131 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v12, Najibnomics to lift KLCI?

besiegetank
post Oct 24 2015, 10:50 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 24 2015, 10:44 PM)
How to pin post ar?

Xuzen
Needs mod or TS to do it biggrin.gif
xuzen
post Oct 24 2015, 10:51 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 10:46 PM)
But over the years, how many junk high yield Asian bonds defaulted? whistling.gif
On a serious note, I did consider junk high yield Asian bond fund as part of my portfolio.... but crystal ball Algozen™ rejected it. It was too positvely correlated with Asia-Pac ex-Jp fund read: [Ponzi 2.0] and hence was dropped by Algozen™ in favour of equities due to better risk-adjusted return.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 24 2015, 10:52 PM
xuzen
post Oct 24 2015, 10:57 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 10:00 PM)
But to go 100% into 1 or 2 funds...is suicidal. shakehead.gif

KGF and Small Cap is 100% concentrated in Malaysia.

1. U will miss out on global stocks rally that evades Malaysian stocks
2. When Ringgit kaboom...u will miss out on forex gains u would have had had u invested offshore (this is what is happening now)
3. U will hurt most when Malaysian market collapse due to country-specific factors

Among a few reasons for diversification that I can think of.

I've said it again and again (u weren't listening!!! mad.gif ), u just CAN'T win all the times. Even Warren Buffett screws up from time to time. What u wanna do is, position your investment in such way that u will win in the long run with the least effort.

U wanna rebalance every month and/or chase after returns? By all means go for it...but don't come crying if sales charges eat into your profit and u time your moves wrong (i.e. u quit at bottoms, buy at peaks) rolleyes.gif
I am OK with one or two funds. I seldom keep more than four at one time... two messy and FSM may have a lot of funds, but they are repetition of same. Not easy to find good funds with low correlation coefficient factor in the FSM universe.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 24 2015, 10:57 PM
Kaka23
post Oct 24 2015, 11:54 PM

8,259 posts

Wow.. So active tonight
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 25 2015, 12:07 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 24 2015, 10:51 PM)
On a serious note, I did consider junk high yield Asian bond fund as part of my portfolio.... but crystal ball Algozen™ rejected it. It was too positvely correlated with Asia-Pac ex-Jp fund read: [Ponzi 2.0] and hence was dropped by Algozen™ in favour of equities due to better risk-adjusted return.

Xuzen
Its due to forex whistling.gif

On the contrary, my not-so-scientific observations, when my equities dropped, my bond funds rise
Vanguard 2015
post Oct 25 2015, 12:26 AM

3,541 posts

QUOTE(dummies @ Oct 24 2015, 05:10 PM)
it is worth to invest since the response is good here ?
I posted my view previously regarding this fund in this thread. Maybe you can do a quick search and read it first? See what you think. smile.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 25 2015, 01:01 AM

16,872 posts

2-year chart of RHB Asian Total Return vs Asian Equities vs Ponzi 2.0 icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 25 2015, 01:15 AM
IvanWong1989
post Oct 25 2015, 01:18 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Oct 24 2015, 07:17 PM)
Alternatively, save 400 and buy Fund B.
Now you have: Fund A 5.5k, Fund B 5.5k.
QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 07:21 PM)
Let me show u my rebalancing.

My unit trust investments are meant to be my "supplement" to my EPF, i.e. meant for retirement, not savings for marriage or for home downpayment. Hence, I don't "cash out".

Every month I got some savings (salary less expenses)
I park all my savings in CMF

Let's say I have funds A, B, C, X, Y and Z
I designed my portfolio in such way that each fund makes up 1/6 of the portfolio
When my UT portfolio is doing well as a whole (i.e. all funds go up almost in tandem), I do nothing
When funds A, B and C do well but funds X, Y and Z underperformed, I top up funds X, Y and Z to "rebalance" my portfolio
When all the funds screwed up due to market weakness, I top up all the funds
^
This thumbup.gif
Hmm....didn't think of that... darn. ...lol.

Ok got good advice from sifus. Thanks !
Vanguard 2015
post Oct 25 2015, 01:20 AM

3,541 posts

My further thoughts on the RHB Pre-IPO fund...

You shouldn't invest in this fund if:-

1. You are currently renting and do not own a property. The priority should be to buy a property. With RM100k, you can pay the downpayment for a RM500K condominium, pay the bank loan instead of paying rental and hopefully enjoy the capital appreciation in the long run.

2. RM100k is your life savings or represent a substantial part of your savings. If the RM100k gets burnt in 5 years, it may seriously affect your future financial plan.

3. Tied to no. 2 above. How long would it take you to generate a savings of RM100k? I year? 2 years? 3 years? In other words, can you regenerate another RM100k within your own reasonable time frame if the RHB Pre-IPO crash and burn?

4. You may suddenly need the RM100k within the next 5-6 years when it is locked in. In other words, your emergency fund is not big enough.

On a lighter note, you should DEFINITELY invest in the RHB Pre-IPO fund if you have spare cash of RM100k and you intend to use it to:-

1. Buy a Rolex watch
2. For the downpayment of a new Beemer
3. To finance the monthly upkeeping of a China doll, Vietnamese doll, mistress, etc. The monthly upkeeping including condominium rental, pocket money, etc, can go up to RM10k per month.
4. "Investing" by buying some overseas land under a land investment scheme, water vending machine scheme, dairy farm scheme, etc.

Good luck!

IvanWong1989
post Oct 25 2015, 01:30 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

This thread sipek active....

Oh. And topping up ponzi 2.0 next week. Lol
river.sand
post Oct 25 2015, 07:18 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 24 2015, 10:32 PM)
Can share which counters?
You mean stocks? I can do so, but no point.
I bought KAREX at 2.7x, now it's 3.4x. You want to try tongue.gif
river.sand
post Oct 25 2015, 07:22 AM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Oct 24 2015, 10:41 PM)
Need to pin this at the first post to keep track  tongue.gif
Or add to your signature tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 25 2015, 08:08 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Oct 25 2015, 07:18 AM)
You mean stocks? I can do so, but no point.
I bought KAREX at 2.7x, now it's 3.4x. You want to try  tongue.gif
We both condom lovers wub.gif
wil-i-am
post Oct 25 2015, 08:41 AM

10,001 posts

After reading ytday comments is equivalent to take a trip down memory lane
ohcipala
post Oct 25 2015, 09:24 AM

1,338 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 25 2015, 08:08 AM)
We both condom lovers wub.gif
Your ping pong biscuit still got?
SUSyklooi
post Oct 25 2015, 09:25 AM

8,188 posts

hmm.gif implication of this?
What Will It Mean If the Yuan Gets Reserve-Currency Status?
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...e-currency-nod-

start preparing to more since it will start to boom again for a duration?
xuzen
post Oct 25 2015, 09:33 AM

4,436 posts

Just for Ramjade,

I entered TA Global Tech fund in Jul15 and as off yesterday, my YTD ROI is 12.XX%. I am taking profit by "selling" it to "buy" CIMB Titan on Monday. Like I say, the proper term is called switching.

So, yes.. UT investor take profit and move on. Why then you ask switch when it is profitable? Didn't I just mention ride with the profit?

Global Tech and Titan have very close correlation coefficient, in lay man term, their movement is very similar and as such, in a portfolio, they are interchangeable. But, Titan present a better risk-adjusted return compared to TA Tech fund so I jump ship and piggyback onto a new ride.

It's like both are taxi service going from KLIA to Sentral KL. TA Tech is Airport Limo and Titan is Uber. Titan is cheaper, more efficient and faster.... sure I will chose Titan lar!

Xuzen

p/s Do not confuse absolute ROI with risk-adjusted return for sometimes a better risk-adjusted return may give one a lower ROI. Risk-adjusted return take into account the risk when calculating. It is like we sacrifice a few lower % return in exchange for safety.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 25 2015, 09:37 AM
IvanWong1989
post Oct 25 2015, 09:37 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 25 2015, 09:33 AM)
Just for Ramjade,

I entered TA Global Tech fund in Jul15 and as off yesterday, my YTD ROI is 12.XX%.  I am taking profit by "selling" it to "buy" CIMB Titan on Monday. Like I say, the proper term is called switching.

So, yes.. UT investor take profit and move on. Why then you ask switch when it is profitable? Didn't I just mention ride with the profit?

Global Tech and Titan have very close correlation coefficient, in lay man term, their movement is very similar and as such, in a portfolio, they are interchangeable. But, Titan present a better risk-adjusted return compared to TA Tech fund so I jump ship and piggyback onto a new ride.

It's like both are taxi service going from KLIA to Sentral KL. TA Tech is Airport Limo and Titan is Uber. Titan is cheaper, more efficient and faster.... sure I will chose Titan lar!

Xuzen
Bang Xuzen...

wanna ask, how do you see both are close correlating?

From graph? or Numbers?
xuzen
post Oct 25 2015, 09:41 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Oct 25 2015, 09:37 AM)
Bang Xuzen...

wanna ask, how do you see both are close correlating?

From graph? or Numbers?
The number known as correlation coefficient is a factor and is available to me and professional fund managers.

Lay person do not have access to this numbers but I have been in the inside and I know people who can "share" with me the numbers.

Xuzen
IvanWong1989
post Oct 25 2015, 09:46 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 25 2015, 09:41 AM)
The number known as correlation coefficient is a factor and is available to me and professional fund managers.

Lay person do not have access to this numbers but I have been in the inside and I know people who can "share" with me the numbers.

Xuzen
Understood. smile.gif

flex.gif thanks bro!

131 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:44 PM