Seiko Watch Thread V5, - Seikoholic kopitiam

SUSfuzzy
post Apr 7 2019, 10:59 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 7 2019, 07:40 PM)
I'm calling bs on the new seiko 5 logo...
every other thing has been leaked months in advance... and u are saying this new skx has nothing? with like a month to go before supposed release?
plus seiko 5 logo has been around since the 70s... don't see any reason why they would want to change...at best they should just remove it since the line is already getting blurred between the 5 and regular models.

also just cos something has been trademarked doesn't always mean it's going to be released...
I'm not sure about the new SKX leak, because so coincidence a day or two after the new logo leaked the watch pic leaked despite having been shown it since Basel.
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 8 2019, 05:53 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Feast your eyes...

[attachmentid=10223221]
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 9 2019, 05:52 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

The current Seiko 5's are not a one-to-one match, because I think they use diff case profile.

This line makes sense from Seiko's pov, the casuals that want a diver looking piece will settle for this with its exhibition caseback, different varieties and cheaper pricing.

Those that wants a dive watch will be pushed to the higher end pieces like the turtles and prospex.

SKX sits in a very weird place at the moment in Seiko's line ups.
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 10 2019, 12:05 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 10 2019, 12:01 PM)
exactly, so i think it's the dealer who is afraid.
afterall, why create a new account to send a msg to some forumer... when seiko advertises on wus... so they could have sent a proper msg direct to wus...
likewise with the rest, why go to individuals when can go to the hosting sites...
Agree, think it's the dealer that is worried, either someone took their catalogue or they themselves shared it in private but went viral.

They can lose their status over stupid things like this.
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 16 2019, 12:12 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Apr 16 2019, 09:23 AM)
wow pricing for Ken is very good then. even all my regular online shop listed them min 1k now wit the rubber strap!.
Bear in mind Ken's is grey market compared to most other places. That is part of the reason he can offer lower price. But I doubt you need to ever use the warranty for the skx.
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 16 2019, 01:14 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Apr 16 2019, 12:56 PM)
Kalau need service oso many shops can easily fix.

busuk2 if service cost expensive, just buy a seiko 5 less than 300 or buy SII NH36/NE15 and swap kaw the movement.
Ya. But grey is grey, new buyer should know what is grey la.

QUOTE(ridox_orimabu @ Apr 16 2019, 12:57 PM)
from my understanding - gray market and from AD difference that matters only the warranty. right?
Yep. Though there will always be rumours about how grey items are substandard ones they got for cheap etc...

My SKX from ken is great even after all these years.
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 18 2019, 09:34 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(jichuen @ Apr 18 2019, 09:16 PM)
Hi all, I'm new to watches, and recently saw the seiko x gundam.

I am looking into investing on both the marine masters.

Was wondering you all experience sifu can share me your opinion and thoughts on this watch as well as if its worth investing?

I plan to buy them and keep and resell in the future. All opinions are greatly appreciated

It's rarely worth buying watches as an "investment".
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 18 2019, 10:15 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(jichuen @ Apr 18 2019, 09:35 PM)
you think so?

Back when speedmaster ultraman was released. bout 20k only.

About one year, today's price on chrono24 it's cheapest one is about 32k
When was Speedy Ultraman about 20k? It was 28k, I know because I was couple minutes too late.

Listing and transacted are often very different realities.

https://www.ebay.com.my/itm/Omega-Speedmast...bIAAOSwoQpcrx7C

This was sold at 18k.

SUSfuzzy
post Apr 18 2019, 10:32 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(jichuen @ Apr 18 2019, 10:28 PM)
DEpending on where's youre buying it but the speedy ultraman was priced at 24k ish for the recommended price. Could totally agree your point on listing and transacted price could differ. But then again, in honest opinion, Do you really think it's not worth investing and wait a few years?
I mean it's hard to predict what will "appreciate", which to me means it earns you more than what putting it in FD will get you. My Seiko Starbar doubled its price in less than few months when I sold it, but some I only sold it at cost (and that was, the SARB033!).

It's worth it if you do enjoy and it 'sparks joy'. But if you ask which pieces can guarantee you a profit, that is pretty hard to say, except maybe the sport Rolexes. That is why investing in watches shouldn't be a financial strategy unless you want to be a full fledged watch trader and you have the experience and network to back it up.

This post has been edited by fuzzy: Apr 18 2019, 10:33 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 25 2019, 11:33 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(sin19 @ Apr 24 2019, 10:17 PM)
Thanks. Prefer to buy from a shop
If you lucky can find in Japan. nod.gif
SUSfuzzy
post Apr 26 2019, 11:22 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Apr 26 2019, 10:14 PM)
Guys Seiko warranty is 6mont or 1 year? Have some problem with the seiko and claimed warranty once.. Now the same problem come... Its only few month old and the problem repeat.. Like each day it slow 1 - 2min.. It use solar + battery model...
I wondering any method to complaint as the fixing doesn't really fix the issue
1 year.
SUSfuzzy
post May 29 2019, 04:47 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(kl920930 @ May 29 2019, 04:17 PM)
sad.. it doesn't look like a very complicated work to remove all the indices on the dial and stick a sticker over the original dial then reapply all the indices back into its original position.

but sure it looks damn cool with something different than the traditional dials but still using a vintage horology mechanism as a heart to power it up
You can always ask a watch maker to remove all the indices, send it to a local artist to paint the dial, and send it back to the watch maker to reassemble the piece.

SUSfuzzy
post May 29 2019, 04:53 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(kl920930 @ May 29 2019, 04:51 PM)
any lobang to recommend a reputable watch maker for this kind of service? rather than painting the dial, I was actually thinking of using a high quality sticker printing. should be a easier job compared to painting the dial
If it's a sticker, technically they can cut out the marker parts and you just need to find a fella that can stick it on perfectly, no?
SUSfuzzy
post Jun 11 2019, 06:45 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Hot dang.

SUSfuzzy
post Jun 28 2019, 03:37 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Jun 28 2019, 03:28 PM)
Does it look too big on my wrist?
Seems so, some lugs jutting out. The relatively flat lugs doesn't help I feel.
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 2 2019, 09:16 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

Still looks big as it juts out. Maybe a NATO might help?
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 2 2019, 10:30 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jul 2 2019, 10:22 AM)
That watch in itself has quite a lengthy lug to lug, and it bullies those who have less then 6.75" wrist circumference

but anyway, pakai saja lah janji hati hepi.
Its the straight lugs kot...
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 3 2019, 04:23 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Jul 2 2019, 04:43 PM)
The mm200 in many ways a better watch than skx007.. movement, sapphire, diashield .. I have the SBDC053 and skx too.. Hardly will put on the skx now and probably going to mod my skx now.. maybe mod the bezel with ceramic..
It's not even fair la to compare the mm200 to skx007.

People just like the skx because it was such a cheap and solid entry piece, before it got that Hodinkee tax plus the never ending "discontinued" tax on it today.
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 4 2019, 07:53 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(x-1o8-x @ Jul 4 2019, 07:48 PM)
new movement released it seems. the new green sumo now uses 6R35 movement which is still 21,600 bph but already has 70 hours power reserve.
It has been out since March right?
SUSfuzzy
post Jul 4 2019, 07:54 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(mystvearn @ Jul 4 2019, 11:45 AM)
Is it cheap to buy Seiko/Orient in Japan now? Or is the exchange rate makes it no different since RM drop a lot.
I have a friend who is coming back, thought of getting nice JDM watches.
Cheap? No.

But you said, its JDM. You either straight can't find it here, or you get charge a premium here.

So if your friend is there and can find JDM's, it will be cheaper.

28 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 >Top

0.1569sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:05 PM