170 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

kick ass
post Nov 14 2015, 11:02 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Nov 14 2015, 10:46 PM)
The assessment is until Dec only for every year.

And you only have to pay in 2017 (if you are still working in SG by then). No need to worry to pay tax come Apr 2016
thanks! really appreciate it! thumbup.gif
rawrkun
post Nov 15 2015, 05:15 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(kick ass @ Nov 14 2015, 10:18 PM)
Mind sharing how to calculate tax for non resident? i started to work in August this year and received SGD3.5K. So 3.5K x 9 (Aug 2015 - April 2016) x 15%. is that correct? how about tax assumption?
They will calculate everything to the dot for you, no worries.
SG IRAS is very efficient one, in fact too efficient sweat.gif

This post has been edited by rawrkun: Nov 15 2015, 05:16 AM
poor_engineer
post Nov 16 2015, 08:05 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(css9028 @ Nov 14 2015, 12:51 PM)
halo sifu here...any lobang for job vacancy in semiconductor field for engineer role?really hope to step in sg...
Are you experienced or fresh? There are plenty positions to be filled, in fact many LINKEDIN head hunters are looking for semiconductor engineers. If you are fresh, wondering why so keen to join semiconductor? Most of your seniors are trying to get out of it sweat.gif
vikingw2k
post Nov 16 2015, 10:50 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(junien @ Nov 13 2015, 05:01 PM)
Hi all taikor and taikajie, any advise on places to stay in jb? moving there for new job in sg

currently looking in the bukit indah area, preferably landed
By all means stay at SG? Border crossing is exhausting and it'll affect your attendance and punctuality.

QUOTE(yuen300 @ Nov 13 2015, 11:40 PM)
Between, should I start apply another job if the HR never response two day after the face to face interview?
Always apply first, and only consider when they asked you to sign the offer letter.
eugene9201
post Nov 16 2015, 02:05 PM

135 posts

-

This post has been edited by eugene9201: Nov 16 2015, 04:59 PM
Fiona Chin
post Nov 16 2015, 03:55 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(eugene9201 @ Nov 16 2015, 02:05 PM)
Hi, I heard that it is getting tougher and tougher for Malaysian to find a job/work in Singapore  cry.gif
Any advice from people who worked/has been working/going to work in Singapore?

I am holding a Business Admin Degree, can speak Malay, English, Chinese, Cantonese, some Korean and Japanese.
Almost 4 years working as Recruitment Consultant but not planning to work in the same field anymore.
Willing to work hard to earn extra money (i.e. OT).
What is possibility for me to get a job in Singapore?
I would say the possibility is 47.59848715479657183579% base on the info you provided. If you speak many Korean and Japanese it will increase your chance by 2.235213742572435%. If exactly 4 years working experience, add 1.463762346345% more. Trust me I know exactly how the whole market in Singapore will behave. You just sit tight there and wait, people will private message you anytime now asking you to sign the offer letter.
TheRedDevil
post Nov 16 2015, 04:20 PM

109 posts

Hello all!
I may return to Singapore for work subject to EP approval. HR said that they submitted the application on 6th Nov but till now there's no update yet from MOM.
I read that it may take up to 7 working days, which is tomorrow. Does that mean my application could be rejected if it takes longer than 7 working days?
Anyway, i was in SG from 1995 till 2009 before I return back to Malaysia.
Work permit application is much simpler back then.

TheRedDevil
post Nov 16 2015, 04:22 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Nov 16 2015, 08:05 AM)
Are you experienced or fresh? There are plenty positions to be filled, in fact many LINKEDIN head hunters are looking for semiconductor engineers. If you are fresh, wondering why so keen to join semiconductor? Most of your seniors are trying to get out of it  sweat.gif
What is your background & processes in semicon that you already master in?
vikingw2k
post Nov 16 2015, 04:24 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(TheRedDevil @ Nov 16 2015, 04:20 PM)
Hello all!
I may return to Singapore for work subject to EP approval. HR said that they submitted the application on 6th Nov but till now there's no update yet from MOM.
I read that it may take up to 7 working days, which is tomorrow. Does that mean my application could be rejected if it takes longer than 7 working days?
Anyway, i was in SG from 1995 till 2009 before I return back to Malaysia.
Work permit application is much simpler back then.
Nah, at times it might take longer to process. Just wait.

Work permit is simpler cause it's the lowest among the tiers.
jungyu
post Nov 16 2015, 04:39 PM

252 posts

Hi guys need some advice here,
I am renting a room in an unit with 1 couple as main tenant and another guy in common room.
we only had very simple contract as their mindset dont really care about this contract thing when subletting. The couple n the other guy r friends n i am just a tenant amd our relationship is just maintenant n subtenant.
We share pub bills and it is quite high cuz one of the couple work night shift so they use aircon during daytime too. So the couple started saying want to share bills based on per room basis of cuz i wont agree.
Then they made rules aircon only allowed from 8pm to 8am i am fine with that. but then the couple n the other guy didnt even follow the rules make me like a stupid.
So i told them i wont follow the rules since no one is following. the next day, the couple installed a timer and restricted my aircon. And of course, the other two rooms still can use aircon anytime they want.
What can i do other than move out? (location is perfect with reasonable rental)

thanks.

Fiona Chin
post Nov 16 2015, 05:05 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Nov 16 2015, 04:39 PM)
Hi guys need some advice here,
I am renting a room in an unit with 1 couple as main tenant and another guy in common room.
we only had very simple contract as their mindset dont really care about this contract thing when subletting. The couple n the other guy r friends n i am just a tenant amd our relationship is just maintenant n subtenant.
We share pub bills and it is quite high cuz one of the couple work night shift so they use aircon during daytime too. So the couple started saying want to share bills based on per room basis of cuz i wont agree.
Then they made rules aircon only allowed from 8pm to 8am i am fine with that. but then the couple n the other guy didnt even follow the rules make me like a stupid.
So i told them i wont follow the rules since no one is following. the next day, the couple installed a timer and restricted my aircon. And of course, the other two rooms still can use aircon anytime they want.
What can i do other than move out? (location is perfect with reasonable rental)

thanks.
You can threaten to tell the owner they doing subletting and it void the contract and they don't get their deposit back, maybe they can go to jail too.

You can bring this case to court and sue them for unfair treatment that cause emotional stress to you and affect your health, possibility of winning few million dollar.

You can flip table in front of them and get whack back by the 2 guys and chop to pieces and end up in the fridge for years.

This is why you need a proper agent with proper contract to protect your interest lo. Want save money then have to endure this kind of problem what. If not agent for what @bunny. Just leave and take it as a lesson la.
jungyu
post Nov 16 2015, 05:55 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Nov 16 2015, 05:05 PM)
You can threaten to tell the owner they doing subletting and it void the contract and they don't get their deposit back, maybe they can go to jail too.

You can bring this case to court and sue them for unfair treatment that cause emotional stress to you and affect your health, possibility of winning few million dollar.

You can flip table in front of them and get whack back by the 2 guys and chop to pieces and end up in the fridge for years.

This is why you need a proper agent with proper contract to protect your interest lo. Want save money then have to endure this kind of problem what. If not agent for what @bunny. Just leave and take it as a lesson la.
Funny thing is my first rental was through agent and the landlord turned attitude immediately after i moved in. it gave me hell i lost my deposit because the agent would not help, i even had to call the police because the landlord trying to lock me out. and yeah i probably being a cheapo for want to save money but it is much better than paying and not getting help from those cheapo agents smile.gif
ghodul
post Nov 16 2015, 06:04 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Nov 16 2015, 08:05 AM)
Are you experienced or fresh? There are plenty positions to be filled, in fact many LINKEDIN head hunters are looking for semiconductor engineers. If you are fresh, wondering why so keen to join semiconductor? Most of your seniors are trying to get out of it  sweat.gif
I manage to get out from it. Feel sooo lucky...
poor_engineer
post Nov 16 2015, 06:33 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(TheRedDevil @ Nov 16 2015, 04:22 PM)
What is your background & processes in semicon that you already master in?
Not master la, just senior engineer position. Have been working 4 years+ in front end probe yield improvement job.
Fiona Chin
post Nov 16 2015, 07:22 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(jungyu @ Nov 16 2015, 05:55 PM)
Funny thing is my first rental was through agent and the landlord turned attitude immediately after i moved in. it gave me hell i lost my deposit because the agent would not help, i even had to call the police because the landlord trying to lock me out. and yeah i probably being a cheapo for want to save money but it is much better than paying and not getting help from those cheapo agents smile.gif
You need a good agent, not any agent you find on the street. They will take your commission and you will never see them forever. Those who are in the business will provide good after sign service, settle your sai with landlord and housemates. This thread recommend the sgrealestate for best service in SG and JB, some say even Batam.
SUSLVL1NiNjA
post Nov 16 2015, 09:01 PM

753 posts

What if my employer decided to terminate me. Will I still stand a chance to get employed in SG?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 16 2015, 09:19 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(LVL1NiNjA @ Nov 16 2015, 09:01 PM)
What if my employer decided to terminate me. Will I still stand a chance to get employed in SG?
depending on reason of termination... sexual harassment, CBT, negligence, unscrupulous conduct, etc etc crime... i think most likely cannot get employed again
SUSLVL1NiNjA
post Nov 16 2015, 09:20 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 16 2015, 09:19 PM)
depending on reason of termination... sexual harassment, CBT, negligence, unscrupulous conduct, etc etc crime... i think most likely cannot get employed again
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Can appeal to MOM with reasons?

This post has been edited by LVL1NiNjA: Nov 16 2015, 09:23 PM
SUSalaskanbunny
post Nov 16 2015, 09:23 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(LVL1NiNjA @ Nov 16 2015, 09:20 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

idunnolol, am not with mom leh... am with SAF flex.gif
knwong
post Nov 16 2015, 09:56 PM

3,558 posts

QUOTE(LVL1NiNjA @ Nov 16 2015, 09:20 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Can share more the reason for termination? If not forumer will just keep speculating

170 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:45 PM