39 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Seiko Watch Thread V5, - Seikoholic kopitiam

andrewhtf
post Aug 27 2016, 08:41 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(CallMeGucci @ Aug 27 2016, 04:22 PM)
Hey, i'm interested in getting a seiko 5 as my first mechanical watch. Do you know where is the cheapest place to get them? Someone mentioned mydin but is there anywhere else i should check out?
I'd usually scour online at these 4 places:
Ebay
Jammaymay
Creationwatches
Skywatches
andrewhtf
post Aug 29 2016, 10:24 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(alvin_goh @ Aug 24 2016, 11:40 PM)
Any love for these old Seikos?

at first i also wana get some vintage seikos, just for the sake of having on on my wrist.
but after going thru the experience of servicing my wife's vintage seiko5, i'd try my best to avoid vintage pieces liao.
too costly not worth the money.
probably i'd go get one of the re-craft series.

QUOTE(CallMeGucci @ Aug 28 2016, 02:00 PM)
I've heard of jammaymay but they tend to be out of stock most of the time. Thanks! I actually went ahead and got one from skywatches, though there were some bad reviews of them on watchuseek, so i'll withhold my judgement for now. Any idea on where to get some leather and nato straps?
if you dont mind waiting for the shipping, ebay and aliexpress is a great place. i get almost all of my straps from these 2 place. but have to really look around for the lowest price, sometimes can get sometimes no. also always keep in mind u get what u paid for. u pay cheap cheap the quality is usable but not exactly top-notch. but u want top-notch straps u gotta pay and the price difference doesnt really appeals to me. my latest purchase was for a 22mm black 5-ring zulu on ebay and i got it for just rm10 shipped. damn cheap. but now still waiting shipping lah. otherwise usually these made-in-china nato/zulu goes from rm20++ up. u want those mat salleh made ones (for example rhino strap and maratac), be prepared to pay anything from rm60 up not including of shipping. however that being said, a bond nato that i was looking to buy cant get any lower than rm20 while jammaymay sells it for only rm15. lols.

same goes for leathers although i dont pay attention to its pricing lah. china made ones usually PU or other types of fake leathers, can generally be had for cheaper than mat-salleh brands. to me, straps are wear and tear items. koyak buang and ganti - so i hardly spend top dollars for straps for "long lasting keepsake" or wait for it "to look aged".

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Aug 29 2016, 10:28 AM
andrewhtf
post Aug 29 2016, 06:02 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(spacelion @ Aug 29 2016, 05:39 PM)
snkl41k1 + brown leather strap will below RM400.

Not my hand ofc

lol i have always wanted to get snkl23 + croc leathers ala hodinkee but dunno why i just cant pull the trigger

looking nice no?

anyway i am currently infatuated with fifty five fathoms mod... thinking of slapping yobokies fff dial into the cheapest seiko5 i can find lols
andrewhtf
post Aug 30 2016, 11:39 PM

1,583 posts

It is still 500+. Just scout from ebay, creation or skywatches. Brand new with free delivery some more.

Apa you mau lagi?

andrewhtf
post Sep 1 2016, 09:08 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(ken_jr @ Aug 31 2016, 09:51 AM)
Get the blue or gold snzh and mod la. It looks better with a bezel than the small seiko 5.
yea it does look nice on the snzh, more so over if they swap out the stock bezel for a lumed one from yobokies or dagaz but it seems as if everybody is modding it on snzh (and then selling it on ebay for >rm1k. gila!).

some did it on the skx too, and i have also seen a small few on the smaller seiko5 and it is not too shabby either.

it was meant as a project - and if the looks does capture me when i have it on the hand, i would consider doing it on my snzg rather than buying another snzh.

andrewhtf
post Sep 1 2016, 10:10 AM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 1 2016, 10:03 AM)
the cost of doing that to a snzg will easily come up to rm500+.
better just buy a snzh and wear it as is tongue.gif
true also... the snzh punya blue dial also not bad. in fact also saw a sales thread on WUS selling a snk809 with a snzh dial.
just that the heart is abit gatal on the FFF only lah.

anyway went and jalan2 yesterday, and saw the retro-craft SNKN37 in the flesh. bloody hell that piece is so effing big! dont think it'd look good on my wrist although i do like the looks of it. even bigger than the skx.
andrewhtf
post Sep 1 2016, 12:21 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 1 2016, 10:14 AM)
i recommend u a nicer mod to do.
buy that seiko 5 circled...rm249 in mydin.
[attachmentid=7436687]

buy this yobokies dial.

and get close to something like this.

both also 36mm, its as close to a railmaster as possible tongue.gif
bro, you are scaring me. are you a mind reader or a clairvoyant?

SNK801K1. I have that on my ebay watch list. RM260.00 and that yobokies dial is what i had in mind for this model.
i was contemplating that project after i kautim the FFF.

please dont scare me la...
andrewhtf
post Sep 1 2016, 01:08 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 1 2016, 12:24 PM)
diff watch la.
snk801 has a 4oclock crown, i dunno what model that is but its a 3oclock crown which looks nicer.

look at my pic there to the right of the red circled one is another 3oclock crown model with a guard, looks quite nice too.
oh ya diff crown position. i missed that out. was looking at the dial all the time

the whole lot of those in picture are rm250 each??

which mydin is this? USJ? gonna go look see look see

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Sep 1 2016, 01:10 PM
andrewhtf
post Sep 1 2016, 01:31 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 1 2016, 01:25 PM)
ya usj...rm249... got the military snk and snzg also... rm330-360+.
already own the snzg15.
snk809 on the way from singapore rm240 only.
the cheapest seiko5 mixed models around 240-260 cant run far.
andrewhtf
post Sep 1 2016, 03:48 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 1 2016, 02:31 PM)
too bad prices sux now... i bought snk809 around 3yrs ago for rm199... never did like it much tho.
the dial look is not ngam for everyone. but i noticed that it is actually quite functional - hour hand falls ngam2 on the inside markers and minute hands ngam2 on the outside markers.

but then again it wasnt the main reason why i got it though. it simply is the cheapest new seiko5 i could get my hands on, short of buying used.

QUOTE(alvin_goh @ Sep 1 2016, 02:43 PM)
Speaking of  the SNK801, I think it is one of the nicest watches you can get for below 300 bucks. The sunburst blue dial needs to be seen in the flesh to be truly appreciated.

yes and if only it comes in 42mm at least, i wouldnt think of using it as a mod watch.
andrewhtf
post Sep 1 2016, 06:36 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 1 2016, 05:47 PM)
ah k, those 2 seiko 5's with 3oclock crowns there are... SNKM55 and SNKL09.
quite popular pieces, quite exp on amazon.
both seems to use the same case. i cant distinguish between the two apart from the dial.
dump in a blue FFF face and a domed sapphire, i guess it would look stunning in real life.

also found a black fff mod too

andrewhtf
post Sep 3 2016, 08:35 PM

1,583 posts

Cheapest i could find is about 700+
andrewhtf
post Sep 5 2016, 10:36 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(manypplwan @ Sep 5 2016, 08:25 PM)
Just got my first Seiko. It's a Seiko 5 icon_rolleyes.gif
thumbup.gif

New or used?

I saw a used one in mudah exactly same dial design but been holding back because i wanted other model.
andrewhtf
post Sep 7 2016, 09:19 AM

1,583 posts

If any one of you guys (yes including you Kookie10) are looking for an skx, here's one that i think is very cheap.

http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/Seiko-Men-Seiko...2928?nav=SEARCH

Skx009k1 - rubber. Buy then can change/mod to your heart's desire... I am effing tempted to hit the buy button liao.

Saw a planet ocean mod of a used skx but it'd cost another rm300 extra than this new skx. Hmmmmm

This post has been edited by andrewhtf: Sep 7 2016, 09:22 AM
andrewhtf
post Sep 7 2016, 01:30 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(alvin_goh @ Sep 7 2016, 12:46 PM)
If I bought a new 007/009 I would just wear it as it is though. I'd rather buy a second if I wanted to mod it.

PS. Why is it that the 007 are usually more pricey than 009?
Demand/supply i guess. Other than the dial and bezel insert, both are the exact same watch. And both are easily swapped with many aftermarket options.

The price of a used one isnt too far off than this new one at rm6++(unless if u buy at retail rm8++ lah) plus a used one usually aged more than 10 years (pretty rare to find aything lesser) and requires some servicing, which adds up to the total cost of ownership.

Wear a new one for a while. Then mod it when u wanted some fresh look.
andrewhtf
post Sep 8 2016, 01:08 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Sep 8 2016, 08:48 AM)
Guys, which color match with Alpinist?

https://www.massdrop.com/buy/ashland-leather-watchstraps
Light tan brown. Gold and green is a alpinist theme apa
andrewhtf
post Sep 8 2016, 02:48 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Sep 8 2016, 02:00 PM)

Wait till someone puts a rubber/silicone on it
andrewhtf
post Sep 8 2016, 04:40 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Sep 8 2016, 03:41 PM)
That's how one build a batcave  cool2.gif
Complete with batman subs? Ohwait that's no seiko
andrewhtf
post Sep 8 2016, 09:32 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Sep 8 2016, 07:08 PM)
brows.gif  brows.gif

Ok this bezel would look better on skx009's blue dial
andrewhtf
post Sep 9 2016, 02:38 PM

1,583 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Sep 8 2016, 01:17 PM)
tak abih abih with the apinist laugh.gif
brb.

[WTB] Alpinist dial to fit on my cheapo seiko5.

39 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1821sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:27 AM