24,449 posts

QUOTE(donhay @ Jan 28 2020, 10:40 AM)
My Airasia paper loss is -15%  today sad.gif

What should I do???
i just dumped.

fight another day.

it is already weak in the last few months.

now, this virus will add to the misery.

the effect on airlines, hotels, tourism has yet to be felt.

https://www.cnbc.com/2020/01/28/coronavirus...-economies.html

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 28 2020, 03:44 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 4 2020, 02:27 PM

24,449 posts

PETALING JAYA: In the past week, the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) has disposed of 7.92 million shares in AirAsia Group Berhad.

According to two separate filings on Bursa Malaysia, the retirement fund disposed of 7.43 million shares on Jan 28 and another 492,500 shares the following day.

After the disposals, EPF continues to hold 210.4 million shares, representing a 6.29% stake in the company.

This was a couple of days before allegations that the airline received a US$50 million bribe from aircraft manufacturer Airbus was reported. AirAsia has vigorously denied the allegations.
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...claims-emerged/

AVFAN
post Feb 28 2020, 06:42 PM

24,449 posts

exactly a month ago, jan 28, i dumped it at 1.50, took small loss.

1.00... likely go to 80 sen.

AVFAN
post Feb 28 2020, 08:31 PM

24,449 posts

pls wait until next week... see what happens.

not only cv19 but home politics... see which crony fren-fren with new pm,dpm, cabinet in new gomen.

Tommy Thomas quits as A-G

AVFAN
post Mar 12 2020, 10:54 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Intimidated @ Mar 12 2020, 10:27 AM)
Hitting as low as 0.91 already today! Steady, ready, top up!
that's heroic.

Malaysia Airlines staff asked to take 3 months’ unpaid leave due to Covid-19, says report
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...19-says-report/

The sky is full of empty planes thanks to coronavirus and a curious EU rule
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/news/the...to-coronavirus/

AVFAN
post Mar 16 2020, 03:09 PM

24,449 posts

FYI... MAS, airlines...

MAS tells staff carrier risks bankruptcy amid Covid-19 travel ban
https://www.themalaysianinsight.com/s/228941

Virus could bankrupt most airlines by end of May
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/regional/20...s-by-end-of-may

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 16 2020, 03:14 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 20 2020, 11:51 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(David_Yang @ Mar 20 2020, 11:40 AM)
When I was reading about the RM 499 unlimited pass from AAX, I thought the situation is not just bad, it must be absolutely desperate.

Certainly would not buy the stock, but also cannot :popcorn:

I love AirAsia for so, so, so many years, would cry many tears if they crash. Maybe the stock cannot be saved, but the company must be saved.
this one, can do quick trades only.

to hold/keep, i wudn't touch it with a 10 ft pole. tongue.gif

all arilines in the world are already screwed big time... some already bankrupt/closed.

and things will not change for months.

moreover, locally, we have a history of bailouts, SPV, money shifting, vested vulture parties ... too much politics with AA and MAS.

u never know what shit will fall on these 2... i wudn't want to pay for their actions.
AVFAN
post Mar 20 2020, 12:03 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Mar 20 2020, 11:59 AM)
Buffett just bought shares in Delta airlines, but he got balls of steel!  laugh.gif
some will survive, even stronger when all blows over.
the man has done his homework.

anyone done same homework on AA or MAS?!!
AVFAN
post Mar 26 2020, 05:23 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 26 2020, 04:49 PM)
there's little birdy saying that government might take over the debts own by AA something like that.. transfer into some SPV...

there's also another news mention about taking company private (but personally I don't think it's would happen.. huge debt who want to take private laugh.gif)
u can be sure all that will happen in due time.

not only AA but maybe a few dozen others... transport, banks, auto, resorts, glc's....

question is which one first and where to find the money. biggrin.gif

another thing is everyone always eyeing and salivating....epf... so, watch this one also.
AVFAN
post Mar 26 2020, 05:30 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Mar 26 2020, 05:28 PM)
Just sharing what I heard...
True or not only time would tell..

EPF?
Really pity..
Everyone eyeing them for funding....
Milking to the maximum..
what u heard is what u hear all the time.... becos that is what happens whenever someone needs bailing!!

epf is the only real fund with real money... the rest, all infected. tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 26 2020, 06:02 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Mar 26 2020, 05:53 PM)
1. company was reckless.

Hell. I would be really pissed if they get a bailout!!
1. ALL of "them" are reckless.... becos recklessness makes them richer than rich.

2. this round, not so easy... will be hard to find funds... heck, even petronas may need a bailout if crude stays at $25 for a year or longer!

we see other countries announcing tens of billions to help biz and we read meagre "millions"... and... "withdraw yr own epf"!

some shitshow coming.

anyway, back to AA... will be helluva show to keep this one flying.

it may end up as "now, everyone can own (part of) a plane". tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 26 2020, 06:38 PM

24,449 posts

latest...

AirAsia grounds its fleet around the world
FMT Reporters -March 26, 2020 6:29 PM

AirAsia has announced suspension of most or all AirAsia and AirAsiaX flights from various countries it operates out of, including Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines and India.
PETALING JAYA: AirAsia Group Berhad has announced the grounding of most of its fleet around the world due to Covid-19, which has led to extensive border restrictions by various countries.

In a statement, it listed the suspension of most or all AirAsia and AirAsiaX flights from various countries it operates out of, including Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines and India.
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...ound-the-world/

AVFAN
post Mar 27 2020, 12:10 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Mar 26 2020, 06:18 PM)
50 cents stock. Airline will be the last industry to recover
u said it first!

set to lose over RM1.1 billion, says analyst
Bernama -March 27, 2020 11:24 AM

AirAsia and its subsidiaries around the world have reduced flight frequencies and grounded hundreds of aircraft.
KUALA LUMPUR: AirAsia Group could report steeper losses in excess of RM1.1 billion in 2020, following its decision to ground its aircrafts worldwide due to the Covid-19 pandemic, according to Affin Hwang Capital.

The research firm said in a note today that the drastic move highlights the dire operating environment faced by the airline industry.

In tandem, it reiterated a “sell” on AirAsia’s shares with a lower 12-month price target to RM0.49.
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...n-says-analyst/

AVFAN
post Mar 30 2020, 12:38 AM

24,449 posts

thai airlines seeking/getting bailout.

Seven Thai airlines to seek B16bn bailout
https://www.bangkokpost.com/business/188823...k-b16bn-bailout

GOV’T GREENLIGHTS BAILOUT FOR VIRUS-STRICKEN THAI AIRWAYS
https://www.khaosodenglish.com/news/busines...n-thai-airways/

AVFAN
post Mar 30 2020, 07:36 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(David_Yang @ Mar 30 2020, 06:52 PM)
A bail out does not mean at all that the shareholders will "survive".

During the years many airlines have been bailed out by their government with the company disappearing from the stock market and the shareholders did not get any compensation.

For me this is the by far most realistic scenatio, company broken, Government saves and takes and delists it, push money in and then sell.
correct.

bailouts of this nature is not for the ordinary shareholder.

it is primarily meant to keep jobs/salaries for longer... and let main and biggest shareholders retrieve their wealth within the period.

who pays for it, u already know.

read between the lines:
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/mala...2%80%94-mustapa

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 30 2020, 07:54 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 30 2020, 08:07 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(paintballunited @ Mar 30 2020, 07:56 PM)
i still dont understand why it hasnt gone down. and from what i see, everyone seems to think that this is a buyer's market. everyone is buying!

amazing...you would think that everyone would be worried but even public bank hasnt gone down. perhaps a lot of people have a lot of money
you are looking for instant manifestations, instant results.

no, it doesn't work that way.

time is required to expose all that is coming, let it run its course - whatever that is.

meanwhile, globally, machines may be doing the trading.. and they are not programmed to deal with viruses or aliens or nuclear wars.

u take a position and put all yr money anywhere u like - that's all u can do now.

or simply wait to see what comes next.

AVFAN
post Apr 1 2020, 09:53 PM

24,449 posts

why AA is not 10 sen? here we go...

Troubled airlines may get up to RM10 billion aid from Khazanah, says source
Updated 57 minutes ago · Published on 1 Apr 2020 8:54PM · 2 Comments
More

The local airline industry could yet get a short-term financial assistance from Khazanah Nasional Bhd. – EPA pic, April 1, 2020.
MALAYSIA’S troubled airlines could get up to RM10 billion financial aid from Khazanah Nasional Bhd, reports the New Straits Times.

Citing sources, the report said the amount would specifically be in the form of loans guaranteed by Khazanah as a means to help them cope with the Covid-19 outbreak.
https://www.themalaysianinsight.com/s/234044

AVFAN
post Apr 2 2020, 12:28 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 2 2020, 10:05 AM)
Wild speculations... imo.
Not to say never or not possible but some thoughts...
not wild... becos menteli already said it. huge nos. employed, u know.

Although there was no announcement in terms of assistance for airlines in the Prihatin Rakyat Economic Stimulus Package (PRIHATIN) announced by Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin last Friday, the sector would need action, he said.

"Companies like Malaysia Airlines, AIRASIA and even Malindo Air are big employers. Certainly (it) requires a different action, ” Mustapa said on Bernama TV's "Ruang Bicara Khas" last night.
https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...on-mustapa-says

AVFAN
post Apr 2 2020, 11:12 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 2 2020, 10:03 PM)
as expected... question is where will the real money be coming from.
AVFAN
post Apr 5 2020, 07:02 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Apr 4 2020, 01:48 PM)
If you read in between the lines it's just a blardy a joke of company. Lapsap!

It actually had a shit load of a money when it started its sales and leaseback program. But instead of putting the money to good use, it decided to splash it all away by giving free money via special dividends.

Now it wants a loan from govt? Lol. What assets does AA have left?
we will see what we will see.

the vultures are always preying on the weak.

hard to tell how the "power people" view this.

mind u, it's not just mas and aa... there is proton, trains, buses, et al... not that we haven't seen it before.

always the question - where is the money coming from?!

“The government should also bear in mind that its main policy objectives should be to maintain essential air connectivity (most notably public service obligation routes) and protect vulnerable parties such as the 50,000 employees in the aviation sector and Malaysian consumers, rather than propping up the commercial performance of airlines,” it said.
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...rt-says-mavcom/

0.0399sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:51 AM