youngkies
post Apr 4 2007, 07:07 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(PowerDunk @ Apr 3 2007, 10:59 AM)
Some people like to convert  the pound back to malaysian ringgit and claim how attractive it is. But what's the point of converting when your expenses are in pounds as well.
Quite true too.. but nasi goreng in malaysia = rm3, fried rice here = £3. typical entry job in malaysia maybe ard 1/2k and for uk = £1k/2k.

sounds the same right.

but there are some difference in some item. malaysia new savvy = 50k, uk vauxhall
corsa = £7000. malaysia ipod 30gb = £1.4k+- (not sure), uk ipod 30gb = £200

you earn quite the same, the expenses for food and living is quite the same, but some item is just more worth it if you earn and buy it here.

QUOTE(elb @ Apr 4 2007, 06:38 PM)
You lot spend too much. Someone I know spends around £1 a week on dinner...
£1 for whole week? or £1 per dinner? eat bread every dinner then!

I spend abt £2 per dinner sometime. Tapao chinese takeaway food £3.70, divide into two portion, boil rice at home myself = 2 meals hence abt £2 per meal. nod.gif else just abt £10-50 for grocery too.

It depends on what you study to get a job. I managed to secure a job before graduation, so pretty good for me.

This post has been edited by youngkies: Apr 4 2007, 07:10 PM
youngkies
post Apr 5 2007, 07:11 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(elb @ Apr 5 2007, 12:50 AM)
Beats me. That person earns somewhere around £50k, and yet chooses to eat chicken nuggets for dinner everyday.
he/she must be saving hell-lot.

what i found out of me, the more i earn/work, the more i spent. work harder, eat better.
youngkies
post Feb 13 2008, 09:37 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(gtghost @ Feb 13 2008, 04:46 PM)
Would someone from the UK confirm if the taxation braket is true? I mean if you salary per annum is higher than 34,600 pounds, you will be tax on the 40% bracket.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taxation_in_the_United_Kingdom.
it works this way, lets say your annual salary is £40k per year. out of £40k, abt £5.3k is not taxable called (income allowance). then the first 2.2k of your 40k will be taxed at 10%, your next 2.2k to £34k will be taxed at 22% and finally, you will be taxed 40% after 34k. so you might get more for the first few months, but lesser as month to come, or some company will spread it over the whole year.

so it is not that if you get 40k perannum, 40% will be gone, but part of them are taxed at 10%, 22% and 40%. on top, put in another abt 7% for national insurance.

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 13 2008, 05:54 PM)
hmmm i really dun understand y peeople keep saying its hard to get a job in UK...my fren went there, applied for a few jobs, within 2 weeks oredi got hired by HSBC UK......she sez IT field dem lotsa positions leh.....are u guys looking at the wrong place when finding a job? (But she was there laa when she applied for the jobs, btw contract jobs are paying much much higher than permanent jobs....)
it is not actually. as long as you have the qualification and qualities, you can get a job easily.

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 13 2008, 06:05 PM)
hmm...so much so how much taxes n etc one gotto pay from their salary? Whats the nett salary after all deductions? Dun sound very good working in UK at all...unless illegally...
although the taxes are high, but it is not bad earning pound. because the cost of most items are cheaper if compare to malaysia.

example. if you earned rm30k a year in malaysia, you have to use a year salary which is rm30k to buy a kelisa. but in uk, if you earn £20k a year (after tax abt 16k, where £23k is the standard average salary of a fresh grad), a good new car of abt the size of kelisa (e.g. ford fiesta) is abt £8k only.

This post has been edited by youngkies: Feb 13 2008, 09:44 PM
youngkies
post Feb 14 2008, 12:09 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

the thing that i love most of working in uk is seeing the money building up in the saving account with quite good interest.

i dont mind paying high tax, but in fact, i hate it when they spend those money to drug addicts, benefit frauds etc etc. sad.gif (but still better than going into already rich corrupted minister though)
youngkies
post Feb 14 2008, 10:44 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Feb 14 2008, 06:01 PM)
ahhhh........ i see! Must have experience.

That leaves fresh graduates no chance huh
not at all actually. it depends on what kind of profession.

lawyer, accountant, business related etc, experience (summer placement at least) is really advantageous.

but as for engineering, or healthcare related, as long as you have the qualification and required skills, you can easily get a job.
youngkies
post Feb 15 2008, 06:35 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(simon_wks @ Feb 14 2008, 11:44 PM)
If I'm not mistaken, one of the pre-requsites for a UK employer to employ you with a UK work permit is that you are a UK degree holder.

The whole process of getting a work permit is a nightmare, it took me around 2 months to get it then still you are required to apply for UK entry clearance and stuff.

For those who just want to know how much (net) you will get for each month/year, just go to www.i-resign.com and use the tax calculator.

It's not bad working in UK, I think it's not always about money. At least it's not my motivation to work in the UK.

Regards,
Simon

Added on February 14, 2008, 11:51 pm

It's true... However, with £3.80 I can even cook myself a salmon steak with side salad and a glass of diet coke all under 15 minutes too...
my work permit application took 2 weeks and straight forward though. tongue.gif

this is another simple tax calculator site: http://www.listentotaxman.com/ just key in the numbers,

QUOTE(fonatic @ Feb 15 2008, 12:35 AM)
It is true that as a fresh graduate, it will be difficult to get a job if you did not graduate from the UK.  But if you have fall under the definition of the Highly Skilled Migrant Program, it is fairly straight forward to get a work permit I think.  Below is an excerpt of an article on the Star a year ago:

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...=nation&focus=1
[/spoiler]
the thing with Highly skilled migrant program (HSMP), you will need to score above 75 points in its criteria and it ain't that easy, unless you hold an UK degree (Master preferably), young and have already earn at least £25k perannum in the previous year.
youngkies
post Feb 15 2008, 03:56 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 15 2008, 12:24 PM)
online  biggrin.gif

Added on February 15, 2008, 12:31 pm

i actually did try this online to check if i am eligible.....failedddd bigtime!! hahaha....but then again, they sent few letters asking to go for interview instead, because eventho if u failed the test.....there are exceptions and can tryout for the interview session pulak where they understand your case further.  hmm.gif

P.s: Dun ask me hows the interview and all...i didnt go for it. But i think even if u failed the initial part, u can still tryout for the interview part where they can actually try to know your strong points further.
interview for HSMP? got such thing? i thought either you have the points or try next time/leave it?

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Feb 15 2008, 01:38 PM)
Ya... but do you have specified website. I try Gumtree, but no luck!
use local recruitment agent. most are free, sign-up, register, fill in the c.v. and let them find job and email you of any updates. but usually those are for professional jobs.

QUOTE(db07mufan @ Feb 15 2008, 02:53 PM)
Engineering got hope? hehehe
plenty.
youngkies
post Feb 16 2008, 01:29 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 15 2008, 04:48 PM)
Thats wat i tot so too after i failed the points entry when i did it online...but few days later, they sent me few letters asking me to do an interview instead.

Below is partial sample of the letter;

"This email serves as a reminder of the steps that you should complete in order to start your migration process to the UK. You should know all of the migration options you could use to migrate to the UK, and what you can use to increase your chances of successfully applying for an HSMP visa. Our registered UK Migration Consultants are standing by to create your ProspectiveMigration Service. HOW WILL THE PROSPECTIVE MIGRATION SERVICE HELP YOU? Our team of registered Migration Consultants has designed this service to assist clients who have failed our UK Visa Eligibility Assessment. Equivalent to a thorough face-to-faceconsultation with a registered Migration Consultant, this service includes an evaluation of your current profile in accordance with current UK migration regulations, and advice onhow to improve your chances of migrating to the UK."

Added on February 15, 2008, 4:52 pm

hieezzz how can u only try 1 webbie biggrin.gif Flood the jobs webbie with your resume dear  icon_rolleyes.gif Good Luck  thumbup.gif
and btw.....u gotto write a good resume with ample experience ....else they wont look at it. Talk in details about the tools and experience u have in your area of specialization. Dun bullshit tho.

And like yongkies said...most are for professional jobs.
aha! that is not about HSMP anymore. it is like some agent/consultant, trying to find a way to get you in besides HSMP.

QUOTE(Felice821 @ Feb 15 2008, 06:58 PM)
As i saw from the UK work permit website, seems to be medical line is in shortage list. I dont hold any medical cert... just ask on behalf.

My fren he got no mediical cert as well... but he is St' John captain few years back. Wondering if with the recommendation letter, what he can do?
nothing much. he must be at least hold qualification as a qualified technician with certain NVQ level for certain profesions (e.g. pharmacy technician, hospital technician) or qualified healthcare worker / carer etc.

youngkies
post Feb 16 2008, 07:12 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 16 2008, 02:18 AM)
Issit? Well..no idea. Tot its the same thing. laugh.gif

Anyway..its easier to get offered 1st than going thru this thing laa coz at least they kautim all the stuffz..u just need to go when the time comes, not much hassle and no risk of not getting a job. I was thinking of HSMP because i am more interested in their contract jobs...hiee sweat.gif
hmmph? don't understand.

the good thing with HSMP you can work freely.

to apply HSMP, or any permits, there isnt need any agent if you know how to, and that will save you a lot of money too.
youngkies
post Feb 16 2008, 09:34 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 16 2008, 11:45 AM)
dun understand? Noler...like u say, HSMP can work freely ma...so i was thinking of getting it becoz i was only interested in UK's contract jobs. But then again even if i get it...it doesnt gurantee any jobs wat. Its still a risk. Unlike if you get job offer 1st, they kautim everything and your position is secured.
aha. i see. the good thing with HSMP, yes they dont guarantee you any job, but you can come in and out UK without any problem. that means you are not attach to any company, you can work for several company/jobs and you can jump bot anytime. that is the difference with having a work permit, everything is tied to the company, and your leave to remain is given according to the work permit length.
youngkies
post Feb 18 2008, 04:39 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(mIssfROGY @ Feb 18 2008, 01:00 AM)
Ya...hieez..but oredi failed......double hieeeezzz  icon_rolleyes.gif
so what are you doing now? working in UK?

HSMP is not for fresh graduate anyway, because it requires you to have at least a year in work force, to establish your previous salary band.

youngkies
post Apr 19 2008, 07:50 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

Coincidentally, I have had an informal interview / chit-chat with one the big boys last Tuesday too.
youngkies
post Nov 30 2008, 11:56 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Nov 28 2008, 07:04 AM)
just like to check with u guys..  i have apply a job and I have done a online technical test. And the company say like to have telephone interview.. so what will happen in the telephone interview? will they ask some technical question and i'll need to prepare for technical question? erm.. bit worry now.. sad.gif

hmm... it's getting hard to get a secure job in UK now.. i have been receiving unsuccessful emails for nearly all of my application until frustrated.

considering the economy recession and difficulty from the immigration.

0.0275sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:11 PM