LCD Thread Ver 3.1, Everything about LCD monitor

e 3 h y 0 r
post Jan 15 2007, 07:54 PM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jan 15 2007, 07:02 PM)
The 960BF should sport a better panel I guess. The published contrast ratio seems to be much higher than its entry level models. I think should be a 8 bit panel as it covers more than 92% of the color gamut in the color space. So its more for the graphics intensive users.

I think the 932B should cover most common user expectation, with the less expensive 940BF included.
So your recommendation either 940BF or 932B right?
Do you trust other brands? I want to hear your 2 cents. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
davidmak
post Jan 16 2007, 08:52 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(| e 3 h y 0 r | @ Jan 15 2007, 07:54 PM)
So your recommendation either 940BF or 932B right?
Do you trust other brands? I want to hear your 2 cents. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
No no, don't get me wrong. Its just that I can't give recommendations for something I haven't seen yet and not sure how it would look like. The specification sheets are just numbers but what you see is really the value here. I myself is using Viewsonic LCD monitors. In fact my very first LCD was a Viewsonic VA 17" series before I upgraded recently to a 22" from the same brand as well.

So as for Viewsonic brand, I don't know any of its 19" are ok or not because I haven't seen them. But I guess they should be pretty ok. For 20" however, I know the Viewsonic VX2025wm is a good panel.

I do recommend people to look for other alternative brands instead of concentrating with Samsung brand like LG, Acer, etc. But for an easy recommendation for usual expectations usually Samsung would do the trick. Not that I'm anyone from Samsung trying to manipulate sales, thats the most important part of the recommendation process. So don't get me wrong ya!

Cheers!

e 3 h y 0 r
post Jan 16 2007, 10:20 AM

L e 3 h y 0 r 1
3,918 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jan 16 2007, 08:52 AM)
No no, don't get me wrong. Its just that I can't give recommendations for something I haven't seen yet and not sure how it would look like. The specification sheets are just numbers but what you see is really the value here. I myself is using Viewsonic LCD monitors. In fact my very first LCD was a Viewsonic VA 17" series before I upgraded recently to a 22" from the same brand as well.

So as for Viewsonic brand, I don't know any of its 19" are ok or not because I haven't seen them. But I guess they should be pretty ok. For 20" however, I know the Viewsonic VX2025wm is a good panel.

I do recommend people to look for other alternative brands instead of concentrating with Samsung brand like LG, Acer, etc. But for an easy recommendation for usual expectations usually Samsung would do the trick. Not that I'm anyone from Samsung trying to manipulate sales, thats the most important part of the recommendation process. So don't get me wrong ya!

Cheers!
Noted, but in terms of specs, which would be preferable for you? 940BF or 932B ?

davidmak
post Jan 16 2007, 01:25 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(| e 3 h y 0 r | @ Jan 16 2007, 10:20 AM)
Noted, but in terms of specs, which would be preferable for you? 940BF or 932B ?
Between the two: 940BF and 932B. Well, its a hard choice. They both seems to share the same panel. I've double checked Samsung website specifications and they're both the same. The only difference would be overall design and mechanical stand.

The 940BF uses conventional design but it is height adjustable and have pivot and swivel. The 932B on the other hand does not have these but it enjoys a more radical design just like the Samsung R7 LCD TV. Connectivity and performance are the same (if the specifications in Samsung are indeed correct) so picking any one of these would satisfy your requirements.

If you don't mind loosing height adjustment, pivot and swivel in return for a beautiful design then you best bet would be 932B. If these are your requirements, then by all means 940BF. I think whichever between the two you choose, its already a good choice.

UPDATE:

Review for Samsung Syncmaster 940BF
http://www.xyzcomputing.com/index.php?opti...ask=view&id=601

There's no proper review for Samsung Syncmaster 932B

Lowyat seems to publish 932B cheaper than 940BF, probably due to the mechanical stand. Also there seems to be an error in 932B's specification listing. Please confirm using Samsung's official website.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Jan 16 2007, 01:34 PM
alucard31
post Jan 16 2007, 03:26 PM

284 posts

Hey guys, my CRT is dying. I thinking to get a 19" LCD in dis weeks..i wil use it for gaming, movie and doing design works.
so far shortlisted few model:

Viewsonic VA1912W
Samsung 940BW
BenQ FP92W

think mostly go for viewsonic but still need some advices from u guys, or u guys got some other recommendation? my budget not over RM900, better keep it below around RM800... wan CNY liao.. not much $$ tongue.gif
fishfan
post Jan 16 2007, 05:02 PM

19 posts

940BF cost abt rm200 more than other 19" lcd.

Any other recommendation?
quahquah
post Jan 16 2007, 07:19 PM

15 posts

Hi, i'm now choosing a new widescreen LCD for gaming and movie and these are the list which i had chosen:

LG L194WT (19" Wide / 5MS / ANALOG & DVI)
Acer AL1917W (19" Wide / 5 MS / DVI + ANALOG)
VIEWSONIC VA1912WB (19" WIDE/5MS/ANALOG+DVI)
SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER 940BW (19" Wide/4MS/ANALOG & DVI)

or any recommendations instead of these also accepted.

Thank you for your help.

davidmak
post Jan 16 2007, 07:58 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(quahquah @ Jan 16 2007, 07:19 PM)
Hi, i'm now choosing a new widescreen LCD for gaming and movie and these are the list which i had chosen:

Thank you for your help.
I think for 19" widescreens, thats all the choices available at the moment. Their panel should be similar in specification except for 940BW. I said choose a primary choice depending on which one having the best specification. Then look for this model in Lowyat or any other shops and take a good look at it. Then compare to other panels on display beside it. If you like what you look at, then its time to check the price.

Most important of all is to find something that your eyes like. Other things would just fit in. Of course do some basic testing before taking it home like:

1. Dead/Stuck pixel testing
2. Colour gradient testing on each colour.
3. Backlight distribution or leakage. (Although this is quite common on value entry level models, most important is that it is acceptable).
4. Etc like its basic functions, buttons, mechanical stand...
davidmak
post Jan 16 2007, 08:00 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(fishfan @ Jan 16 2007, 05:02 PM)
940BF cost abt rm200 more than other 19" lcd.

Any other recommendation?
You mean 940BF costs RM200 more than 932B? I thought they were within the same range? Unless you're talking about 960BF. It is more expensive by a big chunk.

quahquah
post Jan 16 2007, 11:26 PM

15 posts

Ic. Thanks for the help.

allenultra
post Jan 17 2007, 12:12 AM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(quahquah @ Jan 16 2007, 07:19 PM)

Thank you for your help.
I did went to Lowyat last thursday.

Thundermatch has Acer and LG. Acer listed around RM660 while LG around RM770(not sure).
Someone mentioned he bought the viewsonic at RM690(Check LCD and widescreen thread, mention there).
Samsung around Rm780.

Check them with your eyes, if u don't feel big difference between them.
Choose the cheapest and their service centre is reachable from your place. smile.gif

I chosen Acer AL1917W cost its the cheapest available and the service centre is around 5 minutes from my house.
I believe all the 4 models above come with 3 years warranty (part + labour)

This post has been edited by allenultra: Jan 17 2007, 12:17 AM
hihihehe
post Jan 17 2007, 12:58 AM

13,776 posts

but for me i would go LG even though lg exp than acer coz i not so trust at acer brand

This post has been edited by hihihehe: Jan 17 2007, 11:36 AM
rainingzero
post Jan 17 2007, 02:09 AM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

just bought 940bw last saturday.good panel for it's price....however, thinking of getting bigger panel.erm...acer 22"inch widescreen maybe??forgot it's series, but price range between rm1200-1400++.is this lcd good??i much enjoy movie and anime....
HeavenNirvana
post Jan 17 2007, 10:13 AM

849 posts

Have anyone heard of this LCD brand, chi mei or formerly known as cmv.

Izzit value for money and quality?

rainingzero
post Jan 17 2007, 10:57 AM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

QUOTE(HeavenNirvana @ Jan 17 2007, 10:13 AM)
Have anyone heard of this LCD brand, chi mei or formerly known as cmv.

Izzit value for money and quality?
i heard before most of 22"inch lcd panel produce by this Chi Mei...dunno true or not... sweat.gif
fishfan
post Jan 17 2007, 11:29 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jan 16 2007, 08:00 PM)
You mean 940BF costs RM200 more than 932B? I thought they were within the same range? Unless you're talking about 960BF. It is more expensive by a big chunk.
I meant 940BF cost rm200 more than other brand at rm880, whereas other brand like Benq, Acer less than rm700.
Big difference in price, but don't know it is big different in quality and visual.
davidmak
post Jan 17 2007, 11:33 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Jan 17 2007, 10:57 AM)
i heard before most of 22"inch lcd panel produce by this Chi Mei...dunno true or not... sweat.gif
Yes. ChiMei or CMV was the first one making the 22" panels. The Acer AL2216w (if I remember correctly) was often compared with the CMV models because of similar panels. I'm not sure if Viewsonic VX2235wm is using the same panels but they do exhibit the same specification numbers.

pizzaboy
post Jan 17 2007, 11:39 AM

9,495 posts

Any opinions about the Viewsonic VX912. It's made by viewsonic, so I presume a respectable performance?
OR am I asking too much?
lonewolf
post Jan 17 2007, 03:00 PM

3,945 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jan 17 2007, 11:33 AM)
Yes. ChiMei or CMV was the first one making the 22" panels. The Acer AL2216w (if I remember correctly) was often compared with the CMV models because of similar panels. I'm not sure if Viewsonic VX2235wm is using the same panels but they do exhibit the same specification numbers.
if not wrong, all the 22" panels on the market now are all from ChiMei panels (TN).
cablesguy
post Jan 17 2007, 05:48 PM

1,597 posts

yup, iinm all those 22 inchers come frm chi mei optoelectronics, actually pix quality not bad at all...too bad not high def

126 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:28 AM