131 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v12, Najibnomics to lift KLCI?

Ramjade
post Oct 24 2015, 09:55 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 09:50 PM)
Err...I agree with all but this sweat.gif

U will bait people into going 100% into funds like Eastspring Small Cap and Kenanga Growth Fund sweat.gif
I thought those 2 are among the recommended by pinky and Xuzen? The other 2 being ponzi 2.0 and titans.
j.passing.by
post Oct 24 2015, 09:59 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 09:50 PM)
Err...I agree with all but this sweat.gif

U will bait people into going 100% into funds like Eastspring Small Cap and Kenanga Growth Fund sweat.gif
smile.gif Nothing wrong with local equities as long as they can gives the highest returns in the long term.

But currently the best returns are from global funds. I went in big into PB Global... sweat.gif

SUSPink Spider
post Oct 24 2015, 10:00 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 24 2015, 09:55 PM)
I thought those 2 are among the recommended by pinky and Xuzen? The other 2 being ponzi 2.0 and titans.
But to go 100% into 1 or 2 funds...is suicidal. shakehead.gif

KGF and Small Cap is 100% concentrated in Malaysia.

1. U will miss out on global stocks rally that evades Malaysian stocks
2. When Ringgit kaboom...u will miss out on forex gains u would have had had u invested offshore (this is what is happening now)
3. U will hurt most when Malaysian market collapse due to country-specific factors

Among a few reasons for diversification that I can think of.

I've said it again and again (u weren't listening!!! mad.gif ), u just CAN'T win all the times. Even Warren Buffett screws up from time to time. What u wanna do is, position your investment in such way that u will win in the long run with the least effort.

U wanna rebalance every month and/or chase after returns? By all means go for it...but don't come crying if sales charges eat into your profit and u time your moves wrong (i.e. u quit at bottoms, buy at peaks) rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 24 2015, 10:05 PM
j.passing.by
post Oct 24 2015, 10:01 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 24 2015, 08:04 PM)
But you hold the temptation to cash out when it goes up say 20%?

How about can increase in fund price be wipe out by loss of that fund? Can that happen?
Why should he cash out when he already stated that the investment objective is for retirement.

Secondly, if cash out, then what to do with the money. Put into another investment when the 1st investment is doing very well?

It is certainly the wish of every investor that he/she can foresee which is the best next investment vehicle or fund to invest into... wishful thinking and pipe dream.

So when waiting for the next best fund, the money is parked in MM, waiting and waiting... eventually spending so much time in MM that it defeats the original purpose of having money in UT.

(Then switch back, not because of any timing strategy... but because finger is itchy. laugh.gif )

SUSPink Spider
post Oct 24 2015, 10:07 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 24 2015, 10:01 PM)
Why should he cash out when he already stated that the investment objective is for retirement.

Secondly, if cash out, then what to do with the money. Put into another investment when the 1st investment is doing very well?

It is certainly the wish of every investor that he/she can foresee which is the best next investment vehicle or fund to invest into... wishful thinking and pipe dream.

So when waiting for the next best fund, the money is parked in MM, waiting and waiting... eventually spending so much time in MM that it defeats the original purpose of having money in UT.

(Then switch back, not because of any timing strategy... but because finger is itchy.  laugh.gif )
Exactly.

Example...
Year 1 +20%
Year 2 -10%
Year 3 -5%
Year 4 +6%
Year 5 etc etc etc

If u are the type that will curse and scream and flip tables and break windows at the 10% loss at Year 2, UT or any form of investment is not for u.

<<< FD thread there bye.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 24 2015, 10:09 PM
nexona88
post Oct 24 2015, 10:11 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,499 posts

if heart not steady / strong enuf to stand the movement of UT price over the years, better to stick FD or Fixed Price Amanah Saham yawn.gif
j.passing.by
post Oct 24 2015, 10:11 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 10:00 PM)

2. When Ringgit kaboom...u will miss out on forex gains u would have had had u invested offshore (this is what is happening now)
3. U will hurt most when Malaysian market collapse due to country-specific factors

One small cap, and one foreign can do the trick. Pick the best among the best. If feels too risky, pick another 2 funds. Max 4 funds, more will be too diversify and average down the returns.

Can start with one fund, and go into another fund, and then maybe a 3rd fund. Then rotate the scheduled investment into either of them depending on market situation at that point in time.

Ramjade
post Oct 24 2015, 10:12 PM

24,380 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 10:00 PM)

I've said it again and again (u weren't listening!!! mad.gif ), u just CAN'T win all the times. Even Warren Buffett screws up from time to time. What u wanna do is, position your investment in such way that u will win in the long run with the least effort.

U wanna rebalance every month and/or chase after returns? By all means go for it...but don't come crying if sales charges eat into your profit and u time your moves wrong (i.e. u quit at bottoms, buy at peaks) rolleyes.gif
I got it. Do not put 100% into them. Was just confuse because you said will chase people into it. So wondering what's wrong with those 2.

So if I even out between these 4 funds, are they ok or should I remove one of them? Or should I adds some more funds?
Ponzi 2.0
Titans
Smallcap
KGF

SUSPink Spider
post Oct 24 2015, 10:19 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 24 2015, 10:11 PM)
One small cap, and one foreign can do the trick. Pick the best among the best. If feels too risky, pick another 2 funds. Max 4 funds, more will be too diversify and average down the returns.

Can start with one fund, and go into another fund, and then maybe a 3rd fund. Then rotate the scheduled investment into either of them depending on market situation at that point in time.
Tadi cakap lain ("sailang on the winner!!!"), sekarang cakap lain. Why u so Najib wan? tongue.gif

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 24 2015, 10:12 PM)
I got it. Do not put 100% into them. Was just confuse because you said will chase people into it. So wondering what's wrong with those 2.

So if I even out between these 4 funds, are they ok or should I remove one of them? Or should I adds some more funds?
Adopting what j.passing.by said above, yeah I think u won't go too far wrong with these 4.

Ponzi 2.0 - Asia ex Japan
Titans - Global big corporations listed in Developed Markets (US+Europe+Japan)
Smallcap - Malaysia small caps
KGF - Malaysia

Though I prefer Ponzi 1.0 to Small Cap cos it can diversify into Asia ex Japan small caps too, whereas Small Cap is 100% Bolehland

And u might not wanna just even out 1/4 on each, play around to set a proportion that suits u, learn from FSM Recommended Portfolio, learn from the geographical allocations of some good funds etc. I structure mine roughly based on that of Fullerton Global Equities Fund (2/3 Asia ex Japan, 1/3 US+Europe+Japan).

Ok, enough about investments, time for Saturday chill! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 24 2015, 10:21 PM
xuzen
post Oct 24 2015, 10:25 PM

4,436 posts

Ramjade is a FD/ASX kaki.... patutler so kiasi wan.

Luckily here got milk nannies to hold your hand softly and slowly sayang-sayang you all the way until you graduate!

Xuzen

p/s ASX / FD yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 24 2015, 10:26 PM
river.sand
post Oct 24 2015, 10:26 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 24 2015, 10:11 PM)
if heart not steady / strong enuf to stand the movement of UT price over the years, better to stick FD or Fixed Price Amanah Saham  yawn.gif
I am risk-aversive. But I have been investing in stocks and equity funds.

Why? Because I know what I am doing.

Forget what people say about risk appetite. If you have the necessary knowledge and your conditions are right (e.g. you don't need the invested money in 5 years), you can take risk... calculated risk.
nexona88
post Oct 24 2015, 10:30 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,499 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Oct 24 2015, 10:26 PM)

Forget what people say about risk appetite. If you have the necessary knowledge and your conditions are right (e.g. you don't need the invested money in 5 years), you can take risk... calculated risk.
yeah. if u know what u doing. then no worries.

can "stand" the risk. why not flex.gif
j.passing.by
post Oct 24 2015, 10:31 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 10:19 PM)
Tadi cakap lain ("sailang on the winner!!!"), sekarang cakap lain. Why u so Najib wan? tongue.gif

Where got said one fund only... I said go 100% into equity funds la. laugh.gif

Not 1st time, but many times ledy said this - go 100% into equities. Bond/equity ratio, rebalancing etc. are for senior folks... smile.gif

wil-i-am
post Oct 24 2015, 10:32 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Oct 24 2015, 10:26 PM)

Can share which counters?
xuzen
post Oct 24 2015, 10:34 PM

4,436 posts

Topping Ponzi 2.0 & Titanic on Monday.

BTW, My China fiasco (loss) has been reversed by TA Global Tech Fund. She gained 12.XX% in one quarter! flex.gif

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 24 2015, 10:42 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 24 2015, 10:40 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 24 2015, 10:31 PM)
Where got said one fund only... I said go 100% into equity funds la.  laugh.gif

Not 1st time, but many times ledy said this - go 100% into equities. Bond/equity ratio, rebalancing etc. are for senior folks...  smile.gif
But but but... sad.gif

My bond funds are outperforming half of my equity funds blush.gif

Tata biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 24 2015, 10:41 PM
besiegetank
post Oct 24 2015, 10:41 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 24 2015, 02:48 PM)
I want to be a little playfully naughty today and say this:

In a month's time:

I) Ponzi 2.0 will go up by more than 2.0% but max will be +8%

II) RHB Global Fortune Fund will go down by at least 4%.

In one mths time, let's see whether my prediction come true or not. I randomly select two fund just for the fun of it.

Xuzen
Need to pin this at the first post to keep track tongue.gif
xuzen
post Oct 24 2015, 10:43 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 10:40 PM)
But but but... sad.gif

My bond funds are outperforming half of my equity funds blush.gif

Tata biggrin.gif
Yours are Asian High Yield (read: Junk bond funds)....sure lar!

Xuzen
xuzen
post Oct 24 2015, 10:44 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Oct 24 2015, 10:41 PM)
Need to pin this at the first post to keep track  tongue.gif
How to pin post ar?

Xuzen
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 24 2015, 10:46 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 24 2015, 10:43 PM)
Yours are Asian High Yield (read: Junk bond funds)....sure lar!

Xuzen
But over the years, how many junk high yield Asian bonds defaulted? whistling.gif

131 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 10:59 AM