10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Working in UK, possible?

Playbook
post Feb 13 2008, 08:49 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 13 2008, 06:53 PM)
wahhh......lets see, if include makan n rental and transport...left around 400pounds or less?? Hmmm singapore sounds so much better and nearer lehh...
btw...is that good money?? dun sound appealing to me at all  sweat.gif
You are going for the work experience, not so much the money.

That work experience will be valuable for the future...

ah_heng
post Feb 13 2008, 08:56 PM

505 posts

I think the common thing here is, no point working in Malaysia unless you have connections and guts to do ur own business wink.gif

I'm currently working in the UK and yes, tax is high and fr my experience for those who are earning less than 50k a yr, at least 50% will be taxed away (direct or indirect wink.gif.

BUT, after saying that it's more of how much you CAN SAVE instead of how much you can earn.

If you can save 1k pound a mth and convert it back to Malaysia (ok la, exchange rate's dropping) = RM6k a mth, = RM72k a yr. Can you actually save this kinda money when u r in Malaysia? To some, this may be your SALARY for 1 yr or 2!!!

Unless you can earn RM10k a mth in Malaysia (and if you are still young), try broadening your horizon... whether or not is UK or Europe or even SG. Remember, you only live once.
fonatic
post Feb 13 2008, 09:23 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(gtghost @ Feb 13 2008, 01:46 PM)
So what do you do in Switzerland?  icon_question.gif
Getting fat on Lindt and Mövenpick biggrin.gif

On a serious note, training to be an actuary.
youngkies
post Feb 13 2008, 09:37 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(gtghost @ Feb 13 2008, 04:46 PM)
Would someone from the UK confirm if the taxation braket is true? I mean if you salary per annum is higher than 34,600 pounds, you will be tax on the 40% bracket.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taxation_in_the_United_Kingdom.
it works this way, lets say your annual salary is £40k per year. out of £40k, abt £5.3k is not taxable called (income allowance). then the first 2.2k of your 40k will be taxed at 10%, your next 2.2k to £34k will be taxed at 22% and finally, you will be taxed 40% after 34k. so you might get more for the first few months, but lesser as month to come, or some company will spread it over the whole year.

so it is not that if you get 40k perannum, 40% will be gone, but part of them are taxed at 10%, 22% and 40%. on top, put in another abt 7% for national insurance.

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 13 2008, 05:54 PM)
hmmm i really dun understand y peeople keep saying its hard to get a job in UK...my fren went there, applied for a few jobs, within 2 weeks oredi got hired by HSBC UK......she sez IT field dem lotsa positions leh.....are u guys looking at the wrong place when finding a job? (But she was there laa when she applied for the jobs, btw contract jobs are paying much much higher than permanent jobs....)
it is not actually. as long as you have the qualification and qualities, you can get a job easily.

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 13 2008, 06:05 PM)
hmm...so much so how much taxes n etc one gotto pay from their salary? Whats the nett salary after all deductions? Dun sound very good working in UK at all...unless illegally...
although the taxes are high, but it is not bad earning pound. because the cost of most items are cheaper if compare to malaysia.

example. if you earned rm30k a year in malaysia, you have to use a year salary which is rm30k to buy a kelisa. but in uk, if you earn £20k a year (after tax abt 16k, where £23k is the standard average salary of a fresh grad), a good new car of abt the size of kelisa (e.g. ford fiesta) is abt £8k only.

This post has been edited by youngkies: Feb 13 2008, 09:44 PM
ah_heng
post Feb 13 2008, 09:55 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Feb 13 2008, 09:37 PM)

example. if you earned rm30k a year in malaysia, you have to use a year salary which is rm30k to buy a kelisa. but in uk, if you earn £20k a year (after tax abt 16k, where £23k is the standard average salary of a fresh grad), a good new car of abt the size of kelisa (e.g. ford fiesta) is abt £8k only.
yah yah... McD meal cos 3.80 pounds? in KL, almost RM10!!! wink.gif

but of cos, some are really expensive like cost of services wink.gif
fonatic
post Feb 13 2008, 09:58 PM

41 posts

Yeap youngkies' way to calculate UK taxes is accurate. Hmmm, but I thought NI is 11% and NI is calculated on your income less the £5225 tax-free allowance if I'm not mistaken.
gtghost
post Feb 13 2008, 10:04 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(clausman @ Nov 1 2007, 10:44 PM)
let say i am not UK grad but eligible for high skilled migration, should i contact agents instead?
any contacts that i can get?
I think the agents will charge no less than 10k, if I am not mistaken. You can fill up the HSMP form for 2-3k on conversion (400 pounds), with full supporting documents and pray sweat.gif

QUOTE(youngkies @ Feb 13 2008, 09:37 PM)
it works this way, lets say your annual salary is £40k per year. out of £40k, abt £5.3k is not taxable called (income allowance). then the first 2.2k of your 40k will be taxed at 10%, your next 2.2k to £34k will be taxed at 22% and finally, you will be taxed 40% after 34k. so you might get more for the first few months, but lesser as month to come, or some company will spread it over the whole year.

so it is not that if you get 40k perannum, 40% will be gone, but part of them are taxed at 10%, 22% and 40%. on top, put in another abt 7% for national insurance.
it is not actually. as long as you have the qualification and qualities, you can get a job easily.
although the taxes are high, but it is not bad earning pound. because the cost of most items are cheaper if compare to malaysia.

According to fonatic, coming april they will go flat out at 22% and 40% removing the 10%. Ouch sad.gif

Anyhow, might try my luck on HSMP. Gotta go take the IETLS first sweat.gif

EDITED: I think can skip the IETLS if the degree is from UK rclxub.gif

No professional jobs for Working Holidaymakers?

This post has been edited by gtghost: Feb 13 2008, 10:15 PM
fonatic
post Feb 13 2008, 10:20 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(gtghost @ Feb 13 2008, 03:04 PM)
I think the agents will charge no less than 10k, if I am not mistaken. You can fill up the HSMP form for 2-3k on conversion (400 pounds), with full supporting documents and pray  sweat.gif
According to fonatic, coming april they will go flat out at 22% and 40% removing the 10%. Ouch sad.gif

Anyhow, might try my luck on HSMP. Gotta go take the IETLS first  sweat.gif

EDITED: I think can skip the IETLS if the degree is from UK  rclxub.gif

No professional jobs for Working Holidaymakers?
Flat 20% smile.gif It actually benefits people earning more than £17k p.a. if I recall correctly.

I have a friend who's been here about 3-4months on a Working Holiday visa, and she's not been able to find anything professional. Mostly, temp jobs involving clerical duties etc. unsure.gif

And IELTS requirement isn't too high I think, you will probably only need a band 6 or 6.5 for work(?) since that is the level most British universities admit students on.
db07mufan
post Feb 13 2008, 10:26 PM

3,705 posts

Any slim chances of a local graduate making it in the UK?
mIssfROGY
post Feb 13 2008, 11:22 PM

2,155 posts

sounds to me after tax and living expenses uk and singapore makes nearly the same? Hmm....dunnoler...if i were u guys, i do contract work becoz of the high pay. MY fren was earning like 300 pound a day as a contractor in HSBC uk. But dunno la...maybe she was just lucky, not so easy.

Added on February 13, 2008, 11:25 pm
QUOTE(db07mufan @ Feb 13 2008, 10:26 PM)
Any slim chances of a local graduate making it in the UK?
can ler..few of my frens who were local grads got offered. But i think u need to be doing some job where they r lacking of people.

Added on February 13, 2008, 11:32 pm
QUOTE(Playbook @ Feb 13 2008, 08:49 PM)
You are going for the work experience, not so much the money.

That work experience will be valuable for the future...
hahah if i am going..it will be all about the money icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by mIssfROGY: Feb 13 2008, 11:32 PM
fonatic
post Feb 13 2008, 11:55 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 13 2008, 04:22 PM)
sounds to me after tax and living expenses uk and singapore makes nearly the same? Hmm....dunnoler...if i were u guys, i do contract work becoz of the high pay. MY fren was earning like 300 pound a day as a contractor in HSBC uk. But dunno la...maybe she was just lucky, not so easy.
IT contractors earn anything from £50/hr and up. Sure it's good money, but you do not get company benefits, pension plans etc. smile.gif And of course the risk of not being "employed" or out of contract for prolonged periods.

This post has been edited by fonatic: Feb 13 2008, 11:55 PM
youngkies
post Feb 14 2008, 12:09 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

the thing that i love most of working in uk is seeing the money building up in the saving account with quite good interest.

i dont mind paying high tax, but in fact, i hate it when they spend those money to drug addicts, benefit frauds etc etc. sad.gif (but still better than going into already rich corrupted minister though)
mIssfROGY
post Feb 14 2008, 01:30 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Feb 14 2008, 12:09 AM)
i dont mind paying high tax, but in fact, i hate it when they spend those money to drug addicts, benefit frauds etc etc. sad.gif (but still better than going into already rich corrupted minister though)
i agree on this thumbup.gif
btw...how much is the interest over there? do they tax on savings/fd/unit trust over there?

fonatic
post Feb 14 2008, 02:47 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 14 2008, 06:30 AM)
i agree on this  thumbup.gif
btw...how much is the interest over there? do they tax on savings/fd/unit trust over there?
Official Bank of England interest rate is at 5.25%, although this varies from bank to bank.. Building societies usually give better rates than banks as well. Of course interest is taxed in the UK, unless you have no income or are non-domiciled i.e. live in UK less than x-days.
db07mufan
post Feb 14 2008, 03:20 PM

3,705 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 13 2008, 11:22 PM)

can ler..few of my frens who were local grads got offered. But i think u need to be doing some job where they r lacking of people.
Woo, what are your frens major? Are they working there now??
mIssfROGY
post Feb 14 2008, 03:49 PM

2,155 posts

QUOTE(fonatic @ Feb 14 2008, 02:47 PM)
Official Bank of England interest rate is at 5.25%, although this varies from bank to bank.. Building societies usually give better rates than banks as well.  Of course interest is taxed in the UK, unless you have no income or are non-domiciled i.e. live in UK less than x-days.
OKies..thanks notworthy.gif

Added on February 14, 2008, 3:56 pm
QUOTE(db07mufan @ Feb 14 2008, 03:20 PM)
Woo, what are your frens major? Are they working there now??
ermm IT loo.....local grads. All they did was post up their resume online and those employers search for them....but of coz u gotto know wer to post la biggrin.gif and like i said, u must have what they r lacking, aka not easily find people for it. And usually these people oredi have a number of years experience la.....especially with MNC companies.... biggrin.gif

and ya..they r working there now..but some rejected the offers, because sg is nearer and being near to family more impt eventho earning lesser.

This post has been edited by mIssfROGY: Feb 14 2008, 03:59 PM
db07mufan
post Feb 14 2008, 06:01 PM

3,705 posts

ahhhh........ i see! Must have experience.

That leaves fresh graduates no chance huh
youngkies
post Feb 14 2008, 10:44 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Feb 14 2008, 06:01 PM)
ahhhh........ i see! Must have experience.

That leaves fresh graduates no chance huh
not at all actually. it depends on what kind of profession.

lawyer, accountant, business related etc, experience (summer placement at least) is really advantageous.

but as for engineering, or healthcare related, as long as you have the qualification and required skills, you can easily get a job.
simon_wks
post Feb 14 2008, 11:44 PM

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 14 2008, 03:49 PM)
OKies..thanks  notworthy.gif

Added on February 14, 2008, 3:56 pm

ermm IT loo.....local grads. All they did was post up their resume online and those employers search for them....but of coz u gotto know wer to post la biggrin.gif and like i said, u must have what they r lacking, aka not easily find people for it. And usually these people oredi have a number of years experience la.....especially with MNC companies.... biggrin.gif

and ya..they r working there now..but some rejected the offers, because sg is nearer and being near to family more impt eventho earning lesser.
If I'm not mistaken, one of the pre-requsites for a UK employer to employ you with a UK work permit is that you are a UK degree holder.

The whole process of getting a work permit is a nightmare, it took me around 2 months to get it then still you are required to apply for UK entry clearance and stuff.

For those who just want to know how much (net) you will get for each month/year, just go to www.i-resign.com and use the tax calculator.

It's not bad working in UK, I think it's not always about money. At least it's not my motivation to work in the UK.

Regards,
Simon

Added on February 14, 2008, 11:51 pm
QUOTE(ah_heng @ Feb 13 2008, 09:55 PM)
yah yah... McD meal cos 3.80 pounds? in KL, almost RM10!!! wink.gif

but of cos, some are really expensive like cost of services wink.gif
It's true... However, with £3.80 I can even cook myself a salmon steak with side salad and a glass of diet coke all under 15 minutes too...

This post has been edited by simon_wks: Feb 14 2008, 11:51 PM
fonatic
post Feb 15 2008, 12:35 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(simon_wks @ Feb 14 2008, 04:44 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, one of the pre-requsites for a UK employer to employ you with a UK work permit is that you are a UK degree holder.

The whole process of getting a work permit is a nightmare, it took me around 2 months to get it then still you are required to apply for UK entry clearance and stuff.

For those who just want to know how much (net) you will get for each month/year, just go to www.i-resign.com and use the tax calculator.

It's not bad working in UK, I think it's not always about money. At least it's not my motivation to work in the UK.

Regards,
Simon

It's true... However, with £3.80 I can even cook myself a salmon steak with side salad and a glass of diet coke all under 15 minutes too...
It is true that as a fresh graduate, it will be difficult to get a job if you did not graduate from the UK. But if you have fall under the definition of the Highly Skilled Migrant Program, it is fairly straight forward to get a work permit I think. Below is an excerpt of an article on the Star a year ago:

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:27 PM