131 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v12, Najibnomics to lift KLCI?

xuzen
post Oct 24 2015, 07:12 PM

4,436 posts

For the benefit of blur blur Ramjade and other similar noobs:

To me selling means cashing out of the fund and the proceeds goes into your pocket (or bank account).

What I actually mean when I say rebalance is not selling; it is more properly termed switching. The money goes from one fund to another without getting into your pocket.

This is technically not selling, and you do not get whacked with another sales charge.

Understand now?

The money is still in the fund system and is still money make money. Or some would say, let's ride the profit.....

What selling means, you completely take the money out of the system to buy something and don't intend to invest that portion anymore.

Xuzen
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 24 2015, 07:14 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 24 2015, 05:15 PM)
Already read. But kind of confusing.

Isn't it by buying after a dividend is is given, we get more units/RM? Yes the NAV will drop. But won't the NAV increases again say after 6 months? Then after that you have this statement

So lke that how can one get profit from UT? How can it gained? rclxub.gif
The illustrations in Post #1 is the most layman I can go...if u still don't get it, just listen to xuzen...

E.g.
U invested RM10K in Fund ABC one year ago
How much is your investment worth today?
That's all u need to know. Full stop. wink.gif

Don't bother with the mechanics of NAV pricing and unit numbers if u can't get it.

QUOTE(river.sand @ Oct 24 2015, 07:09 PM)
BTW, when someone tells you how much he earns in very short time, be very skeptical.
1. He does not tell you how much his initial capital was.
2. He does not tell you the instances when he lost the gamble.
That sounds so like that cocky cat. I think most of us knows who I'm referring to tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 24 2015, 07:15 PM
river.sand
post Oct 24 2015, 07:17 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Oct 24 2015, 06:36 PM)
Fund A 5k.  Fund B 5k.

6 months later.
Fund A 5.5k. Fund B 5.1k.

Most direct.
Sell Fund A 200 bucks. Buy Fund B 200 bucks.
Now it becomes
Fund A 5.3k. Fund B 5.3k.
Alternatively, save 400 and buy Fund B.
Now you have: Fund A 5.5k, Fund B 5.5k.

xuzen
post Oct 24 2015, 07:19 PM

4,436 posts

Person A if capital is RM 1.5Milliom, in one mth fund price naik 1% only (very likely to happen) means profit RM 15k!

Person B if capital is RM 15,000, fund naik even 50% in one mth (very unlikely to happen) still less than person A.

That is why the rich can continue to be rich easily.... it is mathematical logic!

Xuzen

SUSPink Spider
post Oct 24 2015, 07:21 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 24 2015, 06:02 PM)
Ok thanks for explanation. Is a bit clearer now. You said don't sell. Just hold. If one does not sell, how to rebalance? (refering to my previous rm10k example or we pumped in more?)

Also any increase in fund price can be wiped out by a decreased in the fund price right? So like that, isn't it better to cash out the profit before it is being wiped out?
Let me show u my rebalancing.

My unit trust investments are meant to be my "supplement" to my EPF, i.e. meant for retirement, not savings for marriage or for home downpayment. Hence, I don't "cash out".

Every month I got some savings (salary less expenses)
I park all my savings in CMF

Let's say I have funds A, B, C, X, Y and Z
I designed my portfolio in such way that each fund makes up 1/6 of the portfolio
When my UT portfolio is doing well as a whole (i.e. all funds go up almost in tandem), I do nothing
When funds A, B and C do well but funds X, Y and Z underperformed, I top up funds X, Y and Z to "rebalance" my portfolio
When all the funds screwed up due to market weakness, I top up all the funds

QUOTE(river.sand @ Oct 24 2015, 07:17 PM)
Alternatively, save 400 and buy Fund B.
Now you have: Fund A 5.5k, Fund B 5.5k.
^
This thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 24 2015, 07:30 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 24 2015, 08:04 PM

24,369 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 07:21 PM)

My unit trust investments are meant to be my "supplement" to my EPF, i.e. meant for retirement, not savings for marriage or for home downpayment. Hence, I don't "cash out".

I designed my portfolio in such way that each fund makes up 1/6 of the portfolio
When my UT portfolio is doing well as a whole (i.e. all funds go up almost in tandem), I do nothing
When funds A, B and C do well but funds X, Y and Z underperformed, I top up funds X, Y and Z to "rebalance" my portfolio
^
This thumbup.gif
But you hold the temptation to cash out when it goes up say 20%?

How about can increase in fund price be wipe out by loss of that fund? Can that happen?

SUSPink Spider
post Oct 24 2015, 08:12 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 24 2015, 08:04 PM)
But you hold the temptation to cash out when it goes up say 20%?

How about can increase in fund price be wipe out by loss of that fund? Can that happen?
No.

Apa bahasa lu cakap??? rclxub.gif
prince_mk
post Oct 24 2015, 08:14 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 07:21 PM)

^
This thumbup.gif
thumbup.gif alright. after i get pay for this mth, I will follow this rebalancing way.
Ramjade
post Oct 24 2015, 08:16 PM

24,369 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 08:12 PM)
No.

Apa bahasa lu cakap??? rclxub.gif
Eg, original fund rm10k. After 6 months become rm12k. After another 6 months become Rm90.

Is the above possible? Any way you take to minimise that from happening?
SUSyklooi
post Oct 24 2015, 08:16 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(dummies @ Oct 24 2015, 01:47 PM)
anyone  heard and invested in the RHB-OSK Pre-IPO Fund 3 which is a close ended fund with 5 years locked down period (no redemption within 5 years) ?

minimum investment = Rm 100K  shocking.gif
QUOTE(dummies @ Oct 24 2015, 05:10 PM)
it is worth to invest since the response is good here ?
from an article for RHB-OSK Pre-IPO & Special Situation Fund 2 from FSM......I think it should be similar.....

Conclusion

In short, private equity investments could enhance the returns of investors’ portfolios and diversify overall portfolio risk with its unique approach of investing in unlisted assets. Investors should take note that the RHB-OSK Pre-IPO & Special Situation Fund 2 is illiquid in nature with its investments in off-market securities and its lock in period of 5 years, indicating that investors will need to stay invested throughout the period and are not being able to liquidate their investments during the lifespan of the fund. Nevertheless, the fund intends to distribute income received or realized profits (on a quarterly basis) during the investment period and distribute both the profit and principal of exited investments over the subsequent two years, which could be a mitigating factor for the illiquidity that investors faced. Thus, the key deciding factor here will be illiquidity and we strongly suggest investors who are interested in this fund to take this factor into serious consideration before making the decision of investing in this fund. .

http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=4845
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 24 2015, 08:20 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 24 2015, 08:16 PM)
Eg, original fund rm10k. After 6 months become rm12k. After another 6 months become Rm90.

RM10K > RM12K > RM90

??? rclxub.gif

Read the news.
Know what is happening to the world.
Compare the fund(s) that u invest in to its benchmark and its peers.
adamdacutie

303 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 05:51 PM)

^
This thumbup.gif
Awesome way of explaining the rebalancing of profile alternatively to switching funds

Why cash out haha , let it grow !!! into a tree !!
SUSyklooi

8,188 posts

What Is Rebalancing? Does it works?

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...?articleNo=2215

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...?articleNo=4721

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...?articleNo=3896

https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/resea...?articleNo=1849
Ramjade

24,369 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 24 2015, 08:20 PM)
RM10K > RM12K > RM90

??? rclxub.gif

Read the news.
Know what is happening to the world.
Compare the fund(s) that u invest in to its benchmark and its peers.
Sorry. Typo. Rm9k
adamdacutie
post Oct 24 2015, 08:22 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 24 2015, 06:46 PM)

the fund must be a farkup one to tumble liddat
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 24 2015, 08:22 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 24 2015, 08:20 PM)
Sorry. Typo. Rm9k
My answer remains the same.

Investing is in a way a gamble, though a calculated one.

U cannot win all the time.

As long as IN THE LONG RUN u win, don't fret too much about the losses along the way.

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 24 2015, 08:23 PM
adamdacutie
post Oct 24 2015, 08:24 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 24 2015, 06:50 PM)
Sorry. Typo. Rm9k
Do a Dollar Cost Averaging , instead of 12K , u put 1 k each month to minimize exposure to volatility
SUSyklooi
post Oct 24 2015, 08:27 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(sunakujiro^^ @ Oct 24 2015, 03:16 PM)
I read in a blog somewhere that he is generating 15k a month. How is that possible?

How is UT long term investment if people can make thousand of cash in only weeks/months?
below posts shows good illustrations of relativity....did the blogger said how much he invested?

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 24 2015, 07:19 PM)
Person A if capital is RM 1.5Milliom, in one mth fund price naik 1% only (very likely to happen) means profit RM 15k!

Person B if capital is RM 15,000, fund naik even 50% in one mth (very unlikely to happen) still less than person A.

That is why the rich can continue to be rich easily.... it is mathematical logic!

Xuzen
btw,
FSM frequently updates the lists of top 5 best performers.....see how much returns it has.....if you managed to get into that......lump sum....HUAT-lah.....
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...formed=topFunds

FSM frequently updates the lists of top 5 worst performers......see how much returns it has.....if you managed to get into that ...lump sum....POK KAI-lah....
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/fundi...orst_Funds.svdo

This post has been edited by yklooi: Oct 24 2015, 08:34 PM
Ramjade
post Oct 24 2015, 08:33 PM

24,369 posts

QUOTE(adamdacutie @ Oct 24 2015, 08:24 PM)
Do a Dollar Cost Averaging , instead of 12K , u put 1 k each month to minimize exposure to volatility
But if say you deposit rm1k/month and it didn't make loss, then at the end of 12 months, you will have >rm12k. Like that, it could fall to Rm9k right?
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 24 2015, 08:40 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 24 2015, 08:33 PM)
But if say you deposit rm1k/month and it didn't make loss, then at the end of 12 months, you will have >rm12k. Like that, it could fall to Rm9k right?
Then top up 3K at month 13 lor tongue.gif

I repeat - TAKE A LONG TERM VIEW

And adopt a portfolio approach

Chances are that when that happens, apalanjiau fund also made a loss, it could be a market crash.

If u cannot take a loss at all, UT or any investments are not for u.

Rewind back to 2008...is there any funds that are spared?
And have they recovered since then?

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Oct 24 2015, 08:42 PM

131 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:56 AM