LCD Thread Ver 3.1, Everything about LCD monitor
Nov 29 2006, 02:32 PM
2,707 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: KL |
higher refresh rate will result better viewing pleasure (less flicker), but i dun think lcd hv flicker, coz im using 60hz too on my lg widescreen, play game oso very good
check this out: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Refresh_rate and IIRC = If I Remember Correctly WYSIWYG This post has been edited by jayhan: Nov 29 2006, 02:36 PM |
Nov 29 2006, 04:41 PM
197 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
so which LCD can let u play in xbox360 with full resolution??
Nov 29 2006, 05:04 PM
893 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
@2kia, hows your 1907fp? what panel did you get
Nov 29 2006, 05:41 PM
1,177 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Pulao Penang |
QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 29 2006, 11:18 AM) Are LCD tvs inferior to Plasma screens in terms of producing shades of grey. Panasonic Viera Plasma tv can produce 2086 shades of grey colour and displayers 686 billion colours (I think I should got that right) and that's what I saw in SenQ the other day. LCD tvs might offer higher resolutions than a Plasma tv because when it comes to colour reproduction, Plasma is still light years ahead of LCD technology. Am I right or I've missed out something? There are too many brands out there confusing me, Samsung claims that they have the first LCD panel with 13-Bit colour, some high end dvd players from Denon can output 13-Bit colour via HDMI, there are Plasma panels supporting 18-Bit colour. What does this mean? Marketing gimmick? That all screens can actually display a maximum of 8-Bit colour? I think its a bit like cars...Some LCD panels from Viewsonic, LG, etc has a response time of 2ms but for Sony Bravia X, even with 8ms of response time, the reviewer mentioned that there was no smearing at all even for playing an XBOX 360 game. So, how did they derive to 2ms, grey to grey respnonse, grey to black response. Hope that someone can be kind enough to clear my doubts. I'm planning to get a HDTV panel for my HT but I'm not sure which manufacturer is giving me a clear picture on what I'll be getting or expecting from the HDTV panel. Like Toyota claimed 110 horse power, but you never get all 110 on wheel... Its the same here... It sports a digital processor capable of processing upto 13bit, but what are the exact number that are being displayed? None of the manufacturer dare to point out other fault cos everyone of them use marketting gimmick. |
Nov 29 2006, 07:04 PM
1,704 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(terencetoo @ Nov 29 2006, 11:01 AM) hey guys..last week i saw dell 2407 selling rm2699 and yesterday i saw rm 2799 where 2day is rm 2599 valid for 3 days..do u guys think is better to wait till PC fair for the latest price or christmas day? Dell 240WFP7 lowest price that I saw before (might be wrong, but this is what I remember) is RM2450 or RM2499 (around there)what is the lowest price u guys spotted before for 2407? So far iz the best and affortable screen to get in the market? i used to have Viewsonic Vx2025..but my gege steal it from me. sad i need to get another lcd..sob sob.. If you have no hurries for a LCD Monitor, and willing to wait, and want to get a 2407WFP, then you can wait. I am sure the 2.4k range price will come back one day, just a matter of when only. It might happen on the next price revision, or the following month, or 2-3 months down the road. The idea of the best and affordable screen to get in the market is very vague if you didnt provide a budget QUOTE(nckent @ Nov 29 2006, 01:39 PM) LCD has no problems with this, only when it comes to CRT Monitors that you want a higher refresh rate to induce less "flicker" images that you might notice (for example, if you snap a photo on film, a CRT will show flickers but an LCD dont)This post has been edited by Haruji Sora: Nov 29 2006, 07:05 PM |
Nov 29 2006, 08:22 PM
676 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
thx all! tis thread is nice.. especially 4 newbie like me
Nov 29 2006, 08:46 PM
10,470 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
i saw Dell LCD on viewnet pricelist.
why is the shop selling it? i thought Dell doesn't have middle man. |
Nov 29 2006, 09:35 PM
Nov 30 2006, 04:20 PM
8 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Hi All,
Would like to get some opinion from you all, I'm thinking of getting new LCD Monitor for my PC, What brand is nice? I got 2 brand on my selection, 1. LG L1718S-BN 17" LCD Monitor 2. Samsung 940BW Any other recommandation? please advice.. Thank Q~~ |
Nov 30 2006, 04:43 PM
1,177 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Pulao Penang |
Dont get a 1718... thats all I wanna say...
I have one for office and I hate to say that it sucks... In contrast bought another model for my mum, 1750Q and its better... |
Nov 30 2006, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(BaDtzBaDtz @ Nov 30 2006, 04:20 PM) Hi All, i sure go 4 Samsung in tis case cozWould like to get some opinion from you all, I'm thinking of getting new LCD Monitor for my PC, What brand is nice? I got 2 brand on my selection, 1. LG L1718S-BN 17" LCD Monitor 2. Samsung 940BW Any other recommandation? please advice.. Thank Q~~ 940BW is 19" while L1718S oni 17" This post has been edited by nckent: Nov 30 2006, 04:46 PM |
Nov 30 2006, 06:49 PM
516 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bandar Kinrara |
wat i suggest is walk around the IT mall and get some target to hunt for it....after that sit infront of computer and google for the review...
but dun believe the review 100%...see through ur eye... Im also applied the same b4 i brought my dell 2007.... |
Nov 30 2006, 09:15 PM
1,988 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 在某个角落...... |
Nowadays at LCD market price is still not so stable..... Better brought 20" above is more ideal for all multi-usage LCD monitor.
Nov 30 2006, 09:29 PM
893 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
dell 2407 wfp goin to be RM2349 + 5 years warranty during pcfair!
Nov 30 2006, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(marky @ Nov 30 2006, 09:29 PM) *Sweatdrop*You sure about that? Only in PC Fair? I am paying like an extra RM250 if this is true >_<. Do update me if the price is true, bcoz I will call up Dell and made hell out of their phoneline about this matter. Hmm BTW, did Dell ever had booths in PC Fair? I cant seriously remember. Maybe they do, but do they sell LCD Monitors there? I was under the impression their main sales are driven through online/telephony, only certain models made it to shops in LYP. ---------------------------------------- BTW about cleaning up the LCD Monitor, I cant seem to find a good place to purchase 3M Clothes to wipe my monitor. Any ideas where to get it? This post has been edited by Haruji Sora: Nov 30 2006, 11:24 PM |
Nov 30 2006, 11:40 PM
8 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Aiyer... all so pricey eh... i just use it for normal home use ....
any other suggestion or recommand ar??? lAh0S: btw.. why LG wan not good ar? why u say it sux ar? |
Nov 30 2006, 11:54 PM
4,017 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Georgetown, Penang |
There's nothing wrong with LG lah, it's due to personal preferences only, the latest LG LCD monitors are not bad, very good contrast and brightness. You can go to pc shops and have a look at them. You'll be amazed with the performance and price. Not too expensive.
QUOTE(BaDtzBaDtz @ Nov 30 2006, 11:40 PM) |
Nov 30 2006, 11:58 PM
610 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Ampang, Selangor |
Dec 1 2006, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(vassalle @ Nov 30 2006, 11:58 PM) where in the world did you get this information from? really should check out the pc fair tomorrow then. #$@# It is true. Dell online price just got updated to RM2349 with Free 5 years warranty. OMG, tomorrow I am going to call sales and make complain. I rather cancel my order and lose RM80 (possibily) and reorder on the new price instead.It is RM250 cheaper than the RM2599 I ordered two days back. Grrrrrr.... On other news, the other LCDs on Dell also encounter some form of price drop. Dell 2007WFP is @RM1299 Dell E207WFP is @RM1099 Dell 1907Fp is @RM849. All these come with Free 5 years Warranty. This post has been edited by Haruji Sora: Dec 1 2006, 12:09 AM |
Dec 1 2006, 12:07 AM
1,469 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: YOU.ESS.JAY |
QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Dec 1 2006, 12:03 AM) #$@# It is true. Dell online price just got updated to RM2349 with Free 5 years warranty. OMG, tomorrow I am going to call sales and make complain. I rather cancel my order and lose RM80 (possibily) and reorder on the new price instead. U ordered 2 days ago when pcfair is around the corner? U should've known better... It is RM250 cheaper than the RM2599 I ordered two days back. Grrrrrr.... |
| Change to: | 0.0189sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:22 AM |