Fundsupermart.com v12, Najibnomics to lift KLCI?

besiegetank
post Oct 2 2015, 10:38 AM

918 posts

yay new thread~

still considering which prs to go for... probably CIMB based on their good past performance...
besiegetank
post Oct 24 2015, 10:10 AM

918 posts

FSM encourages us to go for china equity funds, time to top up chinaland?
besiegetank
post Oct 24 2015, 10:41 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 24 2015, 02:48 PM)
I want to be a little playfully naughty today and say this:

In a month's time:

I) Ponzi 2.0 will go up by more than 2.0% but max will be +8%

II) RHB Global Fortune Fund will go down by at least 4%.

In one mths time, let's see whether my prediction come true or not. I randomly select two fund just for the fun of it.

Xuzen
Need to pin this at the first post to keep track tongue.gif
besiegetank
post Oct 24 2015, 10:50 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 24 2015, 10:44 PM)
How to pin post ar?

Xuzen
Needs mod or TS to do it biggrin.gif
besiegetank
post Nov 9 2015, 03:50 PM

918 posts

Guys is there any quick way to check if there is any correlation between the funds we bought?

So influenced by Dato Xuzen now I scare the funds i bought don't really have the diversification I wanted.

In short if I bought CIMB-Principal APDIF and Kenanga APTRF, both invest in Asia Pacific region then means both have high correlation?
besiegetank
post Nov 9 2015, 03:55 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(stephenl @ Nov 9 2015, 03:49 PM)
Hi Sifus,

Would like to seek your advice on how to take out the profits gained from my investment, with the intention of re-investing this same profit amount into the same fund in a near future. I assume the right way to do this is by using intra-switch right?

Say, if my investment in global tital fund gives me say 10% return, and I would like to take out the profits gained.
By using intra-switch, does this mean that I need to take out the profits, and invests them into a CIMB bond fund?
From FSM, I see that only 2 CIMB bond funds are available, i.e. CIMB-Principal bond fund, and CIMB-Principal strategic fund.
Yes as when you do intra-switching you will be able to earn credits which can be used next time when you switch back from bond to equity funds. If you don't like the returns of both of the bonds then maybe you can switch from the bonds to cash management fund at a later stage?

besiegetank
post Nov 9 2015, 04:09 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Nov 9 2015, 04:01 PM)
hmm.gif seems like Cash management fund not eligible for credit point

Q: IS THERE ANY FUND THAT IS NOT APPLICABLE FOR CREDIT SYSTEM?

A: Yes,OSK-UOB Cash Management Fund is not available for Credit System. This is due to OSK-UOB Cash Management Fund is not allowed for Intra-Switch. This has been made known to investors in the fund’s prospector.
For more information on fund switching, please refer to SWITCHING OF FUND FAQ.

more on credit point system....
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/0...dit-System-2001
That is why you need to first switch from equity to bond (earns credit) then only switch to CMF. From CMF you can buy again the Titan fund using the credit you accumulated to offset the sales charge. Any expert do correct me if I'm wrong biggrin.gif
besiegetank
post Nov 9 2015, 04:27 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(stephenl @ Nov 9 2015, 04:18 PM)
Thank you so much for your reply smile.gif
If I switch from the CIMB bonds to cash management fund, am I still able to keep the credits which I earned?

At a later stage, if I decided to use these profits which I now have switch into cash management fund, to buy the same CIMB global titan fund again, do I need to pay the usual FSM 2% sales charge?
Yes of course unless FSM changes their policy in future. If you later want to buy the titan fund again, just use the credit to offset 2% sales charge. Do note that your re-investment amount must be equal or less than the amount of credit you earned. You profit may grow while in CMF so the value may be bigger tongue.gif

This post has been edited by besiegetank: Nov 9 2015, 04:29 PM
besiegetank
post Nov 9 2015, 04:46 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Nov 9 2015, 04:34 PM)
hmm.gif from what i understand is CMF is a standalone sort of FD a/c for temporarily holding
therefore any buying from CMF to any fund house will be subjected to SC
YES,..will be charged 2%SC because it is from CMF
credit point is applicable from same fund house switch of funds between tier and except CMF
NO.cannot use...have to pay SC again because it is consider as new money from outside the fundhouse.

still not convince..ha-ha 
Call FSM client care....
03 - 2149 0567 (KL)
04 - 640 1567 (PG)
oh then can we switch from CMF to bond then back to equity again to use the credit?
besiegetank
post Nov 9 2015, 08:05 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Nov 9 2015, 04:42 PM)
er.. just playing the devil's advocate:

All this switch here there
VS
lump sum & zzz (see screenshot)
[attachmentid=5257841]

May not be worth the effort & time..
Note - i purposely left a few transactions to "ride" (ie - no screwing around, just let it ride)
The results are as above
Sometimes need to rebalance our portfolio so no choice have to switch out the profit ma or when algozen predicted a downward trend soon tongue.gif

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 9 2015, 07:37 PM)
LOL, first it was Sifu... now Dato?

Bila want to promote me to Tan Sri?  cool2.gif
Sorry Tan Sri and Tun have quotas one brows.gif You need to wait somebody to die first
besiegetank
post Nov 27 2015, 10:53 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Nov 27 2015, 03:14 PM)
The usual candidates which I have posted here previously...

(1)  TA Global Technology Fund
(2)  CIMB Greater China Equity Fund
(3)  RHB-OSK China India Dynamic Growth Fund
(4)  Libra Consumer and Leisure Asia Fund

Note : I give you some bonus info. Beware of the Correlation Matrix of the funds...

(1)  Libra & CIMB China = 0.76
(2)  Libra & RHB China India = 0.80
(3)  CIMB China & RHB China India = 0.79

Therefore you should choose either one of the above China linked funds only. OR if you are feeling kamikaze like me, then you can choose CIMB Greater China and RHB China India together.
Can shed some lights on how to determine the correlation matrix of the funds? hmm.gif
besiegetank
post Nov 28 2015, 02:46 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 28 2015, 10:14 AM)
Plot the daily NAV of the fund you want to find the Correlation with:

1000 observation or 1000 days is good.

Then calculate the mean, the standard deviation and the variances of those observation.

Put them into this formula:

Corr-Coeff = Co-variances btw Fund-A & Fund-B / (Std-Dev of Fund-A x Std-Dev of Fund B)

That or

Xuzen
Thanks for the advice! rclxms.gif

0.0363sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:01 AM