Studying in the UK V4

ConfusedWriter
post Jul 18 2018, 03:18 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 17 2018, 11:42 PM)
if I remembered correctly, it'll take roughly 4 days after you receive the notification (tho don't quote me on this).

During peak season will be slower.
Ah I see, thanks a lot!
Eurobeater
post Jul 23 2018, 12:05 AM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 17 2018, 04:42 PM)
if I remembered correctly, it'll take roughly 4 days after you receive the notification (tho don't quote me on this).

During peak season will be slower.

For me it was 2 weeks, I applied for my visa around early August 2016. Courier is usually very expensive so I opted to collect it at Wisma MCA
ConfusedWriter
post Jul 23 2018, 04:23 PM

85 posts

When going for the visa appointment, how did you guys organize your documents? We’re they arranged in a specific order and stored in a folder/envelope?

Thanks in advance!
cckkpr
post Jul 23 2018, 04:29 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 16 2018, 05:18 PM)
Those who are going to the UK and study and is interested in investment banking / asset managemet or so, summer internship application for summer 2019 is about to begin. For instance, Credit Suisse has already started recruiting. 

All the best smile.gif.

jp morgan
goldman sachs
morgan stanley
blackrock
3i
hsbc
standard chartered
ubs
deutsche bank
bofaml
aberdeen standard investment
the list goes on

do check out big4 as well.
How much can a fresh graduate earn on average?

A friend's daughter was offered about 45k pounds per year by Deutsche Bank. Is this the norm or high performer?
cckkpr
post Jul 23 2018, 04:32 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Jul 17 2018, 11:36 AM)
I'm doing it for my son , think that's about the requied documents . My son still need to wait for his A level result . Will be kinda rush .
Has he not receive any conditional offers yet? If he has, firming up the offer is normally not an issue.

eddydo
post Jul 23 2018, 05:12 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jul 23 2018, 04:29 PM)
How much can a fresh graduate earn on average?

A friend's daughter was offered about 45k pounds per year by Deutsche Bank. Is this the norm or high performer?
norm for ibd

for comparison purposes, big4 earns roughly less than <30k for fresh grad
tpleong
post Jul 23 2018, 05:56 PM

803 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Jul 23 2018, 04:32 PM)
Has he not receive any conditional offers yet? If he has, firming up the offer is normally not an issue.
He has firmed up one conditional offer & insured another. I don't see any problem him fulfilling the offer . It will be quite a rush as result is out on 16/8 & Uni starts on the 24/9.
cckkpr
post Jul 24 2018, 05:06 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(eddydo @ Jul 23 2018, 05:12 PM)
norm for ibd

for comparison purposes, big4 earns roughly less than <30k for fresh grad
Thank you
cckkpr
post Jul 24 2018, 05:10 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(tpleong @ Jul 23 2018, 05:56 PM)
He has firmed up one conditional offer & insured another. I don't see any problem him fulfilling the offer . It will be quite a rush as result is out on 16/8 & Uni starts on the 24/9.
Many students will be rushing at the same time. Cannot afford any delay.

My brother's son is also going for the second year after completing his first year at Taylors.

Mine has finished her studies and is working in Glasgow. laugh.gif

xt11skelp
post Aug 2 2018, 09:25 PM

751 posts

Hi guys, anyone can advice me on where to get cheaper student flight tickets to uk? Is it advisable to use websites like StaTravel and Student Universe? Prices have jumped up from around 2.3k last month to above 3k now o.o
Eurobeater
post Aug 3 2018, 06:42 AM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

QUOTE(ConfusedWriter @ Jul 23 2018, 04:23 PM)
When going for the visa appointment, how did you guys organize your documents? We’re they arranged in a specific order and stored in a folder/envelope?

Thanks in advance!
No need to arrange in any specific order. Just ensure you have all the required documents and they'll sort it out for you.
Eurobeater
post Aug 3 2018, 06:43 AM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

QUOTE(xt11skelp @ Aug 2 2018, 09:25 PM)
Hi guys, anyone can advice me on where to get cheaper student flight tickets to uk? Is it advisable to use websites like StaTravel and Student Universe? Prices have jumped up from around 2.3k last month to above 3k now o.o
Check Travel agencies, they can sometimes be cheaper. A friend of mine got a flight to London for only 1.7k with MSL travel. But do buy early
Mr.dupe
post Aug 3 2018, 07:01 AM

91 posts

Try clearing your browser cache and cookies too, sometimes company charge you extra if they know you are coming back to check ticket price
ConfusedWriter
post Aug 3 2018, 11:56 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Aug 3 2018, 06:42 AM)
No need to arrange in any specific order. Just ensure you have all the required documents and they'll sort it out for you.
Ah okay, thanks! smile.gif

When I arrive at my appointment, do I just go to the VFS office on the 19th floor straight away? Or do I have to go to the reception desk?

This post has been edited by ConfusedWriter: Aug 3 2018, 11:57 AM
Eurobeater
post Aug 3 2018, 12:08 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

QUOTE(ConfusedWriter @ Aug 3 2018, 11:56 AM)
Ah okay, thanks!  smile.gif

When I arrive at my appointment, do I just go to the VFS office on the 19th floor straight away? Or do I have to go to the reception desk?
Just go straight to the 19th floor and walk past some corridors to get to the VFS office. Once there though, you won't be allowed to bring your bag or other belongings into the office other than the documents. If I remember correctly, even the phone and wallets are not allowed in. There will be a small registraration desk right in front of the VFS office where you will have to register and lockers are provided to store your items nearby. You will be given a visitor card to enter the office. Also, you have to enter alone I think.

When I went though this in August 2016, there was a hot headed cinapek uncle who jaga the desk. Very impatient one and not the nicest guy on earth tongue.gif. Not sure if he is still there, but here's a heads up just in case.
xt11skelp
post Aug 3 2018, 03:08 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Aug 3 2018, 06:43 AM)
Check Travel agencies, they can sometimes be cheaper. A friend of mine got a flight to London for only 1.7k with MSL travel. But do buy early
Thanks smile.gif I've already emailed them, hope i get a quote soon
ConfusedWriter
post Aug 3 2018, 09:45 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Aug 3 2018, 12:08 PM)
Just go straight to the 19th floor and walk past some corridors to get to the VFS office. Once there though, you won't be allowed to bring your bag or other belongings into the office other than the documents. If I remember correctly, even the phone and wallets are not allowed in. There will be a small registraration desk right in front of the VFS office where you will have to register and lockers are provided to store your items nearby. You will be given a visitor card to enter the office. Also, you have to enter alone I think.

When I went though this in August 2016, there was a hot headed cinapek uncle who jaga the desk. Very impatient one and not the nicest guy on earth tongue.gif. Not sure if he is still there, but here's a heads up just in case.
Ah thanks for the heads up haha biggrin.gif

Did you opt for any additional services, like Premium Lounge?
Eurobeater
post Aug 4 2018, 01:09 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

QUOTE(ConfusedWriter @ Aug 3 2018, 09:45 PM)
Ah thanks for the heads up haha  biggrin.gif

Did you opt for any additional services, like Premium Lounge?
Nope. They are generally just like buying business class on a flight just to use their lounge. The luxury is not needed when it takes less than 15 minutes to process your application, unless you nak gaya laπŸ˜‚

Granted, people usually go for premium because they speed up the process of getting the visa, but unless you are really constrained in time. I don't recommend it, I didn't use it as I can wait for that 1 - 2 weeks. And it costs a lot of money too.
ConfusedWriter
post Aug 4 2018, 10:30 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Aug 4 2018, 01:09 PM)
Nope. They are generally just like buying business class on a flight just to use their lounge. The luxury is not needed when it takes less than 15 minutes to process your application, unless you nak gaya laπŸ˜‚

Granted, people usually go for premium because they speed up the process of getting the visa, but unless you are really constrained in time. I don't recommend it, I didn't use it as I can wait for that 1 - 2 weeks. And it costs a lot of money too.
Ah thanks so much for the reply! πŸ˜‚
Eurobeater
post Aug 4 2018, 11:48 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

QUOTE(ConfusedWriter @ Aug 4 2018, 10:30 PM)
Ah thanks so much for the reply! πŸ˜‚
Am happy to help. Feel free to ask me anything about studying in the UK as I'm doing it myself rclxms.gif

39 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0304sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:00 PM