44 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V10!

terence_nwb
post Dec 10 2015, 06:57 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Dec 10 2015, 06:46 PM)
I see. I have a NZXT Phantom 410 casing so it shouldn't be a problem I think. Specs above looks great for the budget. But is the mobo good enough?
It is the lowest end chipset, you can top up RM 70 for MSI B150 Bazooka D4 to get 2 extra RAM slots and more SATA ports.
terence_nwb
post Dec 11 2015, 01:07 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(warchylde @ Dec 11 2015, 12:50 AM)
rclxub.gif ... zhen^wei was the one who recommended that I choose the S12II to lower the budget.

hmm.gif Now, I should change to the M12II?
Getting 1 single stick so I can buy another in the future? Good idea!
But, shouldn't dual sticks have better performance than a single stick?
hmm.gif
Yes of course he gonna ask you to choose S12II to match your budget.

He posted some comments (nearly 3 weeks ago) here, stating the issues with some products, S12II 620W is one of them, probably isolated to batch.

Dual channel is faster but very hard to notice in real life, Idealtech one is 2 x 4GB, they don't have 1 x 8GB if I am not mistaken, but you can always ask them for confirmation.
terence_nwb
post Dec 11 2015, 01:26 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(warchylde @ Dec 11 2015, 01:22 AM)
Hi!
Haha, didn't expect a response so fast at this time of the night.. biggrin.gif

OK, so I'll be going with the M12II choice.
Regarding the RAM (from the PC builder), I can only buy a single stick ram if I forgo the "RED-GREEN COMBO" promo that they are having now. This means buying the MOBO at a slightly more expensive price.
If I went with the promo, I could have bought the MOBO cheaper, but I have to buy RAM in pairs and the GSKILL NT RAM is not available.
If so just get the 2 x 4GB then, you still have 2 more extra slots for future upgrade.
terence_nwb
post Dec 11 2015, 08:33 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(warchylde @ Dec 11 2015, 01:42 AM)
INTEL CORE I7 6700 (4 CORE/ 8 THREADS/4.0GHZ) = RM1325
CRYORIG H7 (145MM) = RM189
GIGABYTE H170-GAMING 3 (DDR4/ATX/Crossfire/2xPCI-E/6 SATA3/Killer LAN/7 Phase Power = RM539
GSKILL RipjawsV RED 2x4GB DDR4 2400mhz (CL15 = RM329
EVGA GTX970 ACX 2.0+ (Dual BIOS) 4GB DDR5 256Bit (1178/7010)-After Instant Cash Rebate RM100 = RM1599
Seasonic M12II-620 EVO (80+Bronze/ Full Modular)*5 Years Warranty = RM409
Sharkoon BW9000 (BLACK)(2x 14CM at front/1x12cm LED Rear/2xUSB3.0/2xUSB2.0/Support Water Cooling)-DEC PROMO = RM299
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB (540/520)-Promotion! = RM509
Total and GST Included = RM5198

hmm.gif
This is currently my choice.. is it OK?
Also, should I just confirm the order now or wait till last minute as I'm only going back to KL next Tues?
If you want to get the rig by next Tuesday or Wednesday, you better place order now so they have time to assemble and test he rig for you.
terence_nwb
post Dec 11 2015, 09:19 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ctandk @ Dec 11 2015, 09:16 AM)
i7-6700K LGA1151 Skylake
Corsair Hydro H100i GTX
Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7
Kingston Fury DDR4 2666 8GB x2pcs
Samsung M2 850 EVO 250GB or Plextor M2 256GB
Western Digital 4TB
Thermaltake Level 10 GTS Casing
Corsair CS750M Watt 80+GOLD 3 Years Modular
Gigabyte GTX 970 G1 Gaming

Is this setup ok for hardcore gaming in coming 2-3 years?
Not really, GPU can be further improved, spend lesser in other parts to cover up the upgrade cost for GPU, GTX970 is just the sweet spot for 1080p, not really able to handle all games at highest/ultra settings just yet unless you are fine with whatever settings for stable 60 FPS.
terence_nwb
post Dec 11 2015, 09:28 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ctandk @ Dec 11 2015, 09:21 AM)
I'm planning in 1 yr time do sli gtx970. If not what recommend?
SLI GTX970 is just slightly powerful than GTX980Ti in raw performance, but you need SLI driver to run them in games, not all titles will get SLI support by day 1, so you end up running single GPU during the early stage of game release.

SLI requires a SLI capable PSU too, which in return increases the total cost, if you have enough money now, you better go for single GTX980Ti, less hassle to worry about driver support.

Pascal will arrive anytime soon in Q1/Q2 2016, so doing SLI in 1 year time with GTX970 doesn't seem to be a good choice for me, but different people have different perspective so you can still follow your plan, I am just giving my personal advise and comment nod.gif
terence_nwb
post Dec 11 2015, 11:51 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(snoopyguy @ Dec 11 2015, 10:36 AM)
guys...
for socket 1151 MOBO
between
MSI B150M BAZOOKA
GIGABYTE GA-B150M-D3H

which one is better? price range kinda same...
Gigabyte one has PCIe NVMe support which makes it a little bit better.
terence_nwb
post Dec 12 2015, 02:05 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(1zR4eL @ Dec 12 2015, 09:48 AM)
what is the cheapest mitx board that can OC G3258 proc?
As low as H81 chipset if the manufacturer switched on the oc tweaker in the BIOS.

But non Z series mobo is not meant for oc so you might not be able to oc the G3258 to its limit, you need to bear the risk too.

But ASRock H81M-ITX is very hard to find in Malaysia, B85M-ITX could be the next cheapest solution.
terence_nwb
post Dec 12 2015, 09:03 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(joscmh90 @ Dec 12 2015, 08:47 PM)
[Budget] RM 3000-3500

[Purpose] Solely for gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] Monitor

[Monitor resolution] 1080P

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Fallout 4, GTA V, Leagues of Legends, etc.

[Personal preferences] Prefer chassis with good airflow (Bitfenix NOVA seemed stuffy for me).

[Location] KL
Intel Core i5 6500 - RM 876
MSI B150M Bazooka D4 - RM 399
Corsair 8GB DDR4 2133MHz Value RAM - RM 200
Zotac GTX970 4GB GDDR5 Reference - RM 1399 (Christmas promotion)
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
Bitfenix NOVA - RM 149

Total: RM 3427 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

If you want better quality PSU, swap to Seasonic M12II EVO 620 (modular) or S12II 620W (non-modular) for RM 409/RM 349 respectively.

Add in SSD next time when you have extra funds.

The GPU chosen above is reference card, meaning temperature will be slightly higher than non-reference card, the next cheapest non-reference card is MSI Tiger which costs RM 1535.
terence_nwb
post Dec 12 2015, 10:34 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(joscmh90 @ Dec 12 2015, 09:15 PM)
Thanks bro, I'm wondering if there's a better casing you would recommend ? The BitFenix NOVA seemed to have bad airflow ? There's no rooms for fans.
It has 2 front for intake and 1 rear for exhaust.

If you want more fan slots, can consider Thermaltake Versa H25, 2 extra on top for exhaust.
terence_nwb
post Dec 13 2015, 01:56 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(joscmh90 @ Dec 13 2015, 12:07 AM)
Would it be better to have the MSI Tiger GTX970 instead ? is it going to be worth the top-up ?
Planning to use this desktop in an non-aircond room....the weather gets pretty hot at times. A little concerned with the reference card.
Worth if you are worried about the temperature, you get a better design of the card too biggrin.gif
terence_nwb
post Dec 13 2015, 12:46 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(_Zephyre_ @ Dec 13 2015, 11:54 AM)
Hey guys, thoughts on this build? Not sure if I'm missing anything or incompatible parts:

Intel Core i5 6500 - RM869
Corsair D4 PC2133 8GB RAM - RM253
MSI B150M BAZOOKA mATX - RM420
Transcend 370 128GB SSD - RM239
Western Digital Blue 1TB HDD - RM212
ASUS DVD RW ODD - RM63
GALAX GTX960 2GB D5 EXOC - RM953
Seasonic 620W M12II Evo (A/80+) PSU - RM409
Cooler Master Elite Series Casing - RM229
Dead Silence 12cm Case Fan x2 - RM104

Not sure if there's someplace I can get these for cheaper.
Compability checked.

You can try Techview, some of the items listed above are cheaper if you get from them namely RAM and mobo. If you want to save even more, the GPU can swap to Zotac one, currently Zotac is doing Christmas promo, GTX960 is RM 799 only.
terence_nwb
post Dec 13 2015, 01:34 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Dec 13 2015, 01:27 PM)
[Budget] less than 1.5K -1.7k

[Purpose] Rendering video

[Hardwares that will be re-use]

Graphic card : ASUS GTX 750 Ti 2GB DDR5
Power supply : SeaSonic M12II 750w
Harddisk : WD Green 1TB
Monitor : Dell U2414H
Ram : Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600mhz 4GB x 2
[Monitor resolution]

[Software that use frequently] Adobe Premier, Sony Vegas

[Location] KL

[Personal preferences]

LGA1150
Asrock Intel H97 Pro4 Socket 1150 Mainboard                                            RM375.00
Intel Xeon Processor E3-1231v3 (8M Cache, 3.40 GHz)  8 core 4 thread      RM 1,149.00
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB                                                                    RM199.00

LGA1151

Gigabyte GA-H170-D3H                                                                        RM488.00
Intel Skylake Core i5-6600K  4 core 4 thread                                            RM 1,026.00
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB                                                                    RM199.00
AVEXIR CORE SERIES 8GB (2X4GB) DDR4 2400MHZ                                  RM269.00
You picked H170 so you can just go for non-K CPU, which saves you some money.
terence_nwb
post Dec 13 2015, 03:27 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Dec 13 2015, 01:37 PM)
So u mean go to Skylake upgrade?

LGA1151

Gigabyte GA-H170-D3H                                                                        RM488.00
Intel Skylake Core i5-6500  4 core 4 thread                                          RM 855.00
Kingston HyperX Fury 120GB                                                                RM199.00
AVEXIR CORE SERIES 8GB (2X4GB) DDR4 2400MHZ                              RM269.00
Haswell Xeon (4C8T) is faster in rendering video, if the purpose is only for video rendering and you don't mind getting old gen CPU and hardware, then Haswell Xeon is better in terms of price/performance.

QUOTE(Kucci @ Dec 13 2015, 02:49 PM)
Hi, anyone bought mobo from China before?
I'm hunting 1155 oc mobo but it seem obsolete in market, but found a lot from world.taobao.

Are those mobo trusted? in quality and condition, I don't mind it is used or refurbished, as soon as can tahan more few years.
If you don't mind used or refurbished, why don't take a look at Garage Sales? Most of them are bought locally and you can take a look and even test it if possible before buying.

Just my 2 cents.
terence_nwb
post Dec 13 2015, 08:08 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Dec 13 2015, 05:03 PM)
How much would Windows 10 be? Would have to reserve some cash from the budget for that too I guess.
The official MSRP for Windows 10 Home and Pro is RM 629.99 and RM 1099 respectively.

You can try to find other alternative purchasing methods like OEM key, bulk key etc to buy at cheaper price.

QUOTE(silentxoblivion @ Dec 13 2015, 05:56 PM)
Earlier I wanted to get the 6700k and sli-capable motherboard just to keep my options open so I can OC and SLi in the future. Considering this is my first ever PC, I doubt I'll ever do it in the near future.

So, what is the most budget-friendly rig I can make?

GPU: NVIDIA GTX 970 (bought)

CPU: i7 6700
PSU: SeaSonic
RAM: 8GB DDR4
Motherboard?
Case?
SSD?
Err, not so clear. Do you mean you still want to maintain 6700K or go for the cheaper 6700 (non-K)?
terence_nwb
post Dec 13 2015, 08:16 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(Cubed1437 @ Dec 13 2015, 08:07 PM)
Hi guys. Hoping for some suggestion.

[Budget] rm3000~

[Purpose] Gaming

[Hardwares that will be re-use] None. From scratch.

[Monitor resolution] -

[Games & softwares that use frequently] Dota but wanting to try more games in future.

[Personal preferences] -

[Location] KL

Thanks! I'm kinda new to this building pc so feel free to suggest me anything and Ill go investigate more.
Intel Core i5 6400 - RM 809
MSI H110M Pro-VH - RM 329
Zotac GTX960 2GB GDDR5 ZT-90310-10M - RM 799 (Christmas promotion)
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189
Thermaltake Versa H25 - RM 139
BenQ GW2255 - RM 390

Total: RM 3070 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

Since the GTX960 is having promotion now so I have tried to fit it in the build within your budget range, thus lowering the spec of other parts.

If you mainly play Dota 2 only and can accept medium settings for other latest triple A titles, you can downgrade the GPU to GTX750/750Ti or CPU to i3 so you can spend the funds to get SSD/better PSU/bigger monitor etc.

OS is not included in the build, same goes to keyboard/mouse/speaker.
terence_nwb
post Dec 13 2015, 11:04 PM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(silentxoblivion @ Dec 13 2015, 09:25 PM)
Non-K. I won't be doing OC any time soon and doubt that I ever will. Rather invest on the U2414H instead.

Now just need to decide on what motherboard to get. H170 or Z170. No need to be sli-capable. I think I'll just upgrade to a new GPU when the time comes instead of going SLI.

Please recommend the cheapest DDR4 H170 and Z170 motherboards I can get. Really wanna complete the build by next week.
No need to get Z170 since you aren't doing any OC or SLI, H170 will do.

Gigabyte H170 Gaming 3, ASRock H170 Pro4, Gigabyte H170 D3HP D4 - around RM 580, all ATX.

terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2015, 12:07 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Dec 13 2015, 11:23 PM)
I see that many of the forumers here recommend the MSI B150M-BAZOOKA D3 more instead of the GA-H170-HD3 DDR3 and H170-PLUS D3.. is it solely because of the price? How is MSI's quality as compared to Gigabyte and Asus?

Actually I am planning to upgrade my 955BE and GA-MA770T-UD3P to a newer Intel board. Currently looking at the i5-6400 and GA-H170-HD3 DDR3... and was just wondering whether its better than the MSI Bazooka's.
I think none of the posts here recommended the D3 version of Bazooka, all of them are D4 version.

DDR3 is not recommended to run Skylake because the voltage is higher than the recommended voltage, prolonged use of DDR3 RAM on Skylake will cause memory controller damage, according to report, but it is up to you whether to take the risk by going DDR3 path.
terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2015, 01:31 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(clon12 @ Dec 14 2015, 12:20 AM)
My bad on that, I copied the wrong details for the D3 version, however thank you for that info regarding the consequences of using DDR3 memory. This might make me think twice to use back the DDR3 RAM i have after upgrading to a new proc and mobo. Still, is there big difference between having an MSI one or Gigabyte one other than the size? Or... do people just prefer to have a better colour scheme?  biggrin.gif
I mainly choose the MSI Bazooka because of its price, it has 4 RAM slots on mATX mobo which is a great addition because most of the mATX mobo only have 2 RAM slots.

As for colour, it depends on the personal preferences, some people want a particular colour scheme/theme so I will try to match what they want.
terence_nwb
post Dec 14 2015, 08:49 AM

7,016 posts

QUOTE(snowfire64 @ Dec 14 2015, 01:08 AM)
Hey guys, appreciate if anybody could shed some light onto my thoughts below:

[Budget] less than 2k

[Purpose] Games. I play BF4 64 players and mostly RPGs (witcher, dragon age, fallout, skyrim)

[Current hardware thinking to be upgraded]
Mobo: Asus P15 series
Proc: i5 750 2.6 ghz. OC'ed to 3.4 ghz.
GPU: EVGA gtx 660 ssc

[Hardwares that will be re-use]

Power supply : Coolermaster Odin 550w
Ram : Kingston value rams
HDD: Plextor 120GB ssd
Monitor: Dell U23 series.
CPU cooler: CM Hyper 212

[Software that use frequently] GoPro editor

[Location] KL

[Personal preferences]

A bit tight on the budget, and thinking if GPU upgrade (gtx 960) is better than proc.

First thought: Upgrade proc and mobo to i3 4160 (1150) and any compatible matx mobo. Maintain gpu. Not sure the i3 is powerful enough to play next gen games later on (price would be around RM700).

Second thought: Upgrade gpu (gtx 960), however, my proc may bottleneck it (price would be around RM700-1200)

Third thought: Skylake build (not sure i3 or i5) with gpu upgrade. Need to buy additional ddr4 rams. I've consider the ddr3 compatible mobo but that will require me to buy new mobo if I want to upgrade ddr4 later on. (price > RM1500)

Something like this taken from previous post:

MSI H110M Pro-VH - RM 329

But its around RM2.1k. Hm.

I don't mind if its 1150 or 1151 socket, just need some thoughts if the upgrades are viable for the bucks; i.e. i3 and i5 (dual cores v quad cores) and the performance upgrade with a newer GPU.

BF4 multiplayer 64 players map requires a lot of CPU computation, I've seen third gen i5 hitting 100% CPU usage (all cores), i3 will be even worse sweat.gif

If you want best performance out of your budget, get a quad core octa thread CPU like Xeon E3 1231 V3, then pair it with lowest end H81 mobo, RAM reuse, then add GTX960, it will be over budget I know, but this is the best solution for the extreme CPU usage in BF4.

Intel Xeon E3 1231 V3 - RM 1199
Asus H81M-K - RM 240

Total: RM 2238 (Techview price inclusive of GST)

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Dec 14 2015, 02:16 AM)
MSI B150 Bazooka D4 - RM399
Zotac GTX960 2GB GDDR5 ZT-90310-10M - RM 799
WD Blue 1TB HDD - RM 215
FSP Hexa+ 550W - RM 189

Total: RM 2611 (Techview price inclusive GST)
What if I add RM300 more for a Sapphire Nitro R9 390x 4gb? Would it make a lot of a difference in performance? How does MSI Bazooka D4 compare to MSI Gaming M3?
R9 390X for extra RM 300? RM 1099? Or you mean R9 380X?

Which MSI Gaming M3? B150 one?

This post has been edited by terence_nwb: Dec 14 2015, 08:50 AM

44 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0512sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:13 PM