INSURANCE TALK, ok let start

maggi
post Jun 19 2013, 08:44 AM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Jun 18 2013, 11:59 PM)
So kind of you Mr. Roy. I feel pai seah asking other agent for help bcoz they did not earn any commissions from my policy . My current agent has limited knowledge. His education background is not good. So I don't want to bother him. Usually I will call customer service or walk-in to the counter. So far so good.

Allow me to share my experience here about these 3 insurance companies - -  Prudential, Great Eastern, HLA.

My GE agent sudah lari. Policy auto switch to upline. But the new agent nowhere can be found. Had sent a complaint letter to GE head office and requesting for changing a new agent. Until now almost a month but no news yet despite numerous follow up with email and phone call. I feel regretted buying insurance from this company. I should have listened to my friends that this company is not so good. The reason I sign up GE policy is because back in year 2010. This is the only company in Malaysia offering smart early payout for critical illness. Now thinking to cancel this policy and switch to other insurers but feel sayang coz already served for a few years. Each year the premium is Rm4200. Last 2 days walk-in to customer service counter to enquire about premium reduction if cancel SM200. They cannot offer me an answer coz they don't have the software (how come HLA can do it but GE can't?). Instead, asking me to contact my servicing agent but she is MIA. I don't have an agent to contact for almost 6 months... really pek chek. However, there is some good things about this company. I personally like the e-connect where customer is able to check the detail of the policy via Internet login.

HLA - no issue with the claims. But lousy computer system. During the system migration, there was a system glitch and causing my credit card auto debit cannot get thru. Have to use manual work. After few months of complaint, they finally cancel my old policy and reissue me a new policy number. When I told them I have doubt on the cash value. They ask me to provide the yearly statements for checking as they can't trace from their end. Wah lau.....how many of you would keep the yearly account statements? This aren't the one for income tax submission.

Prudential - my first policy since 1997. Processing for claims and unit trust redemption are very fast. No issue at all. Great customer service. But the insurance charges rate is little higher as compared to competitors. How I wish I cud monitor my policy online like GE.
i wonder if the case like this and pass to new agent , new agent still earn comm ? or not so they demotivated to deal with you ? unsure.gif
roystevenung
post Jun 19 2013, 08:49 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(maggi @ Jun 19 2013, 08:44 AM)
i wonder if the case like this and pass to new agent , new agent still earn comm ? or not so they demotivated to deal with you ?  unsure.gif
It depends. For Prudential, if the agent is in the same agency, the agency manager has the option to transfer the commission to the new servicing agent.

But if it was from another agency within Prudential, the agent does not earn a single cent, more of a service. Well we are after all in the service line.

Do note that the commission is only for 6 years. In his case, his policy was bought way back in 1997.

nightzstar
post Jun 19 2013, 01:17 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jun 19 2013, 08:33 AM)
Bos, friend is friend, Prudential or not Prudential, please pay thru credit card, auto debit, online transfer to be on the safe side.

Our job is not to be along and collect premium. You want us to be efficient in collecting premiums or efficient in claims? thumbup.gif
ok just now meet with my fren doing GE, tomorrow going to print statement for the whole year and also do auto debit authorization at cimb. make sure that no songlaping is happening. sweat.gif
nightzstar
post Jun 19 2013, 01:18 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jun 19 2013, 08:41 AM)
U pay cash to your friend?
yeah, but provided with receipt, wanna do auto debit tomolo.
danlhct
post Jun 19 2013, 01:45 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ Jun 19 2013, 08:23 AM)
Mind to PM me which HLA agency that had system issue? Thanks smile.gif
It is not agency specific. In year 2006, HQ is doing system upgrades/migration.
I'm not the only one affected. According to my agent, there are plenty of clients were facing the similar issue.

This post has been edited by danlhct: Jun 19 2013, 01:53 PM
ExpZero
post Jun 19 2013, 03:50 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Jun 18 2013, 11:59 PM)
My GE agent sudah lari. Policy auto switch to upline. But the new agent nowhere can be found. Had sent a complaint letter to GE head office and requesting for changing a new agent. Until now almost a month but no news yet despite numerous follow up with email and phone call. I feel regretted buying insurance from this company. I should have listened to my friends that this company is not so good. The reason I sign up GE policy is because back in year 2010. This is the only company in Malaysia offering smart early payout for critical illness. Now thinking to cancel this policy and switch to other insurers but feel sayang coz already served for a few years. Each year the premium is Rm4200. Last 2 days walk-in to customer service counter to enquire about premium reduction if cancel SM200. They cannot offer me an answer coz they don't have the software (how come HLA can do it but GE can't?). Instead, asking me to contact my servicing agent but she is MIA. I don't have an agent to contact for almost 6 months... really pek chek. However, there is some good things about this company. I personally like the e-connect where customer is able to check the detail of the policy via Internet login.
You may pm me the procedure to cancel your SM200. Since I' already in this line for long, it's not a big hassle to provide you this simple service blush.gif

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jun 19 2013, 07:54 AM)
could not afford to pay, i have house to pay,bills and so on. 300 for Ge and 200 for Prudential. The agent are quite busy and sometimes 2,3 months din collect premium but come at one time lump sum, also the receipt are sometimes there sometimes not there. asked for auto debit till now no news. that why it is hassle for me, better use prudential coz my fren taking care of it.
It's always better to do Credit card auto debit or Bank transfer to prevent any "songlap" or procrastination.

QUOTE(maggi @ Jun 19 2013, 08:44 AM)
i wonder if the case like this and pass to new agent , new agent still earn comm ? or not so they demotivated to deal with you ?  unsure.gif
Nope, need agent's consent to transfer commission. Most of the time, only transfer of servicing agent could be done practically.
nightzstar
post Jun 19 2013, 07:59 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jun 19 2013, 08:33 AM)
Bos, friend is friend, Prudential or not Prudential, please pay thru credit card, auto debit, online transfer to be on the safe side.

Our job is not to be along and collect premium. You want us to be efficient in collecting premiums or efficient in claims? thumbup.gif
efficient in claims? boss i think if cancel off GE after paid two years, am i dumb? hmm.gif
roystevenung
post Jun 19 2013, 08:12 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jun 19 2013, 07:59 PM)
efficient in claims? boss i think if cancel off GE after paid two years, am i dumb?  hmm.gif
Always reflect at why you get the second medical card in the first place. Your coverage is NOT with the agent but rather with the insurance company. You kena tepuk dada tanya selera on what to do with it.

Yes we have to be efficient in claims so that the client claims are not delayed. But if the agent runs around collecting premium that leaves the agent lesser time to process the claims.
nightzstar
post Jun 19 2013, 08:29 PM

Col. Samantha Carter
2,702 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jun 19 2013, 08:12 PM)
Always reflect at why you get the second medical card in the first place. Your coverage is NOT with the agent but rather with the insurance company. You kena tepuk dada tanya selera on what to do with it.

Yes we have to be efficient in claims so that the client claims are not delayed. But if the agent runs around collecting premium that leaves the agent lesser time to process the claims.
ok thks unker, what i am planning now is to reduce the number of policy i am serving from 3 to 1 only, reduce burden. only left between GE/Pru. Bijak Msia i can cancel it off directly and get back my cash value to invest in better alternatives.
Synthesia
post Jun 19 2013, 11:56 PM

.:Love PhotoGraphy:.
642 posts

Looking at previous requests, there are quite a number of people who are having trouble getting an insurance because of health issues.

Looks like people are unaware that currently there is a saving plan that requires no medical examination, and guarantee acceptance. (Yes, even for people with any medical condition, valid till end of this month only though). With T&C.

This post has been edited by Synthesia: Jun 19 2013, 11:57 PM
jasonzai88
post Jun 20 2013, 01:34 AM

About 7 years ago, I noticed that there is one small gland near my left cheek. I scared there is anything dangerous. Then I went to general hospital to consult ear nose throat (ENT) specialist. After checking the fluids from the gland and done CT scan, the doctor said it is nothing, she said it it optional for me to remove it, she said it is some sort of extra fluids over there which is not harmful to me. Now the gland is still there, and I feel nothing with it. Until recently I am planning to buy a medical insurance from GE, after the investigation from the underwriter, they can offer me the insurance but they have to put that as an exclusion. I am not sure whether they have obtained the medical report from the previous hospital. The agent said they will appeal to see whether can ask me to go for a medical check up for the gland, if seems ok, then they can include that in the coverage. But underwriter didn't allow the request. So what should I do? Do I have to accept the insurance with exclusion? Or can I try to buy the insurace from another company such as prudential, to see whether they can accept it together with the gland which seems like nothing to me? I hope you guys can give me a proper opinion and suggestion as this will be my first insurance and I do not want to screw it up sad.gif Thanks.
ExpZero
post Jun 20 2013, 01:03 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(jasonzai88 @ Jun 20 2013, 01:34 AM)
About 7 years ago, I noticed that there is one small gland near my left cheek. I scared there is anything dangerous. Then I went to general hospital to consult ear nose throat (ENT) specialist. After checking the fluids from the gland and done CT scan, the doctor said it is nothing, she said it it optional for me to remove it, she said it is some sort of extra fluids over there which is not harmful to me. Now the gland is still there, and I feel nothing with it. Until recently I am planning to buy a medical insurance from GE, after the investigation from the underwriter, they can offer me the insurance but they have to put that as an exclusion. I am not sure whether they have obtained the medical report from the previous hospital. The agent said they will appeal to see whether can ask me to go for a medical check up for the gland, if seems ok, then they can include that in the coverage. But underwriter didn't allow the request. So what should I do? Do I have to accept the insurance with exclusion? Or can I try to buy the insurace from another company such as prudential, to see whether they can accept it together with the gland which seems like nothing to me? I hope you guys can give me a proper opinion and suggestion as this will be my first insurance and I do not want to screw it up sad.gif  Thanks.
You may ask your agent whether he has submitted MAR from your previous hospital.

Nevertheless, SOP of having benign cyst, fluid gland etc will have exclusion unless you removed it and appeal after a few years of non-recurrence with latest report.
danlhct
post Jun 22 2013, 12:48 AM

170 posts

After I wrote-in to GE head office, at last my servicing agent was successfully changed to my preferred choice (different agencies) together with the agent commissions being transferred as I insisted .

Thinking of keeping my GE policy as the premium is reasonable with the following benefits:
IL CIBR (36 CI) - 200k
SEPCC (early payout for CI) - 200k
SM200 (medic card)
IL HB (hospitalisation benefits) - 200
IL PWE (premium waiver) - 4200

My next attained age is 36. Should I add SME200 due to hike of hospital R&B?
Hi GE agents out there, may I know the daily meals are categorised as "Hospital Supplies & Services" or under 'Room & Board'? Thank you!
ExpZero
post Jun 22 2013, 11:24 AM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Jun 22 2013, 12:48 AM)
After I wrote-in to GE head office, at last my servicing agent was successfully changed to my preferred choice (different agencies) together with the agent commissions being transferred as I insisted .

Thinking of keeping my GE policy as the premium is reasonable with the following benefits:
IL CIBR (36 CI) - 200k
SEPCC (early payout for CI) - 200k
SM200 (medic card)
IL HB (hospitalisation benefits) - 200
IL PWE (premium waiver)  - 4200

My next attained age is 36. Should I add SME200 due to hike of hospital R&B?
Hi GE agents out there, may I know the daily meals are categorised as "Hospital Supplies & Services"  or under 'Room & Board'? Thank you!
I'd recommend you to add SME because it's cheap, what's your new agent's comment on your question regarding the daily meal?
lyoonsin
post Jun 22 2013, 01:07 PM

QUOTE(BabyDreameR @ Jun 16 2013, 11:08 PM)
I'm 24 this year and need a medical card with coverage to 36 diseases, any plan to intro? I'm having my eyes into Great Easthern, what do you guys think?
PM already icon_rolleyes.gif

danlhct
post Jun 22 2013, 03:54 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(ExpZero @ Jun 22 2013, 11:24 AM)
I'd recommend you to add SME because it's cheap, what's your new agent's comment on your question regarding the daily meal?
He said it should be under room & board. My Prudential PMM2 300 has Rm300 R&B. Daily meals are under "In-Hospital & Related Service Benefit (as charged)". It is clearly stated in the policy contract.

I just read through the GE policy contract. OMG.... accommodation and meals are under R&B

This post has been edited by danlhct: Jun 22 2013, 05:43 PM
ExpZero
post Jun 22 2013, 04:20 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Jun 22 2013, 03:54 PM)
He said it should be under room & board. My Prudential PMM3 has Rm300 R&B. Daily meals are under "In-Hospital & Related Service Benefit (as charged)". It is clearly stated in the policy contract.

I just read through the GE policy contract. OMG.... accommodation and meals are under R&B
Yeap, it's under R&B, why do you OMG? blush.gif
danlhct
post Jun 22 2013, 04:40 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(ExpZero @ Jun 22 2013, 04:20 PM)
Yeap, it's under R&B, why do you OMG? blush.gif
Coz Rm200 R&B sure not enough for 2 bedded room in Penang private hospitals blink.gif
I think the daily meal for most of the old medic card is not under R&B. So the benefits are much more better albeit the lifetime limit is low.

Now I believe "what you pay is what you get".
ExpZero
post Jun 22 2013, 04:59 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Jun 22 2013, 04:40 PM)
Coz Rm200 R&B sure not enough for 2 bedded room in Penang private hospitals  blink.gif
I think the daily meal for most of the old medic card is not under R&B. So the benefits are much more better albeit the lifetime limit is low.

Now I believe "what you pay is what you get".
You may check your policy,under page 5 of 14 Smart Medic. it stated
Hospital Room and Board
Reimbursement of the Reasonable and customary Charges incurred for Medically Necessary room accommodation and meals.

As my past experience in Actuarial Department, "what you paid is what you get" always true in Insurance because all the insurance company using the same life contingencies and assumption table and we need the approval from Bank Negara Malaysia before the product is launched.

The only different would be the fund performance and background of the company and the experience+responsibility+longevity of the agent servicing you.
danlhct
post Jun 22 2013, 07:35 PM

170 posts

Haha.... better choose a young & mature agent instead of a hopper.. wink.gif

132 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0421sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:37 AM