KilJim
post Jan 11 2016, 04:49 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(topearn @ Jan 11 2016, 04:42 PM)
Wow ! Such great variance; someone who's lucky enuf to land a 8K job is earning more than 3X vs another pffofag who only managed to get the lowest 2.5K. What jobs are those drawing the high end salary ? I read somewhere that the average salary in S'pore in 2014 is around 4.9K for all workers in S'pore.
No difference from Malaysia la

Don't need to worry about what kinda jobs first
You just need to be top in class, top in the field you studied at, have gone through excellent internship and can prove your worth outside of whats written on paper
Once you have that, its up to you where you want to go to earn the money
KilJim
post Jan 14 2016, 09:24 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(kumiko_91 @ Jan 14 2016, 12:48 AM)
Hi people, I have a possible employment from a company in Singapore (at final stage of interview so there is a possibility of getting). I have no idea about anything in Singapore because I did not expect to get the job. However I went through many rounds of interview and the recruiter told me I am at final stage of the interview. Anyone knows how much is room rentals around Marina View? Or anywhere nearby there.
I think that is the downtown area so you wont want to stay directly there
But regardless of where your office is, you can usually find cheap rooms ($600-800) within 30-45mins travel so don't worry too much about that

KilJim
post Jan 18 2016, 03:22 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(deathTh3Cannon @ Jan 18 2016, 03:03 PM)
is it wise to put Singapore only job description in resume ? lot malaysian company calling while singapore none. ><
Your resume? Doesn't that depend on which jobs you're applying for instead of what you put on your resume?

If you're sending to headhunters just indicate your mail to them
KilJim
post Jan 19 2016, 04:53 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jan 19 2016, 04:32 PM)
i also been scouting around for a place to rent went to see one in bishan the other day... 'twas horrible the moment the main tenant opened the door i almost fainted sad.gif
HAhaha what was wrong?
I'm staying at Bishan too, landlady has an empty room for rent too if you're looking
KilJim
post Jan 20 2016, 01:05 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Jan 20 2016, 10:45 AM)
i just got off phone with a prop agent said that 600 dollars won't let me find a room that has ac in it in amk or tpy sad.gif
Can find one, probably just that the agent doesnt have any units at that range

But SG is all about being realistic
With that budget you have to choose either 1 of these 3 situations:
- Inconvenient location
- Share a room
- Crappy/dirty/old place

Or if you have the time, spend more time looking yourself instead of through agent ler

Remember that internet + utilities will cost ~$80 /month, so your budget is really $520 for a room without those included

This post has been edited by KilJim: Jan 20 2016, 01:06 PM
KilJim
post Jan 26 2016, 09:53 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 26 2016, 06:31 PM)
Lol IF I have 600k put in singapore shares at 3 to 4% yield can have comfortable rm5k to spend every month. And since sgd always appreciates ill get a increment every year!
doh.gif
I really wonder how you did the math to get at 5k per month
KilJim
post Jan 27 2016, 09:54 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 26 2016, 09:56 PM)
600k @ 4% = sgd24k. X 3.0 = rm72kpa /12 = rm6k.
Oh i just got it, RM not SGD i misread

This post has been edited by KilJim: Jan 27 2016, 09:54 AM
KilJim
post Jan 29 2016, 10:13 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Jan 29 2016, 09:31 PM)
Jobs created +ve
True Singaporeans growth rate -ve

Result is the above
KilJim
post Jan 31 2016, 10:41 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

Exec position but manager's pay...
That means it is an exec pay at that company, just that your previous company pays less
KilJim
post Feb 3 2016, 12:14 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Repentance @ Feb 2 2016, 07:19 PM)
I got no other choice, been looking around for quite some time, and this is the only offer i got. As i am still doing my acca, i was hoping i can earn some sing dollars to cover my expenses and school fees. Working in malaysia is juz bot sufficient to survive 😢
You'll need to either stay in Johor or share a room with someone at that pay
Think about it properly bro
KilJim
post Feb 9 2016, 04:49 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Feb 9 2016, 10:06 AM)
A lot of the job sites has manager's salary starting around S$5000 only. But this MNC's salary for exec is at that level. Do you think it is worth to go for these positions but have to go down a level or two?
Funny how you've edited your original post, what happened?

Anyway I'm pretty sure you are not a manager (as in having people report to you)
So it is just a difference in title, just go for the pay instead
KilJim
post Feb 10 2016, 09:59 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Feb 9 2016, 06:08 PM)
A manager does not have to have anyone reporting to him. He can be a one-man show.
But I suppose one can always climb up again.
What exactly do you manage then??
You are talking about rank/title, im talking about being an actual manager

My earlier statement was based on the way you post here
KilJim
post Feb 10 2016, 10:45 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Feb 10 2016, 10:29 AM)
Strange, it's as though you know me. Anyway, your presumption is not true. But I get your point. Just look at the money.
So you do have a team reporting into you?
KilJim
post Feb 13 2016, 10:51 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Feb 13 2016, 08:40 PM)
First night in SG... just moved in and realised that I am missing quite a lot of things such as clothes hangars, dish washing liquid, toilet tissue (!) etc etc. Hopefully the nearby fair price ada.
Where are you staying at?
Some of those things are good to get at daiso like hangars, especially those to dry clothes
Utensils too

Alternatively look for those small hardware kinda shops under the HDB blocks, can be cheaper than NTUC
KilJim
post Feb 16 2016, 11:04 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(LovelyPotato @ Feb 16 2016, 10:09 AM)
How's the job market for Sales & Marketing (Preferably non engineering product) in Sg for Malaysian? Especially for engineering graduates with 1 year experience in business development?

I've been sending about a hundred of applications in engineering field through job sites but so far no avail. Planning to jump into sales/business development if possible, wanted to meet more different people and do different stuff. (I actually didn't liked engineering but it seemed that engineering is able to provide better salary over time)
Sales is always in demand, if you're good it should be easy

KilJim
post Feb 17 2016, 11:13 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Feb 17 2016, 10:41 AM)
Peeps,

I haven't received my work permit card yet, takes a few days right? Went for the thumbprint thing yesterday.

Can I apply for a mobile phone and my internet connection yet? Using the maxis roaming deal is both expensive and limited.

What docs does Singtel need during application?
They will ask for a deposit though (think Starhub asked me for $500 last time)
In the end I just waited for my EP before getting my line

Not sure about prepaid
KilJim
post Feb 18 2016, 09:32 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

Same as above, i dont think companies really hire by walk-in anymore nowadays

KilJim
post Feb 18 2016, 04:59 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Tally33 @ Feb 18 2016, 04:57 PM)
Hi guys, just now I went maybank and uob, open a savings account need 1k sgd deposit?
Go to POSB if you don't have your EP
KilJim
post Feb 22 2016, 06:48 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(The Net Surfer @ Feb 22 2016, 05:37 PM)
Let's assume that the basic salary is SGD 3k:
How much he's going to pay for the first to sixth month?
How much he's going to pay for the seventh to twelfth month?

Please do not reply any if your answer is something like read the MOM website, if the guideline is clear, we dont have to ask here. Thx in advance
This is not like TNB electricity bill where you pay a progressive rate increasingly based on number of days worked
After the whole year is over, you will be either taxed as foreigner or resident

If you are taxed as resident it applies to the entire period
KilJim
post Feb 23 2016, 01:14 PM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Feb 23 2016, 12:04 PM)
dunno if it is appropriate to post. It is a job opening after all. males only.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3875019

deodorant, yeahs4.1 & elvenchou1987 take note.
Wrong thread, this belongs in the Working in Japan thread instead rclxms.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:36 PM