pinky to warm it up a bit. Boleh?