unless there's some kind of bailout from the government

"PM to announce comprehensive stimulus package on March 27" devil.gif
Gold_Moderator
post Mar 25 2020, 04:54 PM

3,097 posts

QUOTE(ayamback @ Mar 25 2020, 04:12 PM)
Airasia rebound?
From 50 cents. Yes. Now AirAsia is flying.
TSnexona88
post Mar 26 2020, 04:49 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,419 posts

there's little birdy saying that government might take over the debts own by AA something like that.. transfer into some SPV...

there's also another news mention about taking company private (but personally I don't think it's would happen.. huge debt who want to take private laugh.gif)
moosset
post Mar 26 2020, 05:01 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 26 2020, 04:49 PM)
there's little birdy saying that government might take over the debts own by AA something like that.. transfer into some SPV...

there's also another news mention about taking company private (but personally I don't think it's would happen.. huge debt who want to take private laugh.gif)
what is SPV?

take over debt of AA or AAX?
AVFAN
post Mar 26 2020, 05:23 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 26 2020, 04:49 PM)

u can be sure all that will happen in due time.

not only AA but maybe a few dozen others... transport, banks, auto, resorts, glc's....

question is which one first and where to find the money. biggrin.gif

another thing is everyone always eyeing and salivating....epf... so, watch this one also.
TSnexona88
post Mar 26 2020, 05:23 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,419 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Mar 26 2020, 05:01 PM)
what is SPV?

take over debt of AA or AAX?
Special Purpose Vehicle.. entities which would take over debts...

AA or AAX or both.. that part not very clear...
TSnexona88
post Mar 26 2020, 05:28 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,419 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 26 2020, 05:23 PM)

not only AA but maybe a few dozen others... transport, banks, auto, resorts, glc's....

another thing is everyone always eyeing and salivating....epf... so, watch this one also.
Just sharing what I heard...
True or not only time would tell..

EPF?
Really pity..
Everyone eyeing them for funding....
Milking to the maximum..

AVFAN
post Mar 26 2020, 05:30 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 26 2020, 05:28 PM)
Just sharing what I heard...
True or not only time would tell..

EPF?
Really pity..
Everyone eyeing them for funding....
Milking to the maximum..
what u heard is what u hear all the time.... becos that is what happens whenever someone needs bailing!!

epf is the only real fund with real money... the rest, all infected. tongue.gif
Boon3
post Mar 26 2020, 05:53 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 26 2020, 05:23 PM)

Just sharing some rant..

This goes to show that these rumours do not read the facts supplied by AA in their qr reports. It's really not difficult to read.

Previously, at one point, it had less than a billion cash but over 12 billion in debts. It was so bad that it is FORCED to resort to sale and leaseback to reduce debts.

Total debts as per last qr showed only 400 million plus.

They sold planes to the leading company. Problem is how big is their lease? It is now over 12 billion and counting....

Frankly, I be mighty pissed if AA is bailed out with any of our tax money. Why? My reasons...

1. company was reckless. They bought planes without a blink of an eye. The infamous plane purchase, which subsequently, got the bosses into trouble was an 18 billion USD purchase. A massive and mind boggling order of planes when Airasia still had 150+ planes yet to be delivered. And yeah the following year after that purchase cane that 50 million usd sponsorship to sports team owned by Ah Tony.

2. company is reckless with their hedging. 10 years ago they got burnt bad in their hedging and lost millions. And yet their hedging amount is crazy. They bet on oil contracts, they bet on interest rate and they bet on currencies. Can someone make a table out and show how much they made and how many millions they had lost in their hedging? Compare it with the actual running of their plane operation. Are they a hedging company or are they an airplane company?

3. The owners. So much issues I can bring out. The said sponsor money. Oh and issues like arrogantly and blatantly ignoring rules such as no credit card surcharges imposed on travellers who charge with their credit cards. Bank Negara said no surcharges and yet Airasia dared to arrogantly charge those charges. I could go on... The unbelievable special private placement of shares to JUST Ah Tony and gang who subsequently got a huge payday when Airasia paid out 2 trenches of special dividends.

Hell. I would be really pissed if they get a bailout!!

This post has been edited by Boon3: Mar 26 2020, 05:54 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 26 2020, 06:02 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 26 2020, 05:53 PM)
1. company was reckless.

1. ALL of "them" are reckless.... becos recklessness makes them richer than rich.

2. this round, not so easy... will be hard to find funds... heck, even petronas may need a bailout if crude stays at $25 for a year or longer!

we see other countries announcing tens of billions to help biz and we read meagre "millions"... and... "withdraw yr own epf"!

some shitshow coming.

anyway, back to AA... will be helluva show to keep this one flying.

it may end up as "now, everyone can own (part of) a plane". tongue.gif
ju146
post Mar 26 2020, 06:18 PM

1,594 posts

50 cents stock. Airline will be the last industry to recover
AVFAN
post Mar 26 2020, 06:38 PM

24,452 posts

latest...

AirAsia grounds its fleet around the world
FMT Reporters -March 26, 2020 6:29 PM

AirAsia has announced suspension of most or all AirAsia and AirAsiaX flights from various countries it operates out of, including Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines and India.
PETALING JAYA: AirAsia Group Berhad has announced the grounding of most of its fleet around the world due to Covid-19, which has led to extensive border restrictions by various countries.

In a statement, it listed the suspension of most or all AirAsia and AirAsiaX flights from various countries it operates out of, including Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines and India.
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...ound-the-world/

icemanfx
post Mar 26 2020, 07:51 PM

21,456 posts

AK aircrafts leasor are foreigners; lease default is unlikely to cause systemic risks to local banks.

The gomen may offer some relief but there is no justification for tax payers to take up AK debts.

There is a high possibility for D7 to clip its wings.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Mar 26 2020, 07:59 PM
moosset
post Mar 26 2020, 08:48 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 26 2020, 05:30 PM)
what u heard is what u hear all the time.... becos that is what happens whenever someone needs bailing!!

epf is the only real fund with real money... the rest, all infected. tongue.gif
why EPF is the only one?
Petronas, PNB, Tabung Haji, KWSP, KWAP?

QUOTE(ju146 @ Mar 26 2020, 06:18 PM)
even if they recover, airlines are still a challenging business.

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Mar 26 2020, 07:51 PM)
AK aircrafts leasor are foreigners; lease default is unlikely to cause systemic risks to local banks.

The gomen may offer some relief but there is no justification for tax payers to take up AK debts.

There is a high possibility for D7 to clip its wings.
clip wings? meaning sell the AAX they own, like portion of Thai AA, AA Indo, AA Japan?
Bendan[520]
post Mar 27 2020, 11:03 AM

Nerd
1,021 posts

This counter still can invest? Besides shorting, anyone still dare to dump in money ah?
AVFAN
post Mar 27 2020, 12:10 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Mar 26 2020, 06:18 PM)
u said it first!

set to lose over RM1.1 billion, says analyst
Bernama -March 27, 2020 11:24 AM

AirAsia and its subsidiaries around the world have reduced flight frequencies and grounded hundreds of aircraft.
KUALA LUMPUR: AirAsia Group could report steeper losses in excess of RM1.1 billion in 2020, following its decision to ground its aircrafts worldwide due to the Covid-19 pandemic, according to Affin Hwang Capital.

The research firm said in a note today that the drastic move highlights the dire operating environment faced by the airline industry.

In tandem, it reiterated a “sell” on AirAsia’s shares with a lower 12-month price target to RM0.49.
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...n-says-analyst/

ju146
post Mar 27 2020, 12:26 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 27 2020, 12:10 PM)
u said it first!
did i just jinx it laugh.gif
moneyd9
post Mar 27 2020, 08:46 PM

547 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 26 2020, 05:53 PM)
Just sharing some rant..

This goes to show that these rumours do not read the facts supplied by AA in their qr reports. It's really not difficult to read.

Previously, at one point, it had less than a billion cash but over 12 billion in debts. It was so bad that it is FORCED to resort to sale and leaseback to reduce debts.

Total debts as per last qr showed only 400 million plus.

They sold planes to the leading company. Problem is how big is their lease? It is now over 12 billion and counting....

Frankly, I be mighty pissed if AA is bailed out with any of our tax money. Why? My reasons...

1. company was reckless. They bought planes without a blink of an eye. The infamous plane purchase, which subsequently, got the bosses into trouble was an 18 billion USD purchase. A massive and mind boggling order of planes when Airasia still had 150+ planes yet to be delivered. And yeah the following year after that purchase cane that 50 million usd sponsorship to sports team owned by Ah Tony.

2. company is reckless with their hedging. 10 years ago they got burnt bad in their hedging and lost millions. And yet their hedging amount is crazy. They bet on oil contracts, they bet on interest rate and they bet on currencies. Can someone make a table out and show how much they made and how many millions they had lost in their hedging? Compare it with the actual running of their plane operation. Are they a hedging company or are they an airplane company?

3. The owners. So much issues I can bring out. The said sponsor money. Oh and issues like arrogantly and blatantly ignoring rules such as no credit card surcharges imposed on travellers who charge with their credit cards. Bank Negara said no surcharges and yet Airasia dared to arrogantly charge those charges. I could go on... The unbelievable special private placement of shares to JUST Ah Tony and gang who subsequently got a huge payday when Airasia paid out 2 trenches of special dividends.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 26 2020, 06:02 PM)
1. ALL of "them" are reckless.... becos recklessness makes them richer than rich.

2. this round, not so easy... will be hard to find funds... heck, even petronas may need a bailout if crude stays at $25 for a year or longer!

we see other countries announcing tens of billions to help biz and we read meagre "millions"... and... "withdraw yr own epf"!

some shitshow coming.

anyway, back to AA... will be helluva show to keep this one flying.

it may end up as "now, everyone can own (part of) a plane". tongue.gif
I near to my choice want to buy because of share price drop 50 sen . Thinking twice i better invest on others , NOT AA
paintballunited
post Mar 29 2020, 02:25 PM

Can anyone explain to me why this stock has not tanked? It is still holding above 0.50 - who and what is holding it up??
moosset
post Mar 29 2020, 03:35 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(paintballunited @ Mar 29 2020, 02:25 PM)
Can anyone explain to me why this stock has not tanked? It is still holding above 0.50 - who and what  is holding it up??
already tanked? what else do you expect? are you waiting for RM0.01 ??

55 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:19 AM