Seiko Watch Thread V5, - Seikoholic kopitiam

Everdying
post Dec 11 2015, 11:41 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

im now wondering if those are import sets? trying to take advantage of market?
cos usually i stalk both singapore and philippine seiko forum before a new model appears as they usually get it first...then only couple weeks later arrive in malaysia.
but so far both forums have no news on official sets there.
heck, even WUS also abit quiet on them.

so yea, im gonna take a wild guess its seller trying to take advantage of the stupid euro pricing and trying to make a quick buck...tho i hope to be proven wrong...

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Dec 11 2015, 11:40 AM)
Why does it cost so much??
cos of the 'X'.

This post has been edited by Everdying: Dec 11 2015, 11:47 AM
ken_jr
post Dec 11 2015, 11:47 AM

519 posts

I think TS msia raised their margin la.. Instead of 30% , maybe now can get 40%.. Just look at the RRP for their watches now.. sad.gif
ken_jr
post Dec 11 2015, 11:48 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 11 2015, 11:41 AM)
im now wondering if those are import sets? trying to take advantage of market?
cos usually i stalk both singapore and philippine seiko forum before a new model appears as they usually get it first...then only couple weeks later arrive in malaysia.
but so far both forums have no news on official sets there.
heck, even WUS also abit quiet on them.

so yea, im gonna take a wild guess its seller trying to take advantage of the stupid euro pricing and trying to make a quick buck...tho i hope to be proven wrong...
cos of the 'X'.
Maybe cos msia RRP is most profitable?
Everdying
post Dec 11 2015, 11:50 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(ken_jr @ Dec 11 2015, 11:48 AM)
Maybe cos msia RRP is most profitable?
not really.
euro more profitable.

i had potential buyers before on WUS PM me wanting to buy seiko from malaysia tongue.gif
Naka7a
post Dec 11 2015, 12:31 PM

St. Neo
5,417 posts

Hope it's the scalpers price...
TSsniper on the roof
post Dec 11 2015, 12:45 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(gmail @ Dec 11 2015, 11:24 AM)
2k for the turtle reissue?  ohmy.gif

[attachmentid=5493977]
What keharaman is this?!!
alternativehype
post Dec 11 2015, 05:32 PM

1,300 posts

QUOTE(gmail @ Dec 11 2015, 11:24 AM)
2k for the turtle reissue?  ohmy.gif

[attachmentid=5493977]
I was only willing to fork out 1k for this turtle re-issue... looks like I'll give this one a miss unless it falls below 1k
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 11 2015, 05:43 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

scalper + status price kot.. it's the turtle after all.. got bragging rights to be first..

like iPhone going for 6-7k earlier this year..
akira de aimbuster
post Dec 11 2015, 07:09 PM

しごと~
3,500 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 10 2015, 02:11 PM)
Just received the replacement Cocktail Time yesterday. No scratch on the dial. But with very close scrutiny there is actually a blue dot beneath the 'i' in the 'SEIKO' word. I just don't have luck. But its a really really minor dot, barely noticeable under a magnifying glass so I'm content

What I'm a little frustrated with is that the replacement seems to have worse accuracy. The previous one was losing 2-3 seconds a day, this one has gained 10 seconds in a day. Hopefully it calms down.  Do watches calm down after some time? Or does it just stay that way right out of the box.

Oh I got Seiya to throw in a free spring bar fool. It costs USD12 on his site. No idea why such a simple tool costs that much.
I noticed the deviation of my Seiko varies depend how I position my watch when I am not wearing it. I tried putting the watch horizontally face up once and it was off by +10s one night.

Now I am putting it either 12 vertically up and am able to maintain the deviation at +1s/day. Contented laugh.gif

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 10 2015, 05:48 PM)

1/1000 bragging rights tongue.gif

drool.gif sexy
QuickFire
post Dec 11 2015, 07:23 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Guys, thinking of getting a brown leather strap for my Seiko Cocktail Time. Any good sites to recommend for leather straps? I'm not looking for something fancy or expensive. Something around RM 50-150 will do.

Most sites carry straps way above this price. I looked at Hirch, they some for around USD30 which is still OK, but adding in shipping and the cost goes up. Any sites that ship from nearby countries or that have lower shopping charges?

Just want to dress the watch down a bit, and a brown strap should do that. No NATO straps for this. Pairs well if I wear brown shoes too.

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Dec 11 2015, 07:09 PM)
I noticed the deviation of my Seiko varies depend how I position my watch when I am not wearing it. I tried putting the watch horizontally face up once and it was off by +10s one night.

Now I am putting it either 12 vertically up and am able to maintain the deviation at +1s/day. Contented  laugh.gif
Haha... I heard about that before. You wear it mostly face up during the day and put it face down during sleep so the gain and loss offset each other. Somehow it didn't work for my SKX007 when I tried it for 2-3 days. It was still losing 7-8 seconds per day, the same as before.
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 11 2015, 07:30 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 11 2015, 07:23 PM)
Guys, thinking of getting a brown leather strap for my Seiko Cocktail Time. Any good sites to recommend for leather straps? I'm not looking for something fancy or expensive. Something around RM 50-150 will do.

Most sites carry straps way above this price. I looked at Hirch, they some for around USD30 which is still OK, but adding in shipping and the cost goes up. Any sites that ship from nearby countries or that have lower shopping charges?

Just want to dress the watch down a bit, and a brown strap should do that. No NATO straps for this. Pairs well if I wear brown shoes too.
Haha... I heard about that before. You wear it mostly face up during the day and put it face down during sleep so the gain and loss offset each other. Somehow it didn't work for my SKX007 when I tried it for 2-3 days. It was still losing 7-8 seconds per day, the same as before.
Probably China via ali or taobao, but it's pretty hit and miss unless someone with prior experience recommends it.
TSsniper on the roof
post Dec 11 2015, 07:33 PM

23,414 posts

3 words --> Horween Shell Cordovan
Everdying
post Dec 11 2015, 08:49 PM

30,735 posts

and i guess heres how it looks more accurately on the wrist...bezel only measure 40mm across.

Everdying
post Dec 11 2015, 08:51 PM

30,735 posts

seriously, rm50-150 just open that thing called a door and walk into any watch shop here.
most got cheap leather straps priced around rm60-80.
QuickFire
post Dec 12 2015, 11:39 AM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 11 2015, 08:51 PM)
seriously, rm50-150 just open that thing called a door and walk into any watch shop here.
most got cheap leather straps priced around rm60-80.
Hah, too used to shopping online now, forgot watch stores here probably carry straps too.

Shell cordovan? I'd rather get a pair of shoes in that first before a watch strap!
Everdying
post Dec 12 2015, 11:44 AM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Dec 12 2015, 11:39 AM)
Hah, too used to  shopping online now, forgot watch stores here probably carry straps too.

Shell cordovan? I'd rather get a pair of shoes in that first before a watch strap!
ya, plenty...amcorp, tropicana...
some awful 'leather' ones around rm30-40 also got.

gmail
post Dec 13 2015, 12:13 AM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 11 2015, 08:49 PM)
and i guess heres how it looks more accurately on the wrist...bezel only measure 40mm across.
After looking at the photo you posted, this is slowly growing on me, time to visit the bay nod.gif
enviro
post Dec 13 2015, 01:44 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(ken_jr @ Dec 11 2015, 11:47 AM)
I think TS msia raised their margin la.. Instead of 30% , maybe now can get 40%.. Just look at the RRP for their watches now.. sad.gif
The JB shop posted on WUS rm1367 a bit high. I found a local TongSiawarranty set for rm1140. Hopefully arive next week.
SG set should be around rm 900 in a few weeks but I can't wait lol. I ordered the 777.
enviro
post Dec 14 2015, 02:28 PM

511 posts

"Also, dumb question I guess - why release new model in Malaysia first and not Japan or US"

"maybe they're smuggled out from the malaysian factory tongue.gif
pricewise very likely scalper's pricing, in line with what was published by some euro site awhile back.
the actual retail is still expected to be much lower."

The above in mat salleh forum
Thanks to you know who, we are now known as crooks even in the watch world lol

This post has been edited by enviro: Dec 14 2015, 02:32 PM
Everdying
post Dec 14 2015, 02:30 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(enviro @ Dec 14 2015, 02:28 PM)
"Also, dumb question I guess - why release new model in Malaysia first and not Japan or US?
maybe they're smuggled out from the malaysian factory tongue.gif
pricewise very likely scalper's pricing, in line with what was published by some euro site awhile back.
the actual retail is still expected to be much lower."

Thanks to you know who, we are now known as crooks even in the watch world lol
bijan already set that precedent...

443 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0388sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:01 AM