Looking for SCIENCE degree holders, To innovate on a water product together

TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 01:59 PM, updated 11y ago

121 posts

Hi all,

Looking for a few like-minded people to develop a product together, based on an idea I have for a home-based water purifier system.

Before we begin, it should be stated that we should try to do things on a self-funded basis, just like a hobby we work on together. We can meet on weekends to develop the concept. To purchase materials, we can pool money together too. All that is needed is your commitment and expertise.

A short description on the idea:

Pretty sure you've heard about (and have your own criticisms) alkaline water and other types of miraculous water, energy-charged water, etc. and all the popular brands that cost upwards of thousands of Ringgit (e.g. A****, C****, D****).

And many people feel that these are overpriced. Not only that, many claims of health benefits are hyped up and probably false marketing. Simply put, they are fanciful gadgets that people would like to own, but often overpriced and probably do not work as claimed.

What I am looking to do is to create a similar system that not only FULFILLS the hype, but is also affordable. Above all, the product concept and claims should be backed up by findings in research papers.

In short, I believe in the power of marketing HYPE, but at the same time being CORRECT and IRREFUTABLE; in other words I want to be the underdog that becomes a pesky challenge to existing corporations' principles and marketing standards.

Also, it would be based on irrefutable health and nutrition FACTS, supported by valid research.

I have identified a specific working product in the market which launched only recently, which we would emulate and innovate on and sell for a profit, as the market is still new. This particular product already meets some of the high-standards I have stated above, but can still be optimized further.

I can't point out the specific products here, as that would be our competitive edge for now; in short it's very similar to a home-based water purifier system just like what you see in Malaysia. I feel that we can emulate the current products I am eyeing, and innovate on mechanism, production methods, and final end-produce for human consumption.

The workaround:

The current handful of live products I am referring to, have brought to market a new concept, but have YET to gain widespread traction like your usual brands and marketing hype. However, they are slowly but steadily gaining ground, so we'd want to be fast.

Will need to purchase the product, de-construct it and make it better. Yes, this probably infringes some ethics and IP but this is how things work worldwide; not to mention we should innovate it so that it no longer infringes on IP, but also becomes a better product.

I have also identified the necessary supporting research papers for this cause, in order to differentiate the product and make it a winner. These include: A paper on lab experiments done to yield a NOVEL chemical reaction, also papers on the BENEFICIAL effects of such chemicals to the body.

A short background on myself:

I am not a science guy, I came from business-related studies. However, being analytical, factual, logical, and correct is my game. My work requires me to be in regular contact with senior management of various leading corporations in Malaysia, and being factually accurate is the first few rules in my playbook. Thanks to advice of a fellow forumer, a clarification: This statement is not meant to be bossy, what I meant was to reassure the science community of my character and credibility, and that our pursuit will be in good science as advised by yourself, with me giving input on consumer best standards.

I have a knack for identifying new product trends too, related to health and fitness. Something that really works, not just a fad. Well, I may not the first to identify, but I'm definitely among the first 5% in the market do recognize the importance of something and its potential applications.

For example, recognizing blue-light to be bad for our eyes after poring through some research papers, I couldn't find blue-light blocking glasses in Malaysia a couple of years back, but now they are selling widespread, and you can see monitor brands coming up with low blue-light screens. Even lens companies like Zeiss have already started selling blue-light preventing spectacle lens. Again, should reiterate that I am not the first, but I am among the first 5% to identify.

My next prediction: DNA profiling and associated lifestyle adaptations to perform your best would be the next big thing. (This is unrelated to the topic at hand tongue.gif )

The winning team, a prediction:

I have identified the following skill sets to be necessary for the success of the initial stages of this endeavor:

(1) Good in chemistry, familiar with replicating lab experiments, e.g.

- Chemical engineer, or
- Chemist, or
- Final year/fresh graduate with the above degrees

* Required to read a few lab papers on a particular chemical reaction and try to replicate it, as well as study how an existing product in the market is able to do this, and how to make one by ourselves. Able to work with food-grade minerals.

(2) Good in electrical modifications, wiring, systems, and a knack for deconstructing and inventing, e.g.

- Electrical engineer, or
- Mechatronic engineer, or
- Final year/ fresh graduate with the above degrees

*To support the chemical engineer/chemist in constructing something that works as abovementioned, also to innovate in terms of how to make things cost cheaper, less bulk, more reliable, and new way of doing things. Perhaps integrating other solutions in the market such as piezoelectric. Resourceful and able to work with diverse range of materials including carbon filters, plastic moldings, stainless steel fabrication, river sand, etc.

(3) Someone in the health/medical line, e.g.
- Doctor
- Nutritionist
- Final year/fresh graduate with a science degree that is qualified to comment on matters relating to the human body/health/nutrition

*To consult on the factual accuracy and validity of the ideas in relation to health and nutrition best standards, to play the devil's advocate. In future to serve as a qualified figurehead of the team as the 'health and nutrition/science' consultant.

=====

Looking forward to your replies and comments. Do refer a friend if you think he/she may be interested. smile.gif

*All comments and viewpoints are welcome, though distasteful one-liner comments will be deleted.

Note: This piece of writeup is a work in progress, and I will edit it from time to time based on responses from fellow forumers.

=====

Update on 26 October 2015:

This post has been edited by tagz8: Oct 26 2015, 06:12 PM
sI Taufu
post Oct 13 2015, 02:05 PM

getting higher and higher
1,597 posts

Oct 13 2015, 02:34 PM
This post has been deleted by tagz8 because: please be polite :)

faisal_ally_omg
post Oct 13 2015, 02:05 PM

33 posts

Oct 13 2015, 03:03 PM

CarroTT
post Oct 13 2015, 02:08 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

Oct 13 2015, 03:02 PM

Zhao
post Oct 13 2015, 02:08 PM

1,267 posts

/k is not your science fair.
mousqy
post Oct 13 2015, 02:11 PM

758 posts

science computer can?
NasiLemakMan
post Oct 13 2015, 02:18 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

DNA profiling sounds reaks of ethical issues. The only good thing to obtain the right to patent is to prevent evil conglomerate from getting it first. Of course this would be naught if TPPA is a done deal.
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 02:19 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Oct 13 2015, 02:18 PM)
DNA profiling sounds reaks of ethical issues. The only good thing to obtain the right to patent is to prevent evil conglomerate from getting it first. Of course this would be naught if TPPA is a done deal.
In the smaller scale man, like, what food types work best for you, ingredients to avoid, amount and choice of exercise, etc. Related to how to make optimal choices for your given DNA/body type.

This post has been edited by tagz8: Oct 13 2015, 02:20 PM
joe_mamak
post Oct 13 2015, 02:21 PM

363 posts

I like my water natural. biggrin.gif
Wassupman

722 posts

if it has all the hyped up claims, then why are you still going into all the same claims?

ray123

Senior Citizen
2,510 posts

All you need are a couple of religious figures who are willing to give their endorsement and put their faces on the product.
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 02:23 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Oct 13 2015, 02:21 PM)
I like my water natural.  biggrin.gif
That's part of the plan wink.gif

QUOTE(Wassupman @ Oct 13 2015, 02:21 PM)
if it has all the hyped up claims, then why are you still going into all the same claims?
A part about consumerism is hype purchasing as well. Create the hype, but make sure they are backed up with solid-proof.

I personally like being sold hype. It's like, hey... sell yourself to me, I take pleasure in that. But make sure it's something solid.

This post has been edited by tagz8: Oct 13 2015, 02:24 PM
Wassupman
post Oct 13 2015, 02:24 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:23 PM)
A part about consumerism is hype purchasing as well. Create the hype, but make sure they are backed up with solid-proof.
so do you think they are not backed up with any proofs and why you still use the word "claim" if they have?
CarroTT
post Oct 13 2015, 02:25 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

Oct 13 2015, 02:34 PM

TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 02:25 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Wassupman @ Oct 13 2015, 02:24 PM)
so do you think they are not backed up with any proofs and why you still use the word "claim" if they have?
I've edited my reply to you above.

And apologies, don't understand your question, elaborate please?
SUScocbum4
post Oct 13 2015, 02:26 PM

57 posts

Science economics : Apple > all
rekaito90
post Oct 13 2015, 02:26 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:59 PM)
Looking for a few like-minded people to develop a product, based on an idea I have for a home-based water purifier system.

Before I begin, it should be stated beforehand that things should be done on pro-bono basis. We can meet on weekends to develop the concept. To purchase materials, we can pool money together too. All that is needed is your commitment and expertise.

Pretty sure you've heard about (and have your own criticisms) alkaline water and other types of 'miraculous' water, energy-charged water, etc. and all the popular brands that cost upwards of thousands of Ringgit (e.g. A****, C****, D****). And most people feel that these are overpriced. Not only that, many claims of health benefits are hyped up and probably false marketing. Simply put, they are overpriced fanciful gadgets that probably do not work.

What I am looking to do is to create a similar water product that not only FULFILLS the hype, but is also affordable. Above all, the product concept and all claims should be backed up by findings in research papers. In short, I believe in the power of marketing HYPE, but at the same time being CORRECT and IRREFUTABLE; in other words I want to be the underdog that becomes a pesky challenge to existing corporations' principles and marketing standards.

Also, it would be based on irrefutable health and nutrition FACTS, supported by valid research.

I can't point out the specific type or example of product here, as that would be a hush hush for now; in short it's a home-based water purifier system, just like what you see in Malaysia. There are existing ones in the market already for this particular product I am eyeing, and I feel that we can copy them, and innovate on cost and production methods.

The workaround:

There are already a few live products in the market, but they are not widespread like your usual brands and marketing hype, YET.

I have identified the necessary supporting research papers for this cause. These include: A paper on lab experiments done to yield a particular chemical reaction, also papers on the benefits of such chemicals to the body.

I have also identified the existing product (it is already quickly gaining traction so we want to be fast). Will need to purchase the product, deconstruct it and make it better. Yes, this probably infringes some ethics and IP but this is how things work worldwide; not to mention we should innovate it so that it no longer infringes on IP, but also becomes a better product.

I am not a science guy, I came from business-related studies. However, being analytical, factual, logical, and correct is my game. My work requires me to be in regular contact with senior management of a number of leading corporations in Malaysia. Not looking stupid is among the first few rules in my playbook.

I have a knack for identifying new product trends too, related to health and fitness. Something that really works, not just a fad. Well, I'm not the first to see this, but I'm definitely among the first 5% in the market do recognize the importance of something and its potential applications.

For example, recognizing blue-light to be bad for our eyes after poring through some research papers, I couldn't find blue-light blocking glasses in Malaysia a couple of years back, but now they are selling widespread here, and you can see monitor brands coming up with low blue-light screens. Even lens companies like Zeiss have already started selling blue-light preventing spectacle lens. Again, should reiterate that I am not the first, but I am among the first 5% to identify.

My next prediction: DNA profiling and associated lifestyle adaptations to perform your best would be the next big thing. (This is unrelated to the topic at hand  tongue.gif )

The team required:

I have identified the following skill sets to be necessary for the success of the initial stages this endeavor:

- Chemical engineer
- Chemist

* Required to read a few lab papers on a particular chemical reaction and try to replicate it, as well as study how an existing product in the market is able to do this, and how to make one by ourselves. Able to work with food-grade minerals.

(2) Good in electrical modifications, wiring, systems, and a knack for deconstructing and inventing, e.g.

- Electrical engineer
- Mechatronic engineer

*To support the chemical engineer/chemist in constructing something that works as abovementioned, also to innovate in terms of how to make things cost cheaper, less bulk, more reliable, and new way of doing things. Perhaps integrating other solutions in the market such as piezoelectric. Resourceful and able to work with diverse range of materials including carbon filters, plastic moldings, stainless steel fabrication, river sand, etc.

- Doctor
- Nutritionist
- Final year/fresh graduate with a science degree that is qualified to comment on matters relating to the human body/health/nutrition

*To consult on the factual accuracy and validity of the ideas in relation to health and nutrition best standards, to play the devil's advocate. In future to serve as a qualified figurehead of the team as the 'health and nutrition/science' consultant.

=====

Looking forward to your replies and comments. Do refer a friend if you think he/she may be interested.  smile.gif

*distasteful comments will be deleted

Note: This piece of writeup is a work in progress, and I will edit it from time to time based on responses from fellow forumers.
Later got end product.. selling RM4000
wimk
post Oct 13 2015, 02:27 PM

32 posts

parking read later
joe_mamak
post Oct 13 2015, 02:27 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:23 PM)
That's part of the plan  wink.gif

I personally like being sold hype. It's like, hey... sell yourself to me, I take pleasure in that. But make sure it's something solid.
All the best to you.

If you do succeed in future, drop us a post in here. biggrin.gif

I don't mean to pour cold water on you, but I really have my doubts about alkaline water.
CarroTT
post Oct 13 2015, 02:29 PM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

Oct 13 2015, 02:46 PM

TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 02:31 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Oct 13 2015, 02:27 PM)
All the best to you. 

If you do succeed in future, drop us a post in here.  biggrin.gif

I don't mean to pour cold water on you, but I really have my doubts about alkaline water.
Thanks smile.gif

That's because of all the hype out there that is unsubstantiated.

Let me attempt to change your mind:

The best water sources around the world are alkaline. Be it in India, America, China, whatever, they are alkaline.

BUT, the idea is not about replicating its alkalinity, nor selling alkaline-ph water just for the sake of.

It's something different that works.

I'm talking vaguely here as I don't want people to catch on the idea. smile.gif
NasiLemakMan

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:19 PM)
In the smaller scale man, like, what food types work best for you, ingredients to avoid, amount and choice of exercise, etc. Related to how to make optimal choices for your given DNA/body type.
That's the thing, why stop at dieting when you can extract the whole information like behavior, affinity or other phenotypes from the DNA. A single individual has the potential to generate thousands of dollars from their DNA data. This and times 1 billion middle class people, you can create a trillion dollar company.

Of course the DNA data can also be used to wipe an entire race of people in an extreme case. Imagine contaminating the water supply that only affect x race of people.
Explictz

233 posts

tl;dr
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 02:32 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(NasiLemakMan @ Oct 13 2015, 02:31 PM)
That's the thing, why stop at dieting when you can extract the whole information like behavior, affinity or other phenotypes from the DNA. A single individual has the potential to generate thousands of dollars from their DNA data. This and times 1 billion middle class people, you can create  a trillion dollar company.

Of course the DNA data can also be used to wipe an entire race of people in an extreme case. Imagine contaminating the water supply that only affect x race of people.
I believe its already in progress on a large scale, take for example Google's subidiary's acquisition of a DNA company.
Wassupman
post Oct 13 2015, 02:33 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:25 PM)
I've edited my reply to you above.

And apologies, don't understand your question, elaborate please?
my question was why 'step' on someone's idea but in the end intend to use that same idea you step on someone?
do you think end of the day you will not maximize your profit just like A****, C****, D****?
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 02:38 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Wassupman @ Oct 13 2015, 02:33 PM)
my question was why 'step' on someone's idea but in the end intend to use that same idea you step on someone?
do you think end of the day you will not maximize your profit just like A****, C****, D****?
Just identifying a problem in the market. And to do that do I not have to make product comparisons and find flaws?

To maximize profit or not, it's such a prelim stage, will have to see.
Wassupman
post Oct 13 2015, 02:40 PM

722 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:38 PM)
Just identifying a problem in the market. And to do that do I not have to make product comparisons and find flaws?

To maximize profit or not, it's such a prelim stage, will have to see.
how is it a problem to the market?
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 02:44 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Wassupman @ Oct 13 2015, 02:40 PM)
how is it a problem to the market?
(1) Many people do not believe the hype. Just look at scientifically-valid criticisms on alkaline water by qualified scientists. I want my product to be able to withstand such criticisms. This not only allows me to target a wider market, but at the same time sleep better at night knowing that my product is scientifically-sound and based on evidence.

(2) Very expensive. I want to make it more affordable to the wider market as it will be good for health, while still making a profit.

(3) Other factors, too long to type here, especially if you're just commenting for argumentative sake.
Pistacio
post Oct 13 2015, 02:47 PM

458 posts

have you done enough research for customer validation?
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 02:49 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Pistacio @ Oct 13 2015, 02:47 PM)
have you done enough research for customer validation?
Nope.

But there are existing customers for a similar product, which is growing in size. That's a quick reference point smile.gif

Marketing and PR can be strategised later, when we do get a working prototype.

This post has been edited by tagz8: Oct 13 2015, 02:50 PM
Pistacio
post Oct 13 2015, 02:50 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:49 PM)
Nope.

But there are existing customers for a similar product, which is growing in size. That's a quick reference point smile.gif

Marketing and PR can be strategised later, when we do get a working prototype.
better do some customer validation first.. unless you already have some huge grants on hand..
ate
post Oct 13 2015, 02:51 PM

629 posts

pure water should be 95% purity, crystallized and blue
VanishS
post Oct 13 2015, 02:56 PM

234 posts

You know Malaysians are an conservative bunch and very prone to scientific skepticism until their family, relatives and friends overwhelm their logic and rationality. owai
J1g54w
post Oct 13 2015, 02:59 PM

1,449 posts

I have been drinking home-made distilled water for 2 years and it's the best water to drink. So many people want to capitalize on this simple basic need.
VanishS
post Oct 13 2015, 02:59 PM

234 posts

Bla bla bla

This post has been edited by VanishS: Oct 13 2015, 02:59 PM
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 03:00 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(ate @ Oct 13 2015, 02:51 PM)
pure water should be 95% purity, crystallized and blue
What's crystallized about? Blue is just the visual property of water.
VanishS
post Oct 13 2015, 03:00 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(J1g54w @ Oct 13 2015, 02:59 PM)
I have been drinking home-made distilled water for 2 years and it's the best water to drink. So many people want to capitalize on this simple basic need.
You might want to switch to mineral water for a few months and see the difference. No need to thank me for this.
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 03:01 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(J1g54w @ Oct 13 2015, 02:59 PM)
Not the best water based on my understanding. But feel free to post some real science here substantiating your belief.
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 03:06 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Pistacio @ Oct 13 2015, 02:50 PM)
better do some customer validation first.. unless you already have some huge grants on hand..
First customer is myself, as it is based on evidence. After getting a working prototype then will think of funding.
xelrix
post Oct 13 2015, 03:06 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:31 PM)
Thanks smile.gif

That's because of all the hype out there that is unsubstantiated.

Let me attempt to change your mind:

The best water sources around the world are alkaline. Be it in India, America, China, whatever, they are alkaline.

BUT, the idea is not about replicating its alkalinity, nor selling alkaline-ph water just for the sake of.

It's something different that works.

I'm talking vaguely here as I don't want people to catch on the idea.  smile.gif
The only good thing about these best, alkaline water sources is their taste and purity.

There is nothing special about alkaline.

I would suggest that you ditch this alkaline idea.

Get these scientists you're going to work with to research water taste. Good tasting water can wasily fit the hype of "good water". Maybe the smell (chlorine smells is bad), maybe the colour (very slight bluish tinge may infer a "clean" image.) Shit like that. It doesn't have to be actual changes to water. Maybe some light tricks to the container of the water could manifest such illusion without actually do anything to the water that has a potential of some lawsuits.

For purity, just devise some generic filtration system and youre good to go. Or just make a reverse osmosis machine, then have the machine do something about the taste later.

The rest, do whatever marketing gimmicks you want.

But, if youre looking to make something revolutionary, something that could cure cancer (or ambitious shit like that), out of plain water, youre out of luck.

FireIceCombo
post Oct 13 2015, 03:11 PM

206 posts

there is no best water. safe for drinking is definitely boiled water which is efficient.

i have been workiing with de-ionized water for the past 15 years. Touted to be the cleanest purest water available. Definitely not for drinking, this i can tell u .
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 03:12 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(xelrix @ Oct 13 2015, 03:06 PM)
The only good thing about these best, alkaline water sources is their taste and purity.

There is nothing special about alkaline.

I would suggest that you ditch this alkaline idea.

Get these scientists you're going to work with to research water taste. Good tasting water can wasily fit the hype of "good water". Maybe the smell (chlorine smells is bad), maybe the colour (very slight bluish tinge may infer a "clean" image.) Shit like that. It doesn't have to be actual changes to water. Maybe some light tricks to the container of the water could manifest such illusion without actually do anything to the water that has a potential of some lawsuits.

For purity, just devise some generic filtration system and youre good to go. Or just make a reverse osmosis machine, then have the machine do something about the taste later.

The rest, do whatever marketing gimmicks you want.

But, if youre looking to make something revolutionary, something that could cure cancer (or ambitious shit like that), out of plain water, youre out of luck.
My reply was tailored for joe_mamak.

I do concur that there is nothing special about alkaline in itself. Alkalinity is just a measurement of something else.

The whole idea of selling alkaline water is part-gimmick, part truth.

I am tweaking it further to be fully substantiated by science and logic. Plus those stuff that you mentioned. And other stuff too. smile.gif
VanishS
post Oct 13 2015, 03:13 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 03:01 PM)
Not the best water based on my understanding. But feel free to post some real science here substantiating your belief.
"Real science" is laid bare in the internet with plenty of conflicting interests at play here. The rest boils down the anecdotes. And I trust my own anecdotes.
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 03:14 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(VanishS @ Oct 13 2015, 03:13 PM)
"Real science" is laid bare in the internet with plenty of conflicting interests at play here. The rest boils down the anecdotes. And I trust my own anecdotes.
If the science works, the anecdotal evidence will come in too. You can work from that end of the spectrum, while I work from this end, or start from both ends, it's the same.
SUSchokia
post Oct 13 2015, 03:16 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

miracle water got?
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 03:16 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Oct 13 2015, 03:11 PM)
there is no best water. safe for drinking is definitely boiled water which is efficient.

i have been workiing with de-ionized water for the past 15 years. Touted to be the cleanest purest water available. Definitely not for drinking, this i can tell u .
What are you working as again? Sounds interesting to me.
J1g54w
post Oct 13 2015, 03:18 PM

1,449 posts

QUOTE(VanishS @ Oct 13 2015, 03:00 PM)
You might want to switch to mineral water for a few months and see the difference. No need to thank me for this.
QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 03:01 PM)

Those are the functions of water in our body. A lot of people misunderstand "water provide minerals to body" and it's also the most common argument against distilled water.

There are organic minerals and inorganic minerals. Take calcium for example:

calcium from rocks = inorganic
calcium from spinach = organic

We need minerals from plants (food), not from ground. The ground minerals are for plants, because to humans, they are less bioavailable (more difficult to be assimilated into our body). Water's function here is to carry and distribute all the minerals and nutrients from food to our cells.

Distilled water is the purest form of water, and it can do all the functions mentioned above efficiently without the interference from other stuffs inside the water.

This post has been edited by J1g54w: Oct 13 2015, 03:20 PM
FireIceCombo
post Oct 13 2015, 03:19 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 03:16 PM)
What are you working as again? Sounds interesting to me.
chemist
differ
post Oct 13 2015, 03:20 PM

404 posts

Sounds like what TS wants to do is let you all do the work, while he makes all the money.
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 03:21 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(differ @ Oct 13 2015, 03:20 PM)
Sounds like what TS wants to do is let you all do the work, while he makes all the money.
If you have the idea in the first place.
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 03:22 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Oct 13 2015, 03:19 PM)
chemist
I do agree with your comments by the way.

And would be interesting to hear a professional's explanation on why de-ionized water is not for drinking, please elaborate smile.gif
VanishS
post Oct 13 2015, 03:26 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 03:21 PM)
There's plenty of ideas floating around, just that /k "looks" lazy enough not to do anything about it. tongue.gif
VanishS
post Oct 13 2015, 03:26 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 03:14 PM)
If the science works, the anecdotal evidence will come in too. You can work from that end of the spectrum, while I work from this end, or start from both ends, it's the same.
Oh yeah i'm sure it does. Sure it does. As long there are no corporate interests at play here.

This post has been edited by VanishS: Oct 13 2015, 03:38 PM
differ
post Oct 13 2015, 03:38 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 03:21 PM)
So I'm right?
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 03:41 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(differ @ Oct 13 2015, 03:38 PM)
So I'm right?
About?
FireIceCombo
post Oct 13 2015, 03:45 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 03:22 PM)
I do agree with your comments by the way.

And would be interesting to hear a professional's explanation on why de-ionized water is not for drinking, please elaborate smile.gif
de-ionized water is hungry water. long story short, its sucks up both the good and bad. it doesnt know which is good and which is bad, its hungry and just takes in everything.

imagine if it goes in your body, good and bad both being charged into the water, so u might end up with nothing or u might end up with more of the good or the bad perhaps ?
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 03:58 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Oct 13 2015, 03:45 PM)
de-ionized water is hungry water. long story short, its sucks up both the good and bad. it doesnt know which is good and which is bad, its hungry and just takes in everything.

imagine if it goes in your body, good and bad both being charged into the water, so u might end up with nothing or u might end up with more of the good or the bad perhaps ?
Links to papers that talk about this?
FireIceCombo
post Oct 13 2015, 04:03 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 03:58 PM)
Links to papers that talk about this?
if via WHO, there are some published papers, but u'll need to go thru scores of them. u can find it on WHO's website for de-ionized and health benefits.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Purified_wate..._purified_water
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 04:05 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Oct 13 2015, 04:03 PM)
if via WHO, there are some published papers, but u'll need to go thru scores of them. u can find it on WHO's website for de-ionized and health benefits.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Purified_wate..._purified_water
Yeah I've got a few already, looking for more. Thanks for the link!

By the way, are you keen to provide some consultation on chemistry related stuff as per my first post? smile.gif

This post has been edited by tagz8: Oct 13 2015, 04:06 PM
FireIceCombo
post Oct 13 2015, 04:47 PM

206 posts

not really interested. if u have questions u can forward them to me. i'll try to answer them and lead u in the right path,.
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 05:07 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(ancientguy2 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:14 PM)
Very good idea bro, its about time we have people who innovate to bring costs down and make some money along the way , instead of whining of rising costs.

I wish i had any of the knowledge required to join this success story.  Nevertheless,  congratulations on your first step towards success.
Thanks a lot for taking time to comment. What are your expertise (and personal contacts) in?

Perhaps we could work on other stuff when suitable opportunities arise.
icehart85
post Oct 13 2015, 05:18 PM

874 posts

The only water that I think is good is reverse osmosis water. The main reason is to remove fluoride which I found is a poison instead of helping our teeth it actually make it worse.

As for alkaline water, it could have some benefit. As I learned from my vegan diet, omnivorous diet is mostly acidic and by changing my diet to vegan, it has become predominantly alkaline. I would not dismiss the akaline water theory blindly but from my understanding, it would have little to no effect on me as my food is already alkaline.
3rdEdition
post Oct 13 2015, 05:19 PM

213 posts

maybe u should post at more appropiate section....
tdzheng
post Oct 13 2015, 05:22 PM

23 posts

I'm in scientific line, not related to this, but last I heard,
Ppl in Singapore n China is developing atmospheric water generating machine, basically creating water from air
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 05:31 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Oct 13 2015, 05:18 PM)
The only water that I think is good is reverse osmosis water. The main reason is to remove fluoride which I found is a poison instead of helping our teeth it actually make it worse.

As for alkaline water, it could have some benefit. As I learned from my vegan diet, omnivorous diet is mostly acidic and by changing my diet to vegan, it has become predominantly alkaline. I would not dismiss the akaline water theory blindly but from my understanding, it would have little to no effect on me as my food is already alkaline.
Most of the nutritious and healthy foods are acidic in pH. Your vegan diet would also comprise mainly acidic pH foods.

What you are referring to is the alkaline diet theory, which is linked to the PRAL formula (see Dr Thomas Remer), and to a certain extent the inflammation factor theory (see Monica Reinagel, and Dr Andrew Weil).

You will find that highly a highly nutritious diet following popular diets such as the DASH and Mediterranean diets, would comprise many acidic foods but most likely yielding an overall alkaline ash based on the PRAL formula. wink.gif

Any my understanding on alkaline water is probably different from yours. And yes, it would likely yield minimal differences assuming you are on a very well-balanced diet with minimal deficiencies.

QUOTE(3rdEdition @ Oct 13 2015, 05:19 PM)
maybe u should post at more appropiate section....
I find that this section is possibly the best section as it is a wider target audience. The other is H&F but that's a very small subset. smile.gif

This post has been edited by tagz8: Oct 13 2015, 05:58 PM
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 05:32 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(tdzheng @ Oct 13 2015, 05:22 PM)
I'm in scientific line, not related to this, but last I heard,
Ppl in Singapore n China is developing atmospheric water generating machine, basically creating water from air
There are already such companies, the ones I know are from US.
tdzheng
post Oct 13 2015, 05:38 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 05:32 PM)
There are already such companies, the ones I know are from US.
Yep, heard it many years ago. But I will find it very useful in the future if it's proliferated
TStagz8
post Oct 13 2015, 05:46 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(tdzheng @ Oct 13 2015, 05:38 PM)
Yep, heard it many years ago. But I will find it very useful in the future if it's proliferated
It would be expensive I believe, and cost-viable in areas where drought is the norm, probably not going to be widespread in daily use. That's what I think lah. May be wrong as technology constantly evolves.
TStagz8
post Oct 14 2015, 11:01 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Sohai @ Oct 13 2015, 05:30 PM)
done after join liao its become MLM company
Oh no la, no product and license yet, how to be mlm co smile.gif
TStagz8
post Oct 14 2015, 11:25 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(ray123 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:21 PM)
All you need are a couple of religious figures who are willing to give their endorsement and put their faces on the product.
Different target market. My ethnic languages not that good to know the market either.

QUOTE(EducationMaster @ Oct 13 2015, 05:29 PM)
U forgot most important character
U need religious person to bless ur product
Can bless during product development and business setup stages smile.gif

QUOTE(chokia @ Oct 13 2015, 03:16 PM)
miracle water got?
Near to smile.gif

QUOTE(WhySoStress @ Oct 13 2015, 05:24 PM)
just hire me and no need interview
What's your expertise in? Fine with probono? smile.gif
haroldz123
post Oct 14 2015, 11:58 AM

1,062 posts

They need doctor to endorse the product

That is dangerous

My biotechnology degree told me alkaline water or kangen water doesn't work

Placebo effect

Try this:

Get a person with diabetes, high blood pressure or gout
Give them alkaline water but without control their diet (eat as normal)

Sure nothing will happen

Patients already diagnosed with health issues will automatically control their diets n take medicines to control their conditin.
Therefore drinking alkaline water will do nothing
tdzheng
post Oct 14 2015, 01:06 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 05:46 PM)
It would be expensive I believe, and cost-viable in areas where drought is the norm, probably not going to be widespread in daily use. That's what I think lah. May be wrong as technology constantly evolves.
Maybe, but Singapore has invested heavily on it.
TStagz8
post Oct 14 2015, 01:30 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Oct 14 2015, 11:58 AM)
They need doctor to endorse the product

That is dangerous

My biotechnology degree told me alkaline water or kangen water doesn't work

Placebo effect

Try this:

Get a person with diabetes, high blood pressure or gout
Give them alkaline water but without control their diet (eat as normal)

Sure nothing will happen

Patients already diagnosed with health issues will automatically control their diets n take medicines to control their conditin.
Therefore drinking alkaline water will do nothing
Those range of products do not work in line with the claimed medical miraculous claims, hence you're right in that sense.

But my original post wasn't about alkaline water.
SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 14 2015, 01:36 PM

381 posts

lol! you want engineers to work for FREE..
Sorry, if your product is so ground breaking.. you'll consider paying at least some compensation for their expertise..
topkek..
TStagz8
post Oct 14 2015, 01:37 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Oct 14 2015, 01:36 PM)
lol! you want engineers to work for FREE..
Sorry, if your product is so ground breaking.. you'll consider paying at least some compensation for their expertise..
topkek..
I'm working for free too. You didn't read the word 'like-minded'?
wodenus
post Oct 14 2015, 01:38 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 13 2015, 01:59 PM)
Looking for a few like-minded people to develop a product, based on an idea I have for a home-based water purifier system.

Before I begin, it should be stated beforehand that things should be done on pro-bono basis. We can meet on weekends to develop the concept. To purchase materials, we can pool money together too. All that is needed is your commitment and expertise.

Pretty sure you've heard about (and have your own criticisms) alkaline water and other types of 'miraculous' water, energy-charged water, etc. and all the popular brands that cost upwards of thousands of Ringgit (e.g. A****, C****, D****). And most people feel that these are overpriced. Not only that, many claims of health benefits are hyped up and probably false marketing. Simply put, they are overpriced fanciful gadgets that probably do not work.

What I am looking to do is to create a similar water product that not only FULFILLS the hype, but is also affordable. Above all, the product concept and all claims should be backed up by findings in research papers. In short, I believe in the power of marketing HYPE, but at the same time being CORRECT and IRREFUTABLE; in other words I want to be the underdog that becomes a pesky challenge to existing corporations' principles and marketing standards.

I can't point out the specific type or example of product here, as that would be a hush hush for now; in short it's a home-based water purifier system, just like what you see in Malaysia. There are existing ones in the market already for this particular product I am eyeing, and I feel that we can copy them, and innovate on cost and production methods.

The workaround:

There are already a few live products in the market, but they are not widespread like your usual brands and marketing hype, YET.

I have identified the necessary supporting research papers for this cause. These include: A paper on lab experiments done to yield a particular chemical reaction, also papers on the benefits of such chemicals to the body.

I have also identified the existing product (it is already quickly gaining traction so we want to be fast). Will need to purchase the product, deconstruct it and make it better. Yes, this probably infringes some ethics and IP but this is how things work worldwide; not to mention we should innovate it so that it no longer infringes on IP, but also becomes a better product.

I am not a science guy, I came from business-related studies. However, being analytical, factual, logical, and correct is my game. My work requires me to be in regular contact with senior management of a number of leading corporations in Malaysia. Not looking stupid is among the first few rules in my playbook.

I have a knack for identifying new product trends too, related to health and fitness. Something that really works, not just a fad. Well, I'm not the first to identify, but I'm definitely among the first 5% in the market do recognize the importance of something and its potential applications.

For example, recognizing blue-light to be bad for our eyes after poring through some research papers, I couldn't find blue-light blocking glasses in Malaysia a couple of years back, but now they are selling widespread here, and you can see monitor brands coming up with low blue-light screens. Even lens companies like Zeiss have already started selling blue-light preventing spectacle lens. Again, should reiterate that I am not the first, but I am among the first 5% to identify.

My next prediction: DNA profiling and associated lifestyle adaptations to perform your best would be the next big thing. (This is unrelated to the topic at hand  tongue.gif )

The team required:

I have identified the following skill sets to be necessary for the success of the initial stages this endeavor:

- Chemical engineer
- Chemist

- Electrical engineer
- Mechatronic engineer

- Doctor
- Nutritionist

=====

Looking forward to your replies and comments. Do refer a friend if you think he/she may be interested.  smile.gif

*distasteful comments will be deleted

You can already buy a really cheap RO-based water filter, where's the market for this?

SUSthe99percent1
post Oct 14 2015, 01:44 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 14 2015, 01:37 PM)
I'm working for free too. You didn't read the word 'like-minded'?
sure, but you are the leader/ultimate benefactor right?
Hope you find your wozniak.. Not everyone is as lucky as a Steve Jobs...
TStagz8
post Oct 14 2015, 01:46 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Oct 14 2015, 01:44 PM)
sure, but you are the leader/ultimate benefactor right?
Hope you find your wozniak.. Not everyone is as lucky as a Steve Jobs...
And you are ignorant in business. Who says I will be the ultimate benefactor? And which team doesn't need a team lead?
TStagz8
post Oct 14 2015, 01:48 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Oct 14 2015, 01:38 PM)
You can already buy a really cheap RO-based water filter, where's the market for this?
There are some issues with RO-filters. We can make it better.

And it is not targeted for the lower end market, it's for the middle-upper who want premium water.

Or at least until technology costs get much cheaper, then it will be free for all.
wodenus
post Oct 14 2015, 01:51 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 14 2015, 01:48 PM)
There are some issues with RO-filters.

Such as?

And it is not targeted for the lower end market, it's for the middle-upper who want premium water.

Some of those in the hypermarkets look pretty cheap to me.

Or at least until technology costs get much cheaper, then it will be free for all.

You're a business grad and you're talking about things being free for all?
TStagz8
post Oct 14 2015, 01:57 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Oct 14 2015, 01:51 PM)
Such as?
Some of those in the hypermarkets look pretty cheap to me.
You're a business grad and you're talking about things being free for all?
1. For one of the potential problem, you can refer to the earlier comment of this chemist with the nickname FireIceCombo above.

2. There could be better water. Doesn't need to stop at RO.

3. Business studies and its corresponding reality is diverse. It's probably not as bad as you think it is. For example, heard of the social business model?
wodenus
post Oct 14 2015, 02:17 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 14 2015, 01:57 PM)
1. For one of the potential problem, you can refer to the earlier comment of this chemist with the nickname FireIceCombo above.

2. There could be better water. Doesn't need to stop at RO.

3. Business studies and its corresponding reality is diverse. It's probably not as bad as you think it is. For example, heard of the social business model?
1. That's not a problem..

2. Then you need funding.. and we're talking tens of millions for research that will last 10 years or more.

3. I am not a marketer, but I think there's always a cost involved somewhere along the line.
TStagz8
post Oct 14 2015, 02:21 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Oct 14 2015, 02:17 PM)
1. That's not a problem..

2. Then you need funding.. and we're talking tens of millions for research that will last 10 years or more.

3. I am not a marketer, but I think there's always a cost involved somewhere along the line.
1. It may not be a major problem in the larger scale of things. But there still are inadequacies. If you are in the health sciences / chemistry we could talk via PM, I can show you other areas of support and we can discuss further. Otherwise, I don't think there's a need to argue here.

2. I'm working on the basis that there is an existing product already, it is relatively new to the market. We can improve on it. And it doesn't need that much.

3. There is cost involved with everything. It's also how much profit you want to make that has to be factored into the equation.

This post has been edited by tagz8: Oct 14 2015, 02:33 PM
LaVilla.
post Oct 14 2015, 08:16 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Oct 13 2015, 04:47 PM)
not really interested. if u have questions u can forward them to me. i'll try to answer them and lead u in the right path,.
So the best water is the water straight from our pipe without any water filter? And then boiled it and drink? hmm.gif
TStagz8
post Oct 14 2015, 08:22 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Oct 14 2015, 08:16 PM)
So the best water is the water straight from our pipe without any water filter? And then boiled it and drink?  hmm.gif
Adequate, yes. But best? Of course not. laugh.gif
LaVilla.
post Oct 14 2015, 08:31 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 14 2015, 08:22 PM)
Adequate, yes. But best? Of course not.  laugh.gif
I want answer from him only tongue.gif Since you got some plan behind, so i don't trust you biggrin.gif

Anyway, just wanna say to you is, it's easier to criticize and point out bad points about someone than doing it yourself wink.gif
TStagz8
post Oct 14 2015, 09:07 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Oct 14 2015, 08:31 PM)
I want answer from him only tongue.gif Since you got some plan behind, so i don't trust you biggrin.gif

Anyway, just wanna say to you is, it's easier to criticize and point out bad points about someone than doing it yourself wink.gif
I like listening to bad points too, as I said it's important to know all the counter arguments in order to make a scientifically validated product. Just make sure they're logical and substantiated. smile.gif
LaVilla.
post Oct 14 2015, 09:20 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 14 2015, 09:07 PM)
I like listening to bad points too, as I said it's important to know all the counter arguments in order to make a scientifically validated product. Just make sure they're logical and substantiated. smile.gif
What I meant is, do not get discourage by all these criticism and whatsoever that people replied at here wink.gif Wish you all the best though smile.gif And good luck of course smile.gif

This post has been edited by LaVilla.: Oct 14 2015, 09:20 PM
FireIceCombo
post Oct 15 2015, 09:46 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Oct 14 2015, 08:16 PM)
So the best water is the water straight from our pipe without any water filter? And then boiled it and drink?  hmm.gif
Not enough studies to pin the best water for drinking. So far, most scientific journals point to natural spring and boiled. Since most do not have access to a natural spring, our tap treated water is good enough and safe for consumption.
TStagz8
post Oct 15 2015, 10:01 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Oct 15 2015, 09:46 AM)
Not enough studies to pin the best water for drinking. So far, most scientific journals point to natural spring and boiled. Since most do not have access to a natural spring, our tap treated water is good enough and safe for consumption.
LaVilla., told you icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by tagz8: Oct 15 2015, 10:01 AM
prophetjul
post Oct 15 2015, 10:02 AM

12,269 posts

pseudo science?
TStagz8
post Oct 15 2015, 10:07 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 15 2015, 10:02 AM)
pseudo science?
Nope. smile.gif
SUSs2peMocls
post Oct 15 2015, 10:14 AM

672 posts

There's no proof that "alkaline" water is good for you. If anything, a drop of lemon juice or milk rapidly changes the pH level of water.
TStagz8
post Oct 15 2015, 10:19 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(s2peMocls @ Oct 15 2015, 10:14 AM)
There's no proof that "alkaline" water is good for you. If anything, a drop of lemon juice or milk rapidly changes the pH level of water.
Thanks for your comment. What you indicated is right as well. But my first post doesn't specifically mention the sale of 'alkaline water' similar to what we see in the current water filter landscape. May I know how you got this impression?
SUSs2peMocls
post Oct 15 2015, 10:47 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 15 2015, 10:19 AM)
Thanks for your comment. What you indicated is right as well. But my first post doesn't specifically mention the sale of 'alkaline water' similar to what we see in the current water filter landscape. May I know how you got this impression?
You mentioned in your "short description" of the idea.

Anyway, if I was a consumer I will not buy gimmicky water products because through my own understand is humans have been drinking unfiltered water for thousands of years, i.e. water which could have bacteria, sediments etc. Our standard of water today is much cleaner already by comparison.

Personally, I'm more interested in water related products that:
1) Prevents sediments settling on the pipes in the house to prevent rusting/clogs/leaks
2) Stops my light colored clothes from turning gray-ish over time after repeated washing.
prophetjul
post Oct 15 2015, 10:47 AM

12,269 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 15 2015, 10:07 AM)
Nope.  smile.gif
There are thousands of water purifier products in the market, most offering nothing of value added except some punchlines!

The most important aspects of filtration at the tap is to remove

a) Undesirable solids- Dissolved and undissolved
b) Heavy metals
c) Excessive chlorine

while retaining desirable minerals and trace elements.

All else is bunk. biggrin.gif
LaVilla.
post Oct 15 2015, 10:52 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Oct 15 2015, 09:46 AM)
Then does those mineral water sell in the store are better than our boiled tap water? How about drinking water sell in the store compares to mineral water and boiled tap water?

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 15 2015, 10:01 AM)
LaVilla., told you  icon_idea.gif
Haha ok. You win tongue.gif
TStagz8
post Oct 15 2015, 11:16 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(s2peMocls @ Oct 15 2015, 10:47 AM)
You mentioned in your "short description" of the idea.

Anyway, if I was a consumer I will not buy gimmicky water products because through my own understand is humans have been drinking unfiltered water for thousands of years, i.e. water which could have bacteria, sediments etc. Our standard of water today is much cleaner already by comparison.

Personally, I'm more interested in water related products that:
1) Prevents sediments settling on the pipes in the house to prevent rusting/clogs/leaks
2) Stops my light colored clothes from turning gray-ish over time after repeated washing.
Thanks for commenting, appreciate it.

Current water quality may be cleaner in comparison, but there is a market for everything. I am also trying to make those gimmicks as scientifically validated as possible, so no gimmicks.

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 15 2015, 10:47 AM)
There are thousands of water purifier products in the market, most offering nothing of value added except some punchlines!

The most important aspects of filtration at the tap is to remove

a) Undesirable solids- Dissolved and undissolved
b) Heavy metals
c) Excessive chlorine

while retaining desirable minerals and trace elements.

All else is bunk.   biggrin.gif
Thanks for your input, appreciate them.

Yep. You're right. Except for some smaller details which we may have differing opinion on - but that's what creates a market for different goods and services.

Quick question: would you rely on a UV lamp device to avoid the need to boil + convenience?

This post has been edited by tagz8: Oct 15 2015, 11:20 AM
SUSs2peMocls
post Oct 15 2015, 11:19 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 15 2015, 11:16 AM)
Current water quality may be cleaner in comparison, but there is a market for everything.

Yes. But are you planning to go into the market for suckers for some short term profit, or a viable market for long term growth?
TStagz8
post Oct 15 2015, 11:25 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(s2peMocls @ Oct 15 2015, 11:19 AM)
Yes. But are you planning to go into the market for suckers for some short term profit, or a viable market for long term growth?
Check out Amway's device. I personally think that it is a good product + a good recurring income model from servicing and replacements.

Only downside is possibly the price, which may hamper purchases from the lower-middle and lower spending demographics.

However, as evidenced throughout the years, there is still a market even for this premium-priced product, and arguably growing.

That said, I'm not eyeing the premium market, want to make it available to the wider public, as a semi-premium / affordable good due to personal values and principles.

Maybe something similar to Panasonic/Philips pricing or cheaper, but offering more premium water profile.
TStagz8
post Oct 15 2015, 03:08 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Oct 15 2015, 10:52 AM)
Then does those mineral water sell in the store are better than our boiled tap water? How about drinking water sell in the store compares to mineral water and boiled tap water?
Haha ok. You win tongue.gif
1. Depends on how clean the bottles are
2. Concerns on potential hormone disruptors
3. Concerns on quality control
4. They're not mineral water according to international standards, just normal bottled water.
5. If you use a good filter (basic and affordable), my personal opinion is that they're of not much difference.
LaVilla.
post Oct 15 2015, 03:13 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 15 2015, 03:08 PM)
1. Depends on how clean the bottles are
2. Concerns on potential hormone disruptors
3. Concerns on quality control
4. They're not mineral water according to international standards, just normal bottled water.
5. If you use a good filter (basic and affordable), my personal opinion is that they're of not much difference.
Wah seem like you have done quite some research. I admired your passion on it.

Which mean these companies like cactus were deceiving people? ohmy.gif

But then shall be clean otherwise, already have people erm kena already right? And they might ended up kena sue kan? hmm.gif
TStagz8
post Oct 15 2015, 03:18 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Oct 15 2015, 03:13 PM)
Wah seem like you have done quite some research. I admired your passion on it.

Which mean these companies like cactus were deceiving people? ohmy.gif

But then shall be clean otherwise, already have people erm kena already right? And they might ended up kena sue kan? hmm.gif
No, they are not deceiving. Full disclosure available on the label. smile.gif

Yeah, should be clean, but who knows, depends on the quality control. You can check out consumer studies on US brands. Not that clean doesn't mean you will kena diarrhoea also. I would take them without worry, but not for long term.
LaVilla.
post Oct 15 2015, 04:03 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 15 2015, 03:18 PM)
No, they are not deceiving. Full disclosure available on the label.  smile.gif

Yeah, should be clean, but who knows, depends on the quality control. You can check out consumer studies on US brands. Not that clean doesn't mean you will kena diarrhoea also. I would take them without worry, but not for long term.
thank you so much. Then the boiled tap water shall be sufficient for me from now. tongue.gif In future, if your plan worked , i may consider to buy from you a water filter system. Currently renting a room, so no need for that yet tongue.gif

Once again, Good luck and all the best smile.gif

This post has been edited by LaVilla.: Oct 15 2015, 04:03 PM
TStagz8
post Oct 15 2015, 04:13 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Oct 15 2015, 04:03 PM)
thank you so much. Then the boiled tap water shall be sufficient for me from now. tongue.gif In future, if your plan worked , i may consider to buy from you a water filter system. Currently renting a room, so no need for that yet tongue.gif

Once again, Good luck and all the best smile.gif
At least consider using something in the RM140 - RM400 range here as a pre-filter before you boil. smile.gif

http://www.panasonic.com/my/consumer/kitch...filtration.html
LaVilla.
post Oct 15 2015, 04:17 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 15 2015, 04:13 PM)
At least consider using something in the RM140 - RM400 range here as a pre-filter before you boil.  smile.gif

Haha panasonic. Pretty good brand, but not sure about their water filter's quality. Since it's from you, must be good then. I will ask my housemate and see whether they want to pool fund to buy or not haha.

Thank you for your recommendation. XD
TStagz8
post Oct 15 2015, 04:37 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Oct 15 2015, 04:17 PM)
Haha panasonic. Pretty good brand, but not sure about their water filter's quality. Since it's from you, must be good then. I will ask my housemate and see whether they want to pool fund to buy or not haha.

Thank you for your recommendation. XD
Of course, you're welcome biggrin.gif
TStagz8
post Oct 16 2015, 02:39 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Love & Money @ Oct 16 2015, 02:28 PM)
Just another profit-motivated endeavor.

Anything that is profit-motivated will always have limitations to how much good they can offer to others.
What a skewed logic.

Well, to your credit, it is indeed logical that a particular benefit and its potential would be limited by the cost and profit viability, under the for-profit model.

I am not a non-profit organization, and even then such organizations depend on private funding and grants.

Simple example: try asking your dentist to charge you for materials + rental cost (excluding time and profit), as you're out of cash that month.
SUSslimey
post Oct 16 2015, 02:43 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 16 2015, 02:39 PM)
What a skewed logic.

Well, to your credit, it is indeed logical that a particular benefit and its potential would be limited by the cost and profit viability, under the for-profit model.

I am not a non-profit organization, and even then such organizations depend on private funding and grants.

Simple example: try asking your dentist to charge you for materials + rental cost (excluding time and profit), as you're out of cash that month.
don't bother with that retard........

he has issues......just check out his post history
TStagz8
post Oct 16 2015, 02:53 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Oct 16 2015, 02:43 PM)
don't bother with that retard........

he has issues......just check out his post history
Thanks for the heads up!

QUOTE(Love & Money @ Oct 16 2015, 02:47 PM)
My logic is not skewed just because it is not to your personal liking. Don't worry about me. I know too well about the water industry to stay away from some startup company.
It is skewed because it is as an extension of your personal liking while disregarding the diverse reality of the world; to which I have provided a rebuttal.

If you are an expert on the water industry as you so claim, it means that you can see a major technical flaw/failure in my idea; please highlight.

Also, in line with your implied benevolence in your previous post, why don't you do a proper critique and contribute towards my vision of making home-based water filtration even more affordable with better quality water?

SUSslimey
post Oct 16 2015, 03:00 PM

6,914 posts

anyway to tagz8

i guess you already know the basics already.......
but i don't know what you are actually trying to make or achieve.....lack of goal or direction.

so here's my suggestion :
so far i haven't see any product that markets itself producing tasty drinking water by altering the mineral composition of the water.

the relationship between different types of minerals and the affect on taste is rather complicated.

not an easy task to do i guess.
poteryu
post Oct 16 2015, 03:02 PM

93 posts

final year student in electronic engineering degree.
pm me.

your pitch looks interesting, me myself has been boiling water for 4 years since i started foundation, as no housemate wanna share cost of expansive water purifier.

wish to see this product of yours to happen.
TStagz8
post Oct 16 2015, 03:24 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Love & Money @ Oct 16 2015, 03:02 PM)
When you accuse my previous work as false info without even knowing the truth, you bet I am offended already.
If I were to say your plan is a false info, I can bet you would dislike it too. And here you're thinking only your work is good while others' work is false info. Your plan to make good quality water affordable to everyone is already done by others for a long time already. And if you wonder just why you and many others don't know about this is probably because of the very similar reasons why you and others don't know/distrust the natural approaches to curing cancer vs chemo/radio/surgery and some others ala-Malaysian mentality/bias.
I have not even presented my full idea (for competitive reasons). I have only shared my values and principles to attract like-minded people.

Some forumers have already contacted me because they feel good about this principles-based approach.

These are people who hold science degrees from reputable institutions, and I hold them with high regard and respect.

I am pretty sure that if I stray from such principles I have pitched, they would be the first to leave this endeavour.

Additionally, some of the other forumers here directly criticized my objectives without knowing what I am doing. However, I value their thoughts, and have provided an equally thoughtful reply, in return for their time.

Obviously you have nothing to share, except for substandard arguments. Until that changes, I shall not be replying you further, in business it's called a waste of time.

Your track record shows it; after the heads up from fellow forumer slimey, I just checked out your thread on Ebola, completely misleading reporting.

If you wish to discuss things further, we can do it via PM.

Bye.
TStagz8
post Oct 16 2015, 03:27 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(poteryu @ Oct 16 2015, 03:02 PM)
final year student in electronic engineering degree.
pm me.

your pitch looks interesting, me myself has been boiling water for 4 years since i started foundation, as no housemate wanna share cost of expansive water purifier.

wish to see this product of yours to happen.
Thanks for the well-wishes. PM-ing you soon.
TStagz8
post Oct 16 2015, 03:31 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Oct 16 2015, 03:00 PM)
anyway to tagz8

i guess you already know the basics already.......
but i don't know what you are actually trying to make or achieve.....lack of goal or direction.

so here's my suggestion :
so far i haven't see any product that markets itself producing tasty drinking water by altering the mineral composition of the water.

the relationship between different types of minerals and the affect on taste is rather complicated.

not an easy task to do i guess.
Thanks for your comment slimey.

What you've mentioned comes close to what I plan to undertake, one of the key components. smile.gif

Yes, apologies on the lack of clarity, did that intentionally in order to preserve competitiveness.

TStagz8
post Oct 16 2015, 03:56 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Love & Money @ Oct 16 2015, 03:38 PM)
Edit:
I have threads on vaccines too, if you care to check this too. I agree my thread on vaccines are far more credible than the one about Ebola.
It's alright, I had better follow the vaccination recommendations of the likes of Massachusetts General Hospital (Harvard Medical School), Boston Children's Hospital, and other advanced countries with top notch healthcare systems like Singapore, Netherlands, Switzerland, etc..
TStagz8
post Oct 16 2015, 04:12 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Love & Money @ Oct 16 2015, 04:04 PM)
Be my guest. You can take all the vaccines you ever like, I am not bothered a bit. Initially when I started the thread on vaccines I was with the intention to help innocent people from falling into the trap of committing to harmful vaccines.
Right now your recommendations are directly in contrast with the positions of countries with top notch healthcare systems.

If you are knowledgeable as claimed, you should obtain a response and debate from the relevant people in charge of such vaccination programmes in prominent institutions such as Harvard Medical, or even professors in academia. If they reply with obviously incorrect position statements, then go ahead, educate us on how wrong these head of research/director of medical programmes are. That will make a great impact.

Till then, I'll be pleased to follow their recommendations.
springfall
post Oct 16 2015, 04:24 PM

Spring and fall helping Summer and winter
4,072 posts

tagz8

after reading your 1st post,
you have already silenced 4 users (3 right after 1st post and 1 on the 1st 2nd page) "please be polite smile.gif"

that in my opinion, will not make you look nice for future partners/team.

I cannot imagine if anything were to went a bit bad, or how you would apply your dominance over your partners/team
-this especially when majority people you are looking for are final year graduates/freshies

'Not looking stupid is among the first few rules in my playbook'
silencing them will not allow the remaining sane /k people to judge who was right or wrong.
(what have they posted that was deemed Ill-mannered to you?)
But directly paints a picture that you are not tolerant and will shut down others.

This will further put the freshies in a vulnerable spot since no funding is mentioned other than pooling money.
-if they have just recently graduated, chances are they are repaying the tuition fees or just starting up.
with the level of tolerance showned, how secure are they going to be? (esp with this current financial situation)

I know many my age who went all out to later be kicked out when the ball starts rolling.

Its up to you how you view this (what i've said) anyways.
you can opt to silence me too. Your call.

Other than that, we are heading towards being a developed nation, why are we still thinking small scale water filtration system for those who can only buy.

Isn't clean ready to drink water supposed/should to be available to all people, where
-we don't need to apply another set of filters/equipment to drink?

If your product is truly great (and cheaper than others), why don't you propose to our main state water maker to collaborate
in making free safe drinking water for all Malaysians, piped directly?

of course when done so, some will still be skeptical towards how clean it is
(like how brita have a market)
but, in the bigger picture, you would help much more people.

or you think we all should forever just buy filters after filters?

Just throwing some ideas out, you can anytime trash me and delete this if you want.
TStagz8
post Oct 16 2015, 04:27 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Oct 16 2015, 04:24 PM)
tagz8

after reading your 1st post,
you have already silenced 4 users (3 right after 1st post and 1 on the 1st 2nd page) "please be polite smile.gif"

that in my opinion, will not make you look nice for future partners/team.

I cannot imagine if anything were to went a bit bad, or how you would apply your dominance over your partners/team
-this especially when majority people you are looking for are final year graduates/freshies

'Not looking stupid is among the first few rules in my playbook'
silencing them will not allow the remaining sane /k people to judge who was right or wrong.
(what have they posted that was deemed Ill-mannered to you?)
But directly paints a picture that you are not tolerant and will shut down others.

This will further put the freshies in a vulnerable spot since no funding is mentioned other than pooling money.
-if they have just recently graduated, chances are they are repaying the tuition fees or just starting up.
with the level of tolerance showned, how secure are they going to be? (esp with this current financial situation)

I know many my age who went all out to later be kicked out when the ball starts rolling.

Its up to you how you view this (what i've said) anyways.
you can opt to silence me too. Your call.
Other than that, we are heading towards being a developed nation, why are we still thinking small scale water filtration system for those who can only buy.

Isn't clean ready to drink water supposed/should to be available to all people, where

If your product is truly great (and cheaper than others), why don't you propose to our main state water maker to collaborate

Just throwing some ideas out, you can anytime trash me and delete this if you want.
I'll reply you later, as I haven't read your post fully, but felt that I need to quickly clarify the first part.

For those particular comments that I had to remove, rest assured they were truly distateful things like 'close shop lah' - just a three word post meant to troll/harrass. This forum has a clear policy against such behavior too, with a report button in place for that.

If you took notice, those that provided a negative comment/viewpoint or offered something constructive just like yours, I have not deleted them, in fact I took time to reply, even thanked them for their input. Hope this clarifies matters. smile.gif

This post has been edited by tagz8: Oct 18 2015, 12:41 PM
TStagz8
post Oct 18 2015, 12:39 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Oct 16 2015, 04:24 PM)
tagz8

Trust that I have adequately addressed your concerns about tolerance in a previous reply? smile.gif

Also, here's my replies to each parts of your comments:

if they have just recently graduated, chances are they are repaying the tuition fees or just starting up.

Believe the issue of tolerance has already been cleared in an earlier post.

Also, if the fresh grad has no money to contribute, other members of the group can contribute more. This does not dilute the importance of that particular fresh grad, as he/she is still part of core brain of the whole endeavour. Also, beyond that it is all about personal character and ethics, one should be comfortable with the behaviour of his/her team mates, so I would encourage a meet up before committing oneself to the endeavour.

I believe we should tackle the problems step by step. Currently, there exist pressing needs and market demand for home-based water filtration systems in various parts of Malaysia, including in urban Kuala Lumpur. We could argue about this need being phased out in the future, but business is about looking at present needs too. Going forward, that landscape would change and that is where the importance of R&D and innovation comes into play, in order for a company to stay abreast with times.

And to your hypothetical collaboration with the state water producer, why don't they do a complete overhaul of the aging and leaking underground piping system instead of constantly attempting to repair a growing dead-end problem? Maybe get some funding from a China SOE with an acceptable ROI to them?

We do not live in Utopia, and that's where ideas flourish to solve problems in the meantime.
LaVilla.
post Oct 22 2015, 09:35 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 15 2015, 04:13 PM)
At least consider using something in the RM140 - RM400 range here as a pre-filter before you boil.  smile.gif

Free Bump for your thread wink.gif

Anyway, really thank you for the recommendation ^^

TStagz8
post Oct 23 2015, 09:04 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Oct 22 2015, 09:35 PM)
Free Bump for your thread wink.gif

Anyway, really thank you for the recommendation ^^
You're welcome. By the way, you still have to boil the water smile.gif
LaVilla.
post Oct 23 2015, 09:23 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 23 2015, 09:04 AM)
You're welcome. By the way, you still have to boil the water smile.gif
hehe..i know i know tongue.gif
TStagz8
post Oct 23 2015, 10:24 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Oct 23 2015, 09:23 AM)
hehe..i know i know  tongue.gif
Don't use the plastic kettle.. Use an electric stainless steel kettle biggrin.gif
LaVilla.
post Oct 23 2015, 10:49 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 23 2015, 10:24 AM)
Don't use the plastic kettle.. Use an electric stainless steel kettle  biggrin.gif
how you know i am using plastic kettle? blink.gif
TStagz8
post Oct 23 2015, 10:55 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Oct 23 2015, 10:49 AM)
how you know i am using plastic kettle? blink.gif
心灵相通? Haha.

Just guessed, it's very common anyway due to it being cheap and convenient.
LaVilla.
post Oct 23 2015, 10:57 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 23 2015, 10:55 AM)
心灵相通? Haha.

Just guessed, it's very common anyway due to it being cheap and convenient.
but then my thought is, since they used plastic and the plastic able to re-stand high temperature, so shall be okay right? unsure.gif
TStagz8
post Oct 23 2015, 11:02 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Oct 23 2015, 10:57 AM)
but then my thought is, since they used plastic and the plastic able to re-stand high temperature, so shall be okay right? unsure.gif
Never know what they may be leaching into the water.

Anyway, I have not looked into this matter. Very good idea you gave me. Will search more over the weekend and give you a proper reply.
LaVilla.
post Oct 23 2015, 11:11 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 23 2015, 11:02 AM)
Never know what they may be leaching into the water.

Anyway, I have not looked into this matter. Very good idea you gave me. Will search more over the weekend and give you a proper reply.
yea, you are right somehow.

Eh, erm ok. You are welcome then tongue.gif I myself will also search and see, since i never actually think about this.
TStagz8
post Oct 24 2015, 07:59 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(LaVilla. @ Oct 23 2015, 11:11 AM)
yea, you are right somehow.

Eh, erm ok. You are welcome then tongue.gif I myself will also search and see, since i never actually think about this.
I'll admit I didn't have much time to do a thorough research on that.

But pulling ideas out of my mind, what I can think of as one of the safest (idealistic):

Using an induction cooker (portable/non portable), and an induction friendly stainless steel pot

The reason for this is to avoid potential nickel contamination from nickel coated heating coils in your regular stainless steel electric kettles. Unless you can verify with the manufacturer on whether it is nickel free or what measures they employ to mitigate such risk.

Another even more idealistic way, is to use an induction cooker with an intermediate heat transfer disc and use a heat-resistant glass like pyrex to contain the water.

Someone may find a more convenient way for the above, but I believe it's highly convenient already, and very likely even faster than using electric/gas.

CyberSetan
post Oct 24 2015, 08:03 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

TLDR

Doctor not interested. Kthxbye
TStagz8
post Oct 24 2015, 08:08 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Oct 24 2015, 08:03 PM)

TLDR

Doctor not interested. Kthxbye
Ok, thanks for taking the trouble to comment anyway.
popice2u
post Oct 24 2015, 08:34 PM

1,337 posts

another ecpi coming?
TStagz8
post Oct 24 2015, 09:29 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Oct 24 2015, 08:34 PM)
another ecpi coming?
What're your comments on that brand?
TStagz8
post Oct 26 2015, 03:25 PM

121 posts

To update, a pharmaceutical chemistry graduate is now on board.

We're now onto developing a conceptual model based on the health sciences.

Targeted date to conceptualization is about 2 months.

Once we have developed this model, will be consulting an electrical engineering graduate on technical feasibility.

FireIceCombo
post Oct 26 2015, 03:34 PM

206 posts

a pharma graduate is ok i guess. the more appropriate chemist is to look for those guarding semicon plants. those are the actual water experts. even those who are in personal care look highly upon the sifus in the semicon industry. pharma is 3rd or 4th graded.
TStagz8
post Oct 26 2015, 03:50 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Oct 26 2015, 03:34 PM)
a pharma graduate is ok i guess. the more appropriate chemist is to look for those guarding semicon plants. those are the actual water experts. even those who are in personal care look highly upon the sifus in the semicon industry. pharma is 3rd or 4th graded.
Thanks for the suggestion, would hope to meet one someday. Can you introduce? However, even then, I would want to maximize my time with the semicon expert by presenting a conceptual idea that is somewhat feasible, so let us get that done first.

Also, I guess each party would have his own expertise to contribute. For example, our pharm-chem guy would be able to provide an understanding skewed towards food and human health for the core of the concept, whereas the semicon chemist would be able to further optimize on water-composition chemistry.

Thanks again. By the way, awesome username you have. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tagz8: Oct 26 2015, 03:55 PM
FireIceCombo
post Oct 27 2015, 08:09 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(tagz8 @ Oct 26 2015, 03:50 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion, would hope to meet one someday. Can you introduce? However, even then, I would want to maximize my time with the semicon expert by presenting a conceptual idea that is somewhat feasible, so let us get that done first.

Also, I guess each party would have his own expertise to contribute. For example, our pharm-chem guy would be able to provide an understanding skewed towards food and human health for the core of the concept, whereas the semicon chemist would be able to further optimize on water-composition chemistry.

Thanks again. By the way, awesome username you have.  tongue.gif
very difficult to get hold of 1. water specialists in semicon wont bother bout all these. paid very highly and constantly consulting syabas or even indah water. there are only like 8-9 specialists in whole of m'sia wei.

u wan u can come and see me but gotta be either past 11pm or early 6am like that b4 i rush off to work.
TStagz8
post Oct 27 2015, 06:15 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Oct 27 2015, 08:09 AM)
very difficult to get hold of 1. water specialists in semicon wont bother bout all these. paid very highly and constantly consulting syabas or even indah water. there are only like 8-9 specialists in whole of m'sia wei.

u wan u can come and see me but gotta be either past 11pm or early 6am like that b4 i rush off to work.
Thanks so much for the offer. Will PM you on some technical questions once we get the concept ready.

0.0599sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:36 AM