Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread

Ramjade
post Mar 13 2017, 10:28 AM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 13 2017, 10:23 AM)
Yeah I know its not likely as its too good to be true. sad.gif  Well yeah I don't want the hassle of trying to selling them off, then didn't get the "glitched" amount, then I have to purchase them all over again. Well I will just leave it probably.

BTW where do I see my dividends payout, if any?
Dividends in UT are not important. Eg. They give you 10% dividends, the price drop by 10%
TSdasecret
post Mar 13 2017, 10:29 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 13 2017, 10:23 AM)
Yeah I know its not likely as its too good to be true. sad.gif  Well yeah I don't want the hassle of trying to selling them off, then didn't get the "glitched" amount, then I have to purchase them all over again. Well I will just leave it probably.

BTW where do I see my dividends payout, if any?
For FSM One? No clue. I suspect they would just reinvest the distributed amount in units.

For FSM unit trust holdings you can see from the monthly statement and distribution vouchers they email you, and also from the historic transactions
Hansel
post Mar 13 2017, 10:31 AM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 13 2017, 10:28 AM)
Dividends in UT are not important. Eg. They give you 10% dividends, the price drop by 10%
Not all funds, bro,... I have funds which give out divvies every mth, and the price still rises according to fundamentals,... eg oil price,...

Steven7
post Mar 14 2017, 02:38 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 13 2017, 10:29 AM)
For FSM One? No clue. I suspect they would just reinvest the distributed amount in units.

For FSM unit trust holdings you can see from the monthly statement and distribution vouchers they email you, and also from the historic transactions
Ahh nvm. Somehow the system "readjust" my current holding and everything is normal now, albeit still at loss.
TSdasecret
post Mar 15 2017, 09:12 AM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 14 2017, 02:38 PM)
Ahh nvm. Somehow the system "readjust" my current holding and everything is normal now, albeit still at loss.
Eh, you are right, the numbers now gone back to normal

Makes me wonder if the FSM folks also stalks this thread tongue.gif
Ramjade
post Mar 15 2017, 09:55 AM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 13 2017, 10:31 AM)
Not all funds, bro,... I have funds which give out divvies every mth, and the price still rises according to fundamentals,... eg oil price,...
dasecret, AIYH what do you think of the above?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 15 2017, 09:56 AM
AIYH
post Mar 15 2017, 10:51 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 13 2017, 10:31 AM)
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 15 2017, 09:55 AM)
Yes, it can rise after ex dividend date

But it doesn't change the fact that the divvies are from the NAV itself, means when dividend/distribution declare, NAV/share price will drop.

In essence, the dividend itself are not extra money from the company, rather, it is a rebalance of nav/share price, your value in the stock/share will not change pre and post dividend.

So a fund which declare 6% yearly dividend is not better than a fund which do not declare dividend.

Some people use dividend as a factor to determine a share/fund strength instead of their fundamental.

One should focus on the fundamental instead of the dividend because dividend distribution alone doesn't affect your holding value at all

p/s: this does mean the monthly dividend fund is not good. The fund is good because of its fundamental, not the dividend.

This post has been edited by AIYH: Mar 15 2017, 10:52 AM
Hansel
post Mar 15 2017, 02:43 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Mar 15 2017, 10:51 AM)

But it doesn't change the fact that the divvies are from the NAV itself, means when dividend/distribution declare, NAV/share price will drop.

In essence, the dividend itself are not extra money from the company, rather, it is a rebalance of nav/share price, your value in the stock/share will not change pre and post dividend.

So a fund which declare 6% yearly dividend is not better than a fund which do not declare dividend.

Some people use dividend as a factor to determine a share/fund strength instead of their fundamental.

One should focus on the fundamental instead of the dividend because dividend distribution alone doesn't affect your holding value at all

p/s: this does mean the monthly dividend fund is not good. The fund is good because of its fundamental, not the dividend.
Tq AIYH,...

I'll just respond with one of the monthly payout funds that I hold for which I bought when the nav dropped back when oil price dropped. The fund is the Allianz US HY Cl AM-USD, entry price USD7.79 per unit, monthly dividend payout USD0.06 per unit.

Hence, yield for me is at 9.24%.

The price of this fund is now at USD9.13 per unit.

Of course, the dpu payout and the nav can fall, with similar risks to buying stocks and REITs.
Steven7
post Mar 17 2017, 10:03 AM

255 posts

Hi guys, just came back from FSM SG MAPS Seminar yesterday, its a small group closed events (~20 people). Just some sharing, first they talked about MAPS performance since inception. For Balanced, its 3.7% return (Balanced) vs 3.2% (Income), for Moderately Aggressive its 4.4% vs 3.7%, for Aggressive its 4.7% vs 4.0. Pretty good number so far with so follow-up light bashing on jokes on Aderdeen recent years performance.

Then its fund-by-fund analysis by comparing to internal benchmark, nothing I will go into here.

Here comes the main point, there will be the first portfolios rebalancing soon. They will be moving things around by reducing allocation on markets/product they deem unattractive. For instance, they will be fixing ETF due to ETF underperformed, reducing bets on fixed income due to unattractive returns.

Some explanation on upcoming risks, such as upcoming election on German and French and how the new leader going to address immigrants issues is going to play a role, in terms of economic stability.

Okay guys, projected portfolio growth! From Aggressive to Conservative (I may have written down the wrong number for Aggresive). 9.1%, 8.5%, 7.2%, 5.8%, 4.3%.

Funny side note, someone asked about company stability during QNA as iFast were at its all time low yesterday.

P/S. The free dinner is awesome, and I gotta say, the lady who works at iFast is gorgeous af.

Edit: Tagging Ramjade, dasecret

This post has been edited by Steven7: Mar 17 2017, 02:37 PM
TSdasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 04:06 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 15 2017, 09:55 AM)
QUOTE(AIYH @ Mar 15 2017, 10:51 AM)

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 15 2017, 02:43 PM)
Tq AIYH,...

I'll just respond with one of the monthly payout funds that I hold for which I bought when the nav dropped back when oil price dropped. The fund is the Allianz US HY Cl AM-USD, entry price USD7.79 per unit, monthly dividend payout USD0.06 per unit.

Hence, yield for me is at 9.24%.

The price of this fund is now at USD9.13 per unit.

Of course, the dpu payout and the nav can fall, with similar risks to buying stocks and REITs.
There's a reason why I usually keep quiet when bro hansel say something. It's quite impossible to convince him what he has in mind is not necessary right

This fund doesn't look attractive to me for long term play; yes, in the past one year it may have done not bad, 1 yr return of 17.08%. The performance is similar to the other funds in this class

But with the feds raising rates, is this really the asset class you want to be in. If you look at 2 years and more, it's not particularly spectacular either

If you compare it to the US EQ funds, this one really pale in comparison lor
TSdasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 04:11 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 17 2017, 10:03 AM)
Hi guys, just came back from FSM SG MAPS Seminar yesterday, its a small group closed events (~20 people). Just some sharing, first they talked about MAPS performance since inception. For Balanced, its 3.7% return (Balanced) vs 3.2% (Income), for Moderately Aggressive its 4.4% vs 3.7%, for Aggressive its 4.7% vs 4.0. Pretty good number so far with so follow-up light bashing on jokes on Aderdeen recent years performance.

Then its fund-by-fund analysis by comparing to internal benchmark, nothing I will go into here.

Here comes the main point, there will be the first portfolios rebalancing soon. They will be moving things around by reducing allocation on markets/product they deem unattractive. For instance, they will be fixing ETF due to ETF underperformed, reducing bets on fixed income due to unattractive returns.

Some explanation on upcoming risks, such as upcoming election on German and French and how the new leader going to address immigrants issues is going to play a role, in terms of economic stability.

Okay guys, projected portfolio growth! From Aggressive to Conservative (I may have written down the wrong number for Aggresive). 9.1%, 8.5%, 7.2%, 5.8%, 4.3%.

Funny side note, someone asked about company stability during QNA as iFast were at its all time low yesterday.

P/S. The free dinner is awesome, and I gotta say, the lady who works at iFast is gorgeous af.

Edit: Tagging Ramjade, dasecret
rclxms.gif Thanks for sharing!

Surprised there were only 20 ppl attending. But I think they only open it to ppl who already bought into MAPS, early days I guess.

Did you ask them about the system calculation of your fund value and returns?

What do you mean by 'fixing ETF'? Top up or change to another one?
The projected returns is annualised? 7.2% is good enough for me
Steven7
post Mar 17 2017, 04:30 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 04:11 PM)
rclxms.gif Thanks for sharing!

Surprised there were only 20 ppl attending. But I think they only open it to ppl who already bought into MAPS, early days I guess.

Did you ask them about the system calculation of your fund value and returns?

What do you mean by 'fixing ETF'? Top up or change to another one?
The projected returns is annualised? 7.2% is good enough for me
Once they reach a quota they closed down registration already. I RSVP'ed earlier.

You mean the mistake they did last time? No I didn't.

By fixing ETF, I mean they are trying to deallocate from ETF soon, probably during the rebalancing, I told you about as they think their allocation on ETF is overweight and ETF as a whole is unattractive.

Yeap its annualized.

This post has been edited by Steven7: Mar 17 2017, 04:30 PM
TSdasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 05:00 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Steven7 @ Mar 17 2017, 04:30 PM)
Once they reach a quota they closed down registration already. I RSVP'ed earlier.

You mean the mistake they did last time? No I didn't.

By fixing ETF, I mean they are trying to deallocate from ETF soon, probably during the rebalancing, I told you about as they think their allocation on ETF is overweight and ETF as a whole is unattractive.

Yeap its annualized.
Hmm, interesting, everyone loves ETF and FSM SG decided against it
But I don't mind geh. Beats doing it myself anyway
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 05:03 PM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 05:00 PM)
Hmm, interesting, everyone loves ETF and FSM SG decided against it
But I don't mind geh. Beats doing it myself anyway
If a fund can beat ETF consistently, I will say it's a keeper. I am willing to pay the fund manager for that service.
Hansel
post Mar 17 2017, 06:36 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 04:06 PM)
There's a reason why I usually keep quiet when bro hansel say something. It's quite impossible to convince him what he has in mind is not necessary right

This fund doesn't look attractive to me for long term play; yes, in the past one year it may have done not bad, 1 yr return of 17.08%. The performance is similar to the other funds in this class

But with the feds raising rates, is this really the asset class you want to be in. If you look at 2 years and more, it's not particularly spectacular either

If you compare it to the US EQ funds, this one really pale in comparison lor
Bro/Sis,... appreciated yr comments,....

1) The HY funds are said to have properties closer to equities than to bonds. With a growing economy in the US, if equities do well,...theoretically, the HY funds will do well too.

2) I have reinvested the dividends I've collected over the years INTO other asset classes besides these HY funds themselves. It's not easy to calculate the returns from there, but I hold on to the concept that the faster I get my money in my hands, the faster I can reinvest them into other instruments to generate more returns.

3) The table that you showed are in SGD terms, meaning the returns have been converted into the SGD and then calculated in SGD, hence,... exchange rate effect is there. In their absolute currency terms, my returns are higher.

4) Your performance table was pulled from either Fundsupermart SG or POEMS, and the returns are in SGD terms because their investors normally convert the dividends received into the SGD. I don't, I collect my returns in the foreign currencies that such dividends were generated in,... and,... when the exchange rate is favourable, I may convert over. Otherwise, I my use the same currency cash in hand to invest into instruments of similar currencies.

Egs,... I will use the USD divvies I earned to invest into Manulife US REIT. I may use the AUD divvies I earned to invest into the ASX !

I guessed I don't have specific numerics to illustrate my returns,... but I noticed I keep getting more and more foreign currencies dropping into my different wallets.

What is the average return of a good US Equity fund ?
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 06:45 PM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 17 2017, 06:36 PM)

1) The HY funds are said to have properties closer to equities than to bonds. With a growing economy in the US, if equities do well,...theoretically, the HY funds will do well too.

2) I have reinvested the dividends I've collected over the years INTO other asset classes besides these HY funds themselves. It's not easy to calculate the returns from there, but I hold on to the concept that the faster I get my money in my hands, the faster I can reinvest them into other instruments to generate more returns.

3) The table that you showed are in SGD terms, meaning the returns have been converted into the SGD and then calculated in SGD, hence,... exchange rate effect is there. In their absolute currency terms, my returns are higher.

4) Your performance table was pulled from either Fundsupermart SG or POEMS, and the returns are in SGD terms because their investors normally convert the dividends received into the SGD. I don't, I collect my returns in the foreign currencies that such dividends were generated in,... and,... when the exchange rate is favourable, I may convert over. Otherwise, I my use the same currency cash in hand to invest into instruments of similar currencies.

Egs,... I will use the USD divvies I earned to invest into Manulife US REIT. I may use the AUD divvies I earned to invest into the ASX !

I guessed I don't have specific numerics to illustrate my returns,... but I noticed I keep getting more and more foreign currencies dropping into my different wallets.

Check out Fidelity America/Fidelity Global Tech (this one is in Eur but 70-80% coverage of the US so it's basically a US fund).

For fidelity America, you can choose to pay in SGD or USD (there are 2 funds with different currency). For me I will choose SGD as there's no way to do online transfer from a USD/MCA account into FSM/Phillip. Heck even SG banks does not allow one to transfer USD/HKD/AUD between banks via online which I thought they can. Kind of a let down considering SG is suppose to be "advanced". They only let you transfer SGD doh.gif
Hansel
post Mar 17 2017, 07:02 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 17 2017, 06:45 PM)
Check out Fidelity America/Fidelity Global Tech (this one is in Eur but 70-80% coverage of the US so it's basically a US fund).

For fidelity America, you can choose to pay in SGD or USD (there are 2 funds with different currency). For me I will choose SGD as there's no way to do online transfer from a USD/MCA account into FSM/Phillip. Heck even SG banks does not allow one to transfer USD/HKD/AUD between banks via online which I thought they can. Kind of a let down considering SG is suppose to be "advanced". They only let you transfer SGD doh.gif
Bro,... you still have much to experiment and to discover in terms of moving funds ard the banks in SG without being onsite physically,... guessed this is one skill that an offsite investor must learn to pickup if he wants to invest in SG. Otherwise, it will be totally impossible and too costly to invest there !
TSdasecret
post Mar 17 2017, 07:10 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 17 2017, 06:36 PM)

Sigh, this is why I malas ni

The table i showed is USD denominated funds; the forex gain/loss in SGD is not considered. Your returns may be higher due to the timing you bought in; but since you don't use XIRR to calculate, actually we can't really tell what's your returns in annualised % terms.

All this "I feel my returns is good" is hard to be quantified. No offense but you really do that a lot. Including how much forex gains you made by converting RM to SGD and AUD, without doing the maths, it's just shiok sendiri. Not too different from the property talk folks; "I made RM100k from one project" etc; without quantifying the net returns and time apportion the gains

This is US EQ fund sorted by 3 years annualised returns. All those in the list are >10% per annum over the past 3 years. So if you say HY bond behaves like EQ funds, then the returns definitely is no where near

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 17 2017, 06:45 PM)

For fidelity America, you can choose to pay in SGD or USD (there are 2 funds with different currency). For me I will choose SGD as there's no way to do online transfer from a USD/MCA account into FSM/Phillip. Heck even SG banks does not allow one to transfer USD/HKD/AUD between banks via online which I thought they can. Kind of a let down considering SG is suppose to be "advanced". They only let you transfer SGD  doh.gif
You don't have to buy using USD. You can send SGD into FSM SG and they convert into USD to buy into this fund for you. But rate good or not I didn't compare lor. That's how I bought the Fidelity America USD fund. Haven't sell it so not sure if I can keep the USD in cash account or must convert to SGD. I suspect it's the former as there is USD denominated cash account
Ramjade
post Mar 17 2017, 07:17 PM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 17 2017, 07:02 PM)
Bro,... you still have much to experiment and to discover in terms of moving funds ard the banks in SG without being onsite physically,...  guessed this is one skill that an offsite investor must learn to pickup if he wants to invest in SG. Otherwise, it will be totally impossible and too costly to invest there !
Can you share? I have tried emailing the banks, they all told me your only option is TT from SGD into USD account even though both banks are in SG. doh.gif

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 07:10 PM)
You don't have to buy using USD. You can send SGD into FSM SG and they convert into USD to buy into this fund for you. But rate good or not I didn't compare lor. That's how I bought the Fidelity America USD fund. Haven't sell it so not sure if I can keep the USD in cash account or must convert to SGD. I suspect it's the former as there is USD denominated cash account
That I know. I asked Phillip. Told me you can pay in SGD. AIYH and I was having a talk about which platform to use to buy Fidelity Global Tech. FSM SG let you buy small amout while Phillip keras want you to topup min EUR500 worth

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 17 2017, 07:20 PM
Hansel
post Mar 17 2017, 09:49 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 17 2017, 07:10 PM)
Sigh, this is why I malas ni

The table i showed is USD denominated funds; the forex gain/loss in SGD is not considered. Your returns may be higher due to the timing you bought in; but since you don't use XIRR to calculate, actually we can't really tell what's your returns in annualised % terms.

All this "I feel my returns is good" is hard to be quantified. No offense but you really do that a lot. Including how much forex gains you made by converting RM to SGD and AUD, without doing the maths, it's just shiok sendiri. Not too different from the property talk folks; "I made RM100k from one project" etc; without quantifying the net returns and time apportion the gains

This is US EQ fund sorted by 3 years annualised returns. All those in the list are >10% per annum over the past 3 years. So if you say HY bond behaves like EQ funds, then the returns definitely is no where near
It's okay, if you feel lazy, do not reply,...

I too feel lazy at times to QUANTIFY things like what you said, and especially after how you said things,.... so,.. no need to read my postings,...yeah,.. I must be 'shiok sendiri' then,... biggrin.gif

44 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:38 AM