Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread

SUSPink Spider
post Nov 5 2015, 08:08 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 5 2015, 07:49 AM)
I was advised by CIS that choose one of them coz they are having same mandate.

What i understand frm FSM Msia thread, sky high price means u get lesser units. when choosing a unit, u should see its performance instead of its price smile.gif correct me if wrong.
101% correct
terence_say
post Nov 5 2015, 08:27 AM

313 posts

I have been with FSM for quite some years, just simply because of it low sales charge, 0.5% for lump sum and 0% for RSP unlike most of the sg local bank like UOB offer me 2.5% for the sales charge.

I still doing a RSP every month to bought into below 5 funds, the amount will be auto GIRO from my SG account. 0% sales charge why not right ?

1. Allianz Europe equity growth
2. Allianz income and grow
3. BlackRock multi asset income fund A6 sgd hedged
4. First state dividend advantage SGD
5. United greater China fund

Basically buy in every month is to do a dollar averaging.
This act as my satellite portfolio as you can see only BlackRock GMAI is a core fund, others 4 are tactical.

This post has been edited by terence_say: Nov 5 2015, 08:29 AM
yck1987
post Nov 5 2015, 08:38 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(terence_say @ Nov 5 2015, 08:27 AM)
I have been with FSM for quite some years, just simply because of it low sales charge, 0.5% for lump sum and 0% for RSP unlike most of the sg local bank like UOB offer me 2.5% for the sales charge.

I still doing a RSP every month to bought into below 5 funds, the amount will be auto GIRO from my SG account. 0% sales charge why not right ?

1. Allianz Europe equity growth
2. Allianz income and grow
3. BlackRock multi asset income fund A6 sgd hedged
4. First state dividend advantage SGD
5. United greater China fund

Basically buy in every month is to do a dollar averaging.
This act as my satellite portfolio as you can see only BlackRock GMAI is a core fund, others 4 are tactical.
Doing the sAme way on monthly RSP, just got GIRO deduction from my saving account for this month.
terence_say
post Nov 5 2015, 08:39 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 4 2015, 05:43 PM)
What others equity funds that u think is performing besides First State Dividend Advantage  (Asia Pac Ex Jap)?
If you are going to a regional tactical fund.
Europe market and Japan market with QE is worth a look.

Europe may can have a look at Allianz Europe equity
Japan may can look at Eastspring Japan dynamic

If higher risk taker, Indonesia and India pure equity fund is suitable for long term, try to choose those accumulate and without dividend payment for tactical equity.

But ofcourse, first state DIVA are all the way the best selling fund especially for CPF OA investment. Constant divident, 1% of NAV every quarter with proven upside possibility is the best selling point.

If you are higher risk taker and looking at a sector fund
Healthcare sector may a good area to consider
Eg: United health care fund.

terence_say
post Nov 5 2015, 08:41 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Nov 5 2015, 08:38 AM)
Doing the sAme way on monthly RSP, just got GIRO deduction from my saving account for this month.
Yup, I just checked my account, the GIRO just go through. They GIRO 3 business day before the subscription date which normally is 8 of every month unless 8 is a non business day then become 9

could you mind sharing which fund is in your RSP list?

This post has been edited by terence_say: Nov 5 2015, 08:47 AM
TSdasecret
post Nov 5 2015, 08:56 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 5 2015, 07:49 AM)
I was advised by CIS that choose one of them coz they are having same mandate.

What i understand frm FSM Msia thread, sky high price means u get lesser units. when choosing a unit, u should see its performance instead of its price smile.gif correct me if wrong.
Oops, wrong term... I mean already at very high valuations... anyway... no bullets how to buy?! I transferred some long term money to Singapore for capital protection from the declining forex, so looking for not so high risk funds. So likely I wont go into HY funds, but the Amundi fund sounds good. Thanks for the recommendations!

Btw, for a 28 year old chap you are doing very well in terms of investing rclxms.gif
I still blur blur at that age

TSdasecret
post Nov 5 2015, 09:13 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 4 2015, 10:39 PM)
mutual fund = unit trust fund
different name for the same thing

While a unit trust fund can be an equity fund, bond fund, balance fund, or a money market fund

Same.

Bonds are either valued at market value or yield-to-maturity amortised cost (well, this is an accounting/finance term, go learn more if u keen tongue.gif ).

A mutual fund's NAV is the aggregate of its assets less its liabilities.

Hence, NAV price is NAV divided by no. of units.

Glad to have helped smile.gif
TQ boss to help explain thumbup.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Nov 5 2015, 09:17 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Nov 5 2015, 09:13 AM)
TQ boss to help explain  thumbup.gif
I don't belong to this thread...

But u can call on me anytime to explain on the technical stuff on UTs biggrin.gif
TSdasecret
post Nov 5 2015, 09:28 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 5 2015, 09:17 AM)
I don't belong to this thread...

But u can call on me anytime to explain on the technical stuff on UTs biggrin.gif
Wont consider putting some money into Singapore? SG REITs I was told is not bad too...
SUSPink Spider
post Nov 5 2015, 09:28 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Nov 5 2015, 09:28 AM)
Wont consider putting some money into Singapore? SG REITs I was told is not bad too...
Wait next year bonus baru fikir, my MY investments serving me well thus far tongue.gif

Wait, next year bonus dunno got or not...times are bad sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Nov 5 2015, 09:29 AM
Hansel
post Nov 5 2015, 09:29 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(yck1987 @ Nov 5 2015, 08:38 AM)
Of the five funds that you have listed, please be careful of the Allianz Income and Growth Fund, the Platform Fee in FSM Sgp follows the structure for Equities Fund. This Platform Fee thing started back ard 2010/2011, and for those who purchased Fixed-Income Funds, the Platform Fee is 0.05% of your holdings amount per quarter, deducted around the middle of the months of Mar, Jun, Sep and Dec.

This equates to 0.20% of your holdings amt per year.

I don't recall the Equities Fund Platform Fee, but it is higher than the one for Fixed Income Funds !
Hansel
post Nov 5 2015, 09:37 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 4 2015, 10:39 PM)
mutual fund = unit trust fund
different name for the same thing

While a unit trust fund can be an equity fund, bond fund, balance fund, or a money market fund

Same.

Bonds are either valued at market value or yield-to-maturity amortised cost (well, this is an accounting/finance term, go learn more if u keen tongue.gif ).

A mutual fund's NAV is the aggregate of its assets less its liabilities.

Hence, NAV price is NAV divided by no. of units.

Glad to have helped smile.gif
Bonds are tradeable, when the price of a bond goes up or down, the annualised coupon payout of the bond when divided by the current mkt price of the same bond goes up or down too. This in turn, gives rise to the yield of the bond.

This is called the : yield-to-maturity = YTM.

The YTM amortised cost of the same bond is related to this movement as the bond undergoes buying and selling in the marketplace where it is traded upon as it apprached its maturity date day-by-day, if it is not a perpetual bond.

But be careful of a bond that is redeemable, where it can be called back by the issuer at the pre-agreed terms of the issuer. We must understand the terms.

SUSPink Spider
post Nov 5 2015, 09:41 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 5 2015, 09:37 AM)
Bonds are tradeable, when the price of a bond goes up or down, the annualised coupon payout of the bond when divided by the current mkt price of the same bond goes up or down too. This in turn, gives rise to the yield of the bond.

This is called the : yield-to-maturity = YTM.

The YTM amortised cost of the same bond is related to this movement as the bond undergoes buying and selling in the marketplace where it is traded upon as it apprached its maturity date day-by-day, if it is not a perpetual bond.

But be careful of a bond that is redeemable, where it can be called back by the issuer at the pre-agreed terms of the issuer. We must understand the terms.
Whether to value a bond at market value or at amortised cost is a matter of accounting policy.

If the holder i.e. the fund intends to AND have a history of holding bonds to maturity, it has the OPTION of valuing its bond holdings at amortised cost, but if the fund displays history/trend of selling for profit i.e. trading bonds, then it has to value at market value. This is what I learned from my accounting studies.

Benefit of valuing at amortised cost would be, market fluctuations won't hit your P&L. But I guess most bond funds would be trading bonds occasionally, this making amortised cost accounting inapplicable.

Wow, let's not stray into financial accounting stuff here, let's stop this topic here shall we? biggrin.gif
Hansel
post Nov 5 2015, 09:58 AM

9,348 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 5 2015, 09:41 AM)
Whether to value a bond at market value or at amortised cost is a matter of accounting policy.

If the holder i.e. the fund intends to AND have a history of holding bonds to maturity, it has the OPTION of valuing its bond holdings at amortised cost, but if the fund displays history/trend of selling for profit i.e. trading bonds, then it has to value at market value. This is what I learned from my accounting studies.

Benefit of valuing at amortised cost would be, market fluctuations won't hit your P&L. But I guess most bond funds would be trading bonds occasionally, this making amortised cost accounting inapplicable.

Wow, let's not stray into financial accounting stuff here, let's stop this topic here shall we? biggrin.gif
I'll put it in more layman's terms. In Sgp,... we call the amortised cost as being the closest possible to the mark-tomkt value. Today, if I am to take a loan of any form in Sgp, my collaterals will always be evaluated frequently against the mark-to-mkt value. The mark-to mkt value dos change, though not it is not that volatile. If it is too volatile, then nobody would want to borrow in Sgp anymore.

BOnd FUnds - this is what I am into,... HY Funds. No,... Bond Funds do sell and buy and with this action - they are managing our portfolios actively. this activity of buying and selling is more apparent when the mkt is volatile and the rate of default goes up. This is to keep us safe, and the reason why we are paying the manager fees.

I would want them to buy and sell more frequently, since I have alaredy paid their charges. They should not just sit on their laurels and try to save on their side of the fees for buying and selling and managing their portfolios effectively - I have heard of certain bond funds trying to save on their fees, even when these fees are negligent.

Amortisation is a term closely related to an accounting event 'predicted' for the future, much like Depreciation. The contribution of the Amortisation effect is important for the purpose of calculation,... in our current debate, the value for investors. Hence, the Amortised Cost must be watched closely, and not to be taken lightly as if there is no movement at all.

Accounting can be captured fairly quickly and easily by 21st Century individuals. Sometimes, we need to dive into it when we wish to have safer investments.
SUSPink Spider
post Nov 5 2015, 10:00 AM

16,872 posts

rclxub.gif

I surrender notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Nov 5 2015, 10:00 AM
terence_say
post Nov 5 2015, 10:15 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 5 2015, 09:29 AM)
Of the five funds that you have listed, please be careful of the Allianz Income and Growth Fund, the Platform Fee in FSM Sgp follows the structure for Equities Fund. This Platform Fee thing started back ard 2010/2011, and for those who purchased Fixed-Income Funds, the Platform Fee is 0.05% of your holdings amount per quarter, deducted around the middle of the months of Mar, Jun, Sep and Dec.

This equates to 0.20% of your holdings amt per year.

I don't recall the Equities Fund Platform Fee, but it is higher than the one for Fixed Income Funds !
Hi Hansel, thanks for your reminder
I always transfer out my unit to UOB every 6 months to avoid this so called "platform fees"
Hansel
post Nov 5 2015, 10:22 AM

9,348 posts

Okay,... gents, I need to rush to the airport,... the captain will issue just two calls after everybody has boarded EVEN though they declared they will wait for ALL 'front' passengers who have checked-in to board before they close the final doors for takeoff.

Pinky,.. appreciated your comments, Sir,... thank you.
yck1987
post Nov 5 2015, 11:20 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(terence_say @ Nov 5 2015, 10:15 AM)
Hi Hansel, thanks for your reminder
I always transfer out my unit to UOB every 6 months to avoid this so called "platform fees"
rclxms.gif you know the Ninja trick of SG version. ph34r.gif
Another thing do you notice that there are no switching fees charges even you make inter-fund same tier switching between different fund house in Equity fund? This is so different from MY version that need to pay the initial SC again when you switch into different fund house and this could bring benefit to those investor that do regular switching from one and another fund for the saving of upfront fees. thumbup.gif
prince_mk
post Nov 5 2015, 11:21 AM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 5 2015, 08:08 AM)
101% correct
Boss Pinky

I learnt frm you. Tks for useful posting in FSM Msia thread. But i m still picking up. Keep up the efforts.
yck1987
post Nov 5 2015, 11:41 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Nov 5 2015, 11:21 AM)
Boss Pinky

I learnt frm you. Tks for useful posting in FSM Msia thread. But i m still picking up. Keep up the efforts.
Ya ,I started with FSM Msia and learn from him too. Sifu pinky thumbup.gif

44 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:42 PM